St. Croix villa rental
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps14
  • 7 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

St. Croix Villa Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms, 7 Baths (Sleeps 12-14)

Mill Point is a former rum distillery turned vacation rental and is one of St. Croix's most exclusive private homes. The villa is comprised of 6 suite bedrooms and a Gran Salon with the living, dining, and kitchen areas. The main 'pods' open up on the large, 10' deep pool with a patio that offers the most incredible ocean views that the west ends has to offer. Mill Point earned it's name because it is built around one of St. Croix's many historical Danish Sugar Mills, completed in 1780. The home itself was built in a modern design, conceptualized by reknown author Leon Uris and construction was completed in 1970. The 10 acres on which the home is located, also contains historically significant ruins of the Butler's Bay Sugar and Rum Factory (1787), as well as the 1760 caretakers home. We have two of the oldest and largest Baobab Trees in the new world.

Additional Information: The grounds have been maintained by Mr. Cryil, our beloved gardener, since before 1980. His talent is evident in every glance you take around the property which is yours to explore. He will also inform you and your guests if you have any questions.

Mill Point offers all of the desires for her guests, whether it be relaxing the days away in the sugar mill(which has been turned into an outdoor living room)or floating in the pool while overlooking the beautiful Caribbean. Maybe, you will be able to catch an elusive green flash at Sunset! Then again, if activity is what you want, hike the guts of the west end just a short walk away and be transported back in time to what the islands looked like before settled by man! Beautiful beaches stretch across the way where Mill Point is located. From private coves to beaches with activities such as jet ski's, beach volleyball, and restaurants, all in the area!

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 380946 in St. Croix, Virgin Islands

Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
4

Beautiful Mill Pointe

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed at the beautiful Mill Pointe villa with our group of 6 couples. The home and property were absolutely amazing and the views of the sea were gorgeous. The property is very unique and well equipped. Our only problem was an accident on the first night of our arrival. One lady in our company slipped, after a rain shower, on the stone steps coming from her bedroom and knocked out both upper front teeth as well as severely lacerating her lip. We were not able to reach emergency services as we had no working phone service to the villa. After we finally found the hospital, she was given palliative care and advised to go back home to the states to recieve comprehensive medical and dental care. They left the next day and unfortunately lost their vacation before it began. We were told a magic jack was being put on the phone when we left at the end of the week. Hopefully phone service can be improved in case of future medical emergencies.
Owner's Response: Hi Elizabeth,

We are so sorry to hear someone had an accident while on vacation. Unfortunately, the remote and private location of Mill Point offers weak phone service. We have installed an internet phone line that has been working well. Please extend our best regards and positive thoughts to the injured party. I am happy to hear that albeit the accident the group loved Mill Point and the island of St. Croix.
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
5

Amazing million dollar views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We were greeted at the airport by Diane and she led the way to this amazing place. Diane also helped out booking a sail to Buck Island. A must see. The house was as described the only draw back was screens missing in the master bedroom which made the AC a must because you could not get the wonderful evening breezes. Also hopefully they fix the road to get to the house as it was full of potholes. Not very big problems for a wonderful vacation. We will certainly be back to visit again.
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
5

Mill Point paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our stay at Mill Point was amazing! From the moment we arrived and saw the beautiful expansive sea views we were in Island bliss. This property is truly one of a kind and unforgettable! We are already planning our next visit this summer!

Thank you Jennifer for being so accommodating and gracious.
Celaine
Owner's Response: Hi Celaine!

Great having you, and look forward to seeing you all again soon :)
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
3

Island was beautiful

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a group of 10 family members. The property was beautiful, and the description was pretty right on. Our only issue was with the management while we were there. The on-site caretakers were awesome by trying to fill in the gaps we didn't get from our manager. Would we come again? Yes. Here? Depends on who is manageing. Spent way to much time on the phone trying to get issues taken care of.
Owner's Response: We were so sorry to hear of the issues during your stay and hope that the refund and honesty of island time for repairs showed our commitment to ensuring a wonderful vacation at Mill Point. Also, during this time I was balancing a new born, so we all know life can get a little upside down then! Mill Point strives to succeed in guest satisfaction and will continue to do so. We hope you may reconsider your stay at Mill Point for your future island getaways!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Maine
5

Family Thanksgiving Break at Mill Point

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We were a party of 13, including seven grandchildren ranging in age from 1 to 18. Mill Point is amazing. The property offers lots of privacy----both the location of the villa itself within the hillside acreage, and the location of the large bedrooms within the villa. There is an awesome view of the sea, a large pool, well-equipped kitchen. Lounging inside the Mill, it was always breezy and shady...one of our favorite spots. The furnishings throughout were attractive, as well as comfortable.

Morning runs along the shore road, tennis, dives, paddleboarding kept the family busy. We enjoyed swimming at the west-end beaches, including the one almost in front of the Mill Point property. We liked the proximity to Fredriksted for groceries, restaurants. In fact, other than a day at Cane Bay, Thanksgiving buffet at Carambola, and a quick trip to Christiansted, we never left "the west".

Because we had a 1 yo and a 4 yo, we requested the safety of the pool fence. There are stone and tile stairs here and there throughout the villa, so it was necessary for us to monitor the newly-walking toddler.

Everyone in the family had a terrific time and loved Mill Point. We couldn't have made a better choice for our family vacation.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
St Croix,California,Puerto Rico
5

Rediscovering St Croix

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I would definitely recommend this spot or stay here again!
When a group of family and friends decided to come visit for my sons birthday i had to get a bigger place to accommodate them,and came about Mill point through a recommendation of a friend.When i came into the sugar mill and saw the view on the next side i felt like i just had arrived in my own vacation spot in St Croix, even tho i have lived here for 3 1/2 years ,the view ,the privacy and seclusion made me feel i was miles away from home.The rooms where ample and private,and the pool area was amazing.We celebrated the birthday there with a pool party and it was a total success.The grand salon and kitchen where perfect to entertain and everyone to be comfortable specially during cooking time when everyone wanted to be the chef.The staff were extremely helpful and warm.Jeniffer and Lyndi where there for any questions or needs anytime.
This is what visiting the Caribbean is all about! Beautiful beaches to choose from and spectacular views!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Evans City, PA, USA
5

Fine for the Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Our family (10-14 adults) stayed for 3 weeks, and we were pleased with all aspects of the house and location. Very private and well equipped (No lobster pot). In 15 years of villa vacations, this may have been the best view. It was somewhat remote, so a car is necessary; but this was not an issue for us.
We thought the rental cost was very reasonable. Thanks to Jennifer for her cheerful assistance and quick handling of our requests. Beautiful grounds, too
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Kirkpatrick
5

The site's beauty is second only to the service

The site's beauty is second only to the service
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had the honor and privilege of holding the first large wedding in the ruins of the mill. Many of the other reviews reflect the joy, serenity, beauty, and hospitality of the site and of Michael and Kerri, however, none are adequate. The devotion of Michael and Kerry to this site is echoed in the care and unsurpassed service that they provide. It is this combination of quality people with a site of pure beauty, dripping with serenity, that makes Mill Point unequalled throughout the Caribbean. The ruins make a fantastic setting for a large wedding and, again, it was only through Michael's hard work that brought the site to life. The villa comfortably houses 10 adults and 3 kids with plenty of room and privacy. Thank you both so much.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Atlanta, GA
5

5 stars is not enough!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Growing up in Frederiksted, I've watched this estate at Butler Bay go from a nice place to visit, to overgrown with bush and now to an excellent property. Returning to the island for a family event, I was stunned by the view, the exquisite facilities, historical sugar mill and plantation buildings dating to the 1700's and ancient, primitive baobab trees clustered in this one location. The manager's hospitality and knowledge of the history and flora of the plantation is an asset that unparalleled at other local hotels. One must plan a tour of the buildings and ruins as part of your stay. As well as a visit to the Whim Great House museum to see what this place may have looked like in 1750. A wonderful stay and I look forward to doing it again, possibly as an annual affair for friends and family. Oh, one issue - every room requires navigating stairs. Great for staying in shape. Wheelchair or walker - not so much. This Crucian felt perfectly at home for the entire week. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was great having you and your family at Mill Point. I really loved how a few of your relatives told me the villa was like going on vacation just a few miles from home! Come back whenever you can and always, be ready to relax, St. Croix and Mill Point are ready for you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Extraordinary and Serene Beachside Villa Built Around Historic Sugar Mill!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380946
+1 3402018289
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Chattanooga, Tennessee
5

Is this heaven?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We were a little apprehensive when we rented this property for Spring Break, as just sounded too beautiful to be true. Yet when we arrived and saw the view, our jaws just dropped! The pictures actually do not do this place justice. The view from the pool is truly breathtaking. The property is modern and very well maintained. The accommodations are very comfortable and clean. Michael, the caretaker, was like a genie: one phone call and he was there right away to take care of us. His knowledge of the island is encyclopedic. We went out on the town, had dinner on the beach just down the road , did an ATV tour of the island, went sailing, and grilled by the pool. It was heavenly! I would recommend this property to anyone. We are going back in August and taking our best friends with us. I can't wait!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great week with great new friends and that is one of my goals, to have every guest leave as a friend and to come back again and soon! See you in August but if the group grows, you better rent a vehicle, I will not be able to fit all of you in my truck!!!
You were sightseeing all over the Island but as I understand it, the next visit will be spent by the pool and cooking fresh food on the grill. Of course, maybe the night or two of fine dining in Frederiksted and Christiansted! Hurry back to your new Island home!
Helpful votes: 2/2