Paso Robles farmhouse rental - Your own private space, spacious and clean.
Your own private space, spacious and clean.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Paso Robles Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 1 Bedroom + 1 twin bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Overlook Guesthouse is a spacious and newly re-decorated one bedroom which was the original farm residence and part of a larger building containing a garage and Ron's play space with wood and metal working tools. All who see it think it is charming and surprising. There is a large fenced yard and patio.

Overlook Guesthouse is located on 10 private and gated acres which is home to Overlook Driving Center, a place for the training and competition of modern carriage driving horses. We would be happy to offer you a ride and some interaction with our horses is available. If you have your own horses, we invite you to bring them. They can be stabled quite near the guesthouse.

This property is in a quiet neighborhood of 10 acre properties, which is virtually surrounded by vineyards. The location is convenient for visiting the area cities and attractions, while maintaining a truly country atmosphere. Over 100 wineries are within touring distance, as well as many fine restaurants, parks and beaches.

This guesthouse is a good choice for those who want a quiet and private location for work or rest. Ron and Linda, your hosts, will do all we can to customize your stay to your pleasure.

Keywords: Private, Quiet, One Story, Casual, Fenced Yard, Dogs Ok, Horses Ok, Full Kitchen, Patio, Yard

More Details
Hide Details

Linda is a retired carriage driving judge and trainer, which itself was a second career after many years of residential design and drafting. Now, she has 4 horses, who keep her physically active and able to compete in horse shows and trail rides. They are John, Cari, Johnathan and Clare. She also enjoys flower and vegetable gardening, though without much real skill or knowledge. There is one resident dog, a miniature Poodle named Joseph. The family is rounded out with 6 hens who give us (and you) fresh eggs.

Linda Fairbanks purchased this farmhouse in 2010

Ron's family has been in Paso Robles since 1890. They were farmers and ranchers. We built this structure and used it as a caretaker quarter until 2010, when it was refurbished to be used as a vacation rental. We chose this location because of it is ideal for our sport of carriage driving and centrally located to the local cities.

This is a comfortable place for quiet work or relaxation. It would be a good place to write or paint or do any creative work. There is a 14' x 19' bedroom, a large and airy bath with shower and a living/dining/kitchen space which is conducive to conversation. The large patio is part of a large and shady yard which is fenced to allow dogs to relax outside. There is a covered stall and paddock next to the patio for those who travel with horses. We can even loan a miniature horse if your children would like to experience being around a horse. We encourage visitors to enjoy walking on the property, visiting with the animals who live here and also the natural ones who share this bit of land. There are many rabbits and quail, occasional deer and fox, many hawks, meadowlarks and crows. We enjoy feeding the ducks and chickens every evening. Chicks are due to hatch today (October 15). The newest addition is guinea pigs, Walnut and Rosie, who live in the carriage room. We love their little noises and soft coats. Their cage is rather large and they love it when we re-arrange their toys and furniture. The olive grove is growing well and our first harvest is in the brine cure now. Overlook is hosting a learning weekend for carriage drivers on October 26. The carriage driving continues here with 3 Overlook horses getting use every week in addition to the visiting drivers who practice here. Finally, we have added a telephone to the amenities inside the guesthouse. It is for local calls only but we hope it will be a convenience for guests.

71 Reviews of Property 331056 in Paso Robles, California

Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 71 reviews
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
Where do you live?
5

Marathon Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My expectations of this rental was basically, "It will be a place to stay close to the Buzz Marathon at Camp Roberts, is less expensive than the nearest hotel and it has a kitchen which would save on going out to eat." What we found at this humble rental was so much more than we could ever expect. The cupboards were stocked with all the dishes and pots and pans, dish soap, towels, we needed to prepare all our meals. The fridge was stocked with Ron and Linda's own fresh ranch eggs and many other items like catsup, salsa, mayo, etc. We especially appreciated the ability to use the heater if it got too cold or open the windows and use the overhead fans if it got to stuffy. There was hand wash soap in the bathroom and big container shampoo in the shower. Two queen size beds and a nice size desk to work on your computer or study maps of the surrounding area. I wouldn't change a thing except maybe install a garbage disposal although I understand the hesitation in doing this. We would have stayed another day but it was already booked.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

so relaxed!

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Everything was wonderful. The atmosphere is so relaxed. Truly the best part was the wonderful friendship we feel we developed with you. We will definitely come again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
Oahu Hawaii
5

Wish we Could of stayed longer...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What delightful people. Linda and Ron have a beautiful country setting, with lots of animals to enjoy. The cottage has everything you would need and then some. We only got to stay 2 nights because she was booked the rest of the time we were visiting. Wish we could of stayed there the entire time. If were in that area again I will defiantly stay in their cottage.

The beds were very comfortable with top notch linins.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

See you in December

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The only place we've ever been where we always wish we were staying longer. The eggs, the carriage ride and the beautiful weather were pleasant surprises. See you again in December.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Warm Atmosphere

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Loved the guesthouse and its warm atmosphere. You offer everything so we feel right at home. Wish we had more time to hang around here! Nice chatting with you both and thank you for sharing all animals. Loved the linens.
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
5

Perfect Place to getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great Place to relax and getaway from busy city. Lovely place and great for dogs!!! Owner prepared milk, eggs, muffin for breakfast, and well as many snacks. We would love to go back again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
5

Welcome Reception, Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I and our two older dogs thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Overlook Guesthouse. We arrived on a very warm day and when we stepped into the guesthouse, the air conditioner was set at a comfortable temperature and the overhead fans were turned on. The house was wonderfully clean with eggs, milk, and butter in the fridge and a watermelon!!! The yard was fenced and perfect for two older pups to be able to go out when necessary. After visiting many destinations using lovely homeaway properties, I would have to rank this one as #1 in terms of "more than advertised." We are ready to book our next visit. Thanks, Linda and Ron!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
5

Lovely Weekend for the whole family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family (myself, wife, 4 month old son and 2 dogs) made it down to the overlook guesthouse for a nice long weekend full of wine tasting, ultramarathoning, and enjoying the country life. Every expectation was met in a very nice 900 sq foot one bedroom converted from half of their work garage. The "cottage" is very nicely put together, comfy, air conditioned and has all the essentials in the kitchen to help out with all the home cooked meals we made (saving tons of $). The satellite tv and wireless worked awesomely for us humans, and the property is huge and lovely for our dogs to roam off leash, playing with the local critters, especially the rabbits! The patio to the cottage is wonderful too, a nice BBQ, and fire pit, where we sat under the stars drinking a lovely local zin. The owners were there to say hello, make sure everything was up to par, and pretty much left us alone, except when Linda delivered fresh eggs! We made 2 lovely breakfasts out of them. The overlook also makes a wonderful base for exploring the vast wine country around paso, templeton and such. We'd highly recommend the Overlook and will be back again hopefully sooner rather then later.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Homey feeling

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Extremely clean and very nice homey feeling! So beautiful the rolling hills, horses, sheep, and all the plants and trees surrounding this guest cottage. We only met Linda but she is very generous in showing our niece and grandaughter all the animals. Will definitely recommend this place to our friends. Thank you.
business
Country Life in Paso Robles Wine Country.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331056vb
(805) 237-8476 (California, USA)
Paso Robles Central Coast California
5

Great little getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Wonderful little place! Right in the heart of wine country, about 5 minutes from Creston and a very short drive to Paso Robles. Everything was very clean and nice. Beautiful setting and the owners were very helpful with anything and everything. Would highly recommend staying here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1