Kailua Kona estate rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Kailua Kona Estate Rental Photos and Description
Ohia-log Bungalow, 1 Bath, full Kitchen, 1 King Bed (Sleeps 2)

HEAVENLY SPLENDOR COFFEE ESTATE

Vintage Hawaiian style accommodations with all the comforts of modern day living. Your place to lounge and enjoy soft hula breezes in paradise!

Experience the spirit of 'Aloha' in this romantically influenced Ohia-log bungalow, located on a 2.5 acre private Kona Coast Coffee Estate, fully equipped kitchen, full bath and a King size bed... All to enhance your experience on the Big Island of Hawaii.

Amazing spectacular panoramic ocean views as far as your eyes will take you!

Meet your hosts, Cindy & Rusty Stewart. Rusty's family originally purchased this unique island property over 41 years ago. You will experience the 'aloha spirit' and enjoy their gracious hospitality.

Cindy Stewart purchased this estate in 1968

Rusty's mother and father, Betty & Dick, found and chose this property in 1968. Betty always called it her 'Heavenly Splendor'.

Betty & Dick spent many years in the Hawaiian Islands making the Big Island their favorite one; construction of the first house was completed in 1974. Betty spent many memorable times here with family and friends.

If you are desiring a unique experience while visiting and vacationing on the Big Island of Hawaii, this is your vacation destination.

Private and very quite, yet conveniently centrally located to all attractions, shopping and dining. FANTASTIC sunsets and coastal views as far as your eyes will allow you to see!

9 Reviews of Property 381784 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Perfect for quiet relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our flight came in really late so we didn't get to Heavenly Splendor until about 10:40pm and Cindy stayed up to greet us and show us where things are! We really appreciated that. Then there was a bottle of champagne in the fridge - awesome welcome!
This spacious studio apartment addition to the Stewarts' property is very quiet yet close to downtown Kona. It has a great view of the shoreline below and is equipped with all the things you'd have if you were living at home. It is up on the side of a hill in the middle of a coffee estate with a view of the spectacular sunset each evening from the lanai which runs the length of the bungalow. We were also wondering where to attend church while we were there but didn’t have to worry since there was a church right at the corner of the street where the apartment was.
We had heavy rain a couple of nights and were worried that it would blow in since there isn't any glass on the windows or doors - just mesh. But no rain blew in - this little bungalow was designed perfectly for the weather.
Just one word of caution: for those of you who freak out over the occasional critter here and there - this isn't the place for you - but my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay as well as Cindy's hospitality and advice as to where to eat and what to take with us on our daily excursions.
Thanks so much Cindy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Portland, Oregon
3

Great sunsets from porch!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Cindy graciously met us on arrival and had champagne waiting for us. This is a very unique place to stay with a flavor of old Hawaii in the décor and log and lava features. It has a beautiful view, soft breezes and a serene setting that can be enjoyed from the porch. The coffee from the farm is delicious. It lacks a washer/dryer but that is only slightly inconvenient. In the small, but well equipped kitchen, there is not room for a dishwasher, but the dishes did need a run through a dishwasher. The grill is small and requires briquettes. Beware that this is a unit in the country that is unsealed (screens but no windows) and therefore you will share your living space with critters and bugs. We did enjoy our stay in this eclectic bungalow. Owner lives on premises and answered questions readily.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Uniqueness and Hawaiian hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I recently stayed at Cindy and Rusty's property on the Kona Coast for our honeymoon and loved it! The bungalow is charming and unique. We were welcomed with a chilled bottle of champagne as well as hand picked kona coffee beans for breakfast. The lanai is perfect. We wished we could have stayed longer!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vancouver
5

really great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved this bungalow, which has truly stunning views of the Pacific. It was an absolute pleasure to watch the sunset every evening from the lanai. The apartment is very comfortable, and we should point out that the photos do *not* do justice to it. The place is much larger and spacious that the photos suggest. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Winter Springs, Florida
5

The Perfect Hawaiian stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
From the moment we turned into the winding driveway through the coffee plantation, we were amazed at the beauty of this property. The pictures on the website do not accurately represent the details of the cottage, the attention to detail of the design of the very gracious owners and the amenities. The location is perfect. You can be in On Alii Dr in 10 minutes or out to the southern points of interest in less than 1 hour. In addition, we were given recommendations for some great local cuisine one would never find if they were staying in a resort. During our stay, it felt as if we had the plantation all to ourselves. We loved the open windows and at the elevation never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The tropical aroma of the island and all of the flowers and vegetation was with us during our entire stay. We made a point to get back to the cottage almost every night so we could enjoy the beautiful sunsets while we were making dinner. We were able to shop at some very nice local markets within a 5 minute drive to get the best local fresh fish. I would rate the stay a 15/10 scale! Where most things over promise and under deliver; the Coffee Estate is magnificent!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your comments and we look forward to accommodating you anytime, it was a pleasure!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this location. Property was clean, well maintained and fully stocked with everything you could need. Owners were helpful when needed and stayed away when not needed, allowing for much privacy. The ocean views are amazing! I highly recommend this vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo! Glad you could spend your vacation with us, and may there be many more visits to the Big Island.
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Kicking Back in Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
If you are searching for peace and quiet, amazing ocean views, and a central location, this is the place. Our hosts Cindy and Rusty were very friendly and accommodating, and the house itself has everything you need for a relaxing stay. We miss watching sunsets from our lanai, birds chirping in the morning,excellent coffee, and our explorations of this incredible island. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo, and it was a pleasure having you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Silverdale, Wa. USA
5

Heavenly Splender

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is a convenient location for exploing South Kona as well as the Northern beaches. Cindy and Rusty were generous with sharing information about sights and restaurants as well as fruit and coffee from their garden. The Lanai is a great spot to watch have a meal or watch the sunset. We enoyed our stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Mahalo! Hope you make it back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing OCEAN 'Panoramic' Views! Authentic Ohia-log Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381784vbi
(808) 345-6745 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Minneapolis, MN
4

Great Location and Amazing Attention to Detail

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
One of the first things I noticed was our host's (Cindy) amazing attention to detail: we were generously welcomed with leis, the kitchen was well stocked with supplies, the bathroom was filled with every kind of toiletry, incense was burning, and hawaiian music was playing. Cindy and Rusty live in a home most of us can only dream about on a cliff overlooking the Pacific. Their home is at the highest elevation, with a pool infront, and below the pool is what looks like a very classy game-room turned into the rental suite. There is bar with a sink, stove, microwave, and mini fridge; a bathroom with a tub and shower (over looking the ocean); and a comfy bed. The TV comes with a smattering of movies to watch and the stereo has a large selection of Hawaiian music CDs. The lanai is one of the best features of this guest room, the view is just stunning and is fantastic for watching sunsets. The location is great for accessing all the experiences on the west side of the island. There is wifi, but we couldn't catch the signal for some reason. The door doesn't lock and the windows are only screens, so if you are extremely security conscious this may not work for you. However, the home and guest room are located in an upscale neighborhood down a very long private driveway with many security signs so we felt safe leaving our valuables while we were out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Ami and Joh,
Mahalo for your kind words...we are so glad you enjoyed the experience of "old-style Hawaiian living" with our screens, Ohia logs, thatched ceilings, but with all the modern amenities...you are welcome to our private couples romantic "hide-away" anytime! You left everything in wonderful condition and we hardly knew you were here!! We have since taken care of the wifi reception and it works perfect! Thank you for helping us to know there was a problem ;-)
Remember, if you have a larger group check out our 4 bedroom/3 bathroom estate home at: VRBO 322505
Mahalo, and hope to see you again! Regards, Rusty and Cindy Stewart
Helpful votes: 2/2