South Iceland house rental - One of my grate breeding and riding mare with her new born
One of my grate breeding and riding mare with her new born
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

South Iceland House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7-9)

In Iceland it’s illegal to rent out house/apartment to visitors without having necessary licenses. This is to ensure the safety of tourists and to make sure they receive what they are paying for. The Health Authority, Fire Department, Sheriff and Building Supervisor have to give consent so house/apartment get license.

We at Hofdatun are pleased to say that we have permission from those parties and are fully licensed vacancy house. Certificates are at display for our guests verification.

We are also very pleased to say that our guest get good discount of rental cars from Geysir rental cars in Keflavik airport

THIS BEAUTIFUL HOUSE with 8 akers of land is in the heart of south Iceland. It only takes 15 min. to drive to nearest town, Selfoss and 50 min. to Reykjavík or Thingvellir national park. Then its ideal to take the golden circel tour and drive to Gullfoss and Geysir. All around the old Geysir are more spouting hot springs, such as the ever lively Strokkur (the butter Churn), which erupts every 3-5 minutes.

The house and its surroundings is wonderful in all seasons.

At Hofdatun is a chicken coop so every morning you get fresh eggs for breakfast. During the summer time there is also 6 very gentle Icelandic horses on the field next to the house. You can take supervised riding tours on them. During the winter you can meet with the horses in their winter fields or in the stable. In the winter riding tours are arranged at nearby horse rental. We also have 4-6 pregnant mares that will give birth between june 1 and august 15 2014. Witnessing a birth of a foal is something you will never forget!

In the garden you get fresh vegetable and herbs during the harvesting season. In the garden you also have large hot tub that is wonderful to bath in winter as well as summer.

In Hofdatun are 4 bedrooms where 7 adults can sleep. Baby beds can be provided free of charge.

The view from Hofdatun is very wide, you can see the volcanic Islands Vestmannaeyjar as well as Ingolfsfjall and Eyjafjallajokull

In South Iceland you find all kind off entertainment. Among many other things you can enjoy art in museums and galleries, take a walk in prehistorical places or go surfing or river rafting (for the brave one!).

Keywords: house, farm, horses, nature, golden circel, mountain view, volcano's, relax, peace and quiet

More Details
Hide Details

I´m 42 years old and was born and raised on a farm next to Hofdatun Vacation House.

I live in the garage appartment with my 2 dogs. My favorite hobby is horse riding and breeding horses. I love to take my guests horse riding and share some folks storys from the area with them. Its been so grate to get to know all the people thats been staying in the house since june 2011.

My guests have been from U.S.A, Spaine, Holland, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, England, Finland, Greenland, Belgium, Israel, Taiwan, Canada, Norway, France and Iceland.

As you can see if you reed the rewievs on Home Away my guests are very happy with everything, both the servise I provide, the location of the house, the house it self, the animals and the nature.

Thorey Ingimundardottir purchased this house in 2011

This is where I lived as a child and I belive this is the most beautiful and wonderful place in the world. I wanted to live close to all my wonderful childhood memorys

Peace and quiet is the first words that comes to my mind. During the summer time all you usually hear is the bird singing and occasionally sheep bleat or horses whinny. Then its the horse riding, I love to ride on the bank of the grate river Thjorsa in the midnight sun. Whatching how my mares is doing and when they give birth to a healthy foal is wonderful. In the winter the northern lights and all the bright stars in the sky are astonishing. Its also grate to stay inside with hot chocolate, reading a book while snow blizzard is outside.

44 Reviews of Property 381673 in South Iceland, Iceland

Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
average rating of 5.0 based on 44 reviews
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A wonderful introduction to Iceland(Tripadvisor)

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hofdatun was a perfect location to use as a base to discover the south of Iceland. We took day trips to waterfalls, geysirs, glacial lakes, black sand beaches, heritage village, seabird cliffs - so much to see and do. Thorey was a lovely host, very friendly and helpful. Her house was immaculate and spacious with 4 bedrooms. I would love my home in Canada to be so nice! We enjoyed seeing the horses each day and going on an evening ride. My first time on a horse! Staying with Thorey gave us the experience of what living in Iceland is all about, in addition to doing the sightseeing tourist stuff. Coming from Icelandic heritage, this first trip to Iceland was very special for our family, and staying at Hofdatun ensured our trip was everything we hoped for! We hope to return to see our friend, Thorey, again! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Ideal spot to get away from it all(Tripadvisor)

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
5 of 5 stars Reviewed for a stay in February 2014

This was a lovely house with beautiful surroundings. The owner was very friendly and willing to help with anything. The children loved the garden, chickens, dogs , horses and the bath!! It was great the the linen and towels was included in the price. The owner also cooked us a delicious traditional Icelandic meal on our last night which we wouldn't have got else where. It was a very relaxing area. The house was perfect for our needs. Kitchen needs some scissors!!
5 of 5 stars Ease of booking 5 of 5 stars Directions to the property
5 of 5 stars Key pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 stars Overall condition
5 of 5 stars Quality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen/utensils quality
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 stars Quality of facilities/amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: All of it
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children

The property was "as advertised".
I recommend the location.
The property was a good value for the price paid.
The property provided wifi/internet access.
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

friendly owners, clean and tidy..(Tripadvisor)

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday for a stay in April 2013 NEW

stayed in owners house for 2 nights while owner stayed in attached apartment..friendly ..... and spoke fluent English...... clean and tidy facilities ......picked fresh eggs every morning from chicken coup in back yard
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Stay on Horse Farm (tripadvisor post)

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 NEW

We stayed 2 nights on Thorey's farm in June of 2013. We had a wonderful time running in the morning, traveling in the area, riding horses on her farm and having a wonderful dinner in her home. She is very close to the ocean, pingvellir and geyser. We highly recommend staying at Thorey's home for her hospitality and to experience that part of icelandic life.
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Höfðatún :)”(posted at tripadvisor)

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
5 of 5 stars

Topp of all. Northen lights are :) spectacularr and the area is very nice. The top of it all is its only takes 1 hour to go the golden circle gullfoss, geysir, þingvellir
5 of 5 stars Ease of booking 5 of 5 stars Directions to the property
5 of 5 stars Key pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 stars Overall condition
5 of 5 stars Quality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen/utensils quality
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Bathroom
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Scandia MN - USA
5

Very nice home and helpful owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife, daughter and son-in-law stayed for 2 nights at Hofdatun. The home is well kept and clean with large rooms and a very modern and complete kitchen. The on-site manager, Thorey, was very helpful and accommodating. She prepared a meal for us that was fabulous. She also took my daughter and son-in-law on an extensive horse ride that they greatly enjoyed. Sellfoss, the nearest town has a good market for groceries and we had a great time harvesting our breakfast eggs which was a new experience for my daughter. The home is large enough for a family or several couples. The surrounding area was quiet, pastoral farmland. It was a very relaxing vacation - Iceland is a wonderful country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Daniel, it was great to have you :)
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lovely place to stay,home..(post at TripAdvisor)

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Reviewed 3 days ago for a stay in January 2014 NEW

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at Hofdatun. The pictures do not do this place justice. The place was immaculately clean with lovely fresh bed linen, towels and flannels etc. Everything you needed to make your stay as hassle free as possible. Thorey the owner was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend a stay here and will definitely come back again as we were made very welcome. I enjoyed popping out to the chickens for fresh eggs first thing in the morning. Its a shame I didnt get to meet Thoreys horses but there is always next time :-)
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Comfort
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A beautiful and relaxing stay(post at Tripadvisor)

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent 2 nights at Hofdatun at the beginning of the summer and had a wonderful stay. Thorey was an very gracious and welcoming host; she made us feel at home as soon as we arrived and even took my sister and I out to see a brand new baby foal that had been born that morning! It was amazing to be surrounded by the extremely friendly Icelandic horses, and enthusiastically greeted by Thorey's adorable puppy.

We got to go out for a horseback ride through the beautiful countryside, and had the unique and fun experience of collecting our own eggs from the hen-house for breakfast.

The house was beautiful as well, and the black-out shades were very effective for our stay during the time of midnight sunshine!

We had a wonderful experience and would love to come back.
5 of 5 stars Ease of booking 5 of 5 stars Directions to the property
5 of 5 stars Key pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 stars Overall condition
5 of 5 stars Quality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen/utensils quality
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 stars Quality of facilities/amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The friendly animals
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
My age: 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups

The property was "as advertised".
I recommend the location.
The property was a good value for the price paid.
The property provided wifi/internet access.
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
5

A True Highlight of our Iceland Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
When we planned our trip to Iceland & decided to take 2 days to do the Golden Circle & the South Coast, we thought it would make sense to spend the night somewhere in the middle, as opposed to going back to Reykjavik. In a search on the internet, we found this wonderful farmhouse & decided that would be the perfect overnight in between the 2 tours. What was supposed to just be a convenient sleeping arrangement turned into one of the absolute highlights of our trip. When we drove into this spectacular & beautiful property, we were greeted with the flag of our country! We found out that our host had graciously put the flag up to welcome us. That was just the first indication of her kindness & thoughtfulness. This is a host unlike any host we've ever encountered because this farmhouse was fully created & decorated by her loving & tasteful hand. When you arrive, it feels as if you're the first person to ever stay there, because it is immaculate from top to bottom. There are lovely pictures of the family on the walls and so you feel that you're staying in a real home. And being welcomed with that warm & gentle smile of this lovely host who is genuinely excited & happy to greet us began our stay with such perfection. She showed us the house & the wonderful gardens & then introduced us to her beautiful horses which have to be the most loving creatures we have ever encountered. She made us feel as if we were long lost friends coming back home again, but of course, that is the nature of the lovely Icelandic people. The house itself is as comfortable as anything we've ever stayed in, & we found ourselves almost wishing we had not made dinner reservations because none of us wanted to leave the house. But the legendary Icelandic lobsters were calling to us, so out we went. But upon returning, we all felt as if we had just come home again & found that our wonderful host had left us a gorgeous bottle of champagne as a welcome gift. We cannot say enough about how comfortable the beds were & a special highlight was the amazing hot tub/whirlpool in the master bath & were very glad when the champagne put our friends to sleep so that we could share a romantic evening in that beautiful hot tub. The next morning we had the great joy of going to the chicken coup & collecting the most delicious, fresh eggs we have ever tasted. Our biggest regret was that we made Reykjavik our home base. Next time, we will plan a much longer stay at Hofdatun. This is indeed a very special place!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, it was truly my pleasure to have you :)
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Our best accommodation in Iceland(TripAdvisor)

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
“Our best accommodation in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The perfect place for our family of 7 - our adult children were with us and there was ample space for all of us. A well appointed kitchen, bright living area with lots of windows, comfortable beds, everything spotlessly clean ..... But best of all, a friendly, accommodating host in Thorey, a lovely environment with the horses just outside our door, dogs to greet us when we drove in from our sight seeing trips and endless space in all directions.... despite being 10 min from town. Horseback riding in the midnight sun was the best!