Anna Maria cottage rental - Welcome to Ruthie's Retreat
Welcome to Ruthie's Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Anna Maria Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Welcome to Ruthie’s Retreat, a fabulous freshly updated cottage, conveniently located in the heart of Anna Maria's historic district. It's positioned within an easy stroll (2.5 blocks) to the gulf beach, Ginny and Jane E's and The Sandbar Restaurant. This enchanting mid-century 2 bedroom, 1 bath coastal cottage has undergone an extensive restoration resulting in a truly captivating island retreat.

The master BR has a king size bed with dually-controlled comfort settings and the second BR sleeps 2 with two twin beds. Comfortable, relaxed furnishings throughout include wicker, whimsical upholstered chairs and island flair accessories. This delightful cottage will surely capture your heart!

Some of the many amenities of this cottage include: sparkling terrazzo floors; numerous ceiling fans; 2 lg flat screen TVs w/cable and DVD with a large library of DVD films; secure WiFi Internet service; comfortable family room seating; an eat-in screened porch; a granite top kitchen island and all kinds of beach items to make your stay even more special. Towels, two adult bikes, beach chairs, sun umbrella, wagon, noodles, floats and beach toys are also included.

Enclosing the side yard, framed by a white picket fence, is a robust herb garden, a table and landscaping that offers color and tropical privacy. You can't ask for a better location! This is a great place to call your home away from home.

The free island trolley/bus runs every 20 min both north and southbound and takes you the length of the island and beyond.

Keywords: Fresh, clean, updated, beach cottage, comfortable, family and pet friendly, north end of AMI

More Details
Hide Details

We have four absolutely amazing sons and two precious grandchildren. Their favorite place to be is on the island with Mimi and Geepa. Cooking and spending time with friends and family are our passions...and maybe a little Tampa Bay Rays baseball and NFL games.

Ruth Lyerly purchased this cottage in 2011

My husband's work takes him all over the world and nothing is more relaxing for him than to drive 20 minutes from home and feel as though he's on vacation. Our middle son is a charter captain on the island, Captain Josh, which comes in quite handy for a fishing outing or supplies for a Friday night fish fry. We will retire on this island.

All of our out of town friends and family who have vacationed on AMI enjoy the quaint feel of the island and the ability to walk almost anywhere.....we couldn't agree more.

8 Reviews of Property 384830 in Anna Maria, Florida

Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384830vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Guilderland, NY, USA
5

Charming and Cozy Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I stayed with my partner John and dog Max for the month of February. The cottage offers everything you will need for a fabulous stay on Anna Maria Island. It is nicely decorated (beachy themed), extremely clean and well-stocked. We used the beach chairs, beach umbrellas and wagon. The town, the beach and great restaurants are just a few blocks away. No car needed. Free trolley service is also offered on the Island. We loved our stay on Anna Maria Island and especially in Ruthie's Retreat. Our only regret was that we could not get it for the following year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384830vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
5

Charming, Cozy, Comfortable and Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I stayed the last week in October at Ruthie's Retreat... it was a PERFECT getaway for two... or three or four since there is a "bunk room" which will sleep children comfortably. The "beach" theme can be seen throughout the home with cute sayings, lovely original artwork and shells to remind you that the beautiful gulf sands are only three short blocks away.... what could be more convenient! The local shops and restaurants were just around the corner .. a convenient bike ride away.
Everything in Ruthie's Retreat was immaculately clean... kitchen, bath, no dust or sand to be seen anywhere! It is, by far, the cleanest and most lovingly cared for home in which we have ever stayed. The kitchen cabinets offered an array of staples and was well-equipped with appliances and table service items. I especially liked the dining table on the porch giving an "al fresco" feel to meals without pesty bugs! We appreciated the high-speed internet connection and my husband loved the big-screen tvs with hundreds of channel offerings! Wait... I didn't mention the DVD library, books and assorted games to wile away the time on a rainy day!
I cannot say enough good things about this adorable home... it truly offers all the comforts of home and will definately will be on our list for a future stay in Anna Maria Island. I cannot close without praising Lin, the property manager, who kept in touch with us before, during and after our stay. She offered numerous suggestions about restaurants,shops and attractions on the island and was always available to answer questions. Her thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated and made us feel right at home when we arrived and throughout our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Linda and Don - Thank you for this excellent review and for leaving the cottage in such great shape. You both are a delight and we look forward to your return to AMI!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384830vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Denver
5

A Most Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My first stay on AMI and my "home" was perfect and just that...home. This is such a beautiful place to be. A three minute walk to the ocean and shops and coffee at Ginny's and Jane E's. Staying at Ruthie's for my time on AMI was absolutely perfect. The cottage is cool and inviting when the heat is on and such a sweet retreat to return to each day. Thank you, Lin, for all the welcoming touches...you made it my home away from home...anyone searching for solace and relaxation and comfort should consider Ruthie's..the hospitality, the ambiance, and the location is unmatched in each and every detail.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Cathy - Thank you for this excellent review. We loved having you stay and we look forward to your return to Ruthie's Retreat in the spring. Thank you for taking such good care of the cottage. You truly cared for it as if it was your own.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384830vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Pequea. Pa
5

Beach cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We enjoyed our stay at Ruthie's Retreat.The cottage was very comfortable,and the location was ideal. We could walk or ride bikes to the beach, restaurants,and shops in less than 10 minutes.All the restaurants were excellent especially the Sandbar and the Waterfront.Ruthie's was everything we hoped it would be .We hope to return in the future and would love to stay at Ruthie's.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Susan and Bob - It was a pleasure having you stay. Thanks for the care you took of the cottage and we hope you will return for another visit soon!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384830vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Upstate New York
5

Just the Cutest Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I stayed at Ruthie's Retreat for just under 3 months. From the booking process to the details and amenities, Ruthie's was a great accommodation. We have stayed at 5 different rentals in the past 12 years and Ruthie's is a combination of all the positives we like: cottage quaint yet updated, at the quiet North end of the island, within walking distance of the beach, shops, restaurants, and trolley. Lin, the rental agent is great to work with and always available to answer a question.
I highly recommend that you consider Ruthie's Retreat for your AMI stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Maria and Bill - You like the same things about Ruthie's Retreat that we do! Thank you for your excellent review and for living in the cottage as if it was your own. We appreciate you and would love for you to return;
the welcome mat is always yours.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384830vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
5

Just like the pictures!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Attractively decorated and a great location. Walking distance to the Waterfront restaurant, the shops on Pine Ave., Ginnie's and Jane E's, and, most importantly, to the beach. Loved the bikes!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Lynne, for the great review and for staying at Ruthie's Retreat. We hope you will return and thanks for everything.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384830vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Newnan,Ga
5

Jeanne H. Atlanta

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a lovely cottage! Felt like a welcomed guest. Pottery Barn inspired interiors: handsome furnishings and perfectly furnished for casual beachtime! Every needed condiment,paper goods, coffee grinder,etc.
Enjoyed candlelit herb garden each evening-almost slept on that cute porch!
Lin,property mgr,was so gracious. Am an Interior designer and not prone to adore most rentals-Ruthies Retreat is a GEM!!! Hope it's available next visit...
Thanks for sharing your nest!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jeanne -
Thank you for the terrific review! We love that you "get" this cottage's beachy funk. Thank you for treating it as your own home and please come back for another visit soon.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384830vbi
Anna Maria Anna Maria Island
Boston
5

Anna Maria Island treat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Ruthie's retreat was a great place to stay for a week. Everything you need is right there and many extras that much loving care and thoughtfulness has gone into setting up. It's tasteful and artfully decorated and a great location, very convenient. The photos don't do it justice. I look forward to my next stay! Beaches, stores and restaurants are in walking distance. Bikes are also available and come in handy. You could also use the free bus service to move about the island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Traci, for the excellent review and leaving the cottage in such great shape! We hope you will return!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 4/4