Marfa house rental - Entrance to home and front courtyard.
Entrance to home and front courtyard.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Marfa House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Perfect house, perfect location. Spacious adobe home within walking distance of restaurants and galleries. This 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom fully furnished home is situated on half a city block. With 2,652-square feet and good separation of bedrooms, it is big enough to provide privacy for two couples, but small enough to feel intimate and homey to a single person or couple.

The long list of the desirable/designer amenities include: fully equipped kitchen,kiva fireplace in courtyard, great lighting, air conditioning, a flat-screen HDTV w/ cable and DVD player, stereo center w/ CD player, iPOD docking stations,linens, ceiling fans, separate office with desk, wireless internet, printer, beautiful furnishings, rugs, artwork, and so much more.

The state-of-the-art kitchen has a total upgrade package that features stainless-steel appliances. Service for 8 includes all of the appliances and utensils you need to cook and serve a gourmet dinner.

The sun-filled, inviting dining area seats as many as 8 people and yet is intimate enough for 2.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a married couple living in Austin, Texas, somewhat recently transplanted from NYC. I practice law in Austin and in NYC and my wife travels quite a bit for her work. Marfa is our favorite getaway and, with our busy schedules, we just do not make it out as often as we would like. We love our home in Marfa and all of our wonderful friends there. Whether you are returning visitors, or new to Marfa, we believe you will love it as much as we do.

Jason purchased this house in 2008

We purchased this home in Marfa because, after we moved from NYC to Austin, we craved a place to get away from the Austin heat. We chose Marfa because, while Marfa is a small town, the town's residents are a unique blend of big-city sophisticates, ranchers/cowboys, and long-time residents. Marfa has a creative and eclectic vibe that reminds us of a smaller, and more isolated, Taos. Whether you are interested in hiking in the mountains, or fine-dining and gallery-hopping, or all of the preceding, Marfa is simply a wonderful place to unwind. Go to marfalist dot org and find out what is happening in Marfa.

9 Reviews of Property 384203 in Marfa, Texas

Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
5

Excellent Place to Stay in Marfa!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
A few friends and I have been traveling to Marfa for New Year's for the past 4 years. The first two years we stayed at the Riata (too far east), the next year we rented a house (too far west), and this year we rented this place. Without contest it's the best place we've stayed at so far. Very spacious, great furnishings, amazing location, and even a record player with its own vinyl collection. One night we had a cookout and another we had a fire in the chiminea. The whole trip was a success thanks to this place. I highly recommend!
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
Austin, Texas
5

Nice spacious house in Marfa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This house suited the needs of our family of 5 perfectly. Between the dining/living room, kitchen, and family/TV room, there is plenty of usable space for adults to relax and kids to play. We put our youngest daughter's pack-n-play in the office, which meant one of three bedrooms wasn't even needed. Kids can also play in the spacious yard, which is fenced and adjacent to a horse pasture. The location is walkable to downtown (half mile?) and the Chinati Foundation (1/3 mile?), yet several noise-dampening blocks from the train tracks and highway. The movie selection at the house is excellent, full of great choices with location or director connections to Marfa, Austin, or Texas. Finally, the owner's instruction booklet answered all of our questions, and nothing went wrong during our stay. I am the second HomeAway employee to have happily stayed at this house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
Austin
5

Another Great Thanksgiving in Marfa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This house is very nice, very nicely furnished, and a great place to hang out. The kitchen is big with nice appliances. Any place you want to go in Marfa is walkable from the house. The movie collection provided by the owners for a night in was excellent. The owners were easy to work with and quickly responded to questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
United States
5

a jewel!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
the house has everything you need for a very relaxing visit. it's clear that these owners love their home- we did too! the furnishings were quite lovely and comfortable. the kitchen had all the basics. the beds were comfy with cozy linens. the house is very spacious with room to sprawl out in style. highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
san fran
5

Spacious Adobe Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I recently returned from Marfa, 3/23-26. The home is outstanding, clean, very quiet, comfortable. I went with my son and two of his friends, I never heard them due to the design of the house. Great light, open, kitchen etc. The location is easy walk to town. The owner is a pleasure to work with and had outstanding recommendations. I will be back. Dont stay at a hotel, stay here and dont miss it!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
Dallas
5

Perfect house for those looking for the Marfa Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This house captures the art-meets-desert vibe that is Marfa, while offering every creature comfort. For two couples and one friend, the house was a perfect size with two spacious living rooms, three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The location is spot on, walking distance to Marfa's art attractions and dining but when you're at the house you feel the spaciousness of the landscape. Since restaurants here operate on Marfa-time, the kitchen was a luxury, totally outfitted and huge; preparing meals became a communal activity. The couple that rents the house obviously put a lot of time into making it a home and their taste matches well with the Donald Judd inspired surroundings.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
Austin, Texas
5

In the Heart of Marfa. The Soul Too.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This house is right in e heart of town - an easy walk from most everything, but we much preferred to use the house bikes. It's also in tune with Marfa's heart and soul - stylish without being pretentious, not out of place with either Marfa's funky artist atmosphere or it's west Texas roots. It's a very comfortable place, nicely furnished, unique artwork and obviously well cared for. The record player is a nice touch. The owners made us feel very welcome and provided some great information about the town. Like staying in a friend's house, which is the whole point of this kind of rental, isn't it?
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
Austin
5

Great house, perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Great house in Marfa! Wonderful location, an easy walk to the restaurants in town, Chinati, El Cosmico. Very private and perfect for quiet evenings out on the patio. The house is clean, very airy and has tons of great natural light. We will definitely be returning for our next visit!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much visiting! Your family is adorable and we hope you return!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Adobe Home with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384203
+1 5127456274
Marfa Big Bend
Austin, Texas
5

What a Wonderful Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I've stayed here several times. Its clean, comfortable, lovely, lots of light, everything works. Walking distance to everything in town. Plus, Marfa is SAFE: don't worry about burglary. Be sure and check out Balmorhea State Park for the cold spring natural bottom swimming pool, the great hiking near Ft. Davis, and the outstanding restaraunts in Marfa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2