Del Mar house rental - Street View
Street View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Del Mar House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

A spacious beach house in a quiet Del Mar neighborhood facing Torrey Pines State Beach (2 min. drive or 10 min. walk along a beautiful lagoon) and close to all north San Diego amenities such as Del Mar Racetrack, Torrey Pines Golf Course, Scripps Aquarium, Legoland, and more.

This two story family home offers 3 comfortable bedrooms. 2 full baths, one additional bathroom with shower, and a garage stocked with fun beach accessories. In its 2,280 square feet of living space there are two master suites, one with a king size bed and private bath, the other with a king size bed, fold-out twin and private bath. There is also a small adjoining room that holds a cozy twin. The third and final room houses a queen size bed. Open kitchen and living room on the second floor with views of the ocean and Torrey Pines state park. Rooftop deck. The spacious living room includes a 48' TV with DTV and plenty of seating for the family to watch movies, play games and relax.

Neighborhood includes a small market and restaurants serving Italian, Mexican, Japanese and Chinese cuisine. Take a five minute drive to Del Mar's quaint downtown, where you can explore boutiques and restaurants. Take advantage of the lovely weather and enjoy the beach!

Keywords: beach torrey pines del mar family

More Details
Hide Details

Del Mar was the vacation destination for our family since the 50's. Our parents had the house built in the mid eighties. We have kept our recently renovated home for all family members to enjoy. We are local to Southern California while some of us live in the Bay are and in Sacramento. We hope you will enjoy the beach, weather and other amenities of Del Mar and North County San Diego.

Maureen Miller purchased this house in 1986

This has been our family's vacation destination since the 50's. Our parents retired in Del Mar and we have kept the house for all family members to enjoy.

Things to do in and around Del Mar

- Hiking in Torey Pines State Park, especially the beach trail is a favorite. -Sign up for a balloon ride.

- Visit the San Diego Zoo, the Wild Animal Park or Sea world.

- Check out the events at the San Diego Fairgrounds in Del Mar.

- Take in horse racing in late August at the Del Mar Racetrack.

- Visit Julian for the Apple Festival.

- Visit the tide pools in La Jolla.

- Take a shopping trip to Tijuana.

- Surf and swim at Torrey Pines State Beach

-Take a long walk along the beach into Del Mar (3 mi.)

17 Reviews of Property 385717 in Del Mar, California

Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 17 reviews
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Spot!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from a week-long stay at this home, and had a great time. The location is wonderful, as described. We are an active family with young kids and enjoyed running or driving just up the road to the Torrey Pines beach, which is beautiful. It's very close to the town of Del Mar, where we enjoyed the restaurants, park, and beach. It's also close enough to the highway for other outings (we visited Legoland, Sea World, and Cabrillo National Monument). The house itself had everything we needed as a family of 5--it was clean and had all of the supplies/dishes/appliances we would expect. The roof deck was a nice place to sit and enjoy the view of the lagoon, Torrey Pines, and the sunset. As an unexpected bonus probably only relevant to families with very young kids, our three year old daughter was absolutely delighted to open a closet door and find a dollhouse! Overall, we had a great vacation and will stay here again if our travels bring us back to San Diego.
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
5

Great spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from a week-long stay at this home, and had a great time. The location is wonderful, as described. We are an active family with young kids and enjoyed running or driving just up the road to the Torrey Pines beach, which is beautiful. It's very close to the town of Del Mar, where we enjoyed the restaurants, park, and beach. It's also close enough to the highway for other outings (we visited Legoland, Sea World, and Cabrillo National Monument). The house itself had everything we needed as a family of 5--it was clean and had all of the supplies/dishes/appliances we would expect. The roof deck was a nice place to sit and enjoy the view of the lagoon, Torrey Pines, and the sunset. As an unexpected bonus probably only relevant to families with very young kids, our three year old daughter was absolutely delighted to open a closet door and find a dollhouse! Overall, we had a great vacation and will stay here again if our travels bring us back to San Diego.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
United States
4

Great place for extended family stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Well kept, clean, and great kitchen! Plenty of space and very comfortable. We had 7 people - 6 adults and one 3 year old - and we all enjoyed our stay. Bedrooms were good sized and a bathroom for each bedroom was definitely a plus. Our 3 year old enjoyed "her" secret closet! Area was nice and quiet, great parking and beach supplies!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
Orem, UT
4

Great Vacation House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful week at this house and plan on returning. The location is great, a very quiet neighborhood. The kitchen was well stocked and the grocery store is a short 4 minute drive. The parking pass to the beach was wonderful! The house was clean and updated. We spent a lot of time on the deck and rooftop deck. There is a little side yard/lawn that was perfect for our kids to play in. There are a few restaurants just a short block or two away, we really liked Robertos (Mexican fast food) and Eda Mami (Japanese). We also love the 2 restaurants at The Lodge at Torry Pines - just a 5-10 min drive. There are lots of other great restaurants just a short drive. My favorite shopping place was Leaping Lotus just north of Del Mar. There are lots of other great shops on the same street as Leaping Lotus. The owners were wonderful to work with. As we drove away our 5 year old daughter was crying big tears that she didn't want to leave this vacation house. We have rented several houses on VRBO and have never had a problem.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
San Jose, CA
4

Nice size for bigger groups

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Seven of us rented this house and we had tons of room. The bedrooms are nicely separated so you get some privacy. It’s a good location for site seeing in San Diego and enjoying Del Mar. It’s a nice neighborhood and you can walk to a couple of restaurants and the beach but you will definitely have to have a car for getting around.

The best part of the house is it is CRAZY stocked. Never in 15 years of renting have I been in a house where I didn’t have to run out and buy anything. Need more paper towels, napkins, shampoo, a coffee grinder – this house has everything you can think of! I really appreciated not having to run out and get basics at all. PLUS there were like 10 wetsuits we could pick from, bikes, and boogie boards. Really this house has everything you could ever need to enjoy your vacation.

Owner was very easy to deal with.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
5

Great House and close to FUN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our family truly enjoyed the fun packed week at your vacation home. It is close to Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and Sea World Safari Park and the beach. We used the free pass to Torrey State Park, too.
We were amazed at the amount of ocean toys, (surf boards, boogie boards, flippers, helmets , beach umbrellas, small child toys, beach chairs , wet suits and more. When we returned home we ENJOYED the heated shower on the back deck to wash away the sand. We did not use the bikes this time.

There are plenty of bath towels. It took us a couple days to find the dish cloths and dish rags. I was surprised to find detergent for the washer.
A Plus! The computer was there and we were able to print our boarding passes to fly home.
One note: there are only 4 teaspoons but plenty of other silverware and cooking utensils. We did fix meals at the house.

Thank You Maureen and family for sharing your home away.

Blessings, Cyndi Holland family and Larry and Barb Shank
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
Fargo ND
4

Great Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is a very comfortable home. Maureen and her family were kind enough to allow us an extended stay to escape the winter up north. We had friends and family visit during our stay and the floor plan was great for everyone to have their own privacy. Kitchen is very well equipped with a Viking 5 burner gas cooktop, GE monogram fridge etc. Great new Weber grill on the back deck which we put to good use. VERY comfy beds in all bedrooms and convenient washer and dryer on the upper level. Spacious wrap around decks and bright and sunny. Owners were very responsive to any needs we had (which were few) and took care of any problems. Torrey Pines Pass a real plus when we had visitors. Great neighborhood - very quet even though it's close to a major thoroughfare. Will definitely consider another stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
Saranac Lake,N.Y.
5

This is truly a family friendly home....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
A long planned surprise 50th birthday party for our son was so successful and fun because this open floor plan allows for the movement and set up for entertaining. Besides the evening of the party, we had a week to enjoy the many attractions in the area, like Sea World,Coronado, the beaches,SanDiego tours, and seafood! The owners are very helpful,and prompt to answer any questions.
I would recommend this house as a long term rental ,or for a special occasion ,as we had this fall.The house was clean,well maintained, and lived up to the expectations we had after looking at the photos and reading the description.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kathleen! Hope you'll come back again!
Maureen
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
Honolulu, HI
5

Clean, Quiet, and Spacious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Staying at this home was like opening the perfect present! It had all we wished for and needed for 4 adults and 3 kids (ages 1.5, 4, 7). We slept 2 adults and three kids in the downstairs master very comfortably thanks to the twin size sofa bed and back 1/2 bedroom. The other two bedrooms were perfect and queit areas for our mothers, The house is very clean which makes is a breath of fresh air after playing tourist. There are shopping centers nearby to get groceries and food. The kitchen is well stocked with basic needs and there is an abundance of bath/beach towels.

In terms of cost, staying here actually saved us money! It was cheaper to stay here than rent two hotel rooms. It was much more spacious than staying at a hotel.

Both Maureen and Mathieu (the property manager) were professional, efficient, and reliable. Maureen graciouly acquired a pack and play just for us. And, Matheiu was eager to help with with questions and help. For example, we short circuited an outlet and misaligned a closet door (both our fault). Mathieu very graciously and quickly came over to fix the issues. He did not interrogate us or scold us but only extended much grace to us!

The main living space is on the second floor so this home would be difficult for guests in a wheelchair or with walking issues (i.e. have to go up a flight of stairs).

We're frequent vbro customers. And, our entire experience with the house and maureen/mathieu left us pleasanly impressed! We plan to come back in few years once we gain enough airline mileage to get us over to san diego for free :).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Joyce! I hope you will come back again!
Maureen
business
Del Mar - Family Friendly Home, Torrey Pines Beach, Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385717vbi
530-400-9101
Del Mar San Diego County
Singapore
5

Excellent Holiday Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
It was a lovely holiday house. My family, 6 adults and 2 boys, had a great stay in this Del Mar Home. How we wish we could stay there for 4 months instead of 4 days. The rooms are so clean and are so well equipped. It is the best holiday house we have ever stayed. We definitely will come back, and will highly recommend it to our friends and relatives.

One suggestion - it will be perfect if there are more area to dry our clothes under the sun, rather than merely using the dryer (from Asian standpoint of view)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities