Bovina Center estate rental - Our lake-front home sits on its own 7-acre lake on a private 52-acre estate
Our lake-front home sits on its own 7-acre lake on a private 52-acre estate
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Bovina Center Estate Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 4 full baths, sleeps 12 adults, and is the perfect wedding venue!

This spacious, elegant, lakefront log home sits tucked away on a secluded 52-acre mountain retreat, surrounded by hundreds of acres of publicly-owned forest and rolling hills. The house looks out onto a beautiful, private 7-acre lake where you can swim, boat and fish. After grilling up your dinner on the oversized deck, take a swing in the hammock and then relax in an Adirondack chair and watch the stars come out in total silence. Situated midway between Woodstock and Cooperstown, Spruce Lake Farm is 5 minutes from quaint Bovina Center, 10 minutes from a premier 18-hole golf course, and 15 minutes from supermarkets, antique shops, fine dining and boutique shopping. Children will love the tree house, play set and beach, as well as the two rowboats and numerous forest trails. Wireless internet and satellite TV are free. Click on 'More Details' below for further information.

Main level: The main level of this five bedroom, four bathroom house has a wonderful open floor plan and provides the perfect space for enjoying meals, entertaining and relaxing by the huge stone fireplace. The ceilings here are 35 feet high with rustic beams and views of the lake, and overhead is a spacious loft which serves as a library, office and reading area. Also on the main level are the kitchen and dining area, a log-walled bedroom with adjacent full bathroom, a TV room with HDTV and DirecTV satellite service, and an airy sunroom as you enter the house.

Upper and lower levels: The upper level of the house has three bedrooms, one of which includes a loft for extra sleeping space, and two full bathrooms. The lower level boasts a huge master bedroom with en suite full bathroom, and leads out onto a beautiful stone patio overlooking a flower rock garden. The lower level also includes a rec room with pool/ping pong table and a laundry room with two sets of high-efficiency washers and dryers.

Lakeside boat house and play area: The boat house has a picnic table for lakeside dining, and two rowboats. The play area has a tree house, slide, climbing wall, cargo net, swing, tandem swing, trapeze and bench swing.

Spruce Lake Farm also makes a wonderful gathering place for weddings, reunions and company retreats.

Visit us on Facebook for dozens of additional photos: http://www.facebook.com/sprucelakefarm

See our panoramas at Microsoft Photosynth: http://photosynth.net/userprofilepage.aspx?user=SpruceLakeFarm

More Details
Hide Details

38 Reviews of Property 384115 in Bovina Center, New York

'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
average rating of 5.0 based on 38 reviews
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
Baltimore
5

Outstanding in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This beautiful house and its stunning environs surpass expectations. We had our family of 12, ages 1 to 77, here for a winter holiday. The house is the perfect family venue with private space for everyone and wonderful common space for times together. The house is superbly equipped and beautifully decorated. A foot of snow transformed the idyllic setting into a winter wonderland, while a fire inside kept us warm and relaxed. We enthusiastically recommend this lovely property and are looking forward to a return visit in the summer ourselves.
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
Linden NJ
5

exquisite retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is our second visit to Spruce Lake Farm. It is beautiful! The house and grounds are beautifully maintained yet homey and quite comfortable to spend quality family time. EVERYTHING you need is here. Adam is A++++. I cannot say enough about this location. We plan on going back next year! Thanks for the memories Adam!
Owner's Response: Thanks a lot Nancy! Looking forward to seeing you again next year!
All the best,
Adam
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
5

Great family vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is the second year we have stayed at this wonderful house. Large enough for the whole family and several pets. Adam has been so accommodating with our family. This is definitely our permanent yearly vacation house. There is so much to do right at the house. The property is huge, the lake has great fishing, and there is even a piano for nightly concerts. Thanks for adding the fire by the pond. We had a wonderful time sitting by the fire telling family stories. We ate, and cooked in the great kitchen, walked, and paddleboarded, played games on the large lawn, and the dogs had plenty of room to run.
If you are thinking of taking your family vacation- this is the spot. The house is cozy enough to spend time together and large enough to hideaway and read a good book in the library. Thanks for a great time. We will be back again next year.
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
5

A real Gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at Spruce Lake Farm during June, 2013. This is my family’s new favorite place!. We had 10 adults and 9 kids and we had plenty of space. There is so much to talk about with this 'gem' of a find; I don’t know where to start. I almost don’t want to share this place with others for fear of it being booked up for years. As you drive in, your first view is across the lake looking at the house. Wow, what a view, it is beautiful! The house is spacious and feels like home too. It has everything you need from a huge great room with expansive windows to a ping pong table to a big, cozy loft with books, games, and puzzles. I could sit and stare out of the windows in the great room all day. Every morning we would take our coffee and sit on the deck or in the great room just staring at all the beauty of outside. We arrived at night after a long drive and did not have to worry about dinner. The kitchen was stocked with staples including pasta and sauce to tide you over until you can get to the store. The kitchen had bags, foil, paper towels and everything you could need. No need to pack the car with supplies. If you have people who cannot go up and down stairs there is a bedroom on the main floor and a tv room with a pull out couch. The master suite is downstairs and there are 3 bedrooms upstairs. There are two couches in the loft and 3 sofas in the great room. The surrounding outside area is so beautiful. You really get the feeling of getting away. There is a trail and an area on the other side of the lake as well. The lake itself is big. They have two rowboats and a huge boat dock with two slips and a picnic table. The boat dock is covered so even in the rain you can fish and be outside. My husband caught several bass. The kids used the boats and went swimming. There is also a fire pit great for sitting outside and making s’mores. There are several places to visit in the area if you want to go out. Bovina and Andes have several stores and sometimes a pop up farmers market. Oneonta has more of the main stream stores like Walmart and Dick’s Sporting Goods. The Del-Rose Farm is down the road with fresh sweet corn, tomatoes, and pumpkins. The Farmer’s wife has homemade pies and sticky buns. Down the road you can buy homemade Gouda cheese and up another road you can visit a maple syrup farm. You cannot leave New York without New York maple syrup. There are also several hiking and biking trails.
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A wedding that people will remember

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We recently held our wedding at Spruce Lake Farm, and, weeks later, our friends and family are still raving about the venue. We rented the house for the week, so our wedding party and close family got to spend a lot of time together. We had about 130 people at the reception, and there was ample space for a large tent and other equipment. We had a string band play, and we did all of our event rentals through Morris Tent Rental, who was amazing. Brooks BBQ catered, and cooked on site, which was a huge hit and the food was delicious.

We live in Boston and had family coming from both Boston and the NJ/NYC areas, and everyone was happy to make the trip and enjoy a long weekend in the Catskills, but it was also close enough for some guests to just come up for the ceremony and reception. We really enjoyed the lake, and our friends and family enjoyed boating, fishing and swimming to break up the wedding-planning preparations.

Honestly, I can't say enough about this place. The house has all of the modern amenities but has the feel of a country home, and it's full of beautiful Asian antiques and art. And lastly, upon arriving on Monday, all of the stress of wedding planning seemed to go away as we sat by the lake together and took in the peaceful, quiet surroundings.

If you want a wedding that people will remember for years to come, we highly recommend Spruce Lake Farm.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
5

Fun Family Vacation Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had a fantastic time at Spruce Lake Farm on vacation with extended family. Plenty of room for ten adults and two little ones. Perfect weather for taking our kayaks on the water, playing frisbee golf on the grounds, or just relaxing in the sun. There was just one rainy day, but that gave us time to play cards and board games together in the large great room. Groundskeeper does a great job keeping the property nice, checking up on our wood and propane tank supply, and providing tips about the area. Adam called on the first night to ensure everything met our expectations. We were lucky and had a few completely clear nights that offered a beautiful view of the stars while winding down around the firepit. Not too far away is the SUNY Delhi EDU trail, which is a very easy and well maintained nature trail. When we wanted a break from grilling, we picked up some good pizza from The Village Pizzeria. We're definitely looking forward to coming back again. Thanks!
Owner's Response: I'm so happy you had a good time. We're looking forward to seeing you again!

All the best,

Adam
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A photographer's paradise

A photographer's paradise
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Everything went perfect for our wedding day. Everyone kept asking how we found such a beautiful place. It was also a photographer's paradise. We absolutely loved your place and feel a part of it after being married there.
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
5

Great Time at Spruce Lake Farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family had a wonderful time at Spruce Lake Farm. The house has plenty of room for a large family (we had 14 total with 6 kids). We were also permitted to bring our two small dogs - which was really nice - they loved swimming in the lake! The house is very clean and well stocked. The lake was wonderful, it was so clean that you could see right down to the bottom. The kids had a great time swimming and boating. We also had a great time fishing for bass. The location was perfect if you want to get away from it all and disconnect from the busy outside world. The extra washing machine/dryer came in handy with our big group. We loved that you could use the IPod plugin for the stereo system which plays throughout the dining room and Atrium. The fire pit was great for s'mores and campfire songs. The owner and groundskeeper were excellent - very responsive and helpful. Overall, we had a wonderful time at Spruce Lake Farm and we are looking forward to returning again.
Owner's Response: Hi CF,

Thank you so much for your very kind words! I'm so happy that you had such a relaxing stay.

All the best,

Adam
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
5

like a second home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
this was my 3rd year staying here and it feels like a second home. the house is stocked with everything that you would want and need. the grounds are beautiful and diverse and there is so much to explore. booking for next year already.
business
'Spruce Lake Farm' 52-acre log home estate with private 7-acre lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384115
Bovina Center Catskills
5

Best Group Getaway Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I just turned 40 and decided to get away with 9 of my closest friends and family. We cooked amazing meals, used the row boats on the lake, a few of my friends ran the trails around the property, and others practiced Yoga on the deck overlooking the lake. Mostly I just relaxed, what a great place to get away from it all. The house was extremely organized, especially the kitchen. I told Adam the owner the pictures can not do this place the justice it deserves. I recommend this place for large groups and anyone just really wanting to get away from it all.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Enrique,

I'm so happy that you and your family and friends had a good time! Thanks again for staying with us, and please come back for your 50th!!!

All the best,

Adam
Helpful votes: 1/1