Louisville house rental - Visit our website for many more photos:
Visit our website for many more photos:
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps22
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Louisville House Rental Photos and Description
Water Setting, 5 BR + Loft, Game Room, Den (sleeps up to 22 with our AeroBeds)

We have several homes available now - visit our private site at Louisville Vacation Home dot com.

Homes now available: 4,000 sq ft, 4400 sq ft, 6000 sq ft, 6800 sq ft, 7,000 sq ft, 7250 sq ft and 8,000+ sq ft - see at Louisville Vacation Home dot com.

Note: Greystone has only 2 nights of availability left in 2014 - that two-night package is $3,800 - other homes substantially less expensive, so contact me or visit our private site for information.

Greystone: 7,250 sq ft Luxury Home in a fantastic setting - Create a memorable vacation or family reunion! Additional fees apply for groups over 12 - we can accommodate up to 22 with airbeds.

Two night minimum - Other than for special events and holidays, our Sun-Thurs rate is $995 per night for up to 12 guests, surcharge over 12. (Our other homes are less...check with me). The Non-Special Event/Holiday rate for Fri-Sat is $1,195 per night (see rate page). Holidays and special events have a premium. Most of the year, weekly rate is $5,500. Derby is $15,000 for up to 5 nights, $18,000 for full week. The 2014 PGA Championship is $15,000 for a full week. (Other events are not as expensive...please submit your inquiries and I'll get with you).

We realize Greystone will not fit within everyone's budget, especially for a small group. However, we have other homes, so contact us. Please consider the size of your group and what you would have to collectively pay to stay in a decent hotel! At Greystone, your family and friends can all stay together and enjoy a memorable 7,250 sq ft private home in a beautiful setting and make your event really special! So, if you need to accommodate a group up to 22 together for family reunions, weddings, church retreats...perhaps Greystone is just your ticket! There is nothing like in on the vacation rental market in the entire Louisville area!

Greystone was built in 1991 but renovated and completely redecorated when we purchased it in mid-2011. It is located in the upscale Lake Forest area of Louisville, just 16 short miles by freeway to downtown and 20 miles by freeway from Churchill Downs. The 7,250 square feet of living space and will accommodate groups up to 22, although there is a surcharge for groups over 12. ($30 per day per guest fee, but children under 24 months are not counted.)

The 5 large bedrooms (4 King and 1 Queen bed) are all theme decorated, plus there is a Loft and Game Room with sleeper-sofas, two AeroBed Queens, and 4 AeroBed Twin XL, (plus very comfy leather sofas and recliners that could accommodate added sleeping). The house is filled with art objects and the setting is truly park-like, with the large 3/4 acre landscaped lot sitting adjacent a 3 acre pond with fountains and great night lighting. The views from the house are fantastic! Greystone will provide a wonderful and relaxing setting for your next family reunion, church retreat, small wedding, or corporate executive stay. See the few photos here on VRBO and check out our private website (linked just above the photos at the bottom of this page) for hundreds of photos and much more information about the house and events in Louisville. Greystone is more than just a vacation rental...it is our home, and we look forward to you being our guests in it. When guests come, we take the opportunity to travel or visit our grandkids in Missouri and California!

The large 3-story Greystone features:

5 large, individually themed bedrooms Tropical, Baseball, Autumn, Patriotic...and the master.

5 bathrooms - master is a luxury suite with Jacuzzi, large separate walk-in shower, with direct access to large decks.

Formal Dining room - will accommodate 10

Music Room - complete with baby grand piano and other instruments.

Great Room - Soaring 30' ceiling, massive gas-log fireplace and many picture windows and a wet bar.

Large loft - The library room with game seating and sofa sleeper - all overlooking the great room and it's 30' ceiling

Florida Room - fully glass enclosed, a great place to sit and eat or visit while taking in the beautiful lake view and watching geese, ducks, and occasional deer

Laundry & Mud Rooms - features a new Steam Whirlpool washer & dryer

Kitchen - well-stocked for your group including a large capacity SubZero, Jennair island cooking, dual range/ovens, microwave, dishwasher, etc.

Garage - (you'll have use of one bay for parking) with 6 bikes, a 12volt kid's Corvette, snow sleds, and other play equipment.

Game Room - play Foosball, air hockey, darts, beanbags, punch the heavy bag...have fun! Has sleeper sofa for kid-sleeping.

Basement features both a home theater with 12' projection and 50' plasma, both with surround sound

Exercise Room - work out with the treadmill, recumbent bike, BowFlex, Ab machine, dumbbells, stretch tubes, Pilates ball, yoga equipment, etc. You can watch a movie while you sweat!

Large basement living room with ample leather recliners and love seats (also recline) and a full-body massage chair to sooth the body. 50' plasma with almost 1000 DVDs.

Office area - access to computer with non-login guest setting and whole-house wireless. Great views to the patios and back yard / pond.

Large non-stocked bar in lower level (wet-bar in great room)

Greystone can accommodate small wedding, receptions, and retreats. We have off-street parking for 15-20 cars.

Basic rental rate covers groups up to 12, with add-on of $30 per day / person over 12.(children under 24 months are not counted in the 12)

Pets must be listed and accepted...certain breeds are not allowed and primary tenant is responsible for any damages done by guests or pets. Pet fee is $50,

$100 reservation fee, $100 cleaning-laundry-prep fees are non-refundable

$500 - $1,000 Security deposit (depending on the size of your group) is fully refundable if no damages to property

Fee for wedding, reception, or non-guest gatherings. NO house parties permitted other than as registered and approved.

25% deposit (non-refundable) required to book - full payment due within 30 days before arrival - no refunds if cancelled within 14 days of arrival.

All bookings subject to the rental agreement on our website (see link)

2014 Derby Week - $15,000 for 1-5 night stay, $18,000 for full week (you choose the dates). 2014 PGA Championship - $15,000 for one week. We also have two other homes owned by friends available...and less expensive with 2-3 day minimums.

Be sure to browse our private Greystone website for many more photos, more information, Inquiry Form, Rental Agreement, and more.

Make Greystone your Louisville base for all your vacation and special events!

Keywords: large estate, luxury home, water view, large group, Louisville Estate,

More Details
Hide Details

Owners Jim and Ginger Welch purchased Greystone in June 2010 and renovated right after they purchased. Together, Jim and Ginger know you'll love it, as they've made it a point to have their homes in great settings to enjoy...and now you, their guests, can too!

James Welch purchased this house in 2011

This is our home when we are in Kentucky, which is the majority of the year. We chose Louisville for two reasons: our oldest son and family lived here, and we are opening a warehouse for our distribution company here to be close to UPS Worldport.

The setting is absolutely beautiful at Greystone, and feels very private. The 3 acre pond is a draw for Canadian Geese, ducks, Great Blue Heron, and deer. It has the feel of a beautiful private park and is a perfect setting for small weddings and receptions, church retreats, and of course family vacations and reunions. And...Louisville has a lot to offer!

18 Reviews of Property 386098 in Louisville, Kentucky

7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
average rating of 4.882353 based on 18 reviews
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
5

Excellent house for large groups

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This house was the perfect location for our reunion. Many rooms for socializing and many comfortable places to sleep. The house is beautiful and well maintained. Excellent lake views, plenty of outside space, nice neighborhood and reasonable distance to downtown Louisville and other attractions.

Jim was very responsive to all questions/comments through the whole process and accommodating of our large group. I would highly recommend this house for any group.
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
San Francisco
5

Wonderful House for a Retreat / Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our group of 12 college friends came together here for a weekend and had a very enjoyable experience. The house is very large and spacious and is well suited for large groups or get togethers looking for a 'retreat'. Plenty of social rooms to hang out in and plenty of sound isolation if light sleepers want to use the bedrooms while others are active. Very beautiful backyard, perfect for lawn games, and a great screened in patio and outdoor deck that we spent most of our time on. Excellent game room downstairs. I think Jim's pictures and details describing the website capture the house very accurately and should give other prospective renters a very clear depiction of what they're getting.

Property was very clean and well maintained. Jim was very helpful with suggesting restaurants and things to do in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words, Matt. You guys are welcome back anytime!
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
Deridder, Louisiana
5

Youth Convention

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were in town for a youth convention and 26 people (20 youth and 6 adults) stayed very comfortably in this home with no problems. The accommodations were exceptional and true to pictures and descriptions. The house and grounds were clean and well maintained in a quiet neighborhood. We had plenty of privacy. Jim was very helpful providing us with all the information needed and even suggestions on things to do. He called and checked on us and made sure we had everything we needed and made himself and his representatives available to us. I would definitely recommend this place to large groups, families, or multiple families to stay together. The house is in a quiet neighborhood and close to anything that is needed or wanted which makes it the perfect place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Susan, I obviously was concerned at the number of people in your group, but your church and the teens took care of the house perfectly...Thank you! That reflects very well on the adults, so I commend you and the young adults in your care. Hope to see you again in the future. Jim
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
Chicago, IL
5

Amazing Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
10 of us stayed for 4 nights and loved the house. It has every amenity you can imagine, and we used the mall. Great sound system throughout the house, basketball court, kayaks for the pond, amazing enclosed patio, huge deck with a grill, and a ridiculous man cave to name a few. Everything we clean and in order. I could not recommend a better house if you're staying in the Louisville area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
Chicago, IL
5

Lovely Home, Set up for convenient rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I really enjoyed my stay here. The house was set up extremely well to accommodate a group like the one that we had staying there. Every bedroom had the convenience of a inflatable "bed in a box". It also had plenty of space to stretch out in.

The home theater added an easy way to let 6-8 people sit and enjoy a ball game or movie. The sun room also provided a nice place to sit and either play a game of cards or read, and on cool nights we were able to open all the sliding windows to enjoy the nice breeze.

I would recommend this place for a group that isn't looking to get too out of control. Which could include family gatherings or class reunions.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words, Brian. Glad you enjoyed the stay and if you guys ever head to Louisville again, let me know. Your group would be welcomed anytime.
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfect for our reunion!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I just wanted to drop you a quick note and let you know how much we enjoyed vacationing at Greystone this past weekend.  You have a lovely home in a wonderful neighborhood.  Our group had a wonderful time and we were thankful to have such a nice place to stay.
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
5

Excellent vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My friends and I were looking for a fun place to spend the weekend in Louisville and we found it at Greyhouse. The home was perfect for our group of 10. There was plenty of room and all of the furnishings and entertainment options were first rate. Between the projection-screen TV, expansive outdoor deck and lake, some of us didn't want to leave the house. Jim was wonderful to work with and it is obvious they care about creating a truly exceptional experience for their guests. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
Forest Grove, Oregon 97116
4

Tom Cod

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
It was very nice and accommodated our guests. It was close to the wedding venue and other attractions including the airport. I couldn't find a check in or out list to note any thing that was broken or missing. (i.e.-the statue with the missing arm.) I would have also liked an inventory in the linen closet and because when it was time to clean up, I couldn't remember where all the blowup beds went. Is there a food bank nearby for leftover food? All in all it was a great place to stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
Michigan
4

JP

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house was beautiful. The neighborhood was great! Clean, classy and not far from downtown, sites, and attractions. If I am ever in the Louisville area I'd certainly stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Joe,

Thank you for the kind words. Would you further take just a minute to help me understand your 4 of 5 rating? Yours is the first time we have had less than 5 star rating, and I was wondering what I would have needed to do or provide you to make your overall experience better. Was something lacking? Was the property not properly cleaned or furnished to your satisfaction? I would very much like to have future guests consider Greystone as a 5 star place, and your 4 rating would indicate not everything was to your satisfaction. Would you take a minute to clarify...I'd really appreciate it! Thanks, Jim Welch, Owner
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
7250 Sq Ft - Reserve for 2014 Derby & PGA Championship!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p386098vbi
661-619-8888
Louisville Kentucky
Gardabaer, Iceland
5

IronMan preparation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We, group of athletes, came to Louisville to race in Ironman. We had a wonderful time at Greystone and all of us were so happy with this magnificent property, 5 stars out of 5 for everything, from the booking in the beginning til the stay at Greystone. Nice and quiet neighbourhood.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the comments, Siggi. Thanks for taking good care of Greystone...your group from Iceland would be welcome back anytime!
Helpful votes: 2/2