Tacoma house rental - Day Island Seaside Cottage
Day Island Seaside Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Tacoma House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

The Day Island Cottage is located in University Place WA, on Day Island. This relaxing seaside get away is the perfect place to stay for a great vacation.

Less than an hour drive from Seattle! When you cross the Day Island bridge you will feel transported to an oasis! Close to many activities yet seemingly removed from the fast paced world!

The view and the water are the highlights of the property. The Olympic Mountains are spectacular to view from the cottage. When sitting out by the water you can see the Tacoma Narrows Bridge and watch boats and sea life float by. The scenery seems to be always changing! You may even catch a glimpse of a seal, killer whale or a bald eagle!

The sunsets are unbelievable!

The fall and winter months are also beautiful here in the Puget Sound! Grab an umbrella and raincoat and take a stroll around the island and see if you can see the resident bald eagle in his nearby nest! Or, make a cup of tea and hunker down on the comfy couch and watch the storms come across the water from the huge picture window.

There are great places to drive to see the amazing fall colors and the ski slopes are only about 2 hours away!

Day Island Cottage is very close to several universities! The cottage is a great place to stay while visiting your college student! A short ten minute drive to the University of Puget Sound, about 15 minutes to the University of Washington - Tacoma Campus and about 20 minutes to Pacific Lutheran University. As parents of two 'out of area' college students, we know how important it is to have a great place to really relax and 'reconnect' as a family! Make a 'home cooked' meal and catch up at the dinner table while enjoying the views and the coziness of a home!

Keywords: Waterfront Beach House, Close to Chambers Bay Golf Course, Charming Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Hi My name is Walt. I have lived in the Puget Sound region since I was a kid. My family and I enjoy all that the Puget Sound has to offer.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

I chose to buy this house because the view is ever changing with shipping activities, wildlife, and pleasure crafts: sailboats, ski boats, kayaks, speedboats, and jet skis. This rental has views of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge, Olympic Mt. Range and the Puget Sound.

Some unique benefits you will enjoy while staying here are seeing the occasional bald eagle and pods of whales. It is minutes away from the world renown Chamber Bay Golf Course; Home to the 2010 US Open.

12 Reviews of Property 234997 in Tacoma, Washington

Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
5

Amazing view. Weather sunny all weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Great location. Very clean. Amazing view right on the water. Saw spotted sea lion and dolphins.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a beautiful weekend! I'm so glad that the dolphins made an appearance during your stay! That never gets old!!!! The Orca whales came through yesterday! It is such a thrill to see the ever changing scenery!
So glad you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure to meet you!
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
5

Great Place and Awesome Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Stay here for a week with our family. Great place, peaceful and relaxing. Dan D
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at Day Island Cottage!!!
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
5

Day Island Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Sandy met us at the cottage to provide us with the keys. She welcomed us with warmth and hospitality and left us a plate of home-made chocolate chip cookies.
The location was perfect for my family. My son and daughter-in-law live in Oklahoma. My daughter-in-law has only seen the ocean one other time, so she and the kids were outside as often as they could. They loved watching the boats go by, and seeing the occasional sea lion diving for food.
The property was very clean and well maintained, but I would suggest purchasing a second garbage bin. We had a family of seven staying at the cottage over Christmas holiday and filled the big bin quickly. Overall, the location was far enough away to feel like a vacation spot, but close enough to stores that items forgotten or needed, was not a problem. There is an active train depot close to the cottage, but that was not a problem for our family. We enjoyed hearing the train whistles and after a day, forgot they were there.
We did have to call the owners on Christmas morning for a minor problem. Walt was very polite and didn't seem to mind being woken up at 8 am to talk us through the solution.
We spent most of our time visiting with family so I can't comment on restaurants, or activities. We did go into Seattle for a day. It was an easy drive to the Public Market and Space Needle.
I would definitely recommend this vacation property to friends and family. I did forward the information to a family member and told her she needed to stay here on one condition: she was not allowed to request the same dates as I am. I would stay here again. Maybe sometime over the summer, so the kids can get more outside time.
Thank you, Sandy and Walt for letting us share your wonderful home.
Elise and Edward O'Loughlin
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Elise! It was a pleasure meeting you and your son and daughter-in-law (to be at the time...congratulations to the newlyweds!) Hopefully we will get to meet the rest of the family when you return! :-) We are so glad that you enjoyed your Christmas family gathering at Day Island Cottage and do hope that you can return in the summer when the flowers are in bloom and you can enjoy the yard, beach and patio dining area! We wish you a very Happy New Year!
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
Baltimore, MD
5

Best Property, Accomodations and Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Don't even think about looking at accomodations from one of those chain hotels. You will not be dissapointed with all that Day Cottage has to offer. The owners didn't miss a beat when they put their hearts and time into this property. You could not ask for a more perfect home to stay. The distance between the larger cities is not a big deal. And you can access the ferry system fairly quickly too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! It was such a pleasure to meet you and your family! We're so blessed to be able to meet such amazing families...it's the best part of my job! So glad you enjoyed your stay in our home!
We'd love to have you back anytime!
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
Golden BC, Canada
5

Wonderful stay on Day Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We truly enjoyed our stay at Day Island Cottage. Out hosts Sandy & Walt were very helpful with suggestions of things to see & do. They included a folder of information answering all inquires we had emailed ahead of time. Fresh cut flowers in every room & fresh baked cookies greeted us.The cottage was beautiful and was everything you would imagine a seaside cottage should be. The view was amazing! We spent our evenings enjoying it, the sunshine, seals bobbing & the gorgeous sunsets. Our kids loved the loft which gave them their own room as well as there own tv room away from the parents. While the beach was rocky, we spent hours combing it for sea glass & shells coming home with lots of treasures. The neighborhood is very charming & we enjoyed strolling the island after dinner. It was a nice base to come home to after enjoying local activities such as glass blowing at the Tacoma Glass Studio, the Point Defiance Zoo/Aquarium & park and the many sights in the Seattle area. We would definitely recommend this property for families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
5

Wonderful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was the perfect place for our family to get together, relax and enjoy this beautiful and well equipped home with the most fantastic view. A great place for children which makes it a real vacation for parents (and grandma). We hope to make this an annual family event. Thank you Sandy and Walt!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We are so glad that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy your time at Day Island Cottage! We are very blessed to be able to share it with other families who enjoy it as much as our family has! The best part of it is that we get to meet the many amazing families that come to stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!!
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
-
5

Far more than expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I rented this house for a week, spending the first four days alone before I was joined by my family. The moment I walked into the house, I knew I had lucked out. I was able to relax and focus on the business I had brought with me, feeling rested even as I worked. When work was done, I discovered Chambers Bay, a world class golf course just a few miles down the road. Anyone heading to Tacoma for Chambers Bay ought to consider this well equipped home on the shores of Puget Sound. In fact, anyone heading to Tacoma for any reason ought to consider this house. The owners are very accommodating, and you will not be sorry.

Well, it rained, snowed, sleeted, hailed and the wind blew during most of my stay. That just meant I had an excuse to stay inside, enjoy the view, and make creative use of the well equipped kitchen.
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay...even during our crazy weather that week! The views are always gorgeous on the Puget Sound, no matter what the weather!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
Cincinnati
5

Amazing Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
The home was very clean and the owners were a delight to work with! The feel of the home and neighborhood was great and we encourage everyone looking to rent a place to book this one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
Tacoma, WA
5

Far and above exceeded our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
There aren't sufficient words to describe our stay at Day Island Cottage. From the second we walked through the front door I was overcome with the tranquility and serenity of this place. The wonderful decor so perfectly suits the setting and the unspeakable view from the FULL picture window overlooking the sound and the Olympics. The kitchen has absolutely everything we needed; the beds were super comfortable; and we lacked for nothing during our stay. Sandy was the most hospitable hostess I've ever had at a vacation rental. She went above and beyond, making sure we were comfortable throughout our stay and providing requested extras to us at no charge. I can't say enough about this place. I will definitely be recommending it to family and friends. I would look forward to staying there again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at Day Island Cottage!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Day Island Seaside Cottage!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234997vb
+1 253-566-0635
Tacoma Puget Sound
California
5

Never stay anywhere else!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This wonderful waterfront property and "cottage" (it's pretty good size for a cottage!) is the perfect place to stay if you are wanting a peaceful place to "recharge" or a launching point for excursions throughout the Seattle/Tacoma and Puget Sound area! When we visit from California we do not stay anywhere else! The place is so cute and the waterfront setting is so beautiful we can't believe they don't live here instead of renting it out! We're thankful they make it available to visitors like us.

The interior of the house is immaculate and tastefully decorated in beach cottage and nautical decor. It is up-to-date and has everything you need in the kitchen, and the beds are really comfy. However, the real draw is the beautiful waterfront setting. The views from the living room are mesmerizing as the currents and water are always moving, seals bob their heads as they swim by, gulls and ducks paddle along, and boats cruise past. The sunsets from the living room and "front" yard are phenomenal with Puget Sound in the foreground and the Olympic Mountains on the skyline. Our kids love to walk and play on the pebble beach and to fish from the beach or from the bulkhead at high tide. The well kept, landscaped yard has plenty of grass, a patio with outdoor furniture, and all the barbeque equipment needed for a memorable experience. Everything, inside and out, works great.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. They live about 5 minutes away and are always willing to answer questions or help with anything you might need. Once you are checked in they leave you alone to enjoy your stay. The house is very well maintained and super clean. Everything works well incuding the TVs and the wireless internet. There are board games for the kids to play, but we rarely find the time because there is so much to do. Sometimes we just want sit there and read, but often find ourselves daydreaming and looking out the big picture window at the Sound. It's a very relaxing retreat and a great place to entertain if your have friends in the area. Our friends are eager come from a prettly long ways away when they know we are staying at the Day Island beach house!

We will continue to come here as long as it is available. Day Island is a quaint little island just a stone's throw from Tacoma, yet it feels like you are in a quiet and exclusive setting. We highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4