Kapoho house rental - Warm water issues from geothermally heated springs and floats on the salt water
Warm water issues from geothermally heated springs and floats on the salt water
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Kapoho House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Imagine a Hawaiian place that still looks like Hawaii did in 1960, where the breezes cross the wide Pacific and come ashore clean, and the soothing sound of the nearby waves create a gentle refrain. This 2 bedroom, 2 bath with sleeping den is fully updated and newly remodeled. The house is 1,120 square feet, with two outside areas of 300 square feet and 200 square feet where you feel surrounded by nature. The perimeter fence and lattice creates a great sense of privacy while allowing wonderful views of lush plantings.

The gated community of Kapoho is a cluster of about 250 homes around a crescent bay, one of the few good swimming areas in Puna District. The community is known to kama'aina (local folks) as a quiet refuge from town.

Hawksbill House is 200 steps from a calm ocean area where geothermally heated fresh water issues from the edges of the natural swimming pond. After the Kapoho Lava Flow of 1960, the springs became warm (in the 80-plus degree range). The heated groundwater seeps from shoreline crevasses to float upon the seawater. This water is the closest thing to heaven on earth that I know! I would be happy to share my aloha for this water and this place, and help you make your own memories here.

A percentage of my profits will be donated to the

HPA/NOAA SEA TURTLE RESEARCH AND CONSERVATION PROGRAM which helps Big Isle turtle populations.

More Details
Hide Details

When I was 10 my parents bought a home on the water at Kapoho (a few doors away from Hawksbill House). The water, not the land, became my new home. I became bonded with the pond nearest my home, and it will always be a place of aloha for me.

Patty Lei Belcher purchased this house in 2000

In my work as at Bishop Museum Library on Oahu, I was able to discover some facts about the Kapoho area, and its significance to ancient Hawaiians. The most important wahi pana (celebrated site) in this region is Kumukahi (literally, 'first beginning'), where the energy of the sun first touches the Hawaiian Islands. The significance of this location was understood by Hawaiians, who would bring their sick to be healed here. There are unique cultural sites within a two mile radius of Hawksbill House. The still popular saying, 'From the rising of the sun at Kumukahi,' refers to this area. My house has been named for Waiaka'ea Bay which was just a half mile north of Kapoho Bay and is now covered by a lava flow. The 'wahi pana' or celebrated place Waiaka'ea Bay, 'Water used by the Hawksbill Turtle' Bay, has been used to create an 'inoa ho'omana'o' or commemorative name, Hawksbill House. Kapoho is one of the places the Fire Goddess Pele traveled in her search for a home. Pele came to Kapoho and dug some of our swimming holes, but she decided not to stay and moved instead to Kilauea Crater where she still resides.

34 Reviews of Property 384987 in Kapoho, Hawaii

Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
average rating of 4.95 based on 34 reviews
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
5

Comfortable House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This house is a great place to relax and recover after a long day of site seeing. It is in a secure, gated neighborhood with beautiful scenery and very spacious. House is well stocked and home owner is easy to work with and accomodating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
5

snowbird

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Two of us (age 55-60) stayed 3 nites here March, 2014. Very nice house, spotlessly clean, everything new. Owner Patti very responsive, helpful. All is as pictured. - In fact pictures don't do it justice. Everything worked well, In excellent shape. Has louvered windows with screens which is best for wind and rain - can open them quite a bit more than normal windows - still keeps the rain out. Also each bedroom has a fan, which not all places we stayed had, perfect! ( I hate AC)

Pros: Within Gated community, easy access (1-2 blocks) to Champagne Pond, and others; so it was very quiet, secure. 1 mile walk to kapoho tidepools Marine Sanctuary. It's a large house with "beach " bathroom - easy access from porch, two covered porches, fenced in yard for privacy. Laundry, snorkel and masks, clothesline, even a coconut saw! Spotlessly clean. Lots of towels, dishes, new pots, condiments, (including coffee). Great books to read when rainy, and tons of TV channels! Also really great to know that part of the proceeds go to support Turtle Conservation, and Hawksbill appropriately named, as i believe we saw one right in Champagne Pond!

Con: noticeable odor of cleaning product? when we first came, but lots of windows to open so easy to air out. Have let owner know about it, and she's working on it. I missed a sitting area in the sun as it was a little cool when we were there....But there is great seating on both porches.
Also there's 1-2 steps up to kitchen and sleeping area- not a problem for most..probably great fun for the kids!

Can't go wrong with this one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
5

Fantastic Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed at the Hawksbill house during our Spring Break family trip to the Big Island. Our teens loved the lava fields and we all loved the tidepools in the neighborhood! The house was exceptionally clean and very homey. We appreciated all the information Patty gave us. I would highly recommend the Hawksbill House for families that want to relax and explore HVNP and the East side of the Island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
Wisconsin
5

A Secret Hide-A-Way in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I wasn't sure I would write this review because this little house - it is so wonderful - I am not sure I want to share this secret for fear it will become so in-demand that it won't be available the next time I wish to visit!
The house is tucked in like a little fortress in a secured neighborhood. It has carpet where practical but mostly lovely wood floors. The furniture is very comfortable. The TV is adequate. The WiFi is a bonus. Our cell phones worked for text messages but not always calling. 1 bar most of the time. There is a house phone if you need it.
This house is obviously nicely maintained by the owner. We cooked every morning and evening in the fully stocked kitchen. The two bathrooms were nice as well. Where else would you get Island living like this - one of the bathrooms has outdoor entry! It was fully stocked with beach towels and soaps.
We always felt safe with the gated community and fencing around the house. Our rental vehicle could not be seen from the road so no worries there either.
The drive to Hawksbill house was lovely. With Patty's directions and a basic Google map there was no problem finding it from the Hilo airport.
Patty - Mahalo! for providing the "walking copy" map to all the areas within in community to access the tide pools. That was a blast exploring each and everyone. The sands are black from lava flow here, with bits of green olivine in the stones. But don't take any of those beauties home with you because Pele' will give you bad luck if you do. Snorkeling gear was provided and we had a great time in Champagne Pond at high tide. Wear water shoes as the rocks are rough in and out of the pools.
While on the Big Island my adult son and I ventured north of Hilo to the Zip Lines, to Hilo Airport for a helicopter tour and to lunch at Ken's Pancake House-twice. We went to Volcano National Park to walk across the lava fields. On our way back to the airport we took time to visit the Lava Tree National Monument park - not to be missed!
Please keep in mind, while we rated this rental 5 stars, it is not a Donald Trump-style house or resort. We felt it was perfect for our needs and particular Big Island experience. We loved this quaint, private house and area of Kapoho and will return again when on the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
5

Cozy Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We went to Kapoho (long time residents residing on the west side of the Big Island) to relax in beautiful Kapoho Beach Lots and catch up with friends for a birthday celebration. The Hawksbill House is the prefect get-away and 'place to call home' for whatever brings you to this tropical heaven. The ocean is steps away, the atmosphere is tranquil and the Beach Lots is a friendly neighborhood. One of my favorite pastimes when I'm in Kapoho is just strolling down the palm-lined streets with ocean views all around me, listening to the sound of birds, enjoying the trade winds and feeling grateful to be in such a beautiful part of the Big Island- I call it The Edge of The World. It's where the black lava meets the royal blue sea and the colors and fragrances of tropical flowers are all around you.
Hawksbill House has all the ammenities you could need and then some. Patty has thought of everything to make her guests feel comfortable and at home.
Although there were only two of us on this trip, this pleasant cottage has room for many to sleep comfortably.
Thank you for your hospitality Patty. We will return and we'll refer our friends. Aloha
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
5

Secret spot worth visiting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Fortunately for me, my friend advised me to swim in the Champagne Ponds, otherwise I would have never known about this place. At the Champagne Ponds, there are no hotels, no restaurants, and no stores. Many Hawaiian people I talked with had never heard of the Champagne Ponds.

Swimming in the Champagne Ponds is an awesome experience. The water is warm, lots of coral, lots of fish. We even saw two Hawksbill turtles, 3 to 4 feet long.

For anyone who wants to swim in the Champagne Ponds, I highly recommend staying at Patty's Hawksbill House for two reasons:
1. Patty is super nice, flexible, and accommodating.
2. The house has a great location. Super short scenic pleasant walk between the ponds and the house.

The house itself is nothing special, but it has all the necessary amenities with easy parking in the back yard. In the future, whenever my friends and relatives want to visit Hawaii, I will highly recommend they get in touch with Patty to rent her Hawksbill house next to the incredible Champagne Ponds.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
Redwood City, CA USA
5

Awesome Hawksbill House Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I spent 8 wonderful days at Hawksbill House. Unfortunately my husband had a leg injury which prevented us from being able to do some things, but there was so much to do and see in the area that we were still able to keep ourselves busy with sightseeing and have plenty of time for relaxation. There was plenty to do and see within walking distance. We always felt safe and secure. The house is clean and welcoming, and Patty is awesome. She is generous and happy to give tips on what there is to see and do in the area if you are interested.
The house itself is a bit of an adventure. We didn't locate the second bathroom until our second day there. That is because the house has lots of doors and windows, outdoor areas, comfortable decks, etc.; yet your privacy is protected.
We had rain and sunshine, very comfortable temperatures, lovely, lovely area. The drive to town was very reasonable and allowed us to take in some of the places to visit in the area.
We didn't have the best cell phone reception, but there is a land line so that we could receive calls if necessary.
Kitchen counter space is limited but manageable.
I can't stress enough how engaging Patty is. She is instantly likeable and eager to answer any questions you might have.
Enjoy, it's well worth your time and investment, a home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
5

comfortable and cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a great family reunion in this neat home. Everything is well thought out with comfort in mind! We ate gourmet meals every day and gave the kitchen a good work out. Counter space is the only feature that was lacking.
This home is located right by the beautiful warm ponds. So we swam everyday and enjoyed viewing turtles and fish. There is some snorkel gear and boogie boards that can be used. Laundry facilities are provided which is very convenient. Patty the owner makes you feel very welcome and is as nice as can be!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
4

Nice beach location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Kapoho was a nice spot to base ourselves for a couple of days while exploring the region, and we really liked the tide pools. The house had everything we needed, and Patti was super friendly and helpful.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I appreciate the four stars, since I know you were disappointed by the closure of the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (government shutdown while renting). Please come see me again, and let me know if I can ever be of help. With aloha, Patty Belcher
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hawksbill House by ocean in Kapoho Beach Lots, helping with turtle conservation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384987vb
(808) 640-4006
Kapoho Puna District
5

Warm and Wonderful bit of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful time at the Hawksbill House. Patty provides all the basic amenities to make day to day life easy, we cooked for ourselves and we had everything we needed - all you need is a few items of clothing and a swimsuit. There was snorkel gear and beach towels available, we loved snorkeling both in the very nearby heated cove, and at the nearby marine preserve - don't miss it, it is fantastic. We saw amazing array of fish and coral including an eel, and a monk seal (which apparently is almost unheard of). We did see turtles swimming in the surf down the coast at a lava rocky shoreline. We had several (good luck) gecko's - they are very shy, but very cute. Patty will give you directions and suggestions for activities as well. She takes great care in maintaining the home, pride in ownership shows, and she truly conveys the aloha spirit. We felt so welcome, it is such a charming cottage, we feel truly blessed it was available (we had a very last minute trip). It really is a fabulous place to stay. Aloha
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1