Acquapendente farmhouse rental - Historic farmhouse, beautifully restored, 2 acres, 360-degree views
Historic farmhouse, beautifully restored, 2 acres, 360-degree views
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Acquapendente Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This historic property on the three-way border between Tuscany, Umbria and Lazio is the perfect setting for travelers who seek the peace, aesthetics and traditions of Italian town and country. Owned and restored by a Canadian couple, La Cappella has retained its old world charm at the same time as it is fully equipped for modern convenience. With spacious living and dining areas, a gourmet kitchen, three (or four) bedrooms, three bathrooms and a grapevine-covered terrace, La Cappella easily accommodates eight people.

The Property: No one knows for certain why the house was called La Cappella (the chapel). The popular theory is that in days gone by, there was a religious structure on the site that French pilgrims used as a wayside chapel en route to Rome. Perched on a volcanic cliff with 360° views, the property is like a two-acre park—with a storybook view of a medieval castle, caves, countless mature trees, perennial rock gardens, an orchard and an old oak road. Surrounded by rich agricultural land and oak forest, the only exceptions to the silence are the sounds of cicadas, birdsong and distant hunters and their dogs. The property is a garden lover’s delight. The grapevine-covered pergola provides deep shade for lunch on the terrace. Strategically placed lanterns and garden lights create just the right ambiance for elegant dinners.

The Location: La Cappella is located twenty minutes west of Orvieto, a wondrous hilltop town with a magnificent gothic cathedral, a well-served train station and many five-star restaurants. Orvieto is also home to the internationally famous Umbria Winter Jazz Festival. The volcanic Altopiano dell’Alfina is an undiscovered zone of stunning landscapes, friendly locals, excellent food at local prices, clean air and temperate nights—and yet, it is within commuting distance of Rome. The property is five minutes from Torre Alfina (recently voted one of Italy’s 100 prettiest villages) and five minutes from the thriving market town of Acquapendente.

At the crossroads of three regions, guests can sample three famous Italian cuisines at local prices and in villages that are not tourist showcases. The zone is also host to some of Italy’s most famous vineyards: Orvieto Classico, Rosso di Montepulciano, Chianti, Brunello di Montalcino.

On the edge of a large nature reserve and within easy range of Mediterranean beaches, thermal spas and a volcanic lake, La Cappella appeals to nature lovers and sport enthusiasts. In the heart of the Alta Tuscia—rich with castles, fortresses and pilgrimage routes—the location is also ideal for Etruscan and medieval history buffs.

Why change hotels every few nights? At La Cappella, guests can take day trips to Rome, Florence, Pienza, Montepulciano, Siena, Todi or Assisi, and be home in time for dinner on the terrace and a good night’s sleep in the peaceful and refreshing Italian countryside.

The Interior: Attention to detail and loving care distinguish La Cappella from other villas: fine linens, fabulous bathrooms, antiques and pieces of art from around the world. The house has traditional terracotta floors, original stone walls and wood-beamed ceilings. All windows have screens. All bedrooms have fans. Given the altitude (500 meters) and the thick stone walls, the interior of the house stays deliciously cool all summer long. Even at the height of summer, guests need a sweater or light jacket for evenings on the terrace and are grateful for their quilts at night.

The house is spread out over three levels. The main floor includes spacious living and family rooms and a country kitchen—all of which open directly onto a large grapevine-covered terrace. The living room includes a sofa and chairs clustered around a fireplace and an upright piano. The gourmet kitchen has the full range of modern appliances and is properly equipped with stainless steel cookware, table service and linens for gourmet dining. Its natural light and size make the kitchen ideal for cooking lessons. The kitchen also includes the original wood-fired pizza oven, a table that can accommodate up to ten people, and cookbooks. Completing the main floor is a family room with sofa bed, a full bathroom with bath/shower, and a utility room with an extra sink and toilet.

The bedrooms have independent heating, screens and fans. All beds are furnished with North American-standard mattresses, fine linens and good reading lights. Il Mandorlo (The Almond Tree) is an upper bedroom with a king-sized bed (or twins), an ensuite bathroom with shower, and a view of rolling hills and the castle. Il Nocciolo (The Hazlenut Tree) is an upper bedroom with a king-sized bed (or twins), an ensuite bathroom with shower, and a view of rolling hills, the terrace and the rock garden. Il Noce (The Walnut Tree) is a two-bedroom suite on the lower level, with direct access to the garden and the orchard. One of the rooms has a queen-sized bed; the other has twin beds. The main floor bathroom with tub/shower is dedicated to the Il Noce Suite. Should a fifth bedroom be required, there is a comfortable sofa bed in the family room. The bathrooms are tastefully finished with unique tiles and modern fixtures.

Amenities: Many guests say that having access to Jude and Richard is the best part—whether it’s which train to take, how to trim an artichoke, or how not to make a brutta figura! Jude manages the rental and is on hand to help with travel planning; but her policy is to be as invisible or as helpful as guests desire. The guesthouse has its own entrance, terrace and gardens, so privacy is not an issue. Guests are greeted with a glass of prosecco, fresh local delicacies. Jude can arrange for a professional chef to cater or give cooking lessons in the comfort of the La Cappella kitchen. Weekly cleaning is included in the cost of rental.

The resident Miniature Schnauzer welcomes all children and (friendly) dogs.

Keywords: Villa, farmhouse, country living, comfort, space, quality, luxury, views, terrace, gourmet kitchen, gardens, self-catering, privacy, location, Tuscany, Umbria, wine, thermal baths, Orvieto

More Details
Hide Details

We are Canadians who have been resident in Italy since 1999. Rich works for the UN in Rome, and Jude travels extensively with her work in international development. We come and go between Rome and La Cappella, where we have private quarters at the back of the property. When 'home', Jude willingly plays host and helps guests with travel planning.

Jude Rand purchased this farmhouse in 2003

When our younger son went off to university in 2002, we needed a project to fill the empty nest. The restoration of La Cappella was a five-year labour of love... and the best thing we ever did.

La Cappella is located in a wondrous, green, undiscovered zone of Italy where villages are not tourist showcases, and yet it is within commuting distance of Rome, Florence and many of Italy's most famous hill-top towns. It is at the crossroads of three regional cuisines with some of Italy's famous vintages. At 500 meters, La Cappella enjoys cool, refreshing nights all summer long. The house is designed, furnished and equipped to be a home away from home. It is simply stated and simply wonderful.

24 Reviews of Property 383222 in Acquapendente, Italy

Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
South Carolina, USA
5

wonderful set up

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
very nice stay and the owners were very helpful in day trips and areas to visit.

would recommend
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Review of La Capella near Orvieto, Italy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
La Capella exceeded all of our expectations. It was a beautiful stone farmhouse villa located in the countryside close to Oriveto. The photos on the Rentvilla site were well done and accurate, but they don't fully capture just how beautiful and spacious La Capella really is. There were only four of us, but the villa can easily accommodate 6 to 8 people.

The living and family rooms had lots of comfy seating to curl up in with a book from one of the dozens we found throughout the house. The bedrooms & bathrooms were well appointed and clean - comfortable beds, nice linens and the bathrooms had soap, shampoo, etc. There were even hairdryers! The kitchen has up to date appliances and is well stocked with all the cooking equipment you'd need. We were pleasantly surprised to see that our hostess had even stocked the fridge with enough food for 3 meals to get us started.

Our hostess, Jude Rand, greeted us on arrival and served us each a glass of processo as she took us on a tour of the house and grounds. She knows the area and provided us with a binder full of info highlighting local towns and activities. The reviews of nearby restaurants and itineraries for day trips were particularly helpful. There was even a GPS with pre=programmed routes for each of the planned itineraries in the binder, which proved to be very handy. Jude and her husband live in an apartment at the back of the villa with its own entrance. They gave us our privacy but were always available if we had questions or needed help with anything. We especially enjoyed our visits with their little dog Luna, who would drop by every morning for a dog biscuit and a pat.

Sightseeing & activity highlights were the ancient towns of Orvieto (25 mins by car) and Siena, (2 hrs), the wine regions of Montelcino and Montepulciano - take a full day for each area as there are dozens of vineyards to visit! Its also an easy 1.5 hr train ride to Rome from Orvieto - note: do NOT drive to Rome, the traffic's crazy! Nearby Acquapendente (15 mins) is also very interesting & handy for groceries, clothes shopping, restaurants etc. Another nearby town, Torre Alfino, was voted one of the most beautiful small towns in Italy so its worth a visit.

We highly recommend La Capella to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in the Italian countryside while also being close enough to major attractions. You definitely need a car though as there is little within easy walking distance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Dear Richard et al., Thank you so much for the comprehensive review of La Cappella. It's a shame my Richard didn't get to meet you because he would have enjoyed hosting a group of Canadians our age. We look forward to the next time we meet...wherever...! Sincerely, Jude
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
Bristol, UK
5

Highlight of our trip.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at Villa Cappella during the summer of 2013, as part of extensive travels around Asia and Europe. We loved the experience of staying in this amazingly restored old villa. It was luxury in a picturesque setting with views of the surrounding countryside. Jude and Rich are full of knowledge about travels in Italy and were very helpful, they even had recommendations on where to eat in Venice!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you David. It was a pleasure to host you. We look forward to the next time. Jude and Richard
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
Atascadero, California, USA
5

Review of La Cappella dell’Alfina, September 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I spent three weeks at La Cappella in August 2013 and had an absolutely ideal experience. We have only good things to say: about the owners, who made us feel as though we were at home with friends; about the property, which combines Italian antiquity with modern comfort and convenience in perfect proportions; and about the area, which was a revelation to both of us.

The location gives guests the best that Tuscany, Umbria and Lazio have to offer: easy access to Rome, Orvieto, Lake Bolsena, Civita di Bagnoregio, wine-country and coastal attractions of Tuscany. Yet in spite of its cultural crossroads location, the Alta Tuscia has remained unspoiled, with authentic towns, uninflated prices, rural peace and quiet, and abundant traffic-free hiking, road and mountain biking opportunities in striking natural surroundings.

As a dual Italian-American citizen who has traveled all through Italy over four decades, I have found that it takes increasing effort to get away from the crowds and back to the “real Italy”. When I looked at La Cappella’s location on the map, and saw how close it was to so many beaten paths, I expected that even if the area retained its authenticity it would still be densely populated and heavily touristed, especially in August when we were planning to visit. So we were thrilled to find, in the midst of so many remarkable destinations, a refuge from madding crowds and heavy traffic. To us it seemed as though we had been let in on a secret about one of the most appealing areas in all of Italy. In three active weeks, we barely made a start in mining its many treasures.

Over the course of our stay, we had a dozen or so friends and family members visiting with us, and they equally appreciated the comforts and beauty of the villa. For both residing and entertaining, the property is ideal. It was perfectly suited to our tastes and needs. It was a true home for us in Italy.

As my long-windedness shows, we can’t say enough about the wonderful experience we had at La Cappella. For those who want to get a taste of real life in Italy, along with seeing some places and sights of great interest that are not on the standard tourist itinerary, there is no better place one could choose to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
Memphis, TN
5

Like a Dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Jude and Rich invited me and my family to Villa Capella this summer. I first met them 34 years ago in my country Iran as they lived there for few months while traveling around the world. We bonded quickly and became good friends. I loved the way they viewed and explored the world. We lost our connection once they left Iran due to the revolution. Few years after I left too and eventually ended up in the USA. I never forgot this friendship and its impact on my life. After few unsuccessful attempts, I finally found Jude through Villa Cappella's website last year and planed for this unforgettable reunion after 30 + years.
The arrival was very emotional. My husband, our two sons ( 12 and 10 years old) and my dad accompanied me on this trip. Words and photos can not describe the charm and serenity of this elegant villa. The surrounding is breathtaking. The house is extremely welcoming, comfortable and very tastefully decorated with art pieces that Jude and Rich gathered through many years of traveling all over the world. Despite the spirit of old world in the house the kitchen and bathrooms are upgraded to the level of modern life and that makes your stay even more comfortable. I think the secret to Villa Cappella is paying attention to all the details to the perfection above and beyond. Anything that you might need even if haven't thought of is foreseen and is there for you. It almost feels like a different planet or as my dad said , "a piece of heaven". You immediately disconnect with all the stress and concerns that life possibly brought you. You can spent your time in property and enjoy the garden with roses , hydrangeas, lavenders , herbs ... , cook in the perfect kitchen with local products , sit outside and view the breathtaking surrounding. The property has a perfect location within driving distance to major cities,, mediteranian beach as well as very close to a volcanic lake that my sons enjoyed very much. We also took day trips to small nearby villages and explored different attractions like historic sites, local markets, small shops with local art, and great restaurants . Jude and Rich's welcome package book is very informative for your planning as well as their suggestions in person.
DidI forget to talk about Luna the friendly dog member of family whom my children fell in love with?
All of us ( three generations ) lost our hearts in Villa Cappella as we left and knew we will be back soon.
Thank you Jude and Richard for you gift of friendship.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
Edmonton alberta canada
5

A Happy Hearth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Villa La Cappella is an exceptional property that sings of an Italy rooted in family, food, tradition, and a pastoral landscape of ancient cedars, rolling hills and unimaginable beauty.
Seven of us -- two teens and a disparate group of friends -- gathered for a week in this exquisite place to unwind, soak up the tender spring blossoms and explore intimately the surrounding area. We cooked, we laughed, we played long complicated games of bridge on the open cobbled courtyard and we found delight in the simplicity and splendour of rural living.
Host Jude and Richard offered us off-the-beaten-track rambles that took us past flocks of sheep to castles and caves and secret memorials to village patrons deep in the Lazio woods. We bought leather goods from a tiny hole-in-the wall shop in Acuapendente, our nearest village, and witnessed artisans spin raw materials into beauty-- bowls of olive wood, magnificent wool hats dyed and felted -- in surrounding market towns that perched on ancient lava fiords.
At the end of each day it was a joy to return to Villa La Cappella. The kitchen is warm and large and well equipped. The bedrooms are private and well appointed. The shared space has both quiet nooks for reading and contemplation as well as circles of comfy chairs to sink into for sharing the days adventures. It's an ideal space with room for communing with others while still providing garden space and sitting alcoves for solitary pursuits. I mean, really, how often does an amateur watercolour painter have a castle gracing the horizon?
This is a place to launch from, to see and feel and taste the real Italy. Jude and Richard know their neighbours and they know the best gellato maker, the best chef for roast quail and the best views and vistas for off-road wanderers, Better than that, it's a welcoming return. The Villa opens its arms to travellers with a garden of edible delights, lovely rest inducing linens and a happy, harmonious hearth.
Highly recommended for travellers who want to know the Italy that exists beyond the the trappings of the captials.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

"A Slice of Heaven"

"A Slice of Heaven"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I have travelled and stayed at many places in the world, but I have to say that my family's stay at La Capella in Italy would stand out as one of the highlights.
Besides the stunning beauty of the property itself, the accomodations were fabulous - clean and spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, wonderful kitchen and living room area, and also lots of additional ammenities to keep the busy (or not-busy) travellors equipped with everything they need to make a vacation perfect.
Unlike most self-catering houses, this one is fully equipped -- including Saran Wrap, storage containers, a huge fridge, sharp knives, beach towels, matches, spices, note paper, games and cards, wifi, 24/7 free long distance telephone, maps, bandaids -- not to mention fresh local ingredients for your first couple of meals! You name it, Jude and Rich have thought of it. It's quite possibly more comfortable and better stocked than most people's homes!
Jude and Rich helped make our stay nothing short of amazing. As my 7 year old daughter said to me on our drive out "that was over the top"!
There is also a lovely little Schnauzer dog (Luna) that comes to welcome you every morning on the outside patio. Our time wouldn't have been the same without her!
There are so many towns and sights to see that can be a 10-minute drive away or an hour's drive away. If you want a trip filled with endless villages and towns to see, this is it! On the other hand, if you also want rest and relaxation, there are nearby pools to use, and a lovely,clean lake not far away. Plus a visit to La Torba beach on the Mediterranean sea cannot be missed.
All in all, a super-amazing place to go for all reasons!
Thank you Jude and Rich for the time of a lifetime....see you soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Heather,
Thank you enormously for such a thoughtful review. I am grateful that you have brought attention to the fact that La Cappella is a home away from home. We have stayed in too many self-catering houses where the knives were dull, the pots thin, and the furnishings less comfortable than at home. Who needs that on a holiday? We were determined to create an environment that would be immediately conducive to relaxation! We loved having you, your mother, your cousins and your wonderful little girl Samantha. Sincerely, Jude and Rich
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
Tucson
5

Benvenuti LaCappella !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
After 3 glorious weeks in Italy the memory of our 1-week stay at VRBO#383222 (known as Villa Cappella) will be among our most treasured family holidays. It was the perfect blend of relaxation and activity for our family of four (60-something mom/dad and kids 18 & 20).

Owners Jude and Rich have thoughtfully restored and added to the original 500-year old structure to create the quintessential Italian villa found in glossy travel magazines and coffee table picture books. It is abundantly clear that the interior, exterior and grounds have been a passionate labor of love by these most gracious hosts. We were personally met by Jude and Rich who oriented us to their exquisite home and welcomed us with fresh local produce, eggs, meats, cheeses, wine, olive oil, etc. ~ all the essentials to eliminate the need to hurry to a market. So many thoughtful touches such as these, added to our comfort, decision-making and enjoyment.

Villa Cappella is ideally situated for endless day trips. Planning was made easy as a result of the extensive “Welcome” document sent to us in advance of our trip. The organization of the “Welcome” document greatly cuts down on the amount of advance planning required and provides many helpful tips such as driving routes, parking advice, etc.

Upon our arrival in Rome, we drove a suggested scenic coastline route, stopping at a recommended restaurant and olive mill. The owners themselves welcomed us and proceeded to serve us their personal selections ~ delicious and fresh from their garden. We immediately knew that Jude and Rich's recommendations were to be trusted! Additional creature comforts and conveniences such as a GPS, international phone line, fully stocked kitchen, comfortable king-size beds, lovely linens, multiple pillow options, black out shutters, hair dryers, electrical adapters/convertors, etc contributed to our enjoyment. For a crowd – the spacious bedrooms, living room, dining and family rooms, as well as the fabulous terrace and grounds – allow for great communal areas, as well as privacy when desired.

There are a multitude of proximate towns you will want to plan trips to visit, but why recreate the wheel? Jude and Rich have designed eight itineraries of varied history, sites and experiences. One could easily spend a month at LaCapella and never repeat a day trip. When Jude and Rich are at LaCappella they (and their precious little doggie, Lulu) are as invisible or as participatory as you desire.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Judy,
Belatedly, thank you so much for your tremendous review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your family, and we look forward to seeing you in the States next year. In the meantime, we hope you are settled back into your home and routines, and not at risk of the Arizona forest fires. Warmest wishes, Jude, Richard and Luna
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
McCormick, SC
5

Way beyond our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
June 14, 2013

CS & AS, McCormick, SC; PS, Cinnaminson, NJ; KB & JB, Lake Placid, NY; - All family members.
Two week stay at La Cappella.

Our trip from Fiumicino to Aquapendente provided us with a wonderful preview of things to come. We were greeted and treated by the beautiful green hills, meadows and roadsides of this region of Italy, some of which were in full bloom with red poppies, red, yellow and pink roses and many brilliantly colored wild flowers. And then, after the last of the many dozens of road switchbacks, hairpin turns and curves of our journey, we got our first glimpse of La Cappella - what a wonderful sight it was.

We entered its gate and were warmly greeted by Jude, Richard and, of course, Luna who seemed both skeptical and excited by our arrival. In an instant, we felt as if we had been special friends with them for many years. Jude welcomed us into the house and gave us a quick tour which included valuable details and helpful hints. She also provided special insight about the many possible daily excursions we could take during our 14 day visit. These were also fully explained in her travel guide which is made available to all guests.

From this moment, until we departed for our homes in the USA, all our expectations were exceeded many fold, and our wonderful memories of every single day will always be greatly cherished.

We made full use of our time here and explored as much as we could of this lovely and historic part of Italy. Every day brought new excitement and delights from both the ancient and breathtaking towns whose gates we entered, streets we walked, shops we frequented, churches and cathedrals we visited, and the many gastronomic treats that we experienced there.

Through it all, Jude and Richard were our guides, both through personal observations and suggestions as well as by their detailed instructions and recommendations for day trips throughout Umbria and Tuscany.

We have traveled to many parts of the world, but our stay at La Cappella will be regarded as one of the best vacation experiences we've ever had, if not THE best.
The extraordinary spacious, well-appointed and squeaky clean villa, its unique location, the wonderful gardens with beautiful flowers and its terrific owners gave us the wonderment, peace, security and tranquility that are a dream of every holiday traveler. Our very special thanks and gratitude go to Jude and Richard whom we will always regard as
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Charles et al.,
What can I say? Thank you sincerely! We enjoyed our day at the Corpus Domini procession with you. We are pleased that you enjoyed Doriana's cooking so much that you had her come back a second time! It is always gratifying when guests follow our Welcome Book suggestions and itineraries, exploring this little-known corner of Italy, and you did that so systematically! Thank you for picking up restaurant business cards. (They are already incorporated into a Welcome Book addendum.) Finally, thank you for loving Luna. She was markedly depressed after you left. Please come again. The seven of you are welcome any time! Warmest regards, Jude, Richard and Luna
business
Historic Property on the Tuscany-Umbria Border
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p383222vb
390763716207
Acquapendente Viterbo Province
Sydney, Australia
5

The Tuscan villa people dream of ..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We were a party of 4 from Sydney, Australia. My husband, brother and sister-in-law on separate holidays around Europe, meeting up for 7 nights in Tuscany. Truly the Tuscan villa people dream of. From the moment we drove up to the large gates oohs and ahhs and wow's were all we could manage. The villa poses a magnificent first sight. The grounds and gardens were magical even in autumn. Richard and Luna met us with a very warm welcome and immediately made us feel as though the villa belonged to us for the week. Unfortunately, Jude was away at the time so we did not have the pleasure of meeting. However, her help in the organization of our stay was nothing short of fantastic. Richard left us to settle in for an hour before returning with a welcoming tray of cocktails. The perfect start to our stay. We sat around the beautiful dining table together while Richard gave us a very helpful orientation of the villa and surrounding district before leaving for Rome. The 10 or so daily itineraries which have been thoughtfully compiled, even down to the GPS coordinates, saved us hours of time. Over the next few days we very happily worked through each one, visiting the most wonderful medieval villages. My personal favourites were Orvieto and Civita. We struggled with the decision to purchase local food at the markets and cooking in the gastronomic kitchen and dining under the grape wines, or trying out every restaurant Jude and Richard recommended. Yes, a difficult decision but somehow we struggled on and managed to do both. We even squeezed in the most memorable afternoon and evening on an Italian cooking course at Il Castello di Proceno. We have never experienced such generosity anywhere we have previously stayed. The kitchen was stocked with beautiful cheeses, cold meats, wine, fruit, crusty homemade bread and all the basic staples for our arrival. The rooms themselves were filled with the most intoxicating smell from vase after vase of exquisite roses from the garden. Outside, there were several outdoor settings to enjoy a coffee or a glass of wine and admire the different views. I was very taken with the whimsical brass chandelier hanging from a limb of the magnificent tree standing in the centre of the villa's front garden, so much so, I bought (a much smaller version) from a flea market in Sorano, which now hangs in our own small garden ! What more can we say ... Just sensational. Thankyou Jude, Richard and little Luna Moon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway