Captain Cook bungalow rental - welcome!
welcome!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Bungalow, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Imagine sitting at a table or reclining in a lawn chair, perched on the mountain side above Kealakekua Bay, looking over the southern Kona coastline with an unobstructed view at the 1200 ft elevation. 'Wow', you say, 'the view is incredible!' A veritable slice of paradise, with ocean glistening to the west and mountain slopes to the south. Your soul is at peace. Red cardinals and yellow finches are scampering for food. A canoe race or fishing tournament just might be happening in the ocean near the coastline.

We have such a place - a one-bedroom vacation rental on our working macadamia nut and coffee farm. This is where the South Kona Macadamia Nut Company processes its succulent nut products. The grounds around the rental have citrus and banana trees, but the orchard of coffee and macadamia nut trees comprise the commercial aspect of the farm.

The rental is in the lower level of the main house; a screened-in porch has a kitchenette and futon sofa. Very private.

Open another screen door and the avocado green walls of a large bedroom, complete with a queen-sized bed and tropical furnishings, greet you. The bathroom has a large shower. With a separate entrance, your privacy is assured. Located on Napo'opo'o Road in Captain Cook on the big island of Hawaii, you are minutes away from the famous Kealakekua Bay and other Hawaiian sites of interest. Swim, snorkel, or kayak; drive around the island; visit the national parks; or, just stay put and soak up the view! Shopping centers are close by as are fine restaurants.

Keywords: bungalow

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 383409 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Sk Vacation Rental
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Sk Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383409vbi
1-808-3233696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

A great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a recommended place to spend relaxing days at South Kona.
I really enjoyed the beautiful bay view from the patio. I also enjoyed fresh fruit from the trees and a morning walk around the Mac nut farm with the owner Meris and her lovely dog.
A great place to stay. Surely a repeater.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Sk Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383409vbi
1-808-3233696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Olympia, WA
4

Mellow bungalow with magnificent view on a macadamia farm

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a great place to relax! It’s downstairs in the home of a small working farm with macadamia nuts and coffee. The hosts, Brad and Meris, are very nice –considerate, but respectful of our privacy. They checked on our comfort but otherwise went about their own business. The front room is screened and has a wonderful view of the Kona Coast. Although not air conditioned, the cool breezes flow through the room and on the mountainside it never got really hot. The kitchenette was very simple but functional. The solar hot water was not too hot, which was fine in the warm climate. Internet and AT&T cell coverage was weak, but that helps keep distractions away from the vacation.
The location was wonderful! We went to beach every day for snorkeling (oh! the fish!) and sunbathing, as well as a kayak trip to the Cook monument and other day trips – all less than a half-hour away. The drive to the Volcanoes National Park was around 2 hours – very doable for a day trip through gorgeous countryside. The little town of Captain Cook is nearby with a Farmers Market, Botanical Garden, bakery, pizza place, supermarket, and other amenities.
If you want a somewhat rustic get-away without the sterile anonymity of a time-share, try this place! And be prepared to buy some of SK’s delicious macadamia products!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sk Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383409vbi
1-808-3233696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Denver, CO
5

Charming stay at SK Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved our stay at the SK Vacation Rental! What a charming and lovely place. Merris, our host, was very friendly, helpful and kind. The photos were right on; it was gorgeous! Also easy to find, clean and well-maintained. We would highly recommend to others. Our only regret was that we didn't stay long enough. There was a lot to do in the area, and we felt we only explored the tip of the iceberg in the 3 days we were there. Would go back again in a heartbeat! You will love it! Shelley & Charlie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Sk Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383409vbi
1-808-3233696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Quiet, comfortable and clean!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at SK Rental while house hunting on the Big Island. Not only were the accommodations clean, the bed was comfortable, and the view was breathtaking. Meris was available, if needed, and shared fresh bananas and papaya, giving us a true Hawaiin experience. I would stay at the SK Rental again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sk Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383409vbi
1-808-3233696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

cr

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What an absolutely wonderful place...you will adore your hosts, and love the property. I would highly recommend this property, and I thank them again for an amazing stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sk Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383409vbi
1-808-3233696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
California
5

Great place to relax in between activities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved staying at this place! Its away from Kona, in a quiet location with a view of Kealakekua Bay. Perfect for our daily kayak and snorkeling trips, we could be in the water within 20 minutes of leaving the farm. Everyone was friendly and I loved having the open air window wall! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Sk Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383409vbi
1-808-3233696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Cozy Rental with an awesome view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My stay at SK Vacation Rental was exactly what I needed on my Big Island Getaway! I wanted to stay at a place away from all of the resorts, but still easily accessible to Kona and the Volcano National Park, and this was the perfect place for me. I was able to come and go without bothering anyone...it was if I had the entire place to myself. I loved the early mornings sitting on the Lanai sipping my tea, as I took in the amazing view. The location is very safe (as I am a single female traveling by myself) and I loved the open air feeling of the rental unit. I wish I could have stayed longer...hopefully next time! The property is exactly as they described it....beautiful. Thank you Meris for the wonderful place to stay, and I hope our paths cross again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sk Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383409vbi
1-808-3233696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Oregon
5

Great Location and Exceptional Hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The vistas are fantastic and the location was close to everything. We wanted to stay in the Captain Cook area to be close to the snorkelling. This was a perfect fit for us. The room has a wonderful view and is well stocked with more then the basics. Our hosts were available and responsive to our requests and questions about the area. We loved drinking our morning coffee while looking out across the bay. We would absolutely stay again at this location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway