Kapaa cottage rental - Sunrise Cottage, the quintessential Hawaiian beach cottage.
Sunrise Cottage, the quintessential Hawaiian beach cottage.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Kapaa Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6), Sleeps 8 with optional detached Guest House

Just steps from the water, Sunrise Cottage is the quintessential oceanfront beach cottage - comfy furniture, wide plank wood floors, warm salt air breezes, and ocean views to soothe the soul. The front porch is a favorite spot for watching the ocean's changing moods (and whales during winter months). A blend of east coast Cape Cod and Hawaiian plantation styles, our vintage cottage is spacious and light with simple furnishings - everything you will need for a relaxing, rejuvenating Kauai get-away.

THE INTERIOR: French doors and large picture windows in the living/dining room afford panoramic ocean views. Two of the three bedrooms have queen-size beds and the same unforgettable ocean view. The third bedroom, furnished with two twin beds (optional King upon request), is a quiet retreat. The house comfortably accommodates up to six people.

NEED MORE ROOM? The adjacent, detached Moonrise Guest Cottage is optional for another bedroom and bath for up to 2 more people, a total of 8 in both cottages (4 bedrooms/3 baths). Moonrise rents exclusively with Sunrise for an additional $950 a week plus tax and cleaning.

The recently remodeled kitchen offers gourmet cooks as well as microwavers a spectacular oceanview. The stainless steel countertop, checkerboard floor, and glassfront cabinets are reminiscent of vintage cottage decor. The upgraded appliances and granite-topped peninsula make it a cook's dream.

Both cottages are equipped with WiFi, flat-screen TVs, DVD player, iPod or iPhone docking station with speakers, all linens including beach towels, ceiling fans, down and faux-down bed pillows.

THE PATH: An exciting NEW feature is the Seaside Walking and Biking Path that runs along the ocean, right past the property. Visitors enjoy the Path for exploring the coastline, past Kapaa Town, beaches and amazing ocean vistas. Kapaa has been voted one of America's Top 15 Prettiest Small Cities (Aug 2013) by Forbes Magazine, come and see why.

THE BEACH: Just in front of the cottage, less than 30 steps from the front porch, is the soft sand and warm waters of 'Baby Beach,' one of the safest swimming beaches on the island for small children. Here you can enjoy kayaking (you'll find a double kayak at the cottage), snorkeling, or even SCUBA for lobster in season. The quiet waterfront vintage neighborhood is just a short stroll from Kapaa Town, with charming shops and restaurants.

TVRNC #1310

Keywords: Cottage, house, oceanfront, beach, 6 people, 8 people, walking/biking path, nearby beaches, shops and restaurants, whale-watching

More Details
Hide Details

We love our time on Kauai and try to appreciate every day and all the island has to offer. One of our favorite things is kayaking and especially our annual multiple day kayak camping trip on the NaPali Coast. Charlie and I have been married for 45 years and have two grown daughters. We divide our time between our cottages on Kauai and Portland, Oregon. Charlie has retired from the high tech world where he was a consultant and trainer. I am a retired graphic designer and now manage the marketing and reservations for the cottages.

Susan Hoerner purchased this cottage in 1997

We visited Kauai for the first time in 1996, absolutely loved it, and upon leaving fantasized about living there, if just for a short time. But unlike so many fantasies, this one came true. We rented Sunrise Cottage for 18 months and ultimately purchased the property, soon adding Moonrise Cottage (#37247) as a second rental. The experience of being right on the ocean is like no other, we love watching the weather cross the sky, the colors and moods of the ocean change. The property is within walking distance of charming little Kapaa Town and central to all the many wonderful things to do and see on the island.

The front lawn of Sunrise Cottage is situated to enjoy the spectacular sun and moon rises over the ocean, which are unforgettable. We use the new seaside walking/biking path almost every day to walk into town, to Kealia Beach or just for some exercise. The three mile drive to Sleeping Giant Mountain trailhead is one of our regular expeditions, giving great cardio exercise and amazing views of the entire eastern shoreline of the island. Our sweet little neighborhood is quiet and tucked away, we love the ocean views and inviting friends to enjoy the full moon rise from the front lawn.

5 Reviews of Property 385283 in Kapaa, Hawaii

Vintage Oceanfront Cottage :: Hawaiian Style Beach House
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Vintage Oceanfront Cottage :: Hawaiian Style Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385283
+1 808 823-0933
Kapaa Kauai
New York City
5

A Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We truly enjoyed our stay at Moonrise Cottage. What a beautiful spot. Very private cottage and quiet neighborhood. We even saw a monk seal on baby beach. The cottage is centrally located where you can walk to shops and restaurants, as well as rent a bicycle and take a ride on the walking path. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. We would definitely recommend this cottage as a great vacation get away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Liz, for your lovely review... I think it was actually Moonrise cottage where you stayed in February, not Sunrise. No problem, all of your comments would apply equally as well for Sunrise, which is right next door. Both are pretty fabulous accommodations for spending time on Kauai.
business
Vintage Oceanfront Cottage :: Hawaiian Style Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385283
+1 808 823-0933
Kapaa Kauai
Indian Trail, NC
5

Fabulous Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family rented both cottages and could not have been more pleased. Both were very clean, well stocked with cooking utensils and pots and pans, centrally located, quiet, spacious, beautifully furnished, and the view out the front door can't be beat! Spent every sunrise sitting in the lawn chairs watching another wonderful day begin, and ended each night in the very same chairs watching the stars come out and counting shooting stars.
Can't say enough about the location either. Rode bikes on the path, walked to town for lunch and shopping. Only 40 mins from Ke'e beach (end of the road up north), 25 mins from Poipu (southern side with a great beach), and three supermarkets within a five min drive.
Can't thank Susan and Charlie enough for offering this home as a rental to share their special place. Wish I was on a return flight..................
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Alison, for sharing your experiences at Aloha Cottages. It sounds like you had a wonderful time, taking full advantage of the amenities and our convenient location... it's a pretty amazing view, isn't it? Combining Moonrise and Sunrise Cottages is a good way to go with a larger group, giving everyone a little more space and privacy... we hope you'll return soon.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Vintage Oceanfront Cottage :: Hawaiian Style Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385283
+1 808 823-0933
Kapaa Kauai
Airdrie, Alberta
5

Delightful Kauai Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Sunrise Cottage is a delightful experience! The cottage is beautifully decorated, well stocked and within meters of a quiet section of the Baby Beach. With unobstructed views of the ocean and close to the “hubbub” of Kapa’a, the cottage still felt quite remote and provided a restful retreat with quick access to shopping and restaurants. Susan, Charlie and Dawn were welcoming and informative. If you want to experience the real Kauai (not the resort or condo version) plan to stay at Sunrise Cottage in Kapa’a.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you, Pat, for such a lovely review. I can tell how much you enjoyed your stay at Sunrise Cottage and our fantastic location, near everything but tucked away. We hope you'll find your way back to one of our Aloha Cottages soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vintage Oceanfront Cottage :: Hawaiian Style Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385283
+1 808 823-0933
Kapaa Kauai
Darrington, WA
5

We Didn't Want to Leave

We Didn't Want to Leave
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Sunrise Cottage exceeded all expectations. The kitchen was well equipped and we used the propane BBQ quite often. Safeway and Foodland were within walking distance and the farmers market on Wednesday was great for fresh bananas, pineapple, avacado, you name it. The layout of the cottage was wonderful for two couples to share without being in each others way. We all spent many hours sitting on the front porch watching the waves and the locals bringing their kids to Baby Beach. We rented bikes from a nearby shop and used the 4.5 mile bike path to explore Kapaa and other beaches. There are beach chairs and a small cooler available to take along which was great. Since the kayaks had been stolen prior to our arrival, we ended up taking a guided kayak trip up the Wailua River and hiked to Breadfruit Falls for a quick dip and lunch. Dawn, the property manager, was always available if we had any questions. Our time at Sunrise went by too quickly. Our last night, we sat outside on the lawn chairs looking at all the stars and saying to each other, "I don't want to go!" We hope to be able to return again - it was great!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Adrienne, it's a pleasure to read about your visit and how much you enjoyed your time at Sunrise Cottage. We strive to make Aloha Cottages The Best and to hear that Sunrise has exceeded your expectations makes my day! —Susan
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Vintage Oceanfront Cottage :: Hawaiian Style Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p385283
+1 808 823-0933
Kapaa Kauai
Vancouver WA
5

Awesome updated cottage!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Great vacation at this well appointed cottage. Owners very accommodating. Cottage and grounds well kept. Awesome views of the ocean from front porch. Pleasing sounds of the ocean and birds. Centrally located between southern Poipu and northern Princeville. Two kayaks available for our use at the beach close by. Life jackets, beach chairs and umbrellas for using on our beach trips; Loved having bedrooms separated by the great room. Highly recommend this cottage for families. We had 5 people total one week; and 6 the second week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you, Mary Jane, for your lovely review for your stay at Sunrise Cottage. It sounds like you had a great time and really enjoyed life at the beach on our little island of Kauai. I would like to add one thing, we highly recommend the cottage for families with small children, also, as Baby Beach is so "child friendly."
Helpful votes: 3/3