Deal Island cottage rental - .
.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Deal Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath,sleeps 4-5.

vintage waterfront cottage with fishing pier located on Tangier Sound.

large screened in porch with expansive views;

gorgeous sunsets;

Kitchen; dishwasher, refrigerator,washer, dryer, microwave, toaster oven

Full bathroom;

dining area; table and 4 chairs

two bedrooms, , one double bed; one queen size (bottom bunk) twin top bunk

living room love seat, two chairs, flat screen T.V.

window air conditioner in the living room and fans in bedrooms.

you can reach many fun destinations in under an hour, Ocean City, Chincoteague, Snow Hill( a charming artsy town , and a great place to rent a kayak on the beautiful Pocomoc River) Shad landing state Park, has some nice trails,

picnic areas and small boat rentals.

Amenities: Stove,oven,microwave,coffee maker,refrigerator,

dishwasher

Pots & pans, cooking utensils, dishes, silverware, glasses , wine glasses,dish washing supplies.

Washer & dryer, clothing detergent, dryer sheets.

Satellite TV/Direct TV.

Window A/C and electric heat.

DVD, CD player.

Charcoal Grill & BBQ utensils.

Blankets, pillows and sheets.

Towels. including beach towels.

2 beach chairs.

assorted spices.

aluminum foil, baggies,saran wrap, paper towels.

large pot for cooking crabs, crab mallets.

serving platters, mixing bowls.

binoculars and field guides, this is an awesome place to go BIRDING.

Attractions: enjoy relaxing in the spacious SCREENED IN PORCH. In the morning you can watch the local watermen 'work' their pots as the birds swoop down to the water and capture their breakfast. In the evenings you can enjoy the unobstructed view of the spectacular sunset.

walk on trails that wander through the DEAL ISLAND WILD LIFE MANAGEMENT AREA

FISH ON THE PIER in front of the cottage bait is available at Lucky's in Chance, Arby's in Wenona. Winks in Princess Ann has a wide range of bait.

bring your own boat, there are several Boat ramps close by

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 385730 in Deal Island, Maryland

Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
5

So hard to leave

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
One of the best vacations we have ever had. We loved the vintage cottage, equipped with everything you would need. My husband and I had our 6 year old grandson along and it was great to just walk out the door to fishing and crabbing. Nice beach down the road.

If you are looking for a relaxing, no rush vacation, this is the place to be. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Thank you Bob and Maureen - hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
4

Relaxing time away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable place away from almost everything this is the place you want to go. The time we spent here at the cottage was wonderful, from the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere of the island itself and it's people to the breath taking views of the sunsets and abundant wildlife. As soon as we arrived Bob and Maureen met us with big smiles and a comfortable and instant welcoming feeling. They even went as far as arranging for a local, very informative and friendly waterman to help us hone our somewhat poor skills at fishing and within minutes we started catching fish right from their dock. We definitly want to return soon. Thank you both for a relaxing and wonderful week.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
5

Great Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I very much enjoyed this quiet and secluded spot on Deal Island. The house is surrounded by old pine trees and just steps from the water. We especially enjoyed the large screen porch where we watched the watermen in the morning, enjoyed the gentle afternoon breezes, and soaked in the beautiful sunsets.
Bob and Mureen were gracious hosts and we enjoyed an afternoon kayaking with Bob.
We highly recommend this property. It's a gem.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
5

Had a blast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed over for two nights during a heat wave (near 100 degrees) and had a fabulous time. We came with 5 children and they all loved it. The first night they went swimming at the water right outside the house and watched the stunning sunset. We bbqd and relaxed. The next day we spent on the beach down the road and at evening went fishing with Bob and "Captain Dan" and caught some fish which was a new experience for us city folk. Bob and Maureen were as nice as could be. The house was lovely and comfortable and cool despite the heat outside. Putting 7 people in the house was a stretch spacewise but 5 could easily stay. Thanks for a great getaway!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
5

Best weekend ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This place is truly spectacular! We had a wonderful time staying here. Planned this as a Father's Day gift from my daughter to my husband and it was the best weekend get away our family had. Maureen and Bill were there to welcome us when we got there and they were wonderful hosts. The cottage was prepared very well for our stay with great attention to details and we immediately felt at home.

The best part was hanging around with my 6 year old on the screened porch and the dock watching the birds in the morning. The sunsets are the best part in the evening.
The porch is the equally beautiful with perfect lighting for a nice evening dinner.

Over all, My husband had the best father's day gift so far and my 6 year old said this was the best place she had ever been to!! And she already has plans for another visit.

This place is like a hidden gem and I am really glad we went and would highly recommend to someone looking for a nice and relaxing weekend getaway.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
Newfield NJ 08344
4

Great place to relax

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This is a great place to relax and enjoy the breath taken views. The cottage was well equipt with everything you could think of. Crabbing and fishing off the private pier was great. The pier was also well thought out from a table for baiting your line to the benches in which you could sit relax and enjoy the view while waiting for a bite. The sunsets are spectacular. The ride into town was also enjoyable on a quaint like back road. If you like nature there was a complete libray on diffent spieces that live there and field glasses avalible to view them. the screened in pourch is a great place to read and relax while enjoying the cool sea brease at night. My hat goes of to our host Bob and Moreen they were great and a plesure to meet. Our little dog even loved this place.If you are looking for a place where you can really relax this is it.

Thanks Again
Mike
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
4

Vacation on Deal Island

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had a great time on Deal Island. Everything you needed at the cottage was provided. Ken enjoyed the crabbing and fishing off the pier. We even had the utensils to cook the crabs we caught. If the weather had been cooler we would have spent more time on the screened porch. It was delightful. Nights were quiet. We took day trips to Cambridge, Salisbury, Assateague, Crisfield, and Tangier Island. Found some wonderful seafood. Maureen and Bob are wonderful hosts for this special part of the Chesapeake that is so large. They provided and helped us with our questions about the area. One minus point -- our cell phone did not work at that point of the island. All the towers on this part of the bay are serviced by Verizon only. I have tMobile service. We were however able to make calls when we got out on the road some 30 minutes from the house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
Cheverly, MD, USA
5

Beyond relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This was the most wonderful place to vacation--kudos and many thanks to Maureen and Bob for creating such a beautiful and relaxing vacation spot! We did a little of everything over the course of the week--locally, we fished, biked, played tennis, watched birds, and crabbed, but we also took day-trips to Ocean City, Smith Island, and Assateague.

The cottage is very cozy, and has all the amenities for chillin' out on the Eastern Shore. We enjoyed the most wonderful sunsets from the pier, and had fun watching the brown pelicans dive-bomb for their prey in the water. There are lots of critters to spy in the water along the shore--it was a great place for "I Spy," the Easter Shore version! The screened-in porch, which is decorated with soft lights, provided better ambiance than any restaurant--it offers the most beautiful view of the water, and protection from bugs!

The Pricess Anne farmer's market is held on Thursdays, so Thursday night's dinner featured local corn, tomatoes, and potatoes as well as crabs we caught off the pier--you can't get any fresher than that!

I think one of the week's highlights was going out on the water with Capt. Danny and Mo, Maureen and Bob's daughter. Capt. Danny is a second-generation waterman and independent crabber. Mo and Capt. Danny gave us a behind-the-scenes tour of a day on the water, and invited us to help pull crab pots and sort the catch. The best part was watching our 9-yr-old work with glee as he tried to keep up with Mo's pace, and with the crabby crabs! Later, we toured their crab shanty, where they spend several more hours processing the crabs for sale to restaurants, including one in NYC.

As a Marylander, it was a great way to learn more about the watermen, and waterwomen (!), who catch those tasty crabs, and an enriching way to explore an important part of Maryland's past, present, and future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
Centreville, Md.
5

Perfect Get Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
After a very busy summer of travel lacrosse with our kids, we were looking for the perfect spot to relax. This is the perfect place. The screened in porch was a favorite for the entire family. The fishing pier,the nearby beach, and the quiet surroundings made this the perfect vacation for our family. We look forward to coming back next summer. Thank you Maureen and Bob.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Vintage Waterfront Cottage with Fishing Pier on the Chesapeake Bay.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385730
+1 4107842123
Deal Island Chesapeake Bay
Washington, DC
4

Water Life

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Staying on the "quiet side" of the Eastern Shore was a great experience. The screened-in porch was an outstanding spot for watching the sun set in the evening and watermen working the bay in the morning. Our cottage hosts arranged for us to spend a morning on the water with Captain Dan, Mo, and Chase as they harvested Chesapeake Bay Blue Crabs. It was a major highlight of our trip! By the end of the morning, we were filthy and tired, but we learned a lot and developed a much deeper appreciation for the work that goes into putting those delicious crabs on our plates. We also spent a couple of glorious days at the Assateague National Seashore, which was only an hour away from the cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children