Peppertree Resort on the Bayside
The listing description was NOT accurate. said it was only Gulfside,( it was across the street from the Gulf ) said 2 minute walk to the beach, ( it was across the street and at least a 10 minute walk after crossing the street.) Said steps from the sand ( again it was a 10 minute walk) said the gym and heated pool is only 20 yards from the beach ( again if you were on the Gulfside of Peppertree close to the beach ). We had to contact the owner about extra linens and blankets, as it was a chilly month and there were none. The thermostat was locked in position so we couldn't turn the heat high enough. After contacting him he did come through with the blankets and linens. The surrounding foliage was beautiful, like being in a rain forest... Although , the pool behind us didn't have enough loungers and not too many areas in the sun because of the foliage. nice if you want to just relax and read... Both pools were heated nicely very comfortable...
Our mattress in the Master seemed old and not too comfortable. and the lighting in the walkin closet was very dark... Toilets ran very slow and need to be updated.. Some of the cupboards didn't have nobs on them. Bath towels were nice and plentiful but only 3 Beach Towels... Beach cart was nice too...
All in all have rented many different condos in Siesta and Anna Maria and would not go back to this one. A few of the lights had to be plugged in and out because the switches did not work.. Needed lights on all the time, because it was very dark in the living room and kitchen... Seemed very pricey for the location and decor... Our biggest complaint is the Description on VRBO was not accurate as far as location from the beach.. I realize rentals are not always as they seem, but we were there a month not a week and expected more... I would not recommend this condo to friends or family. We loved the restaurant "Eat Here" and of course SKOB and Captain Kurts for the chowder...City Pizza is good too... as well as the "Boatyard "
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We strive to give the best and most up to date and accurate information we can. That said, there is such a thing as a generality. The question was asked, how far are you from the beach, which I replied 2 minutes. Now, granted, I did not have a stopwatch, though I always tell prospective customers, if you were to tee a golf ball at the front door and hit it with a driver, the ball should bounce up to the sand. So, if the walk was 8 minutes and I quoted you 2 or 3 minutes, most seasoned renters understand this.
The pool and gym are in fact closer than 20 yards from the beach, as I can sit in the pool and throw a baseball with it landing in the beach! Again, I have no idea as to what the issue is here either??
There is no lock on the thermostat, as opposed to operator error, which I tried to help the renters with 3 times, over the course of the month, but each time, various buttons were pushed, which would turn the unit off and I would have to walk them through, again and again.
What the renters do not share in all of this is that they reserved this unit for only two people, yet had their children and grandchildren stay as well, which is the reason they had asked for more and more blankets! I did not mind a day here, nor a day there, but to write there were not ample blankets is false at best.
As for lack of lounge chairs or one of the two pools being covered by shade, I do not know what to say?? Again, I do not control the shade, nor sunshine directed upon any one pool, nor can I reserve a pool chair for you. Most seasoned renters know this!
In closing, as with all guests, we do thank you for your stay and hope it was enjoyable. As for your attempt to diminish the quality of this unit, as well as the amenities we provide is not correct.
We will continue to provide a quality product, which is backed by many excellent reviews as well as our HD Video of the property and grounds. However, as with many instances in life, some people are never satisfied, as well as always have a gripe.
Again, if looking for a clear picture, please read the rest of our reviews!
Helpful votes: 8/10
Did you find this review helpful?