Boston condo rental - Kitchen is our favorite room. Opens to nice deck for summer.
Kitchen is our favorite room. Opens to nice deck for summer.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Boston Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 1-5

Modern apartment in a JP 2 family. Enjoy our extensive collection of fresh local art. This is not your standard run of the mill rental. Collection will occasionally rotate. Currently showing 'Ladylike' by Christine Li as well as other works. Completely redesigned with a SS kitchen, washer/dryer in unit, pantry, huge closets, tall ceilings (17ft in some places), modern fixtures, and an office alcove. Versatile floor plan good for couples or roomies. Enjoy nice landscaping and deck. 1blk to subway, restaurant/bar, gym, coffee shop. Walk to Centre St's many shops and restaurants. Convenient central location to downtown, 93, 95, 90, etc. Minutes to Medical area. Absolutely no need for a car unless you're leaving Boston Metro.This our 2nd & newest rental. See Homeaway.com #240435 for our 33 5star reviews.

*Calender is well maintained. Rates are specified on this ad. Rates reflect 2 person occupancy.*

Green Space: Jamaica Plain, often referred to in the 19th century as 'the Eden of America,' is one of the greenest neighborhoods in the city of Boston. The community contains or is bordered by a number of jewels of the Emerald Necklace park system designed in the 19th century by Frederick Law Olmsted: Olmsted Park, from Route 9 at the Riverway south to Perkins Street, including Leverett Pond, Willow Pond, and Ward's Pond... Jamaica Pond has 60 acres (240,000 m2) of surface area and is the largest and deepest body of fresh water in Boston... Arnold Arboretum is a 265-acre (1.1 km2) world-renowned plant collection maintained by Harvard University, and contains Peter's Hill, the highest elevation in Jamaica Plain at 235 feet (72 m)... Franklin Park is a 527-acre (2.1 km2) park (the largest in the city) and holds the Franklin Park Zoo (the largest zoo in New England), White Stadium and the William J. Devine Golf Course.

Public transportation: The Green Line 'E' Train streetcar service terminates at Heath Street and South Huntington Avenue. Bus service continues along South Huntington Avenue, Centre Street, and South Street to its terminus at the Forest Hills Station. The Orange Line rapid transit train line runs below street level through the middle of Jamaica Plain, with stops at Jackson Square, Stony Brook, Green Street, and Forest Hills. Buses connect Jamaica Plain with West Roxbury, Hyde Park, and suburban Dedham and Walpole to the south, and the rest of Boston by street routes. Forest Hills Station is a major transportation hub and is within walking distance of the Arnold Arboretum and Forest Hills Cemetery.

Accommodations: Arthouse 2 has two bedrooms, one larger than the other. The unit is best suited for one to four person occupancy but feel free to inquire about a couple extra. We're painting the whole unit so we'll be posting new photos soon - available September 1st, 2011 just in time for parents visiting their kids at college and leaf peeping season!

More Details
Hide Details

27 Reviews of Property 386983 in Boston, Massachusetts

Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
average rating of 4.652174 based on 27 reviews
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
5

Great place and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We really enjoyed staying at Arthouse 2. The upstairs apartment was sunny, spacious, and all the furnishings were very comfortable. The Kitchen is well set up with plenty of room for many people to be working at once. Jamaica Plains is a great town and the orange line train station is a right around the corner. Christine, the owner was very helpful and communicative prior to our visit as well as when we arrived and had questions. Great place....will return often.
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great place to stay and relax...We'll be back!

Great place to stay and relax...We'll be back!
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Six of us stayed here for a week in august (4 adults and 2 children , ages 8 and 4). We all felt at home imediately as the owners have thought of everything - lots of clean linens, well-equipped kitchen, even some toys and books for the kids. The house was clean and comfortable and we made use of the cute back yard as well.
For us, this was great value for money. If we had stayed in a hotel, we would have needed 2 rooms and the kids would not have the space to move around or go outside. Here, we could cook our own meals (great grocery stores nearby), enjoy a glass of wine in the back yard, go to the park across the road, or head to the T-station down the road (3 minutes away) to tour around Boston. Really the perfect set-up. We love Boston and will definitley contact Christine again to arrange a stay.
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Boston arthouse offered all the comforts of home!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved staying in this comfortable and well appointed home. Close to the "T" and walking distance to great food. Owner Christine was very congenial. We'll be back!
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
Eastern North Carolina
5

We loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed in Arthouse 2 just last week (1st week in Oct.). There were 3 of us, myself, my husband and our adult daughter. We loved the location. It's so conveniently close to the subway, and restaurants.

We enjoyed our time in Boston. This property's close proximity to the subway made it easy to get around anyplace you might want to go. We didn't use a car at all. The owner was very easy to contact to make all the rental arrangements. Our stay was smooth, easy, and lots of fun. The house itself is comfortable, and spacious with lovely modern interior decor. Also? Because the house features some really intimate, but tasteful Drag Queen art, we were inspired to catch a show. We had a blast.

I would recommend staying at Arthouse 2 in Jamaica Plain to anyone. I will stay there again if I need to make a trip to the Boston area.
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thank you very much

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
"Just a quick note to say thank you very much for making The Arthouse available for us last month. We had a fabulous time in Boston, made all the easier for the convenient location( adjacent to the Metro and close to Restaurants) and the facilities available in the apartment, which was much more spacious than if we had booked a hotel room."
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
3

Not As Advertised! No Customer Service.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I will start by saying that the Arthouse 2 is fine, the location is wonderful the juxtaposition to the "T" could not be better and that I can not recommend this rental. Some details of our experience:
Shortly after our arrival, the owner was notified that the television did not work at all and that The Arthouse 2 had been left with a diminished supply of paper products.
The responses were "'we'll see what we can do about the TV"' and "'we'll drop off some paper towels and toilet paper."'
We bought our own paper goods a couple of days later at the little store on the corner and the TV was never repaired. The Internet Connection was spotty on our arrival and by the time we checked out (6 nights) that service was not functioning at all. Due to the response over the TV and papergoods issues, I chose not to notify the owner about the internet breakdown.
Imagine; three 60 something newsheads trying to co-exist without the benefit of a TV or internet connection.
The owners did respond to another issue while we were there by installing the window air conditioners, and they did also give us a credit for the TV situation. During our stay, we never saw the owner or anyone else affiliated with the Arthouse 2. Checked out on June 11, 2013 and received our damage deposit refund on July 19, 2013.
Owner's Response: Let me 1st say that I like to stay out of my guests way and not intrude. I want my guests to feel as if they have their own space even though I live in the house next door. Because of the proximity I am able to respond very quickly to requests like installing 3 AC units as soon as I get a call. I would say 99% of my guests are not here to watch TV. Even if there happens to be a rainy day the rentals are fully equipped with a blue ray players with many options of movies readily available. During their stay the cable happen to be on the fritz, I checked it and called the cable company and made an appointment. Guests also have the option of using the red retro Crosley radio/dock to play podcasts, music, weather, news or simply use the radio. There also happens to be a hip café 3 doors down in the Brewery that has free wi-fi if it came down to an emergency. In short, I have over 70 5star reviews between Arthouse and Arthouse 2 (240435/386983) plus 4 years of very satisfactory rental experience but I guess I can’t please everyone. Having said all this, my rentals are not big franchise hotels nor do I charge those rates. I should probably be picker about who stays in them…
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
San Diego, California
5

The Perfect Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The perfect place for me to stay in Boston. Right around the corner from the T and Sam Adams Brewery. The neighborhood is adorable and I enjoyed walking to the arboretum. One thing I'd like to mention to future visitors - one room is significantly bigger than the other. If you're traveling with a friend - you might want to compromise a price increase for the larger area. If I ever plan a trip to Boston again - absolutely would love to stay in the Arthouse again. -sb
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
5

Great apartment in a very cute neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My friend and I made a trip to Boston for the 4th of July. We loved this rental from the moment we walked inside! So clean, cute, and cozy. Loved the modern bathroom and the bed was so comfortable. The deck is amazing, too. Just as the other reviews stated, it is very close to a T stop, which was so convenient. We absolutely loved the neighborhood, Jamaica Plain, or "J.P.'" as the locals call it. We went to City Feed and Supply everyday for coffee before getting on the T. Its one of the places the owner recommended. We then discovered there is a bigger City Feed on Center St., the main street in town. Great food! We also went to Brendan Behan Pub, which was recommended by the owner. GREAT pub with very friendly bartenders who gave us lots of tips for seeing Boston. I highly recommend visiting the Arboretum in J.P. as well. Overall, I would definitely stay at this rental again, in fact I plan to, the next time I'm in Boston.
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
5

Highly Recommend ArtHouse2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family and I recently stayed in this property. What sold us on this property was the location. It is a very short walk to the T. We didn't need a car. There is shopping and a playground within walking distance. The property has everything (and more) than you need for your stay.

The owner could not have been more accomodating. She was available to us via phone or text. There is a folder she put together that is in the unit giving you information on the unit itself and the area, including restaurants and menus.

I highly recommend choosing this property for your stay in the Boston area.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Arthouse 2 - Historic Brewery District - steps from subway, bar/restaurants!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386983
+1 9178345517
Boston Greater Boston
4

Location, location, location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This apartment is very conveniently located to a T stop, and thus it was very easy to get downtown quickly (I was attending a conference). It also happened to be very close to my daughter's apartment, so we could easily visit, and still have our own (quiet) space. Plus, the 1/2 block walk to Ula's café means great coffee and sandwiches are just a few steps away.

The apartment though was quite cold, no matter how much we tried to adjust the thermostats. And the "art" during our stay (I understand it changes) was awful - large garish photographs of old drag queens in various states of undress. One or 2 might have been okay, but they were EVERYwhere!

There were a few blips with the state of the apartment when we arrived - bathroom trash full of used tissues, and coffee maker full of old grounds, but in general it was quite clean and fresh. And the bed was super comfy.

It being winter, we didn't get to enjoy the deck out back, but it looked inviting. Getting in and out was quite easy with the keyless system (I hate fumbling with strange keys!). All in all, we had a fine time.
Helpful votes: 2/2