Friendship house rental - Spectacular
Spectacular
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Friendship House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 9-10

Nothing quite compares to this charming, old world French design estate home. Post and Beam and stucco construction complement the modern amenities found throughout including a designer kitchen with top-of-the-line GE Profile appliances, imported Italian marble bath with European fixtures, and furniture-quality American cherry hardwood floors and trim. The rooms are appointed with antique and new quality hardwood and leather furniture complementing carved architectural cherry woodwork. The property boasts a private end-of-the-road location with private beach, ocean wading pool, on-property fishing from dramatic granite ledges, and more. Whether hiking the spruce-laden forest paths, searching tide pools for sea life or just relaxing on the lawn or under the covered waterside veranda or, if you choose, the private bedroom sundeck, this destination retreat is sure to be your ticket to the fabled quintessential Maine experience.

Amenities and Kitchen: Bath towels, linens and blankets provided, as well as paper towels, toilet paper, coffee, tea, sugar and basic spices as well as bath and dish soap. Washer and Clothes Dryer on premises. Well appointed kitchen with marble countertops, ceramic cooktop, convection oven, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender. Seating and place settings for 10+ guests.

Surrounding area: Thirty minutes from Rockland, Camden to the north and forty mintues to Boothbay to the south. Only 2 hours to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

Lawn and exterior decking: Adjacent to the waterfront lawn is a 400 sq. ft. covered veranda allowing outside pleasures even on rainy days. The guest bedroom has a stunning private 100 sq. ft. sun deck. Large lawn and granite ledges provide additional sun bathing and play activities for children and adults.

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 387007 in Friendship, Maine

Spectacular Seaside Home/The Quintessential MidCoast Maine Experience
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Spectacular Seaside Home/The Quintessential MidCoast Maine Experience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387007
+1 6178423734
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Superb!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We scheduled our stay to coincide with the full moon. Stay was huge success. House was immaculate upon arrival. Extremely convenient to grocer, seafood, fine wines, restaurants and Penobscot Bay.

Hope to return for winter spring and summer stays in the years to come.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Seaside Home/The Quintessential MidCoast Maine Experience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387007
+1 6178423734
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Clarkston MI
5

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family had the wonderful experience of staying at the “Friendship House” Aug 17-24. Some of us came from Clarkston Michigan and some of us came from Germany. The house, the location, the water, the nature- we loved it all. The house was large and beautiful, and layed out in a way that allowed all three families (with kids) enough privacy- while providing wonderful common areas to enjoy the entire group in complete comfort. We had fun swimming on the beach and playing soccer in the huge yard, and reading and relaxing on the back porch. The kitchen is well stocked and we took full advantage enjoying an entire week of nearly all home-cooked meals around the large dining table which easily accommodated all 10 of us. Definitely a place we’d love to return to. Highly recommend the Friendship House for a relaxing and fun vacation in a gorgeous home and unbeatable setting. Exactly what we wanted in a vacation rental!
business
Spectacular Seaside Home/The Quintessential MidCoast Maine Experience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387007
+1 6178423734
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Wonder House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were fortunate to have this opportunity to experience this house for our family reunion. There were eight of us - three generations plus a dog - and everyone enjoyed the place, absolutely gorgeous inside and out.The location can't be any better - right on a water with these spectacular views and the air so dense with wonderful aromas of the sea and pine trees, you want to drink it. Sea life is abundant at low tide, the white tops of the rocks look like snow, walking on a sea bed we felt miraculously transported from our planet. And then, this majestic beauty of high tide with lobster boats making their rounds right in front of us. We took our chance to take a tour on one of them, bought those crustaceans freshly caught at a great price and had a lobster feast!
As for the inside of the house, it's exquisite. Everything is custom made to the highest of taste. Decoration details are plentiful and truly amazing. It is still the work in progress, very talented owners still have their thinking hat on, so we hope to come back and see it completely finished and may be even take a sail on this lovely boat restored!
Dear Vered and Don, thank you so much for your hospitality, for being so accommodating to all our needs and prompt responds to all our questions.
Thank you for sharing this Wonder House with us - it will be recommended to everyone we know!
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our home. Much love and work has gone into the project and we are happy to have had the opportunity to share it with you and your wonderful family.

Best,
Vered & Don
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Spectacular Seaside Home/The Quintessential MidCoast Maine Experience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387007
+1 6178423734
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Amazing Place - Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family recently finished our stay at this beautiful house. I can't believe the amazing detail that has gone into the design and construction of this special home - I've never seen anything like it before. Every room has its own special details that were designed by the owner. And then there's the location. . . perfection! Right on the water, the weather has been beautiful and it's been so relaxing to sit on the porch, the lawn, the rocks enjoying the serene views. It's also near Camden and Boothbay where we enjoyed day trips. Lots to see and experience. We had an amazing time and can't wait to come back next year!
Owner's Response: We're thrilled you had such a wonderful time and look forward to seeing you next year!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Spectacular Seaside Home/The Quintessential MidCoast Maine Experience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387007
+1 6178423734
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

A Very Special Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This vacation home is just as beautiful as the photos on the website.  It’s in an idyllic cove with sailboats and lobster traps dotting the sea.  I loved to sit on the back porch with my Netbook in my lap (the wireless Internet is great), just watching the lobster boat making its rounds checking the traps.  I brought my 20 year old son, my 16 year old daughter and two of her friends. We all loved it! We had four lobsters for dinner one night that we bought live in Friendship for $6.50 a pound.  Penobscot Bay is about twenty minutes away and that’s where all the sights are:  Rockland, Camden, Owl's Head, Belfast, and so on.  There’s a mountain in Camden (Mt. Battie) that we drove up and saw the most amazing view I’ve ever seen:  looking straight down on the whole of  Penobscot Bay and it’s countless islands, and the beautiful harbor in Camden.  It’s “where the mountains meet the sea”.  Most of the Maine calendar pictures are taken around this area. Acadia National Park is a little over two hours to the northeast. It has its own magnificent view from Cadillac Mountain overlooking Bar Harbor. We were fortunate and had perfect weather all week.
 
The drive is exhausting (from Syracuse, NY), but it’s worth it once you get here.  The house has beautiful furnishings, and is very secluded and quiet.  It’s the last house on a dead end lane.  Even the lawn is perfect grass --- not a single weed!  The tide is ten feet here, going up and down without us even noticing until we see a lot of dry land in front of us. As we were leaving, I met the craftsman who has been doing most of the work at the house (part of the house is still being worked on). He said he loves working on that project, and it shows. The inlaid woodwork on the stairs is incredibly beautiful. The wood beams in the kitchen and living room ceilings give them such a classy, homey feel. Don, the owner, is responsible for the house design and I get the feeling that it keeps evolving until it's perfect. This is a very special place. It was a fantastic week and I will definitely be coming back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you had a wonderful vacation and do hope to have you come back again in the near future!

Best,
Vered
Helpful votes: 12/13