Lancaster farmhouse rental - Farmhouse Front Porch
Farmhouse Front Porch
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
 

Lancaster Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

Enjoy the peace and quiet of country life in the heart of Pennsylvania's Amish country. At the guest house you can relax on one of our two porches with breathtaking views of the valley and watch as our neighboring Amish plow their fields. Enjoy fishing at our stocked pond or try biking or walking our winding back country roads. You can also visit our dairy farm and watch as the cows are getting milked, pet the calves or help feed the many farm animals.

If that is not enough to fill your days, we are conveniently located within minutes to many local attractions including: Intercourse/Kitchen Kettle Village, Shady Maple Smorgasborg, Strasburg Railroad, Cherry Crest Farm Corn Maze, Rockvale/Tanger Outlet Shopping, Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park, Longwood Gardens, Antiques, Golf, Day trip to Philadelphia, Baltimore or Washington DC..

Keywords: fishing, golf, Kitchen Kettle Village, corn maze, shopping, outlets, Strasburg railroad, biking, farm, animals, Sight and Sound theatre,

Our family settled in Lancaster, PA over 200 years ago and are still farming the same land. Currently there are 4 generations of Wanner's living and working on the dairy farm.

Carolyn Wanner or Jennifer Wanner purchased this farmhouse in 2007

We farm the cropland surrounding the guesthouse and would like folks to experience the beautiful countryside that we appreciate everyday...

Peace and Quiet at the guesthouse with many activities/attractions nearby, private stocked pond for fishing, visit our Dairy Farm and pet the animals

32 Reviews of Property 387873 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
average rating of 4.826087 based on 32 reviews
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

EXCELLENT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our stay at the Farmhouse was absolutely wonderful. It was charming, immaculate, and the location was excellent to all places we wished to visit. Cookie and her family were the best hosts. She gave us great advice about where to eat and what to do. The four couples visited the dairy farm and enjoyed a very informative tour of the business. One of the husbands said this tour was his favorite part of the weekend. I highly recommend this farmhouse!! It was the perfect weekend away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Cape Charles VA
5

A perfect place for us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our stay here was such a treat! Our entire family, all twelve of us, gathered here to attend our grandson's/nephew's wedding in the nearby area, where we had lived for several years when our children were growing up. We had such a great time together enjoying the heifers and chickens, and being out in the country where we didn't have to worry about bothering anyone. The house was spacious with lots of room for all of us. Much of the time that we were there we spent sitting around the large kitchen table chatting. When our grandchildren who live in the area came over, there was still plenty of room for all uf us. Because we were busy with the wedding, we could not go on the farm tour or spend time sightseeing. We'll save that for next time. Everything was neat and tidy and just as described. We are ready to go back there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Like stepping back in time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We enjoyed SO MUCH about this place. We didn't want to leave! The peacefulness of it all!!
Jen & Cookie were so wonderful and made us feel like family, and also gave us a very interesting tour of their dairy farm. Here are all the things we loved:
-Lots of bedrooms & bathrooms for us & the kids
-Views, views, views of the Amish countryside!
-Pond was really beautiful.
-We saw glow worms at night down at the pond!
-We saw and heard a variety of beautiful birds
-Beautiful nighttime sounds of crickets and other animals... very cool!
-We saw a ground hog right next to the house... soooo cute! (lots of cute squirrels too)
-Woke up in the morning to the peaceful & old fashioned sound of Amish buggies jingling and horses clip-clopping by the house
-Enjoyed a buggy ride from our Amish neighbor - so special!
-Loved quilt & antique shopping in the nearby towns!
-Adorable cows
-My daughter went and visited the chickens every day
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Brooklyn
5

MIRIAM

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
WHAT A BEAUTIFUL FAMILY GETAWAY! THE HOUSE WAS NICE AND SPACIOUS AND IMMACULATE! PLENTY OF TOWELS, LOTS OF TOYS FOR THE KIDS TO PLAY WITH, BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS.... THE OWNERS WERE SUCH NICE PEOPLE! WE REALLY ENJOYED THE TOUR ON THE FARM! VERY INFORMATIVE AND VERY INTERESTING! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RENTAL!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Pennsylvania
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you for a wonderful stay at your farm! The farm-house was so clean and even better than we had hoped for. You've thought of everything. In spite of the heat outside, the house was a cool and comfortable retreat and we immediately felt at home. Our children loved visiting the cows right outside and finding frogs and tiny snails by the pond. We truly enjoyed meeting and getting to know your family and learning about your dairy as well as the history of the surroundings. Thanks for a great stay - we look forward to visiting again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A wonderful property run by wonderful people. The house was spacious, comfortable and beautiful. The kitchen was well-equipped. Location is convenient to many area attractions, and the owners had a lot of helpful hints as far as things to do in the area. Our kids especially loved being on a farm and seeing the animals. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
lake mary,fl
5

3 Retired Ladies

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thank you Cookie and Albert for an amazing 4 night visit. We truly enjoyed the Amish experience that your farmhouse gave us. Everything you could need is provided. We loved the view and having the cows nearby. The tour of the dairy is a must for any visitor and is beyond impressive. The house is very comfortable, charming and peaceful. You could not ask for a better place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
San Francisco, CA
5

Best rental ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This beautiful farmhouse was the perfect spot for an intergenerational family reunion. The elderly great-grandparents enjoyed the ground floor suite with a walk-in shower. The two great-grandkids loved the animals, the toys, the playground equipment and the secret staircase. And everyone appreciated the comfort, warmth and cleanliness of the charming house (especially the lovely Christmas tree and decorations) and the idyllic setting. The photos do not do justice to the beauty and charm of this house and its surroundings. Owners Cookie and Albert were extremely friendly and helpful and not at all intrusive. The only possible caveat is that a GPS is almost a necessity to find the house and it is a 15 minute drive to the nearest restaurant. The upside is that you get the true experience of the Amish countryside: the house is surrounded by Amish farms, an Amish school is right down the road and Amish buggies pass the house all day long. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Washington, DC
5

Beautiful, Clean, Would Stay Here Again

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We were delighted to ring in the New Year at this home - a reunion of four sibings and families. We came from San Francisco, DC, Michigan, and Connecticut. We sought a convenient and tranquil location where we could reconnect as a family after four years, enjoy the natural beauty, and feel comfortable in a home. This house offered all of that and more. We thoroughly enjoyed the farm tour and learning about the realities, struggles, and joys of raising, maintaining, and growing healthy cows. It was wonderful to wake up to breathtaking views of the countryside and watch the sky change color in the evenings.

The house was spotless, tastefully decorated for the holidays, well-stocked with all necessary amenities, and well-cared for. The house is very spacious and the kitchen is setup well for cooking and to be a good place to gather. Nearby towns and attractions offer enough to do if starting to get restless in the country, but the home is so comfortable, it was hard to leave it to do anything. We had a couple small children with us who are quite curious. They were fine in the space as long as an eye was kept on them. Definitely bring a baby gate for the stairs if you need to keep kids off of them. The host and hostess were very welcoming and always available to answer questions. Thank you for sharing this gem of a home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Escape to Our 1760's Farmhouse in Heart of Amish Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387873vbi
717 -278-1560
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Clarkesville, Georgia
5

A Bucket List Dream Come True!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We enjoyed our stay at this quaint but roomy farmhouse! It was like stepping back in time. The views were gorgeous and the owners of the farm went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to make the drive up from Georgia worth every mile!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1