Margarees cottage rental - Gorgeous sunset....
Gorgeous sunset....
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Margarees Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 1-4

The Cape Cottage is a gorgeous coastal cottage on a 130-acre property five minutes from the Cabot Trail. There’s ocean, a huge beach nearby and breathtaking panoramas because The Cape has windows everywhere, along with a cathedral ceiling, lovely beams, and walls finished with white boards inside and cedar shingles outside, in classic Cape Breton style. From the deck, you can see Lobster boats, eagles perch nearby, moose, bobcats and foxes make appearances, and whales pass by most of the year; you will wake up to these views each morning and enjoy them all day. You will enjoy complete seclusion and incredible views in one of the most spectacular parts of Cape Breton. There is a lovely, mature hardwood forest to explore, and as day turns to evening in technicolor, relax, listen to music or catch up on things you don't have time for at home. If this cottage is booked for your dates, check The Cape's twin, Eagles Pass #277105 for reviews; it is located on an adjacent property out of sight. You could also check #3490361 which is new for 2013, or #203860..

About us...: Bell grew up in Margaree Valley, about twenty minutes from here, while I grew up in Toronto; we both love it here, so being here makes a lot of sense. We opened Cape Breton Clay, our pottery business, in 1996 and we've been busy here ever since. Bell is also a painter and I am a photographer and filmmaker. We have designed this cottage to have all of the charm of a real coastal cottage, with excellent amenities, and lots of privacy in a spectacular setting with fantastic views of the ocean. Many folks rent out their seasonal homes in Cape Breton, but The Cape Cottage was designed specifically for visitors' pleasure and needs.

Special Place....: There is a rich, strong culture here, historically and musically, and life unwinds at its own special pace. Although a three-day visit to the Island is not uncommon, a week is what it takes to really get a sense of the rhythms and charm of Cape Breton. It's easy to meet people here, and the daily pace here is slower than in most cities. It's nice to be in a place where you don't need air-conditioning; Cape Breton summers are warm-to-hot in the day, but perfect in the evening, and at the shore there are ocean breezes to keep any bugs at bay. Chimney Corner beach is one of the finest on the island, and it's mostly unoccupied during the week– in addition to the fine beach and safe swimming for children, there are interesting rock formations to explore nearby. Fossils abound. Cape Breton is a spectacular place, and you'll find the scenery on this stretch of coastline particularly striking.

Other things to do:: There is no shortage of things to do in the area. In addition to Chimney Corner beach, there are other great beaches to check out nearby: Whale Cove (5 minutes away) at which you can explore a fabulous bluff by the sea, with great views north and south, Margaree Harbour (7 minutes away), with its beach and two lighthouses, the Broad Cove area, which offers a spectacular scenic drive, a great beach and a buffalo ranch. Cheticamp, about 20 minutes away, offers glimpses into Acadian culture. Only minutes from Cheticamp is Cape Breton Highlands National Park, with trails, lookoffs and waterfalls. There are the gorgeous rolling hills of Mabou, and the town of Inverness, which offers music, pubs and food; the acclaimed new Cabot Links golf course (rated #42 in the world by Golf Digest) by the sea, which is only 20 minutes away and offers a unique golfing experience in Inverness. There are also renowned crafters in the area; beautiful pottery, quilting, rug hooking, and folk-art sculpture can all be found locally.

More Details
Hide Details

I built the cottage in 2011 because there was a lovely underused spot on the property with spectacular views. I started in April of 2011 and finished the same summer. It is a lovely location with with old-growth hardwood forests behind, and an awesome unobstructed view of the ocean. There is all the privacy one could want.

Cape Breton is a spectacular place, and the scenery on this stretch of coast is particularly striking; it can also be dramatic, with 130 kph winds at many points of the year. One must keep a clean yard in such conditions! There is such a rich culture here, historically and musically, and life unwinds at its own special pace. We see some of the most dramatic sunsets anywhere, watch whales play in our front yard, and fishermen haul their lobster traps every year. Moose, eagles, deer and foxes are regulars. It's easy to meet people, and the daily rhythm here is slower than in most cities; we visit neighbors and friends whenever we can, as we are busy in the summer months. It's also nice to be in a place where you don't need air-conditioning; Cape Breton summers are warm-to-hot in the day, but perfect in the evening, and at the shore there are breezes to keep any bugs at bay. Chimney Corner beach is one of the finest on the island, but because it is not visible from the road, it's usually unoccupied during the week– we love to take our dog Ryder there for a good run.

17 Reviews of Property 382569 in Margarees, Nova Scotia

Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Peaceful Location, Amazing Views, stunning beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family had the best week in Cape Cottage last summer of our whole road trip from Bangor to Cape Breton. The location is truly magical, amazing views of the ocean and wildlife passing by. We saw a shoal of dolphins easily 50+ one morning and bald eagles overhead.Cape Cottage is very private surrounded by woodland and a beautiful meadow which the children adored. The cottage itself is immaculate, modern with rustic touches, perfect veranda for relaxing and star gazing in the evenings. It is safe for the children to roam freely in the cottage's surroundings. Ours spent hours catching grasshoppers in the meadow in front of the cottage. Stewart was the perfect host - we had lots of questions as it was our first time in Cape Breton, he provided excellent advice and tips for making the most of our week- he couldn't have been more helpful. There is so much to do and see nearby, and of course the most stunning beach- quiet, perfect for our small children and situated a few minutes down from the cottage.
This place is a Gem. The combination of the gorgeous cottage,the local landscape and proximity to the beach plus hosts that go out of their way to make your stay memorable is unsurpassable in our opinion.We are extremely fortunate to be returning for another stay this summer and have been counting the days!!
Thank you Stewart and Bell for making our holiday last year.
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Adored each and every minute

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
FROM OUR GUEST WHO HAD TROUBLE ENTERING REVIEW ONLINE:

My wife and I stayed at the Cape Cottage for a week this fall, and we adored each and every minute, including the occasional rain shower. The Cape Cottage is truly a delightful getaway, nestled in the woods above the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The views of the water, the cliffs dropping towards the Gulf, the offshore island, the spectacular, constantly changing horizon of blue skies, clouds and mist, and an endless parade of colors; all of this adorned the very special cabin that Stewart has built. We were immediately impressed by the design and workmanship of the cabin, and came to feel quite at home in a short period of time. The cabin was well equipped, clean, and just as represented on the internet. Stewart, the owner, joined us early on to give us a very thorough tourist briefing, which we actually followed with great pleasure. Whether we travelled north, south or east, or just stayed in the cabin and watched the weather, we enjoyed a delightful week. This was our first visit to Cape Breton, and in hindsight we would not change a thing. Overall, a very positive experience for two Texans.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
Gjerdrum, Norway
5

A Norwegian's perspective

A Norwegian's perspective
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have visited Cape Breton every summer for the last few years to see my wife's family, and since the Cape Cottage was built we have stayed there. The Cape Cottage offers a spectacular view of the ocean, Margaree Island, and the horizon, with magnificent sunsets. The cabin is tastefully decorated and you immediately feel at home. It is a very private spot, but you are not far from several beaches, Inverness, Margaree, The Dancing Goat (anything on their breakfast menu is higly recommended, as well as their lunch, cinnamon rolls, squares and cookies), several golf courses and the National Park.

Cape Breton is known for its scenery, but what I love about it are the people: friendly, welcoming and polite. Stewart and Bell, the owners of the cottage, are prime examples of this.

We will be back again next summer!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Picked the right spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
There is always a chance for disappointment when choosing a place to stay while on vacation if you are relying on internet searches as opposed to word of mouth advice, however, we certainly got it right when we chose Stewart and Belle's Cape Cottage for our Cape Breton week. My wife and I had been wanting to visit Cape Breton for a while and figured our 20th anniversary was the right excuse. The Cape Cottage turned out to be the perfect spot....and what a view. if you enjoy sunsets it doesn't get any better. We did quite a bit of traveling on the Cabot trail and both agree that the west side of the island is the place to be. If we were out for a day we always found ourselves racing back to catch the sunset. The cottage was immaculate and cozy with a small wood stove style gas heater that was perfect to take the chill off on a couple of the cool mornings. Plenty to do close by and Stewart spent an hour or so with us the first day imparting local knowledge regarding things "not to miss" as well as some things that may not be worth our time........very helpful. Whatever you do be sure to leave plenty of time for just "setting" and enjoying the view!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

2nd stay and just as impressed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved this place so much last year we had to come back again this year - and had another perfect week.
The cottage was again immaculate, so well looked after by Stewart and we spent alot of time lazing around on the deck just looking at the view. All the modern touches make such a difference and we arrived late to lights on and low music playing - how lovely.
Location is perfect for families, we were at the beach most days. The sea is ideal for children there as the water is very shallow for quite a long way out - so kids can play safely. It is unspoilt and quiet, idyllic.
We did a couple of walks in the Margaree Valley, cycling, ate way too much in the Dancing Goat and even a day Fly fishing ( which Stewart kindly arranged) which was awesome. We left with heavy hearts, determined to come for longer next time. As a family cannot recommend this Cottage highly enough!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

A small corner of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you are looking for a place far from the city where you can hear yourself think while looking at the sun setting on the ocean, this is the place for you! I need a place to look good for me to feel good and this cottage was exactly what I was looking for. The design was carefully chosen to be at the same time very contemporary while integrating elements of the nature. Still, It felt like home. The location was great to! It is on the most beautiful side of the island and we could visit and do different things everyday without going too far.
Well, we had an amazing time and I'm sad that it is over
Thanks to Stewart and Belle
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
Marietta, GA
5

View More Than I Imagined

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
After our last trip to Cape Breton (2009) staying in bed and breakfasts I decided that I wanted to try renting a place for a week. Someone at work had given me the website, www.vrbo.com. He and various other family members had used this website before and were always very happy. So I looked around the website, trying to find a place and found the 3 cottages owned by Stewart and Bell. I called and asked some questions, called again with some more questions and ended up booking the Cape Cottage. My husband didn't care which cottage I chose, he wanted whichever one had the most privacy and a water view. Stewart was right, the Cape Cottage was very private what with being very high up and surrounded by trees and what a view. What I would give to wake up to that view everyday for the rest of my life. The cottage was just perfect for us, it had all that we could ask for: privacy, a view to die for and a fully equiped kitchen. The location of the Cape Cottage was also ideal as we had tickets to several Celtic Colours concerts which were all on that side of Cape Breton. Stewart stopped by our first night there to give suggestions and answer any questions we had. We didn't have many since we had been to Cape Breton before but the one suggestion he gave which we did and are very happy we did was to go to The Dancing Goat, a restaurant in the Margaree area. We are very happy we followed his suggestion as lunch with dessert was great. A must do repeat for our next trip. Trust me you will not be disappointed renting the Cape Cottage. It was very clean and well maintained, lots of storage space, a fully equiped kitchen - we only ate out 2 meals and we also did one of the Community Meals in conjunction with a Celtic Colours concert in Inverness our last night at the cottage, a view to die for, internet that worked, unlike our hotel stays on our trip there and back. I do wish there was a washer and dryer but down the road a few minutes at the Cottages at Whale Cove there are washers and dryers available for use and it did work out well. I needed to do wash as we went to PEI for several nights after our Cape Breton stay before returning home. Our stay at the Cape Cottage is making my husband and I fall even more in love with Cape Breton Island and I cannot wait until I can book a cottage with Stewart and Bell in 2014. Oh and did I mention the view!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Our Cape Breton Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is our fourth year to visit Cape Breton and we would not consider staying at any other location. On our first visit in 2009 we stayed in Sea and Sky Cottage. Our next two visits we stayed in Eagles Pass Cottage. This year we chose Cape Cottage and Cape Cottage is spectacular! It's views are incomparable and the maritime architecture makes Cape Cottage our perfect Cape Breton "home away from home". The spacious living area and open kitchen allows easy and relaxing dining. The large deck and comfortable deck furniture make relaxing outdoors an integral part of each day. If I could end each day with a Cape Breton sunset, good company,and a glass of wine from the Cape Cottage deck, I would consider myself the luckiest man in the world. The cottage location provides privacy and plenty of private access for morning and evening walks. Chimney Corner is also the perfect location to base for a complete Cape Breton tour. From Cape Cottage you have easy access to world class golf, fine restaurants, extensive hiking and biking trails, and the most photographic scenery this side of Big Sur. If you are an artist looking for inspiration, a family looking for a retreat, a couple looking for romance, or someone simply looking for a place that will call you back year after year, Cape Cottage is the ideal location. We are planning our return in 2013 and cannot imagine a year without an annual visit. Stewart and Bell are remarkable hosts and provide reliable and dependable references for local flavor and activity. Trust their recommendations; they will not lead you astray. Each cottage at Chimney Corner has its own unique personality. Sea and Sky is cozy and romantic. Eagles Pass provides fantastic views with ocean sounds. Cape Cottage is removed somewhat from the ocean but its higher location provides unimaginable views of sunsets over the Gulf of Saint Lawrence. We love all the cottages and would return to any location without hesitation. However, Cape Cottage is our favorite and we will return as often as time permits. Rather than purchase property in Cape Breton, we will always return to Cape Cottage or one of the other properties as long as Stewart and Bell are at Chimney Corner.
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our second two-week stay at the Cape Cottage and it was just as perfect this time around! Stewart and Bell are fantastic hosts who go above and beyond to ensure their guests are comfortable. The cottage is wonderfully outfitted and the view is unrivaled, especially at sunset. There is no place we would rather stay when in Cape Breton--next summer can't come fast enough!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Cottage with Spectacular Views of Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382569
+1 902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
Rosemère, QC
5

Beautiful Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our first visit to Cape Breton and couldn't be happier choosing the Cape Cottage. What a wonderful place! There is nothing left to chance where your comfort and enjoyment is concerned. The Cottage is beautifully designed, furnished and equipped with all the amenities you could want. The little details include great artwork, a nice welcome bottle of wine and the heated floor in the bathroom is a very nice touch. The owners are hospitable and Stewart was very helpful with suggestions on activities with a detailed guide of the area. The setting in the woods is great and very private. There is the joyful sound of the birds singing all around, a breathtaking view of the sea and incredible sunsets. And the stars at night are so very romantic! We really enjoyed our stay here and warmly recommend the Cape Cottage.
Une très mignonne petite maison dans les bois avec toutes les commodités dont on peut rêver dans un environnement naturel avec une vue imprenable. En résumé tout était parfait : la vue sur la mer, le chant des oiseaux, l’odeur des fleurs sauvages et la beauté des couchers de soleil et des nuits étoilées…Merci Bell et Stewart de partager cet endroit merveilleux.
Lucie et Vincent
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway