Kekaha house rental - Private driveway & covered carport
Private driveway & covered carport
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kekaha House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.25 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

The Kala Beach Cottage is an authentic Kekaha Sugar Plantation Managers Cottage. Lovingly restored with integrity by a professional interior designer, this cottage gives you the obvious sense of classic Hawaii living. Other amenities of this charming cottage include a private enclosed back yard and covered patio, giving the option for outdoor entertaining and/or sunbathing. Enjoy OCEAN VIEWS from the front lanai, and a brief 1 minute walk will take you to the ocean and stretches of sparkling white sand for 15 miles without a house. Here the reef comes onshore and provides protected pools for calm water and swimming. This is an ideal place for children to safely enjoy the water.

At the base, and within minutes of the 'Grand Canyon of the Pacific', the WAIMEA CANYON offers sunny cool weather which is ideal for hiking the many miles of trails through varied native forests and canyon views. You can hike to the cliffs of the NA PALI COAST, often reaching 4000 feet, and see spectacular views of the jagged shoreline and deeply carved valleys where the first Hawaiians lived.

Another option is a 5 mile drive to POLIHALE BEACH STATE PARK, where wide stretches of sand for up to seven miles meet the Na Pali Coast. Here you will find a beach, framed with dunes of up to 100 feet and some of the most beautiful blue water you will see in Hawaii. At end of the beach, near the Na Pali cliffs, you will find showers, bathrooms, and pavilions. This is the place to escape and dry out in the sun on those days where clouds and rain obscure the sun, especially on the north and east shores in the Winter. This is an uncrowded treasure for beach and nature lovers.

This is the sunny westside of Kauai, where rain rarely occurs, and sunny mornings with cobalt blue skies are common. Why gamble your vacation by staying on the North Shore, where rain is constantly replenishing the lush green forests, and sunny days can be infrequent in the Winter months?

Why stay at the Waimea Plantation Cottages, where a 'garden view' cottage starts at $275 per night, when you can have the ultimate privacy of your own beach cottage within a few steps of white sand beaches that go on forever? This side of the island guarantees you an amazing end to each day, offering the opportunity to see a SIZZLING SUNSET over the Pacific Ocean. You may even see the 'green flash'! This is a sweet spot that is affordable when compared to other Kekaha options.

Bring your sunscreen and an umbrella.... you will need it...... because the sun shines here!

OCEANVIEW

QUICK 1 MINUTE WALK TO THE BEACH AND SWIMMING

WONDERFUL HISTORIC RESTORATION

DESIGNER QUALITY TROPICAL FURNISHINGS AND LINENS

PRIVATE FENCED REAR YARD

EASY ACCESS TO THE WAIMEA CANYON

5 MILE DRIVE TO POLIHALE BEACH

CLOSE TO THE BOAT DEPARTURES FOR NA PALI COAST TOURS

5 MINUTES TO TWO MAJOR GROCERY STORES

County of Kauai Vacation Rental License # TVNC 1100

State of Hawaii Business Registration # W 21029563-01

Keywords: House,Cottage,Beach,Kekaha

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 222991 in Kekaha, Hawaii

Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Arlington (Oso), WA
5

Perfect Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was our fourth time to Kauai and our first time staying on the west side. We loved the west side because there were no tourists. Ok I know we were tourists but it was nice and relaxing to have the beach pretty much to ourselves sometimes. We traveled to the "Touristy" places but it was so nice to come back to our quiet little NICE home at the end of the day. LOVED the fresh Plumeria flowers that would drop from the trees every morning as they smelled like Hawaii. Oh and eating the oranges off the tree in the backyard was a treat. We took our two youngest kids age 5 and 11 and it was nice they had a yard to play in while they still had energy at the end of our long days. Nice, clean, cozy, relaxing and stocked with everything and more that you may need. Rent with confidence. The customer service you will receive is also top notch. ENJOY!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Delta, BC, Canada
5

Like coming home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This cozy cottage was ideal for exploring Kauai for our second time. We really enjoy the quiet of Kekeha, yet provides a great base for canyon hiking, Polihale, Na'Pali catamaran, and sight seeing on the north coast. Clean, comfortable and well-equipped, it was like coming home every day -- a great beach nearby and lovely sunsets a few minutes walk from the house. Great backyard and well-equipped kitchen too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Salinas, CA
5

Great Place for a Honeymoon!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Yes, a honeymoon on the west side of Kauai worked out perfect for us. The sunsets were wonderful, as well as the location to the adventures on the west side. That said, it was easy to travel to the east/north side too, and we enjoyed day trips to that area. The cottage was very clean. We cooked on the grill for most of our dinners, and enjoyed ourselves after a day's outing. The semi outdoor shower was a nice touch for us; very fun, spacious, and enjoyed the breeze. A perfect cottage for the two of us.
Sarah, the property manager was very helpful and easy to reach. Scott and Chad were the perfect hosts. Thanks for your help. Without a doubt............highly recommended.

Michael and Ron
Salinas, CA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
5

Gorgeous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This little cottage is perfect. It is lovely and so nicely done up. It also had everything you could need for your stay - the kitchen is better equipped than mine!! It even had hair straighteners, not that I ever got that fancy! My little boy loved the garden (and running through the sprinklers every evening). We loved the comfy beds...and the outside shower made every morning a treat! Really can't fault this place - thanks for letting us stay here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Toronto
5

Fabulous Kala Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I would highly recommend this lovely cottage. It had everything - beach towels, snorkel and fins, beach chairs, wonderful shower post activities, two TVs, nice backyard, well stocked kitchen. The decor was perfect! We sat outside to relax with a glass of wine. The cottage is close to Waimea Canyon and Koke'e State Park where you can hike to the Na Pali Coast. There is a stunning beach at Polihale State Park which is about 15-20 minutes away.

Enjoy!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lovely unit

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
It was a lovely visit, and we were very happy with Kala Cottage. Very inviting and cozy, and well maintained. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Fountain Hills, AZ, USA
5

NIcely restored older house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Interesting house, nicely restored. The bathroom with the clawfoot tub and the semi-outdoor shower are nice touches. It was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated and only a short walk from a small, nice beach. It was a great location for exploring Waimea Canyon and Polihale Beach. I was briefly disappointed that the sand has eroded from Kekaha Beach Park, but a local gave me directions for a short drive to where the sandy beach starts about a mile further up the road.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Portland, Oregon, USA
5

Our week in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our first trip to Hawaii found us at this delightful spot on the west side. We couldn't have been happier! The cottage is so well equipped for just about anything. We're pretty domestic, like to cook, so had some kind of seafood every day. Good sources: Ishihara Market in Waimea (for poke) and Koloa Fish Market in Koloa. The canyon is such a surprise! Also, Polihale Beach... dark enough on a moonless night that Venus cast shadows!!

Never needed A/C, fans were fine. Grill works great. Thanks for the beach chairs, and blender in cupboard for pina coladas.

Cottage is very comfortable, clean, nicely appointed, and has just about everything. Really enjoyed the indoor/outdoor shower.

Mahalo to Scott and Chad for this great place and a swell week on Kauai.

Lou and Wes, Portland, OR
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Engaged on the beach

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Just wanted to thank you for the wonderful rental in Kekaha last month.  Your house was so lovely, truly you've done an impressive job.  We had a blast!  Actually got engaged right down the beach from your house :) So, special trip all round.  
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kala Beach Cottage..Oceanview..Air Conditioned..Steps to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222991vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Couldn't Have Been Better

Couldn't Have Been Better
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kala Cottage! It's such a cute place. We love stocking food from Ishihara and spend a whole day at Polihale so Kala Cottage couldn't be more convenient for us!
Next time we visit Kauai, we definitely want to stay there again.

Thanks!
Tsumugi & Joel
Helpful votes: 4/4