San Juan del Sur house rental - Two-story Tree House
Two-story Tree House
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay nights
 

San Juan del Sur House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Other (See Description), Sleeps 6

Casa Arbol

Experience the unparalleled beauty of Nicaragua at Casa Arbol -- the ultimate tree house.

The 2-story home overlooks the Pacific Ocean and one of Central America's largest private wildlife corridors, making incredible wildlife sightings an almost daily occurrence. A five-minute drive down our private road will take you to three of the world?s most beautiful beaches, Playa Maderas, Playa Playones and Playa Majagual.

Designed by acclaimed architect Matthew Falkiner and the people behind renowned eco-resort, Morgan?s Rock, this house is proud to be part of a community spearheading eco-friendly vacations without sacrificing luxury.

Casa Arbol was built to be the perfect balance of tropical open-air living and modern comfort. High ceilings provide extraordinary views through our state-of-the-art screen system.

This unique amenity brings you the fresh air, the crashing of waves, and the calls of exotic birds -- all while making sure nothing but the fresh air actually comes inside. The home overlooks a low valley and its position is perfect for some extraordinary bird and monkey watching from inside the house or on our two decks.

The house is supported by massive eucalyptus trunks and curved wood ceilings built from sustainable timber. Wi-Fi internet is available throughout the house and grounds. The living room features a new large flat screen TV, a Sony audio system, DVD library, art collection, and leather and wood furniture and furnishings by the architect who designed the home.

The master and guest bedrooms both have forest and ocean views, custom lighting, and their own bathrooms with beautiful stonework throughout. In keeping with the eco-conscious nature of the house, piping hot water is provided by our solar hot water heater.

Our recently upgraded battery-backup system provides silent power for the house even during Nicaragua's brief power outages, so you will not hear noisy generators running and your trip will not be interrupted.

We have a fully stocked kitchen, a new refrigerator, a microwave, gas oven/stove, and purified water available for your convenience. Travel to nearby San Juan del Sur for local fruits and vegetables, some of the freshest fish you?ll ever eat, and meat and poultry that are the very definition of free-range. We can also arrange for grocery shopping and a private chef if you prefer.

A 15-minute walk or a 4-minute drive takes you through forest canopies right to Playa Majagual and private, secluded luxury. From the beach, walk north to explore the tide-pools or south to one of the world's best surf-breaks.

But you may decide to just stay put and sunbathe, have a picnic in the private palapa, body surf in the perfect waves, stare in wonder at the sunset, or all of the above.

Bird and wildlife watching from the house or on the many hiking and nature trails, is incomparable. Howler monkeys live in the trees around the house in large numbers - and you will hear them each day around sundown as they prepare for the night. November thru April is Ocelot and Margay cat season - and we have seen them on many occasions. Kinkajou will likely visit at night next to the porch in the canopy, where the fruits they loves grow and ripen in the green months, May through November. Sloth, Coatimudi and a multitude of other animals will all visit at various times.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 381876 in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua

Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
average rating of 4.9 based on 20 reviews
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
4

Lovely home, perfect for an extended stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our biggest mistake in choosing to stay at Casa Arbol was only staying 3 nights. It is a lovely place in a beautiful setting, but it is quite remote and the road getting there is extremely slow going. Getting there and away is fairly time-consuming, so the more time you can book, the more you will enjoy your stay.

The pros: The house is beautifully designed, with a well-equipped kitchen, comfy beds, gorgeous views, and a VERY short drive (or somewhat arduous, hilly hike) to one of the most spectacular beach sunsets imaginable. Waking up to the amazing jungle views and sounds was absolutely beautiful. Gabby, the rental agent, is extremely helpful and nice. She organized a surf lesson for us (highly recommended!) and was tremendously helpful when we woke up to a flat tire on our rental car. Even with a rugged 4WD SUV, AN ABSOLUTE MUST, we got a flat.

The cons, or things just not mentioned in the owner's description that would've been helpful to know: There is wifi, but no phone service. Not a huge deal, but would've been good to know in advance. Also, the place really is quite remote. It took at least 30 mins to get there from town, so once you're there, you're there. A basic first-aid kit is recommended, as are flashlights/headlamps. Be prepared to do a lot of your own cooking -- the kitchen is great and there's a nice gas grill on the beautiful deck. Gabby took us to a fantastic fish market -- super fresh seafood at incredibly low prices.

Also, the pool is nice but quite small, and it is not private. It is shared with the house next door, which is closer to Casa Arbol than the owner photos indicate. Again, not a big deal, just a bit of a surprise based on the photos in the listing.

Overall, we had a lovely stay and would come back again if we had more time!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Boulder, Colorado, USA
5

An Absolutely Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I can safely say that part of the reason why I booked my honeymoon in San Juan del Sur was this house, and after staying there for a week I was not disappointed in the least. Everything was a surprise to my new wife, and she was blown away upon walking up the house and seeing it for the first time. The entire house is genuinely a work of art in simplicity and luxurious modern living, and made for a very comfortable and memorable honeymoon. The implementation of screens instead of windows makes you feel as if you're outside in the entire house without the annoyance of bugs or the elements. Living comfortably in the jungle, with a view of the beach is hard to beat and this house maximizes that experience.

If you're concerned about booking in the rainy season, don't be, as it amazing and relaxing to sleep to the rain in the night with the open window/screens. The vast majority of the days are sunny and not rainy, and don't be surprised if you find yourself on a beach without anyone else.

Upon arrival Gabi was very accommodating in showing us around and helping us grocery shop for the week. I also recommend hiring a driver from Managua as it is relatively cheap, relieves the stress of navigation, and allows you to enjoy the country side. We ate in San Juan del Sur about half of our meals, and the other half was spent at the house. Both are great. I highly recommend getting fish from the fish market and taking advantage of the propane grill that is available. It may have been some of the best fish I've ever had in my life, and I am not a great cook.

Other experiences I recommend based on our short time is visiting Playa Coco, getting an outdoor massage at the house, going out to the bars in San Juan del Sur on the weekend, and just walking around San Juan del Sur during the day. Nicaraguans are super friendly and don't seem to get annoyed by tourists, which is nice when that's what you are. As far as Western luxuries, I was worried I wouldn't be able to find any wine or cheese, but some of those rare western items are available at the Import Market in town.

If you're looking for an experience better than your typical hotel, you're willing to pay for it, and something away from all the hubbub you will not be disappointed with this house in the least.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Boulder, Colorado, USA
5

Very unique and beautiful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I can safely say that part of the reason why I booked my honeymoon in San Juan del Sur was this house, and after staying there for a week I was not disappointed in the least. Everything was a surprise to my new wife, and she was blown away upon walking up the house and seeing it for the first time. The entire house is genuinely a work of art in simplicity and luxurious modern living, and made for a very comfortable and memorable honeymoon. The implementation of screens instead of windows makes you feel as if you're outside in the entire house without the annoyance of bugs or the elements. Living comfortably in the jungle, with a view of the beach is hard to beat and this house maximizes that experience.

If you're concerned about booking in the rainy season, don't be, as it amazing and relaxing to sleep to the rain in the night with the open window/screens. The vast majority of the days are sunny and not rainy, and don't be surprised if you find yourself on a beach without anyone else.

Upon arrival Gabi was very accommodating in showing us around and helping us grocery shop for the week. I also recommend hiring a driver from Managua as it is relatively cheap, relieves the stress of navigation, and allows you to enjoy the country side. We ate in San Juan del Sur about half of our meals, and the other half was spent at the house. Both are great. I highly recommend getting fish from the fish market and taking advantage of the propane grill that is available. It may have been some of the best fish I've ever had in my life, and I am not a great cook.

Other experiences I recommend based on our short time is visiting Playa Coco, getting an outdoor massage at the house, going out to the bars in San Juan del Sur on the weekend, and just walking around San Juan del Sur during the day. Nicaraguans are super friendly and don't seem to get annoyed by tourists, which is nice when that's what you are. I wasn't disappointed by anything not being available. I was worried I wouldn't be able to find any wine or cheese, but some of those rare western items are available at the Import Market in town.

If you're looking for an experience better than your typical hotel, you're willing to pay for it, and something away from all the hubbub you will not be disappointed with this house in the least.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Big Sky, MT
5

Honeymoon in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
One word: wow. Gabby was EXTREMELY helpful from step one. She personally greeted us when we arrived in town and showed us all of her favorite shops and vendors. The house was absolutely perfect for the two of us with a full kitchen, great deck for hanging out for dinner, and spacious living area, and the open concept throughout the entire house kept us nice and cool, especially during the evenings.

What we enjoyed best was being away from the downtown area, which is not a bustling area to begin with, but it was really nice to be able to go back into our jungle "tree-house" and get away from it all. We even had neighbors for a couple of the nights that we were there and we didn't hear anything from them, even with all of the windows!

You DEFINITELY need a 4WD vehicle, but we rented a truck which was one of the most expensive parts of our vacation and we decided that if we come back we'll probably rent a four-wheeler instead, which should be sufficient to get in and out of the property.

Bottom line, I highly recommend this house for small groups or families, or for honeymoon. We will be back someday!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Toronto
5

2 older couples from Toronto Canada

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I and another couple stayed at Casa Arbol for 3 weeks recently. Booking this vacation was so easy with the help of Laura, from Toronto and Gabby Castillo from Remax , San Juan del Sur....arranging everything for us.We arrived and were met in town by Gabby, the concierge who gave us a tour of the town,took us shopping for groceries, then guided us to the property.You do need a 4WD vehicle as the roads are rough but this is part of the adventure. The house is a beautiful piece of architecture maximizing the open concept and cross breezes. The porch is truly a retreat with exotic birds and howler monkeys that entertain everyone. The plunge pool was cleaned daily and maid service and 24 hr security were provided by the most respectful, helpful sweetest staff.The local beaches are awesome and never, ever crowded.We cooked at the house and ate many nights in San Juan del Sur......where we found the food delicious and very cheap.We had a wonderful day horseback riding with Jamie and Blue for Ranch Cilamate...they do a great job!We even went to Rivas to a baseball game...which was a blast!Laura and Joel are fantastic booking agents.....quick to answer anything you need to know. And ,Gabby of Remax is an incredible concierge.She will solve any problem you have and guides you through the whole process of vacationing in Nicaragua with charm and professionalism. This was a unique vacation for us and we would like to thank the owner DJ Paul for allowing us to enjoy his architecturally stunning home.We can,t wait to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Montreal
5

Our idea of a near-perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My girlfriend and I spent one week at Casa Arbol and loved it. This was our second stay in the Balcones de Majagual development, and we’re already planning the third.

When we arrived in San Juan del Sur, Gabby the concierge gave us a tour of town. We bought groceries at Pali supermarket and a corner store. She then guided us to the property, about 20 min. from San Juan. You do need a 4WD vehicle, since the dirt roads in the Balcones property are steep in places. Also, if you want to visit other beaches around San Juan (Maderas, Hermosa), many of the dirt roads down to the ocean are a little rough.

The house itself is architecturally stunning, and uses local hardwoods in the construction. The open-concept design and extensive windows let you enjoy the beauty of the property. Because the windows are nylon screening, rather than glass, you really feel part of your natural environment - this also keeps the house cool with cross-breezes, even in the heat of the day. At night you hear the cicadas in the trees, and in the morning you will likely be woken up by howler monkeys.

As another reviewer said, with so much open space it feels like you have an iMax screen playing a nature channel day and night. From the house we saw great sunsets over the Pacific, four simultaneous rainbows one morning, exotic birds and hawks, monkeys and two large iguanas.

The plunge pool right outside the front door is great for cooling off after an excursion. The beach is a short drive down the hill - or a 20 min. hike - on a private road through the forested property. (Walking up the hill from the beach could be a challenge for those who are not very active.) The beach is great, and has never been crowded during our two stays at Balcones.

Aside from Pali and the corner stores, you can buy fresh seafood at the public docks in town. We often made breakfast at the Casa and ate dinner at restaurants in San Juan - and would recommend eating at the Pelican Eyes hotel, the Bambu Beach Club, El Colibri, El Mesón, the Hotel Victoriano, and Maurizio’s San Juan Pizzeria (across from the church).

Balcones is not a super-social resort setting - it’s about seclusion and natural beauty, coupled with fantastic architecture. We prefer staying out of town: San Juan is fun to visit, but because it is touristy, it can be a little noisy at night.

We really enjoyed both of our stays at Balcones, and Casa Arbol in particular. We’ll definitely be coming back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Boulder, CO
5

Loved Jungle Life!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family and I (kids ages 8 & 10) recently spent 5 nights at Casa Arbol. As other reviews exclaim, it is truly a remarkable, off-the-beaten path place. Our first morning we jumped out of bed just before 5 as we heard a male howler monkey starting his day -- we weren't sure what was making all the noises until the sun creeped up and we looked out to trees filled with howler monkeys of all shapes and sizes. It was magical! We rented an old Toyota Landcruiser which added to our adventure and explored lots of beaches during the day, enjoying the tranquility and solitude of the casa in the evening. Our children had great adventuring opportunities and loved the pool too. One of the highlights of the adventure was the drive to get there -- while rugged and sometimes a bit long, you get a real flavor of local living and the pride and detail the locals put into their abodes. We would often see locals doing their daily chores and over the time we were there the waves were reciprocated with smiles and warmth. We highly recommend Playa Coco and Playa Hermosa, even though they are both a bit of a drive -- they are worth it! We would highly recommend Casa Arbol to anyone looking for a unique, beautiful home to rent in the fabulous jungle setting!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
New Jersey, USA
5

Great time had by all

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Great time had by all, 2 adults and 2 boys - 15 and 11 years old. Let me say what others already stated numerous times: the house is very comfortable, the views, sights and sounds are spectacular, Gabriela is a great asset and help with questions, reservations, and general orientation. Some activities we greatly enjoyed - zip lining, boogie boarding at Madera's, the older son went scuba diving with Neptune's. Walking down to the beach is very comfortable in the breeze of the jungle and entertainment provided by the birds, monkeys and crabs. Walking up is a bit more challenging and hot. That's why the plunge pool is there and a fridge is fully stocked with beer. The things that we should have done if we had planned for it in advance - trip to Ometepe (min 2 days) to explore the island and volcanoes, boat ride along the coast and maybe even a ride through the rain forest down by Costa Rica. Instead we went to Granada, which can be, in my opinion, completely skipped. The tacos at Taco Locos are fantastic, worth the trip over the rocks. Fish is great anywhere you go. Our last dinner was at Il Gardin (the owners are french and Belgian couple). The views from a breezy patio are beautiful and a food is not too shabby either. A note to the house owner- probably a good idea to leave a note in the house for the renters with few pointers. We did not know about the water and dragged it from Pali. I assume there is a hammock based on the reviews but no one told us and we did not find it. But most importantly - few things about the electric system, how to read it and what to do (like don't run fans if you are on the battery power). This was an unforgettable vacation, mostly due to the panoramic views of the jungle, the ocean and the flora and fauna of Nicaragua.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Canada
5

absolutely loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This was a last minute holiday and it turned out to be our best one yet. We have travelled to many destinations and as most travellers know you have to take the good with the bad BUT this is the first time there was absolutely no complaints. The food and drinks were great, the people friendly, the beaches beautiful and the tree house amazing! It felt like you were in an i-max/virtual reality theatre, the view, sounds and smells of this amazing place has to be experienced to appreciate its uniqueness. Waking up to the view from the master bedroom was an experience in itself, this place is more than we expected and definitely worth it. The first time driving there may be a little intimidating but after that you become used to it very quickly and it can actually be a pleasure due to all the wildlife sightings. The house is very well equipped, clean, comfortable and an eco friendly marvel, the staff is very friendly and helpful, Gabby was wonderful, never had to ask twice for anything, she was very helpful and answered all our questions, she made our holiday/adventure so much easier. She arranged a driver/ guide for us (Francisco) he was so much fun and a such great person, he showed us the best of what Nicaragua had to offer.
Just to mention a few things we tremendously enjoyed was... the zip line, the volcano tour, shopping in some of the small towns, great seafood at el-timon, great drinks at Iguanas, buying fresh seafood at the market and touring around experiencing everything san juan del sur has to offer. If you are looking for an easy holiday/adventure this place has everything!! Luved it so much that we want to return in a few months and maybe purchase a place. What a grrrreat place!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Casa Arbol - the Ultimate Treehouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381876
+1 213 393-8592
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
5

More than a tree house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in December. We loved it! I had seen this house on VRBO and thought it looked great and it lived up to our expectations. This usually doesn't happen to us. We had been very active prior to coming here with volcano climbing, biking and kayaking and we were looking forward to quiet time in a tranquil setting. That was this house. It did feel like being in an elegant tree house with a wonderful view of the jungle and distant Pacific. We were a little unorthodox in not renting a vehicle. We were content to explore the nearby beaches on foot and welcomed the hike up and down the mountain. This is probably not the way most would do it. But for us it worked. Certainly if there are issues with health or hiking inclination than a 4-wheel is necessary. We just didn't want the hassle and expense of a car. We stocked up on food and enjoyed cooking most meals in the lovely kitchen. This is a truly unique place. We even enjoyed the Howler Monkeys and the incredible noise they made around 5 am. A lot of time and thought went into planning and building this house and we are appreciative. If you are looking for an off the beaten path experience but would like some amenities, this is the place for you. We would also like to thank Gabby for all her help. She took us shopping before we went to the house, showed us around town, and filled us in on all the important information. She was ready and available to answer any questions and we felt at ease knowing she was a quick call or email away. I would advise bringing reading material and some movies, though I was just as content lying in the hammock watching the monkeys and the surrounding jungle. Oh yeah, even though the house is so open with screens for windows, no bugs seemed to get inside. Man what a cool place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3