Mount Lassen house rental - Entrance and front view of Jackalope Acres. Parking for 10 cars available!
Entrance and front view of Jackalope Acres. Parking for 10 cars available!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Mount Lassen House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps up to 17)

Jackalope Acres awaits you in the forest only 15 minutes from Mt. Lassen National Park in the heart of some the most gorgeous, unspoiled hiking and fishing country in California--or the world!

Here is a collection of photos we've taken at the house and surrounding area in all seasons!FY15Q1

a href='http://www.flickr.com/photos/115871886@N06/' More Pictures Here /a (http://www.flickr.com/photos/115871886@N06/

Stunning 5-bedroom, 4-bath log house on 20 acres of forest and meadowland.

Book now for the spring and summer season! Or fall and winter!

The property is set at 4300 feet elevation with historic North Battle Creek running through the backyard. Visitors often describe it as the nicest property they have rented.

Jackalope Acres isn't just a place to stay--it's a place to vacation and live! A family resort! An adult get away! With amenities available nowhere else in the area.

Our custom Alaskan cedar hot tub, sunken into the large wrap around deck, is the perfect place to start the day watching the hummingbirds or end it with a cocktail or a glass of wine.

There are extensive trails throughout the grounds for walking, (and in winter) snow shoeing, or cross country skiing, with multiple evergreen species, black oak, plus meadows with native grasses and flowers.

You'll see deer, dove, quail, blue heron, and even wild turkeys. Bring a basket and enjoy a picnic at the table by creek.

In summer use our canoe or our kayaks at no adidtional charge on nearby Lake McCumber, also known for it's huge wild trout, bald eagles, and osprey.

Play croquet, badminton,or volley ball on the grass lawn. Throw horseshoes in the firepit. Or throw the footballs, frisbees, or play catch with our balls and gloves. One man's and one woman's mountain bike--and miles of roads. World class indoor outdoor ping pong table!

In winter, we have 4 sets of snow shoes for use on our 20 acres or for Mt Lassen Park. Or take our sleds up to Eskimo Hill where the locals go! Or just watch the leaves and the snow fall from the hot tub! 90 minutes from Mt. Shasta winter skiing!

Bedrooms include two master suites, one in main house and second in gorgeous open loft, each with individual attached baths. Main house has 2 additional upstairs bedrooms (one with additional loft bed) and shared bath. Downstairs bedroom has its own hall bath. Perfect for 5 individuals or 5 couples, but with additional futon sofas in master suites, house can sleep 17.

Gorgeous, eclectic interior lighting and furnishings. Original art and photography throughout house.

Cook gourmet meals in the newly remodeled, fully equipped kitchen with quartz counter tops and state-of-the-art appliances. Six-burner cast iron gas stove, conventional, convection and microwave ovens, Cusinart, blender, coffee maker, ice cream maker, and extra refrigerator and freezer in garage.

Entertain in the open living room/dining area with state of art iPod and laptop compatible media stereo. Relax in the separate sitting area in front of the Vermont Castings fireplace. In summer, bring the outdoors in: living and dining area also open to deck through 2 sets of sliding doors, with dining tables and lounge chairs. Cook on the propane grill with a gorgeous custom made prep table.

There is an enclosed firepit close to the house for evening camp fires, marshmallows and smores!

Enjoy your favorite sports events in the media room with 50' plasma flat screen, satellite TV package, Bose surround sound, Blue Ray DVD, game table and bar.

Wireless Internet throughout the house.

Fully automatic backup generator power for entire house and all appliances. Laundry room. Caretaker and cleaning service is available in the neighborhood.

This incredible, one of a kind estate is only 15 minutes from Mt. Lassen National Volcanic Park, an untrafficked jewel for both winter and summer.

Jackalope Acres is 11 miles from Shingletown, and 35 miles from Downtown Redding. It's 235 miles northeast San Francisco--a four hour drive--and only 35 minutes from Redding airport. Special, spectacular backroads driving directions available!

Jackolope Acres is also only 30 miles from world famous trout fishery Hat Creek.

Dozens of other world class rivers, streams, lakes, and state parks are all within 1 hour or less. World class private fishing booking are available through Fly Shop in Redding.

The house is also only 1/2 hour from the emerging Manton Valley winery district with small wineries, a wide range of varietals and friendly, vintner staffed tasting rooms.

There is a world class restaurant and an award winning winery 20 minutes away at Anselmo's, where you can also trail ride the 4,000 acre ranch with the owners on provided horses. Great local burgers and homemade Mexican food are also available nearby.

The area is unspoiled, uncrowded, and free from the traffic and people jams of so many other California “outdoor” destinations such as Yosemite or Lake Tahoe.

Sun Oaks Racquet Club 35 minutes away allows day passes for tennis and/or to use their complete fitness facility. More detailed, custom activity suggestions in owner created guidebook at house.

Truly a place to get away, relax, explore, entertain, and create memories. Great in all four seasons. Warm summer temperatures with cool nights and gorgeous, moderate winter snows.

Keywords: Log home, cabin, estate, lodge, log cabin

More Details
Hide Details

We are urban San Franciscans who always dreamed of having a property where we could get back to nature. We grew up fishing, hiking and exploring, and we can truly say we have found the perfect escape from our busy life in the city. It is a great pleasure to share our home with friends, family and guests.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

Shingletown is a quaint community, just a few miles from Lassen National Park and surrounded by pristine lakes, streams and abundant hiking. We fell in love with the property's 20 acres which are home to deer, jack rabbits and countless species of birds. Even in Summer, Shingletown is never crowded. It feels remote, but it is only 45 minutes away from the Shasta Premium Outlets and the town of Redding and its historic downtown.

Looking at the skies from the hot tub, you will be amazed to see so many stars!!!!

15 Reviews of Property 382496 in Mount Lassen, California

Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
Boca Florida
5

Expectations Were Exceeded!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We a group of adult couples who travel to new destinations to get away. Jackalope Acres exceeded our expectations. The photos and the descriptions are great but really can't prepare you for being there.
The forest air is one of the first things you notice and then inside, all the blond wood. The house is decorated with style but is unpretentious. It's large and everyone could have privacy or socialize. We recommend the Paradise Meadow hike in Lassen with the head waters of Hat Creek rushing down in waterfalls.
We cooked fabulous meals, drank local wine, and, following the guidebook, discovered the apple fritters down the hill. A lot less pricey and less crowded than Tahoe or the wine country. Recommended as an unspoiled destination.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Family Resort

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We have rented this house twice, but it's more like a family resort. The house is gorgeous. Rustic, comfortable, with great furniture, and eclectic decorations. A Vermont castings fireplace. The kitchen has an antique six burner gas stove, plus a full array of condiments and spices, great knives, and lots of pots and pans. Enough space for 15 people in our group.
I also enjoyed the personal touches like the pictures of the owners’ families going back 3 generations. The 20 acre backyard has a large firepit. A sledding hill for the kids in winter. (Ours adore it.) Horseshoes, ping pong, baseball gloves, mountain bikes. There is a canoe and two cayaks for nearby Lake McCumber. Snow shoes. And an entertainment room with a flatscreen.
There has been extensive restoration work on historic North Battle Creek running through the property. We saw brown trout and blue herons. The woods are also great for walking.
Lassen National Park is spectacular (only open in summer) with very little traffic. The house manager is also a neighbor. He knows everything about the house and the area. Did I mention the cedar hot tub on the deck?
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
Oakland
5

Fabulous long weekend away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We just came back from a 4 nights away in the country. This place has all the amenities you will ever need. It is truly a great place, with open space to spread out and to enjoy clean air, water and it has all the conveniences you need. The kitchen, the hot tube, fire pit outside to the media room and internet access to the well appointed bedrooms and bathrooms; the attention to our every need made this a trip to remember. We could have easily stayed for one week to enjoy all the outside amenities and not get enough. Erik the manager was a joy to talk to and just a call away, for us city people it was very comforting to know he is around and I have a feeling that he truly take pride to care for this special place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
5

Annual Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
For a number of years we have taken our kids and grandkids to interesting places for a family retreat. This was the best. It was great that the kids could just run down to the creek, or ride their bikes around, or play ball on the grass. Some major creek restoration is planned for this fall that will make the creek even more inviting.

We made good use of the well appointed kitchen. Homemade ice cream-yum, although we burned our brownies in an unfamiliar oven. S'mores at the fire pit was fun. One minor downside was the lack of kitchen cabinet space for storing our own food items.

Appreciated the wifi--we are a plugged in family. We discovered it can't handle Netflix streaming video, but works well for normal browsing and email.

Loved hiking in Lassen and the surrounding area. Three of us summited Lassen peak. We all enjoyed the kayaks and canoe at McCumber reservoir, although it would be nicer if PGE would clear it of all the aquatic weeds that seem to be taking over.

I expect a request from the family to return at some future time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Phillip! Glad you had such a great time at our place! We really like the idea of having an additional pantry for guests to put in their supplies, so we are building one along the side of the hallway. Thanks for the suggestion! Now, if we could only get our internet provider to increase its bandwidth...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
Mckinelyville, CA
5

Great place for a great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We loved our stay and will rent again in the future. The owners and the caretaker (Erik) were friendly, and the place was as wonderful as advertised. We had a number of kids of various ages (including teens) and everyone agreed this was the nicest place we'd ever stayed at.

Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
Chico, ca
5

Group Visit to Jackelope Acres

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is the second year in a row our group has rented the property for the weekend and we plan to continue doing so for years to come.

The cabin, the property, the area...truly, everything is amazing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
Oakland, CA
5

Great Family Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Two families, with three generations stayed at this home for a week and loved it. Our group ranged in age from 7 to 85 (plus a dog) and everyone agreed that it was the best-appointed vacation house we had ever stayed at. There many nice touches -- badminton, kayaks, a sodastream machine, and the best knives we have ever used at a vacation home. Also, the caretaker (Erik) met us to introduce us to the house which was very nice and helpful. This would be a great house for reunions or just hanging out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
Redding, CA
5

Excellent in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a house we have rented several times in the past and would love to keep renting it in the future. It has everything you need to live in it and the owners are extremely helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
Greenbrae, California
5

Amazing Jackalope Acres

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I and a group of friends had the pleasure of a July stay at Jackalope Acres. As someone who has spent many summers in the Tahoe area, I can say this is one of the most amazing properties I have seen. I absolutely love log houses, and the wood in this one is gorgeous and pristine. The living and dining areas are tremendously inviting. We stayed in the large, second master suite and that space was serene. The quiet was deafening! The air was warm ans still during the day and cooled down at night for some deep sleeping you won't get in the midst of civilization.
It's not just the house it's the property or rather that amount of property that amazes. I think it's 20 acres. We took mutiple walks through the meadows and trees in the backyard and also just hung out by North Battle Creek which bounds the property. The colors in ther meadow in combination with the creek are wonderful.
I had my first fly fishing experience when we went to Bailey Creek Lodge, set up through the Fly Shop in Redding. Even though I was new to the techniques, I ended up landing two huge rainbows. We also amused ourselves on the deck with the world class indoor/outdoor ping pong table and played tennis at the Sun Oaks Tennis Club in Redding on a day pass. We kayaked in Lake McCumber right down the road from the house and were treated to a bald eagle swooping down from the pines to grab trout in its talons. Also, if you want to bike ride this area is absolute heaven whether on paved or dirt roads. You can go for miles and never encounter a car...just jack rabbits and deer. We were so relaxed we didn't even make it to Lassen. So we have to come back for that--and also to see Jackalope Acres in the snow.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous Forest Estate! Cedar Hot Tub! Close to Lassen! Book for Spring/Summer!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382496vb
415-845-5651
Mount Lassen Shasta Cascade
San Francisco Bay Area
5

Lassen Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved this place. Rustic yet with all the amenities, even better than the description. We were a group of 7 adults and the set up worked great for us but would also work well for families with children or couples
the property is private and woodsy, very well maintained. the caretaker lives nearby and was very helpful. the owners were easy to communicate with and responsive.
After a long day of hiking, Lassen north entrance is about 9 miles away, it was great to relax on the large deck in the hot tub or just in the lounge chairs. We had planned to cook in every night which was a pleasure with the outdoor grill and a wonderful well equiped kitchen. The dine out possibilities are a bit scant in Shingeltown
if you stay here, do go Lassen National Park. The scenery is stunning and there are unique volcanic features to see.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway