St George Island house rental - A Beachfront Paradise with magnetic charm.
A Beachfront Paradise with magnetic charm.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 28 nights
 

St George Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

One Particular Harbor is a “Magic kind of Medicine” The moment you enter, the view will take your breath away. The spacious Great Room features an entire wall of windows to the Gulf and a large Covered Deck – A Great Place to Relax and watch the world go by. Jimmy Buffet must have been thinking of this very spot when he wrote this song. The dolphins and shrimp boats will keep you glued to your seat. This is a very relaxing, casual beach home, decorated with the intent to be “magic medicine” for stress relief and memory making. There’s a fireplace for cool nights, a 46” Flat Screen TV/DVD/VCR, Stereo with ipad or smart phone hookup & lots of beach music), books, CD’s – all to get you in the mood for rest, relaxation and fun. The kitchen features multiple seating at the “L” shaped, granite bar or large Dining Table. We’re fully stocked with Dinnerware, Pots & Pans, Utensils and appliances for cooking up some of our fabulous, fresh, local seafood. Lots & lots of original art work all around.

The Master Suite offers King size Bed, 3 sided Mirrored Granite Vanity and the Best View you’ll ever wake up to. The 2nd Bedroom sports a King size Bed, TV/DVD and a view of the Beach. The 3rd Bedroom has cable/internet connection, flat screen TV & twin beds. Kids of all ages love the 4th, Downstairs Bedroom/Bath featuring a flat scrren TV, small fridge, microwave & coffee pot. We call it “Jimmy’s Hideaway” There’s a Fish Cleaning Table with sink & running water, that’s really handy after you catch a few Pompano or Red Fish, & a Hot/Cold Outdoor Shower that’s convenient & fun after a day on the Beach for you or Fido, and a Boardwalk to the Beach with Arched Bridgeway over our beautiful dune. There’s paved, covered parking, a picnic table and, Best of all, it’s all just a short walk to everything the Island has to offer.

If you get enough relaxing (Did I say that?), the State Park over the last 7 miles of the Island to the East offers unspoiled, natural beaches, NOBODY around, nature trails, wildlife galore & great shelling and was among Dr. Beach's Top 10 again in 2013. There’s a paved Bike Path from the State Park for 24 miles, wonderful restaurants featuring fresh local seafood that’s worth the trip, shopping, and, of course, you’ve got to climb the Lighthouse and go through the Museum & Gift Shop just a short walk on the beach from the house. There are boat ramps, kayak rentals, jet skis, sailboats, fishing, crabbing, shelling & so much more. A little further out, back on the mainland, there’s great shopping, eating, and exploring in ”old Florida” towns like Apalachicola, full of history & intrigue. Further out, St James Bay to the East & St Joe Country Club offer Golfing to the public AND don’t miss Wakulla Springs, St Marks Lighthouse and much, much more.

Our home is Pet Friendly for one small, well behaved Dog. Check with owner for exceptions. We have a strictly enforced “NO SMOKING” policy. We want you and your family to have a Great, Relaxing, Memorable Vacation, leave the home like you’d like to find it, and come back year after year for more “magic medicine”.

Keywords: Beachfront Home - East Gulf Beaches

St George Island

More Details
Hide Details

Jim & I live on St George Island. We are involved in the SGLA/St George Lighthouse, Humane Society and the Library but beachcombing still comes first.

Jim & Susan McClendon purchased this house in 1997

The natural beauty, uncrowded beaches, no high rises, laid back atmosphere and we felt the 'magic medicine' at first glance.

We love to sit on the porch and watch the world go by. What a View!

17 Reviews of Property 384094 in St George Island, Florida

One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Birmingham, AL
5

aewatso@gmail.com

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had such an amazing stay! The house is wonderful- very clean, extremely comfortable, and right on the beautiful beach. We saw dolphins very close to shore, found starfish and sand dollars, even witnessed a water spout on a rainy day! We ate locally caught seafood and out a couple of times. We had great experiences with all of it. The owners are extremely nice and helpful, making the renting process very easy. We had 2 young kids, my husband, myself, and my parents during the stay. It was very enjoyable and relaxing for all of us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was great having you and we hope to see you back for more of our "magic medicine". Thanks for taking good care of our home. Susan & Jim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Oradell, New Jersey
5

Just Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It was the most relaxing time we have had in years. The house was perfect, the weather was perfect, the water was warm, and the beach was wonderful. We were three generations; my 76 year old mother-in-law, my-sister-in-law and her teenage girls, my husband and I, and our two teenage boys. The house was just like the pictures, clean, comfortable and beautiful. Everyone was able to find their own space and yet come together. The kids were on their own vacation schedule [translates to woke up late and went to sleep late] yet swam every day. We cooked in the house and we walked to town and listened to the band at Eddy Teach’s Raw Bar. One night we built a fire on the beach and made s ’mores. Some days we found sand dollars, one day we chartered a boat, on another we went to Apalachicola and ate wonderful oysters. One day we bought shrimp at the fish truck and cooked it on the grill.
The porch with its overhang and view of the ocean was perfect, early morning, late evening, and just about all day. Yes you can watch the dolphins – no exaggeration. This is one of the best rentals on the Island. Location, location, location. Also note the art work in the house. Owner is a resident artist – quite nice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It's just great to hear this from people who are new to the Island. Hope you'll be back next year. Susan & Jim
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
5

Fun for all

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
One Particular Harbor is an amazing house! The view is incredible! From the moment we arrived until our sad departure everyone had a blast! We spent a lot of time enjoying the area under the house where the gulf breeze was fantastic! Already looking at the calendar for next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Really glad you had a good time. Thanks for choosing our "magic medicine". Susan & Jim
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Kansas City, MO
5

Old Florida Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
One Particular Harbor was a dream come true vacation house. The house was so beautifully decorated and had all the conveniences of home. All we had to do was buy groceries and we had everything we needed to spend a fabulous week on the beach. To tell you how special it was we only went off island one evening to do dinner in Apalachicola, which is a beautiful, quaint Old Florida town with some fabulous seafood restaurants. We had three couples on our trip, it was a graduation gift for my sons and their girlfriends. One Particular Harbor and its expansive back deck facing the ocean made for several evenings watching the dolphins and the sunset and lots of good time chatting and laughter. Our dog was feeling like it was home after only one day at the house. His favorite spot was on the deck also, for his mid-day nap. The assortment of movies, and Jimmy Buffett cd's were fabulous for entertainment in the evenings after darkness fell and we were tired of chasing crabs on the beach. Had a bonfire one night on the beach and it was just fabulous. Everyone in the town and other tourists were so friendly and made our trip special. We even made it in time for the annual Blue Parrot Island Bar - Mullet Toss, in which all of our clan participated. It was alot of fun to throw a fish for prizes. I would recommend this house for any family, those with young children, teenagers, or just some 50+ folks like ourselves that want to spend a relaxing time on a great island. We love St. George Island and would love to call it home some day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great having you guys and hope to have you back on your next trip to the Islañd. We'd also love to have you as neighbors some day. Jim & Susan
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
California
5

One Particular Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This house was everything the pictures show you on the sight. It was perfect for a small or large group. Plenty of space and the great room is so nice. A place for all to sit and talk, play games, eat and have fun all together. The downstairs room is so nice for two guests to be on their own in case they are get up early go to bed late people. They have their own space.
The board walk to the beach is nice and the deck the length of the back of the house facing the gulf is the best. Lots of seating with awesome views. The master bedroom opens up to the deck and it was a place to stand in the middle of the night gazing at the sky looking at the stars and full moon reflecting on the water. It was something I can not do at my house, also watching early morning sunrises was that much nicer from the deck or walking along the beach.
We would recommend the house to friends and visit again.
Just remember to bring bug spray if you are susceptible to insect bites the noseeums will get you. (really small bug you do not even see or feel)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great having you.
Hurry back for more "magic medicine". Susan
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Atlanta
5

Fantastic week at "One Particular Harbor".

Fantastic week at "One Particular Harbor".
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
From the moment we arrived at “One Particular Harbor” we knew we had made the perfect choice for Spring break with our family. Susan’s description of the home, the views and the facilities are described to a “T”, all the way down to watching dolphins from the deck and seeing the shrimp boats pass by. You can tell that Susan takes immense pride in the upkeep and decoration of the house. Everything has been thoughtfully selected to make sure the house has a perfect “Island” feel. The house is extremely well equipped and has literally everything that you could possibly want during your stay. The kitchen is a good design and would work great for a crowd. The great room is amazing! You cannot beat those views! There was a good selection of up to date DVD’s for those lazy nights in and plenty of books and music to relax with. The beds, linens were great and over all the home had such a “squeaky” clean feel to it. We didn’t use Jimmie’s hideaway as we didn’t have need for the extra space. Susan had warned us that its not suitable for young kids in that it has a separate entrance. I would certainly agree with that. I think it would be fine for teens but I am not sure I’d have wanted our adult guests to sleep there. The Island is a real jewel of a place. Our trip reminded me of old fashioned beach vacations we went on as kids where we built sand castles, flew a kite and swam in the ocean. It’s a very low key place, so if you are after rest and relaxation you are in store for a treat. Our older child loved the fact that it was a mere 10 steps to the beach and it was so quiet that she referred to it as “our beach”. The water was quite chilly in April but certainly not cold enough to deter anyone from taking a dip. Our 5 year old could not get enough of the waves and took up boogie boarding like a natural. It was hard to keep her out of the water! There is a wonderful paved path that runs the length of the Island. Its perfect for runners and bikers of all ages. We sampled some of the local fare at the Blue Parrot (great drinks and a decent grouper sandwich). We also bought seafood most days from the mobile van that parks on the main drag every day. There is a decent children's play ground on the main drag that we visited a few times and we enjoyed climbing the lighthouse and eating ice cream at Aunt Ebby's, All in all I highly recommend “One Particular Harbor”. I was so glad we chose that spot and can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Sorry your Dad couldn't make the trip but looking forward to having him on your next visit. He would love our magic medicine. Susan
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Roswell, GA
5

Excellent House // Great location // Great Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I just spent a long weekend at One Particular Harbor on SGI. I'd absolutely recommend this island and house to anyone looking for a week long getaway...or simply a long weekend. The house has an excellent view of the ocean and the beach is private and peaceful. The property is well maintained and had everything we needed for our time there. It is also walking distance to all of the restaurants if the weather is nice. Jimmy's hideaway turned out to be an excellent perk as it offered privacy in a house w/ 4 other people. The transaction w/ the owners was also very succinct. Don't underestimate this place; I'd absolutely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review and thanks for taking good care of our home. Looking forward to your next visit.
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

The Perfect Magic Kind of Medicine

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The Perfect Magic Kind of Medicine

JB, Chicago, IL
Review submitted: July 31, 2012 Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

One Particular Harbor was the perfect vacation beach house for me and my family. We ranged in age from 17 to 81, and everyone, including the dog, was thrilled with the house and the beach.

The house was ideal for us. The spacious great-room, large kitchen connected to eating area and living room, was perfect to ensure that no one was left out of anything happening, as well as being a great place to watch the dolphins swim by almost every day.

The 17- and 22-year-olds appreciated the wave runner rental location that was about a 1/2 mile walk down the beach, and the Blue Parrot has great grouper dishes and a fun beachside bar.

The owners clearly and accurately represented their property and were extremely easy to work with.

I recommend One Particular Harbor to anyone seeking the perfect family vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Chicago, IL
5

The Perfect Magic Kind of Medicine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
One Particular Harbor was the perfect vacation beach house for me and my family. We ranged in age from 17 to 81, and everyone (including the dog) was thrilled with the house and the beach.

The house was ideal for us. The spacious great-room (large kitchen connected to eating area and living room) was perfect to ensure that no one was left out of anything happening, as well as being a great place to watch the dolphins swim by almost every day.

The 17- and 22-year-olds appreciated the wave runner rental location that was about a 1/2 mile walk down the beach, and the Blue Parrot has great grouper dishes and a fun beachside bar.

The owners clearly and accurately represented their property and were extremely easy to work with.

I recommend One Particular Harbor to anyone seeking the perfect family vacation home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank You. We look forward to having you back next year and for years to come. Our "magic medicine" really is perfect for most anything. Susan & Jim
business
One Particular Harbor - St George Island - Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p384094vbi
8509274345
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Atlanta, GA, USA
5

Excellent rental beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed One Particular Harbor. No problems with the property or the owner. We had two children under 6 and two seniors over 75 with us. Clean, well maintained & a great location. We'd stay at the property again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was great having you and meeting you both. Hurry back! Susan & Jim
Helpful votes: 1/1