Round Pond apartment rental - View of Browns Cove from Sea Loft
View of Browns Cove from Sea Loft
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Round Pond Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Full Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Lovely, new carriage house apartment on Brown's Cove in Round Pond. Great retreat year round with lots of privacy, beautiful views and plenty of charm. Furnished with a mix of antiques and family furnishings, new queen sized bed, double futon, fireplace, new appliances and European-style washer/dryer. A private second story deck looks out over Muscongus Bay, Franklin lighthouse and Monhegan Island. Located down a mile long dirt road in a stunning family compound, centered around a lovely cove, this apartment provides a wonderfully private way to experience Maine's unique oceanfront beauty.

Atmosphere:: Relax in a cozy space ,surrounded by beauty and peace, where days take on a quiet rhythm, where time is measured by tides and sunrises,and where stars illuminate the night sky, unobscured by ambient light. Go for a walk in the woods, sit on the deck, gaze out on the ocean and dream. Watch the lobster boats at work. Watch the sunrise over the water and see the islands 'blink out' at sunset. Go for a brisk swim in the cove.

We are located near sandy Pemaquid Beach, the iconic Pemaquid lighthouse and historic Colonial Pemaquid. Enjoy a lobster at Muscongus Bay Lobster Co, an outdoor eatery with picnic tables overlooking a working fishing harbor. Have a fine dinner at the waterfront Anchor Inn. Go to the Granite Hall Store for old fashioned 'penny candy' and ice cream. Take a charter cruise and see whales and puffins.

Waterfront access:: Also available , in a separate agreement ,is use of a deep water mooring in the cove and use of a wharf and dock. Arrive by boat!

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 384565 in Round Pond, Maine

Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
5

An idyllic hideaway on the water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I was looking for someplace quiet and contemplative in order to write, and found it in spades at the Sea Loft. As the previous reviewers wrote, Sara and Craig have thought of everything to make this little studio feel like a home away from home. I found freshly cut flowers and herbs waiting for me and a kitchen well stocked with dinnerware, accessories and pots and pans. Sara's binder of things to do was enormously helpful, and included maps for lovely hiking trails right nearby.

The deck is amazing -- generously sized and with a perfect view of the water, boats, islands and lobster traps as far as the eye can see. An awning kept the sun out during the day, so I take in and be inspired by the amazing landscape as I worked. During the few storms that came through during the week, I listened to the sound of rain pounding against the skylights.

The property is a mile down a dirt road but convenient to Round Pond and New Harbor. Damariscotta, which has many conveniences, was a 20-minute drive away.

All in all, a lovely, idyllic week at a beautiful property, with thoughtful, caring hosts. I certainly hope to return one day.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
Springfield, OH
5

A perfect get-away for a couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We found SeaLoft to be an ideal spot for a couple wishing to get away from it all, while still being within easy driving distances of the major Mid-Coast attractions and amenities.

Sara and Craig were perfect hosts, providing a nice mix of hospitality, advice and privacy. Craig provided us with recommendations and maps of trails on the property and adjacent nature preserve for our hikes. The promise that we could ask questions any time was kept; each time we called, someone was there to help us.

The loft is located over the garage, separated from their living area by the laundry room and office area. So, even though you are connected to the house, you have complete privacy. The apartment was clean and appealing. The living room/kitchen was decorated in simple elegance, with fresh flowers on the table, local books and a variety of games. The kitchen offered a clean stove, microwave, coffeepot and refrigerator, with dishes, glasswear and utensils for cooking. The bathroom with shower had a shelf of towels and generously filled basket of amenities. The quilt-covered bed was comfortable, and we had a dresser and closet for our clothes.

There is a wonderful view of the small cove and beyond to the bay and islands from the deck. In the mornings we watched lobstermen checking their traps. After dark, clear nights provide glorious star gazing, with no ambient light to interfere. We cooked several evening meals on the stove or the gas grill and ate on the deck, taking in the view.

Even though there is no air conditioning in the loft, typical Maine weather doesn’t require it. The week we were at the loft was in the midst of record-breaking high temperatures. By opening the four screened skylights and doors to the deck during the night and turning on a couple of fans we were able to use the natural air conditioning nights in Maine provide.

Although Brown’s Cove is a mile off the highway, it has good proximity to key Mid-Coast sites. It’s half-way between Round Pond and New Harbor (each about 10 minutes drive away). The Pemaquid lighthouse, a “must see” site featured on the reverse of the Maine quarter, is another 5 or 10 minute beyond New Harbor. Drive 10 minutes from Round Harbor and you hit Route 1.
So, the SeaLoft provides a nice central location regardless of where you want to visit while you’re there.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the SeaLoft. When we left we felt we had made new friends, and we hope to visit them again soon.
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
4

Stunning Ocean View

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The view took your breath away. It was just what we needed out of the way, cozy, and quiet romantic. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Sara brought me fresh flowers with card on my birthday. Craig also showed my husband Carl maps for walking paths. The deck was really nice....great awning that you could roll out to shade the sun while reading....the grill was just right and convenient to eating area. We could open the doors and get a great breeze coming in off the ocean. Spectacular view and just right for a couple who wants to just get away. We would highly recommend this rental.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
Austin, MN
5

Absolutely awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was the perfect getaway vacation. The loft is so very comfortable and the owners made sure we had everything we needed (and more). The view from the deck was wonderful and the grounds were terrific for jogging, walking and just taking in the beautiful landscape. There were four us for this stay. Our son and his wife were able to join us. The futon in the living area was great for them and we never felt crowded out. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, eletric appliances, and seasonings/oils. Shopping at the local stores was really handy. One of our best vacations. We can't wait to return.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Could not have been more perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The Sea Loft and Brown's Cove was an idyllic place to stay in the Midcoast area of Maine if you are seeking privacy, quiet, stunning views, a bright and airy apartment, and hospitable, friendly and helpful proprietors. My fiance and I had never been to Maine, and the Round Pond location on the Pemaquid Peninsula was a great central location to exploring towns such as Boothbay Harbor, Wiscasset, Camden, and Rockland as well as the tiny villages in the area that are very local and non-touristy.
The Sea Loft had everything we needed for the week - a wonderful deck (where we spent most of our time) w/ a gas grill, a full kitchen, a large bathroom w/ separate toilet and washer and dryer and a charming and simply decorated space. Sara and Craig were very welcoming and provided a thorough folder of information on the area including restaurants, outdoor activities and maps. We took advantage of the private cove and sea kayaked on the Muscongus Sound a few times. All in all I would recommend the Sea Loft to other couples or parties of 1-4 looking for a special and peaceful place to stay in Midcoast Maine!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
Boston, Massachusetts
5

A Lovely Stay in Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a lovely spot offering a charming view of Brown's Cove at Round Pond. We enjoyed the stay immensely. The apt is simple, but adequate and comfortable, although it is clear the kitchen is not equipped for extensive meals. There is a grill on the patio and we ate many meals out there.
Being at the end of a dirt road, there is lots of peace, quite and privacy, and "town" (Round Pond) is just a couple of miles away. We would heartily recommend this place, and stay here again ourselves.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Round Pond Sea Loft

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Heavenly spot, perfect spot to rest, recharge your batteries and explore the fun things to do in mid Coast Maine. All of the other reviews are accurate. We also found the owners to be very kind, hospitable and deeply caring that we enjoyed our time in their getaway sea loft apartment. We loved being able to swim in the cove below, and rode our bikes into both Round Pond, New Harbor and Pemiquid. The one mile unpaved driveway is hilly.

If you use Sprint or ATT, you will not have cell service, but the wifi is fine for getting email.. We found that ultimately our vacation was enhanced without our phones, but do be warned if you need it. Thank you for our superb Maine getaway.
Owner's Response: The Sea Loft does have a land line phone.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Sea loft

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was just what we were looking for. A delightful loft overlooking Brown Cove with views across the sound to Monhegan and other islands. The sunsets are magical. The host couple are so welcoming and accommodating, the loft has all the amenities and is clean and comfortable. We will return and certainly recommend this rental to our friends and others
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
4

Sea loft

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was just what we were looking for. A delightful loft overlooking Brown Cove with views across the sound to Monhegan and other islands. The sunsets are magical. The host couple are so welcoming and accommodating, the loft has all the amenities and is clean and comfortable. We will return and certainly recommend this rental to our friends and others
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, Serene, Stunning Ocean View, Cozy, Rural, Sunny
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384565
+1 (207) 529-2552
Round Pond Boothbay Harbor Area
5

sea loft

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband, myself and our dog Friday had a wonderful visit in June to the Sea Loft. The place is light and airy with a private deck overlooking an amazing view. The owners had provided everything we would need to make our stay comfortable. Also, they were so welcoming, so friendly and accommodating. We would definitely recommend the Sea Loft to anyone. Adrienne
Helpful votes: 2/2