Brevard house rental - Living Room - Partial View
Living Room - Partial View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Brevard House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Den, Sleeps 8

Round Mountain Lodge, a charming mountain home perched above Lake Jocassee on the edge of Gorges State Park, provides an amazing retreat from life's hectic pace. It is only 2 miles from 'The Wilds Camp and Conference Center' and Georges State Park, Frozen Creek access.

Set on the south side of Round Mountain between the quaint mountain towns of Brevard (17 miles) and Lake Toxaway, Round Mountain Lodge is not simply a house in the mountains, but a ''mountain home.''

The main living area boasts a cathedral ceiling and mountain views from a bank of south-facing windows. The fireplace, dressed in floral tapestry, dominates the living area. Warm wood graces interior walls. The downstairs bedroom holds a king sized bed; another large upstairs room boasts a comfy queen. All bedrooms have down comforters. The Bunk Room holds two sets of bunk beds, making Round Mountain Lodge the ideal lodging choice for two families who wish to vacation together.

The den, home to twin trundle beds, contains family games, puzzles and media equipment. Children can watch a DVD or satellite TV while adults share conversation in the quiet of the living area. Peruse the books in the ''Loft Library'' or venture onto the rock outcropping below the porch to pick blackberries.

Watch the fog roll up the mountains from the porch swing. Discover one of six waterfalls within walking distance to the Lodge. All ingredients for the perfect mountain retreat are found amidst the tranquility and mountain splendor of the Blue Ridge Escarpment.

One of only 40 homes on the 1200 acres on Round Mountain, the Lodge boasts spacious rooms, comfortable and ample furnishings, and amenities that define it as a home rather than a ''rental unit''. This beautifully decorated home is amply supplied with accoutrements for the perfect mountain get-away. In any season, Round Mountain Lodge will call you back again and again.

More Details
Hide Details

31 Reviews of Property 380944 in Brevard, North Carolina

Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 31 reviews
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
5

Christmas Revelers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We decided to rent Round Mountain Lodge for the holidays. What a perfect setting. The
Owners had decorated it for us and along with our own pre-lit Christmas tree the setting was festive. The accommodations are outstanding. The owners treat it like their full-time
Home and furnish it accordingly. Walks on the trails to some waterfalls plus several trips to
Brevard kept us busy. We even attended a Christmas Eve Church service. One piece of advice is to shop before arriving as it is a considerable distance to a grocery store.
We had firewood delivered for the lovely fireplace.
The owners are very available and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
florence
4

Fall family vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful time at Round Mountain Lodge. The house looks just like the pictures and we were very pleased. It is secluded, but feels safe. We spent a lot of time on the porch just relaxing, drinking coffee and reading. I did a lot of cooking and I had all of the things I needed in the well stocked kitchen. We liked playing the cd collection while cooking and dining. I especially liked the Tony Bennett cd so I purchased it when I got home. We liked the fire pit at night, that was fun. We hiked to some nearby waterfalls and that was a treat. Spent some time driving through Pisgah National Forest one day and another day drove to Cashiers and The Highlands. Very comfortable and inviting home away from home feel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
St. Louis, Missouri
5

Smoky Mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed with our family of 5 and the whole family loved this place. The owner has kept the property well maintained and it has a personal touch the way house is setup.

The view from every window and lower upper deck is spectacular. The Wi-Fi works great without any issues. If you are looking for a hideout away from noisy cities, traffics, shopping malls and want to enjoy in woods this is the place to go.

We are already planning to stay at this place again in fall-2013.

We loved this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Tavares, Florida
5

Nicely Appointed & Close to Everything

Nicely Appointed & Close to Everything
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family was delighted by the home;calling it a cabin makes it seem too small. The eight of us found plenty of room, supplies (the kitchen is fully stocked with every cooking implement you might ever need), and all the linens we could need. The view from the living/dinning rooms was spectacular and the screened porch was wonderful. The kids (4 of them) loved the bunk room and the "kid club" in the basement, what a great space!
Although it rained a lot of the time we were visiting, we still found lots to do and were able to enjoy the surrounding parks (National & State) during those dry moments. Fishing and swimming in The DuPont Forest was phenomenal (check out Lake Imaging for fishing and Fawn Lake for fishing and swimming). Hiking to High falls was wonderful and the torrent of water resulting from all the rain made the falls even more awe inspiring! Wow! Just Wow!
The home, itself, is full of windows connecting you to the outside through panoramic views. Make sure to spend time on the porch swing or roasting marshmallows in the fire circle out on the big rock, good times! The kids also liked the tire swing and of course the neighborhood pond is just down the street for a little fish feeding fun.
In all I can easily recommend the home/cabin...would love to return someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We're always delighted when our guests enjoy our mountain home! We've worked hard to make Round Mountain Lodge comfortable, enjoyable, and fun for children as well as adults. We use the lodge ourselves so we know what we like: Lots of supplies, activities, and accoutrements so "time away" can be as comfortable and engaging as possible. We, too, love the porch; it's a great place to relax with a good book or a glass of wine.
We're grateful for the recommendations to nearby attractions. There's a lot to do on the mountain and great places are never far away.
Thanks for the great review!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
5

Relaxing, comfortable stay in Brevard...close to town but surrounded by nature.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time in this beautiful home in Brevard. 6 adults and 2 small dogs, we were very comfortable in the home. We had a great time exploring the grounds and enjoying the downstairs entertainment porch! The weather was perfect for a late afternoon card game and then grilling for dinner. The screened in porch was perfect for breakfast and coffee each morning. We went out in Brevard, which was just a short drive away, and really enjoyed the cute town. Dinners each night were wonderful and easy because of the amazingly stocked kitchen. Literally we had everything we needed and more! Next time we’ll know we don't have to bring as much from home. This really was a “home away from home” type of stay. Owners were very easy to work with and getting into the home was easy (no off-site location to visit to pick up keys, etc.). House was thoroughly cleaned upon our arrival. Great stay overall!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
5

Round Mountain Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Round Mountain Lodge exceeded every expectation for our vacation in the mountains! The location was the perfect place for peaceful seclusion and visual beauty both inside and outside of the home. The owners provide everything you can hope for and more to make you feel at home and comfortable. The amazing scenery of nature and mountains from the upper deck made one feel that they were an actual part of a serene picture - standing still in time while the sites imprinted in your memory. Beautiful waterfalls are abundant and in close proximity to this home, so a daily outing to explore and hike the mountains and seek out the waterfalls was a real plus! The owners provided a plethora of information and reading materials on things to see and do in the area. They covered everything from A-Z in their handy Lodge Information Guide. And, when the time came to depart, it was difficult to leave behind all that we so enjoyed while there! The owners are friendly and made every effort to help make this a wonderful time for us! We definitely loved this lodge and hope to return there again!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. You have mentioned many of the reasons that we love spending time at Round Mountain Lodge ourselves. We are always happy to hear how much our guests enjoy their stay.

We hope you can make it back again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Walterboro SC
5

THE Mountain Getaway for All Ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What an absolutely wonderful home to spend a week in! Not only is the location just breathtaking, the house is truly a home away from home that is equipped with everything you could imagine needing! Our vacation at various times included adults and children from 10yrs to 82yrs.There was never a lack of anything for any of us to do! An added bonus for us was a trip to The Wilds as guests for a couple of hours where I got to ride the Big Swing with our grandson! Whoohoo! On another day, we went to downtown Brevard for a few hours where we walked around and then enjoyed a delicious meal at The Square Root restaurant. We also rode to the beautiful Looking Glass Falls since our physical limitations prohibited some of us from visiting the falls within walking distance of the house on this trip.(Maybe next time!) We also enjoyed the Sunday morning service at Old Toxaway Baptist Church which is very near. The cool weather during the week made it possible for us to use the wonderful fireplace which was such a blessing; and on other days the milder temps allowed the windows to be opened to usher in the refreshing mountain air! It was all great! We concur with the reviews of others who have spent time at Round Mountain Lodge and found it everything the listing describes and more, and we highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
5

great week-end waterfall hunting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Lovely Home, we spent a week-end here with our kids ages 8 and 11 and our dog. Fantastic hiking right outside the door. Secluded location, great view and lots of tthings to occupy the kids. I would gladly stay here again and highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Columbia, SC, USA
5

Great home in the mountains for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was a great location for a recent mountain get-away. The home is comfortable and was perfect for people with children. The screened in porch was by far our favorite place to spend time. The view is terrific and the temperature was so pleasant. There were also games and toys downstairs along with foos ball and air hockey that the children loved.
The house is very close to two waterfall hikes that are breathtaking. The owners have put together a great information binder filled with hikes and information about Brevard. When we had a question, the owner immediately returned my phone call. There are plenty of cooking utensils so no need to worry about bringing anything with you except food, of course.
The directions to the house were perfect and everything was in great shape when we arrived. It is clear this is a home that is loved and used regularly and does not feel like a museum which made it very comfortable for our group of 4 adults and 2 children.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
5

Great place to get away from it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at Round Mountain Lodge for 3 nights this past week and it was a great place to get away from everything. The view is great and the house was always cool, the whole house fan works great!! Ashville is a quick trip NW. We enjoyed our time there and the owners are very accommodating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2