Governor's Harbour estate rental - Great Room with ocean views
Great Room with ocean views
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Governor's Harbour Estate Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

This beautifully restored and modernized estate home of the late Sir Roland Symonette, first Premier of the Bahamas, retains its original elegance while enjoying modern comforts and conveniences. Hearts Ease, as Sir Roland named it, sits on a hill above a beautiful pink-sand beach. Hearts Ease enjoys spectacular 50-mile, 180-degree views of the beach and ocean below. It’s a short 100-yard walk down the hill to the beach.

At the entrance of the villa, you are greeted by three sets of French doors that open into an expansive Great Room looking out upon the ocean. The 16 foot ceilings, lovingly restored paneled walls, fireplace, and antique chandeliers combine with the views to make a stunning first impression. To the right is the Master Bedroom with private deck, large en suite bath and queen-size canopy bed, a spacious and delightful room.

To the left of the Great Room is the kitchen, fully equipped with stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops, and sliding glass doors to the patio. In addition to the Master Suite, Hearts Ease has two guest bedrooms, each with an en suite bathroom. Each guest bedroom has access to a private outdoor sitting area, closet, and queen bed. Hearts Ease has a powder room convenient to the Great Room, and a large and fully equipped laundry room with washer and dryer.

At the back of the house overlooking the ocean is a fully equipped outdoor bar and kitchen, complete with gas grill and outdoor dining area. The extensive outdoor living space also includes a large screened porch, a beautiful low-walled patio of the same size, and a rooftop deck, all with spectacular ocean views. After a day on the beach, enjoy our private outdoor shower. Heart Ease is beautifully landscaped with tropical flowers, palm trees, and fruit and nut trees.

Description continued: Hearts Ease is just 50 yards from a large and lovely pool shared with several other homes. Just past it is our pink sand beach. A short walk down the beach takes you to Sky Beach Club's excellent restaurant and bar, which has poolside service all day long. Other nearby fine dining includes Cocodimama, five minutes by car, and Tippys, 10 minutes away. The picturesque town of Governors Harbour, less then three miles away, has 19th century homes and churches, grocery stores, banks with ATMs, gift shops, liquor stores, dive shop, bakery, restaurants, and a restored historic library.

Hearts Ease is fully equipped to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Amenities include air conditioning, WIFI, landline phone, satellite TV, DVD player with video library, stereo system with CD player, video games, library of books, board games, children’s toys, beach chairs, beach towels, and snorkel gear. We have also ordered a pack and play crib, high chair, and an all-terrain stroller.

Come relax and find peace at Hearts Ease, just as Sir Roland would have wished for you.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 386268 in Governor's Harbour, Bahamas

Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
average rating of 4.923077 based on 15 reviews
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
4

beautiful island beautiful house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
the house has everything you need - great kitchen. super relaxing living room. three god sized bedrooms. nice and breezy never too hot or cold, no need for ac but it's there if you need. even beach chairs and beach toys for the kids. central location perfect for exploring both ends of the island.
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Wonderful! Five star!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Hearts Ease was lovely. We had a wonderful vacation. The house had everything we needed, was located above a pristine beach and next to the Sky Beach Club where we enjoyed delicious food and drinks. Sammy, the bartender, kept us entertained. Long walks on the beach were relaxing and the views breathtaking. Brenda and Billy welcomed us, recommended restaurants, snorkeling beaches, and made sure we had everything we needed. Our visit couldn't have been better.
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

I remember when......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I use to live in that house! We lived there for 3 years back in the 70's when my Dad worked for Pan Am on the Air Force Base. The house was beautiful then and it's even more beautiful now! I miss the Island life so much. I hope one day I can come back to Eleuthera and stay at Hearts Ease again. The pictures bring back great memories and made me shed a few tears.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
New York
5

fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
a gorgeous villa on the hill with panoramic views of the ocean from livingroom, kitchen and 2 bedrooms.
The pool is not private, however we had 2 other families staying in the compound at same time and never overlapped on pool time. The only problem is there is no fridge etc by the pool so you'll have to keep running back to the house which is a short but steep uphill walk to get cold refreshments. Love the design and features of the house, we'll definately be coming back.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We booked Hearts Ease through Matthew Simon. We had never visited Eleuthera and Matthew was awesome to answer any of the many questions we had prior to arrival, he could not have been more helpful!

When we arrived we were greeted by Brenda at the house and she was so friendly and showed us all around and gave directions to the grocery store, etc. The house was amazing! It is so beautiful! We spent our mornings drinking coffee on the screened porch and nights laying in the hammock looking at the stars! The yard was full of lizards which was heaven for my 8 year old son! It was nice for him to have an actual yard to play in. We had fresh coconut off the trees in the yard. The views from the house are amazing! We had the pool to ourselves most of the time and if not, there was one other family there. We never had to share "our beach" with anyone although alot of our time was spent snorkling on the Carribean side.

We visited several beaches while we were there, each one was amazing and we had most to ourselves . We went fishing one day with Paul Perry which was definatly a highlight of the trip and would definatly recommend. We really enjoyed the Friday night fishfry. We ate at several restaurants and would say Buccaneers and Sunset Inn very good. We thought Tippy's was overpriced. Plan to wait a while when you go eat, remember they are on island time!

Thanks Matthew and Brenda for all your help and for making this a vacation we will always remember! We can't say enough great things about Hearts Ease and Eleuthera! We are already planning a return visit!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
United States
5

heart's ease

heart's ease
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
beautiful house with a more beautiful view. everything we needed. clean and very well decorated. the caretakers were great and the agent was very helpful with booking, recommendations for renting a car and other activities while on the island. right next door to sky beach bistro with great pool, bar and restaurant. not a single complaint about the house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"Spectacular"

"Spectacular"
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a SPECTACULAR time mostly because of Heart's Ease. As you know, there's not a lot happening on the island so having a house as grand as HE is a blessing. We had only one day of rain/clouds but still, we just hung around the house. Made a few trips to Harbour Island for lunch at Sip-Sip and we had 3 trips to Tippy's. Also met some nice folks on the beach. We always laugh at how deserted it is.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Our Time at Heart's Ease

Our Time at Heart's Ease
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
5 of us from the ages of 69-80 rented Heart's Ease for 10 days in December 2012. We all agree that it was a privilege to stay in this amazing house. For us, spilt 5 ways, we were able to enjoy the luxury of this vacation home. Kean Stubbs met us at the airport with a rental van and another vehicle to carry our luggage. The grounds around Heart's Ease are so well kept with flowering shrubs, lawn and a very interesting grid of stone and grass near the house entryway. The house is clean as a whistle and well appointed with nice furniture, good beds, comfy couches and tasteful accessories. We spent many hours on the screened porch. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a good laundry room. The beach is beautiful and we had it mostly to ourselves, as well as the pool which the complex shares.
We enjoyed meals at The Sky Beach Club which is a short walk from Heart's Ease - at night we took a flashlight. We also enjoyed Tippy's very much and the sunset at The Buccaneer was amazing especially with Christmas lights twinkling on the deck and a Christmas tree inside.
Everywhere we went the islanders were so kind and helpful to us. On a quest for ice cream, the local people directed us to the right place in South Palmetto. A lovely young lady had a small freezer in her tiny shop with 4 kinds of ice cream from Nassau. Rum raisin - very good. We took a day trip to Harbor Island, on the way crossing the bridge that shows you an amazing view of the Caribbean on one side and the Atlantic on the other - a must to see this sight. From the mainland of Eleuthera, it is just a short motor boat ride over to Harbor Island where you can rent a golf cart, zoom around, and have lunch. Wherever you go on the island wear your hat, bring water and sunscreen.
We enjoyed the fish fry in town and the barbeque given by the Heart's Ease property managers Brenda and Billy Stubbs - they put out an amazing amount and variety of food on Friday and Saturday for lunch at their house.
There are grocery stores in Governor's Harbor. The boat brings provisions two times a week to the stores so going on those days gives you more choices. Food is expensive because of the fact that it has to be brought in. Local farmer's were hit by Hurricane Sandy so Island Farm did not have much to offer when we were there and it was off season. It must be hard to grow food with all the coral in the soil.
We bought a grouper for our dinner at the dock where local fishermen come in the afternoon.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

amazing house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a asome time at Eleuhtera. 50% of that was becuase Bahamas is a paradise, an Eleuthera is one of the nicest Island of it.. 50% left is because this propierty.Is just very nice, good size, all rigth in equipment, and very very clean. NO complain. Everything regarding the house perfect.

SItuation is perfect, because is in the middle of the Island, so nothing is very far. Brenda, Bill and Kean, and ready to help you in everything you might need. Owners must be a very nice people because, i found that this house is made with love and kindness.

Place is perfect, for family vacations.TIme to talk, play and take care of children and wife. BEachs at Eleuthera are great., and people is very nice.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Restored Historic Beach Villa with Pool and Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386268
+1 239-482-8173
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Boston, Massachusetts
5

Absolute Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Heart's Ease is nothing short of an absolutely perfect place to stay while vacationing on Eleuthera Island. The house is immaculate, beautifully decorated, updated, and so relaxing. The view from every window is post card perfect. You can fall asleep to the sound of the ocean waves every night. The beach is pretty much completely secluded/private. The ocean is crystal clear perfect with soft, white sand. It is hard to put this vacation into words because it was such an amazing time. I have travelled to many, many places and nothing compares to this beautiful paradise. The locals are so much fun to meet and mingle with. Make sure you visit restaurants like The Beach House and Daddy Joe's which have live music entertainment. Rent your car (this is a must on the island, you really can't walk to anything except the Sky Beach resort) from the home's caretakers' son Kean, he is a wonderful person. The caretakers of the home also have a delicious BBQ on Friday's that cannot be missed. The fish fry on Friday nights is also a really, really fun time. If you want to travel to Eleuthera Island, book a stay at Heart's Ease. It is an absolute hidden gem that is perfect for families or a romantic couple's weekend getaway. It is gorgeous in every way and you will never want to leave! I will definitely be back, I wanted to stay forever!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2