Tango Mar house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Tango Mar House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

At Villa Pochote you will find the peace and tranquility that you are looking for in your trip to Costa Rica.

We are a 7 acre oasis just 150 yards from the beautiful beach of Playa Manzanillo and a nice walk or quick drive to the breathtaking beach of Playa Hermosa.

Villa Pochote has two bedrooms and two baths and is surrounded by the renowned Pochote tree and the rare Gavilan and Cocobolo. Both upstairs bedrooms have ocean views. The main bedroom has sliding glass doors that open to a teak wood balcony for monkey, whale, and bird watching as well as ocean and sunset views.

Downstairs there is a full bath along with the kitchen and entertaining areas opening to a spacious patio accessed by sliding glass doors for more ocean viewing and garden access.

Villa Pochote can accommodate up to 5 adults.

Viila Pochote is constructed with wood accents of teak, pochote, and laurel.

***The home is fully equipped and furnished with lush gardens, white gravel walkways, wrought iron gates, private parking, pressurized hot/cold water, SKY TV, wireless satellite internet, cleaning and laundry service, gardener, and 24-hour security.

Built and designed by the owner in August of 2008 the home has vaulted ceilings of Pochote beams with laurel wood paneling and the verandas, patios, stairs, door and window frames are all accented in teak.

Take time to walk along the trails of our 6 acre property...look for coatis, anteaters, jaguarundis, white face and howler monkeys, various bird species, and iguanas...or find one of our sitting areas and just watch and listen to the ocean.

Our staff can help with any questions or needs, so sit back, relax, and enjoy your stay with us...

THE BEACHES....

Because of rock reefs surrounding the entrance to Playa Manzanillo, this beach has it all. Here you can surf, snorkel, swim, kayak, fish, beach comb, and at the end of the day enjoy one of the most spectacular sunsets the Nicoya Peninsula has to offer. The best part about Manzanillo beach is many days the only footprints you will find will be your own.

A few years ago Playa Hermosa was basically unknown, but recently discovered by surfers tired of the crowds and congestion of Santa Teresa, this beach is becoming increasingly more popular for tourists and surfers. Playa Hermosa lives up to its name and is truly beautiful offering great waves for surfers, swimming and beachcombing on a long and wide un-crowded beach.

To truly capitalize on all the peninsula has to offer, a car or 4 wheeler is a must, but still many of our guests prefer to walk the old beach road to Playa Hermosa enjoying the quiet and slow pace - stopping at the tide pools, private beaches, the waterfall, and always returning with stories of seeing more monkeys and iguanas than people.

THE SURF....

Yes, there is surf. A short drive south are the more popular surf spots of Playa Carmen (Mal Pais) and Santa Teresa, but just a few minutes away in Manzanillo and Playa Hermosa you can find waves for all levels of surfing (reef, point breaks, beach breaks, river mouths) – beginner to advanced – with crowd and attitude free, consistent surf.

For any surf questions feel free to contact the owner who has over 25 years surfing experience.

We can also set-up surf lessons with qualified instructors.

THE FISHING....

Manzanillo and north to the Bongo River is an area famous for fishing. You can go local and try your hand at hand-line fishing or bring your own gear and head out to the reefs at low tide. You may get lucky and hook sea bass, snook, red snapper, or a rooster. A quick run north will get you to The Bongo which is legendary for its fishing due to its river mouth - a great place to catch snook, just ask a local family who bought a car they call “robalo” meaning “snook” in Spanish. All the money they earned to buy the car came from selling their snook/robalo catches from the Bongo.

We can also book fishing tours for you – just ask.

Keywords: casa beach house surfing

More Details
Hide Details

I chose Manzanillo because it was far enough away from the hustle and bustle and congestion of Santa Teresa, but close enough to hop in the car or on a 4-wheeler and have access to anything and everything one could want - and most importantly, the outstanding surfing and fishing!

Within half an acre of the villas, there are more than 25 different type of indigenous trees. The property itself is 7 acres and is connected by walking trails that my worker and I have built by hand and has ocean views from almost every corner of the property. All the trails have been planted and reforested, and because of the planting all the birds, butterflies, and animals have returned to the property. You can sit anywhere on the property and hear the waves crashing 60 meters below at Punta Pochote.

11 Reviews of Property 382586 in Tango Mar, Costa Rica

Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
average rating of 4.9 based on 11 reviews
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
5

Great ocean and wildlife views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Excellent property! Not as close to the beach as we hoped but the wildlife around the property was amazing. The owner is an excellent property manager with lots of patience and will try and accommodate you however he can help.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
san diego
5

Just a slice heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Trey was an amazing host and the house was lovely Really enjoyed floating in the new pool after catching some waves. Just a really great vacation in a very beautiful and secure setting
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
5

Absolutely the BEST vacation ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was the best family vacation ever! We took our two boys ages 12 and 19 and they loved it. We spent time fishing and four wheeling and beach combing, we even got to see Whales breaching !!..The property was a hidden gem in the jungle, very well maintained and it was a great place to come home to relax to after a adventure filled day. Trey is the best part, he help you set up anything. He was such an wealth of knowledge to the area and helped us when we needed it. We came in at night in the rain.. I thought for sure we would be lost in the jungle, but his directions were spot on and we made it to the front door!! I can not express how neat this house was with the landscape and floral and the outdoor seating , to hear the waves crashing below you ..words do not do it justice. Thank you for the experience..Pura Vida !!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and be a part of your Costa Rica experience. I hope to see you guys again in the near future. Pura vida.
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
Las Vegas, NV
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Trey was a terrific host. He was there when we needed anything and always available for helpful tips. His local knowledge and surfing experience is unparalleled. His description of the facilities was dead on and his directions to finding the place was good as well. Overall, our stay with him was the best value in our travels around Costa Rica.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
Fonthill
5

Paradise Found! Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a wonderful 2 weeks at Villa Pochote...the house is great, the view spectacular, the wildlife plentiful. What made our stay even more special was Trey- he is a warm,welcoming, knowledgable host. He went out of his way on so many occasions to make sure we had an exceptional experience- we even went fishing Costa Rican style in the ocean at Montezuma for a day, and cooked the fish that Trey caught over a fire at the beach. Trey made sure there were plantains in the tree in front of the house so the cappuchin monkeys would visit (along with the howlers who came every day). We are so glad to have chosen this rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
Houston Texas
5

Great Time In Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My wife and I traveled to the peninsula off Costa Rica and spent a week at the Villa Pochote. We had a great time and here are a couple of comments about the area and property:

Accommodations: This place is a great value for housing in the area. They are simple and provide everything needed. We were pleased with the Villa and it was as pictured online. The A/C worked well, the wifi was great, satellite tv work well (not that we used it) and the kitchen had everything needed to cook (i.e. pots, pans, utensils, plates). We cooked our own food for a couple nights and it was a great way save money and relax more. The patio & porch were the best things about the villa. We began and ended each day on the patio looking out toward the ocean/forest. The property is safe and each villa has a security system.

Area: The villas/property is between Manzanillo and Santa Teresa. It was outside of the tourist trap areas and provided a true Costa Rica experience. It would take 5 minutes to Manzanillo and 15 min to Santa Teresa. This place would be a perfect escape for couples looking for a quiet place. Also for families looking to bring their kids who will have a great area to explore and be outside. The beach is just down the hill and a simple walk. The waves can be heard from the villas.

Owner (Trey): Trey is the guy that makes this place roll. He was a great resource and helped set up our ATV rental, zip line tour, taxis, gave beach recommendations and answered any questions. Trey is a surfer from the US and was always willing to help and translate for us. He made the trip.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
Canada
4

Petit coin de paradis

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Belle petite maison située à 5 minutes à pied de la plage. Loin de tout et très paisible. On y voit beaucoup d'animaux sauvages, singes hurleurs et à tête blanche, iguanes, lésards, chauves-souris....
Le propriétaire est très avenant et très disponible. Le seul bémol est que la région est très poussiéreuse à cause de la route en terre. L'accès est préférable en 4x4 mais est faisable en voiture à la saison sèche. J'y retournerais sans hésiter.pp
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
Seattle Washington
5

Awesome place this!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had an awesome time at Villa Pochote. Spent ten great days there. The house was awesome, private and quite and Trey was great, he was very accomodating to our every need. We felt pampered and special. The grounds were absolutly beautiful and peaceful and the view and sunset from the house were to die for. I highly recommend the stay at Serendos de Paz to anyone. The surf and fishing were great and we loved the sleepy little village and beach at Playa Manzanillo. We had the most suprizingly killer pizza from the village just a couple of minutes away. My daughter says it was the best she'd ever had! Good job guys can't wait to see you again next year! PURA VIDA!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
Charleston, SC USA
5

Experienced the real Pura Vida!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I had an amazing time staying at Villa Pochote. First of all, the house is removed from the hustle and bustle noise of Santa Teresa, but it is close enough to enjoy the restaurants, shopping and nightlife of Santa Teresa while staying in a quiet, beautiful local's town. I used to live in Santa Teresa years ago, and enjoy going into town to visit friends and attend social events, including some of the best party nights! Nothing feels better than coming home to a quiet house, removed from the development of Santa Teresa, and enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Basically, at Villa Pochote, you can have the best of both worlds.

The management of Villa Pochote is very professional. I was received and treated well, and the house was perfectly clean, and stocked with all the necessary kitchen and bath items.

The town of Manzanillo has services too, including a couple of restaurants and grocery stores. Other than these services, you can enjoy the remote location, experience the lifestyle of Tico-living, and be within a stone's throw of the beach while listening to the monkeys in the property's surrounding trees. I felt like I had an authentic experience that I would recommend to first-time visitors to Costa Rica.

If you are looking for the best of both worlds experiencing true Pura Vida living, while being close enough to enjoy the amenities and services of a developed town like Santa Teresa; Villa Pochote is what you are looking for.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Pochote - Private Ocean View Beach Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382586vbi
Tango Mar Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A relaxing week in paradise

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My husband and I arrived in the dark of night, far later than planned. A kind gentleman greeted us and showed us to our home for the week. We were impressed by the wood finishes on this property, the walls and ceilings were beautiful, the bed comfortable! In the morning the view! We had no car, no food, so Trey had a delightful breakfast sent over to us, then volunteered to take us shopping in town! What a great ride along the gorgeous coast! Hailing friends along the way in 2 languages, Trey gave us a brief history of the area and good ideas on where to surf, eat and find fun! That was our first 12 hours at this graceful property! This was our favorite beach to walk in our month long travel of CR last January, miles and miles of open beach with a soft, tree-lined coast. Trey is a easy-going, knowledgeable host with a wealth of experience in the area. We heartily recommend him and his property! Barb and Tom
Helpful votes: 2/2