Keeseville house rental - Your stand up paddleboards, and lots of other toys, await.
Your stand up paddleboards, and lots of other toys, await.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Keeseville House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8)

Come find out why we love our camp, the lake, and the North Country so much. Whether it's quiet evenings in a rocking chair on the screened in porch watching the moon rise over the lake, or for the fun and adventures the lake and the Adirondack North Country have to offer, this camp has and does it all. The fall colors are spectacular in the North Country and seeing them by boat from the lake is something special.

Built in 1939 by my Grandfather, modernized in the 80's, now it's available for you to enjoy. This is a hosted stay. I have a separate apartment, so you can see as little or as much of me as you like. I'm there to be your tour guide, boat captain, watersport instructor for wakeboarding, waterskiing, stand up paddleboarding, and tubing, leading day hikes and beautiful road bike rides, or just in the background as your invisible caretaker making sure everything goes smoothly. I grew up spending summers at the camp and it's by far one of the most beautiful and fun places in the world.

Wake up in the queen bed to the sound of waves lapping at the shoreline in the master bedroom. Then coffee at the kitchen table overlooking the lake. The second bedroom has twin beds and is private and quiet. The kids room is just that, with bunk beds, 2 single beds and their own tv, board games and fun, but trust me, they won't be doing anything other than sleeping in there after all there is to do during the day at the camp. Rain or shine there is always something to do. Mornings, get up early and cut up the glassy water before anyone else. Then a bike ride over rolling hills along the lake, or a hike up Pocomoonshine, paddle out to Schuyler island for a secluded picnic,swimming and tubing in the afternoon. For the less adventurous, shopping in Lake Placid, take the ferry over to Burlington for the day, or head up to Montreal, Canada's largest city. Don't forget your passport! Rainy days are nice too. Explore Ausable Chasm and raft down the Ausable river, Parc Safari and waterpark is just over the border an hour away. At the end of the day cool down on the screened in porch, or warm up in front of the large fireplace in the living room. Roast marshmellows over a bonfire on the beach, then lay back and count shooting stars. Life at the camp is great. Come and find out for yourself.

Keywords: camp, north country, adirondack cabin, lakefront, cozy, fun, serene, awesome,

More Details
Hide Details

I spend my winters in Tahoe teaching skiing at Squaw Valley USA. I spend my summers at the camp teaching wakeboarding, waterskiing, stand up paddleboarding, leading bike rides and day hikes. I also know how to relax and enjoy the scenery and serenity of wherever I'm at.

Jonathan King purchased this house in 1939

My family has been on Lake Champlain for over 100 yrs. We've all traveled all over the world, but always end up back at the camp. This is not an overly developed part of the lake. It's still just many of the same families from the 30's.

This is a hosted stay. Take advantage of me. I know the North Country and all it has to offer and want to share it with you. I have a separate apartment on the property and can also remain invisible. This is your vacation. whatever works best for you.

8 Reviews of Property 384921 in Keeseville, New York

Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384921vb
530-412-1555
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
Dover, DE
4

Beautiful lakefront getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay at Jonathan's camp was great. Upon arriving we could not believe how beautiful the lake was. I have never seen water so clear other than on television. The rock beach was different to see as we are use to sand but the bottom was nice and sandy in the water. The dogs had an absolute blast in the water. We all enjoyed using the boat to explore Schuyler Island. We also had fun wakeboarding, paddle boarding, kayaking, and canoeing. The screened in porch was a great place to enjoy the view and breeze. It did get chilly some of the nights but we were able to enjoy a fire in the fireplace. Vermont was fun to visit and we got to take the ferry, something we have never done before. We visited Ausable Chasm (awesome), Burlington, Ben and Jerry's ice cream factory, Lake Champlain Chocolates, and the Green Mountain Coffee visitor's center. Jonathan was very helpful with any questions we might have. It was a different experience having him downstairs but was only an issue when we left the dogs at the house although he was understanding and patient with them. They were not as well behaved as I would have hoped (barking when we would leave). The house itself was very cozy. Yes, the décor is outdated and there are some things that could use some work but overall it was a nice place to stay. It is nice to stay in a place that is old with some history to it. The train was not mentioned in any of the posts or in the description. We did hear it quite often and at all hours of the night. We did also notice some mold in the house. It is understandable to have this problem being the house stays a bit damp but perhaps some efforts could be taken to get rid of this issue as it can be a real health concern especially to those who are sensitive to allergens, maybe a little more attention when cleaning and maybe a dehumidifier would help. Overall we had a terrific time and I would recommend this rental to others. It is not a luxury stay if that is what you are looking for but it is a beautiful place to stay if you like relaxing by the lake and enjoying scenery. The town of Keeseville is indeed small with not much to offer but Plattsburgh was not that far away (appr. 20-30 min) and had anything you could need. We would love to visit again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I was a bit concerned when I read about mold. I pride myself on how clean I keep the camp. My Mom says I put her to shame. I did look in the bucket we keep the kindling in. Somehow I missed it and it was dirty and had some spider webs in it. The rocking chairs on the porch are just stained from many generations of use. You guys really got to enjoy the full experience of the camp and the North Country. There is a lot of history in the area and here at the camp. I try to keep the camp the way it has always been. There are things on the walls that haven't moved, except to be cleaned, in seventy five years. This is a traditional North Country Adirondack Camp and I hope to keep it that way for many generations to come. Come on back. It is a differant world here at the camp.
business
Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384921vb
530-412-1555
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
New Jersey
5

Comfortable and Cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We definitely made the right decision to stay at the camp. From the moment we walked in and felt like we had been here for years, to boating and fishing first thing in the morning, and paddle boarding at sunset. This is a vacation that we will not soon forget and look forward to for years to come. Thanks for making our weeks stay comfortable and cozy.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. I'm glad you felt comfortable in my camp. That's how I want my guests to feel and to enjoy the camp just like my family has for 5 generations. I'll keep your week open for next year. See you then.
business
Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384921vb
530-412-1555
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
Doylestown, PA
5

Family with teenagers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Wonderful vacation for all! Thank you Jonathan. I highly recommend this lovely Lake Champlain vacation for families. Wish we could have stayed longer given the many wonderful activities at the "camp" and in the region.
Naturally, the vacation's highlight is the beautiful lake and all the activities it affords. Thanks to our host's love of the lake, his many water "toys", and patient, instructional expertise, the entire family enjoyed tubing, wakeboarding, and paddleboarding. Three happy teenagers!
As an added benefit, this beautiful region offered lovely hikes, vistas, and possible adventures.
At the same time, the comfortable home and serene setting entices one to just sit, relax, and read. The big screened-in porch traps you with its rocking chairs and beautiful view of the lake. Morning coffee time slips right into happy hour!
Jonathan's home is comfortable, clean, and welcoming. I loved thinking about all the children that must have enjoyed growing up in this setting.
The real treasure of this experience is the care and attention from the host. Jonathan anticipates every need. We arrived to a campfire already laid, an invitation to use boats and gear, and helpful information for structuring a week that would suit our family.
Jonathan-thank you for sharing this beautiful part of the world with so many families. A true gift.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wow! Thanks for a great review. After reading your review it reminds me why the camp has stayed in my family for 75 yrs! The lake, the toys and sitting in a rocker on the screened in porch are how great, fun memories are made. Then, after a busy day on the lake, those quiet evenings around the fire on the beach are extra special. I love being able to share the camp with differant families throughout the season. Hopefully it will become part of your family history and you'll keep coming back too. Just like my family has all these many years.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384921vb
530-412-1555
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
Dallas, TX
5

Excellent Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family (kids age 4 &2) had a wonderful vacation at King Anchorage for two weeks in July.

Pros: The beach. Though it is rocky, it is rare to have a beach that large on Lake Champlain, and the public sandy beach is a short paddle board or motor boat away. The beach is wide and deep and has plenty of room for kids to play. The dock is long and you can dive/jump off the end and bring the boats right up to it. Jonathan had a bonfire already set up and we had a great fire on the beach.

The gear. Lots of watercraft and toys, and it really helps keep the kids entertained - and the adults. My wife and I loved the stand up paddle boards, and the kids loved to ride on the front. The fact that you have a speedboat at your disposal is also a great plus. The boat was easy to moor, start, and operate. Jonathan will even take you out for a ride, as he did for us and some friends.

The Lake/location. This is a great spot on the lake, nice and wide and very picturesque. Great for swimming and boating. It is also close to Ausable Chasm which is a good day of entertainment, and just beautiful to drive through. There are a few towns nearby, like Keesville, that have a supermarket and a couple basic eating options (though none particularly good). Plattsburgh is about 20 min away.

The porch. The screened in porch is a great place to relax and we ate all our meals out there.

The lawn. The grassy area lakeside and on the sides of the house are beautiful, soft green grass and our kids loved to run around this area, blow bubbles, etc.

Cons: There is only one thing that might give some people pause and that is the house itself. It is an old place, and some aspects, like the kitchen, are a little worn out. Not dirty, just old. The cleaning lady does a great job and the house is overall clean but it does get gritty and musty, especially when it gets hot. After a couple rainy days things got really damp. The BUGS. Hundreds of biting midges/gnats do get inside the house and as the weeks went on we saw more ants, silverfish, roaches crawling about. It is a lake house and bugs are gonna be there, so nothing to be done, really. But if your family is a little squeamish about the occasional bug... The fact that Jonathan is living below may seem strange to some - not to me, in fact more convenient. You will barely notice it.

Strong rec for outdoor/athletes/families (esp ages 4-16). Overall, Jonathan is a great guy and we loved it and hope to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Matt,Thanks for the great review. You have a nice family and I'm glad I was able to share my camp with you all.Yes, my camp is old. My Grandfather had it built in 1939, and my sister modernized the kitchen in the late 70's. You're right, the kitchen could use some updating. If you're looking for stainless steel appliances and granite countertops, you won't find them here. It is a camp and the kitchen is fully functional. The bugs this year have been healthy. After an unusually wet and warm spring, the populations have grown. I checked into getting on a scheduled program with a pest control company. Next year I hope to be ahead of them. Looking forward to seeing your family again here at the camp. Plan on getting a Sunfish sailboat for next summer. So there'll be even more toys on the beach!Come ski with me in Tahoe.Jonathan
business
Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384921vb
530-412-1555
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
Ramsey, New Jersey
5

Top Rated Lake Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We highly recommend this property for a scenic, activity filled vacation! Were a family of five (children 19, 18, 13). We’ve vacationed at a number of lake homes…and we rate this at the top.

The property is as nice as the pictures. The house was clean, spacious, comfortable (even the beds), and well kept. The mountain and lake views were awesome. We rented the house the 4th week of August. Our activities were boating, wakeboarding, tubing, and fishing (caught a number of nice largemouth bass)…biking, hiking, ferry to Burlington VT, the Ausable Chasm (like a mini Grand Canyon… spectacular). The water is clean and clear for swimming with a clean sandy bottom.

The property is on a semi-secluded part of the lake (the lake is huge). The whole area is down to earth, not "touristy". Yet, you can keep as busy as you want to be with outdoor activities.

Outside of staying with friends at their cabins, we never rented where there was a hosted stay and did not know what to expect. Jonathan, the owner, was very accommodating. His knowledge of the area made everything easy and eliminated all guesswork. He was experienced on the water, hiking, biking, and was a great all around host. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. Sounds like you guys had a great time here at the camp. I know I enjoyed sharing it with you and your family. The day we spent all day on the lake is one for the record books! Wakeboarding in the morning, cruising to Essex for lunch, then checking out the wildlife on the Four Brother islands on the way back. You and Rob even spent a couple hours fishing with the canoe early that morning! What a treat when the lake stays that calm all day. The boat is all fueled up and ready for more adventures with the next family. Wonder if they will like my pirate jokes? Aaargh! Hope to see you all again. Thanks for coming to the camp. Jonathan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384921vb
530-412-1555
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
New York
5

Made lots of great memories at the camp

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
HIGHLY RECOMMEND this property to people who appreciate nature and quality family time. What a great week! The house was clean, roomy, comfortable, welcoming and very charming...screened in porch is delightful with breathtaking view of the lake and mountains beyond. We stocked up the fridge in Plattsburgh (20 minutes away), Keesville was 5 minutes away with a small grocery store, churches and ice cream at the gas station :) Ausable chasm was within 5 minutes, we did not find the time to do the chasm experience but visited the small museum there and learned a lot about the underground railroad and anti-slavery movement. The ferry to Vermont is a fun and affordable experience. We spent most of our time right at the camp, we really had no reason to go anywhere as there was plenty to enjoy right there! We enjoyed a walk every morning up the mountain beyond the railroad tracks..kids saw a bald eagles' nest- very cool! Our favorite day was when we took the boat to Schuyler Island (which is easily seen from the camp) and enjoyed a picnic and a very memorable hide and seek game! The camp is off the beaten path, very laid back, quiet and relaxing. No neon lights or hub-bub, really enjoyed the quality family time spent with our 3 kids who rated the week, "ONE OF OUR BEST VACATIONS EVER!!!" The lake swimming is excellent! Water is crystal clear with a nice soft sandy bottom, didn't even need water shoes. It was nice to have access to the boats and all the great water toys. We were thrilled to meet Jonathan, the owner, who was there if we needed any information and even took us on some great hikes, introduced us to wake boarding (lots of smiles there), and geocached with us! Thanks Jonathan, for sharing your family camp with us! You were a great host and we had an awesome time! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. It is wonderfull reading about how much fun people have when they are here at the camp. That is what the camp is all about. Hiking, boating and just hanging out on the screened in porch. You guys packed a lot into your week, and there are still things to do! Hopefully you will keep me in mind for next time and you can keep making more great memories here at the camp. Just in from a bike ride so I am off for a swim. Loving life here at the camp, Jonathan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384921vb
530-412-1555
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
United States
5

Family Circus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the camp. There was plenty of room for our family circus of 6 + our dog, and Jonathan was a gracious, accomodating, and tolerant host. It was great to fall asleep to the lapping waves outside our window, and I loved waking up on the lake every morning to do my yoga and meditation in one of the most serene, beautiful places you could imagine. The kids loved all the water sports, and our dog loved riding on the boat. The house is casual and comfortable, and Jonathan is right downstairs to assist you if you need anything. A great time was had by all.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review of my camp. Glad everyone had a good time. Even the dog! You're a nice family and it was fun teaching everyone to wakeboard. It was awesome when 8 yr old Leah got up! Glad she was able to keep up with the big kids. Your teenage son did a great job captaining the canoe, with the electric motor, shuttling people out to the motorboat. A circus is what the camp is all about. A big tent full of family, friends, and animals, with lots going on. Hope you'll come and visit again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Family fun at This Beautiful Lakefront Adirondack Camp
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384921vb
530-412-1555
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
New York
5

Glad we found this property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I were looking for a relaxing getaway, but we needed also a fun place for the kids, not an easy combination to find, We found this property on VRBO, all we can say it was grate week, unforgettable for the whole family, The home was clean, The owner Jonathan was very accommodating, and the kids love him, he was so much fun, and gave the kids such a good time while we were able to relax at this beautiful lakefront property. We would recommend this for every type of vacation, if just for relaxing, or for Family with kids that need action.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. You have a nice family and I am glad I was able to share the camp with you. Glad the kids had fun. Lots of firsts for them. Rowing, tubing, and just drifting tied off from the dock. That is what the camp is all about. Glad that you and your husband were able to relax too. I remember him telling me that all you had to bring was food, and once here there was no need to leave! Thank you for leaving the camp so nice. You made it really easy for my cleaning crew to shine things up for the next guests. Hopefully you and your family will make a stay at the camp a tradition and keep coming back. Just like my family has for nearly 75 years. There are lots of first left. Off for a swim, Jonathan
Helpful votes: 1/1