Marfa house rental - Presidio County Court House from front of house
Presidio County Court House from front of house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Marfa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 5-6)

I purchased my house nine years ago; it was in its original form, only seventy-five years older. Since then, it has been re-done, but it maintains its original charm, with hard-wood floors, tall ceilings and windows, and an interesting layout which includes several adjoining doors to allow the entire house to breathe. It's outstanding feature is its proximity to the beautiul Presidio Couny Courthouse which is, basically, right across the street.

The location is nonetheless quiet as it is on a non-through street. A person can walk to the library or several fine eating establishments within minutes or ride a bike. I call it my 'Hopi mesa' because of the intimacy and convenience of the town which is also very interesting as a center for the arts, music, theatre, and local color!

The yard and patio include several cool sitting areas. It is a xeriscaped yard with regional plants and rocks.

The house includes an interesting library with many refererce books on the southwestern US, art books, good fiction, books on spirituality, and a large selction of Spanish novels and texts, some translated into English.

No one will be disappointed with this charming and comfortable dwelling..

Keywords: Charming, fully updated, 1700 square foot home with one queen size bed, one full, one twin. New matresses. House has great windows wood floors, tall ceilings, tremendous comfort and decorum. The gorgeous Presidio County Courthouse is the view from the sunporch. There is a family of great-horned owls living above the house. For readers, there's a great library; for cooks, a full kitchen that's fun to cook in while friends watch from the stools around the large bar (and help?) There is the possiblity for a well behaved dog or kitty. Fenced yard. Also, garage storage space, one bike and so forth. This is a house to fall in love with, as I did.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a teacher and a traveler. I have had several 'lives' and long to have a couple more which is why I am allowing others to enjoy my house in my absence. I have just completed a book: Let Go of the Rope about the life and times of living here and there, including lovely Marfa.

Marie Blazek purchased this house in 2003

This is my 'home.' I love Marfa; but I am a rolling stone.

I adore drinking coffee on the front porch, watching a fabulous sun rise, then hours later, drinking a glass of wine, watching the sun set. Of course, there are other interesting activities in between, and later. It's just a fun house in a fun place!

12 Reviews of Property 384654 in Marfa, Texas

Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We really enjoyed staying here for a long weekend. The location was perfect and the house was really wonderful, and so sweetly decorated! We will definitely stay here again! Thank you so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
5

Marfa Sty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Great location to stay in Marfa. Home has a comfortable, easy to live in feel. Well stocked with what one needs for a stay. We could feel the loving kindness of this warm wonderful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes, my house is a charmer. I am so glad that you enjoyed its warmth as well as the beautiful courthouse and Marfa in general.
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
When it comes to visiting Marfa I don't think it's possible to find a better place to stay than this. Everything you could want to get to is within walking distance and getting in and out with your car is very easy. The home is also very cozy with everything you need to have an enjoyable time. I highly recomend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you. It is indeed a great house; I always hate to leave. Then I get to return! I don't know if I like the great horned owls on the tower, or the view of the courthouse from the porch, or the comfort of the house itself the most. All of them I guess. Anyway, thanks and come back soon. MB
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
Austin
5

Great family gathering!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband, 2 boys (4 and 10 yrs), mom, and dog had a wonderful stay at this Marfa home. There was ample room for all of us, and for the boys and dog to spread out. It's a cozy house and served as a warm and welcoming spot to host extended family also staying in town. The kitchen met our needs for cooking family dinners and we enjoyed several relaxed meals on the lovely patio off the kitchen. It's just a wonderful, quintessential Marfa house with space, character, art and in a great location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am always delighted to know that folks enjoyed my great house. I love it too for the same reasons: classic comforts with just enough pizazz and a great location. Good price too.
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
Oklahoma
5

Magical place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Marie's home has become my home when annually visiting Marfa for Chinati Weekend. This well located house is configured so that it can comfortably provide accommodations and privacy for several people. The kitchen is well equipped and there are lots of nooks and crannies to read or meditate. The host thoughtfully provides an interesting collection of books to peruse and games to play.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I have really enjoyed sharing my house (well, sort of) with Joy. She is a welcome guest and an amazing lady.
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
5

marfa's best home to rent

marfa's best home to rent
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
spent my birthday in marfa during new years with 5 of my closest friends. this house was beyond perfect in terms of accommodations, unique west texas charm, and quite possibly the most ideal location in town. we didn't drive once! the homeowner's taste was magnificent and i loved the decor and self-made ceramic collection. we cooked nearly every meal - the house had everything and was one of the reasons the trip was so magical.

will absolutely rent again and recommend to all. book early!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed the house and your Marfa visit. The unusual cold probably made things even cosier. Did you do the puzzles? Leave the Cat's Cradle game? Sharing time with friends and family, especially on one's special days is priceless, as you have apparently figured out. Y'all come back!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
-
5

charming, great location, well appointed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I stayed here in early September, 2012, and enjoyed the house immensely. It's small and charming, probably historic (?), and the location can't be beat. The house had everything we could have ever needed, though we didn't really cook there during our short stay. The wi-fi was a plus and worked perfectly, but my personal favorite amenity was the bicycles that we took out one evening to enjoy the nice, flat streets and the perfect weather. Marie was a joy to work with, very good communication which I appreciate very much. (So many VRBO landlords don't seem to want to ever actually talk much with their clients!). This is a great spot in Marfa, and we'll stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! Indeed, it's small town living at its best: pretty and calm absolutely fascinating. Please come back as soon as you can.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
Houston, Tx.
5

Spring Break 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Loved this house!! We drove from Houston to Marfa and loved arriving at such a warm and charming house. The location in Marfa cannot be beat! We enjoyed eating our meals outside in the nice cool air and enjoying the night sky. It served as a great base for exploring the Big Bend Area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you were comfortable and liked the charm of the place. The view of the courthouse is pretty amazing.

And thanks for washing up your dishes. Very kind of you. Come back any time. Mi casa es su casa. M.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
San Antonio
5

Charming home in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My family (2 adults, 2 young children, 1 dog) stayed in this home in mid Feb and had a wonderful time. The location near the courthouse is great; you can walk to many places (squeeze for breakfast, the bookstore, pizza foundation) that are fun and family friendly. The home itself is a really charming older home with beautiful art and pottery throughout. Kitchen had everything we needed, and the wifi/tv set-up worked fine as well (this can be a deal breaker for my husband :)). Backyard is completely fenced and was a nice place for our dog to run around. We would certainly stay here again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Jessica for you kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed "my world." Marie
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Great House in Best Location in Town, 3BR 2baths, Sleeps 2-6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384654vbi
+1 5129880034
Marfa Big Bend
Marfa, TX
4

Comfortable Home close to the courthouse

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This was a comfortable home close to the courthouse with a lovely sun room in the front of the house. The kitchen was well stocked with tools to adequately cook a nice dinner. There was a nice bar area off the kitchen where the group could visit with me while I cooked. The home was in good condition and clean.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Natasha. It was very cool getting to know you and your family, though briefly. May 2012 be a super year for you. Marie
Helpful votes: 0/1