New Orleans apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

New Orleans Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms 2bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)

Make your lodging as unique as New Orleans itself. The Villa Viola is located in the Faubourg Marigny, just blocks from New Orleans' famous French Quarter. Formerly the residence of entertainer Viola Veidt, this large two bedroom apartment is filled with art, antiques and memorabilia from her fascinating life. The daughter of international movie star Conrad Veidt. Miss Veidt knew many of the famous personalities of the twentieth century including Tennessee Williams, Miss Veidt lived at Mr Willaim,s Duncan St compond in Key West . She was also a friend of Jimmy Buffets and is mentioned in his Barometer Soup Liner notes, While maintaining the original warmth and eclectic style of the apartment, we have added modern amenities such as central heat and air, flat screen television and DVD player, wireless Internet connection and full laundry facilities. You will be within easy walking distance of the French Quarter, the riverfront streetcar and the Frenchmen Street entertainment district.The other half of the duplex with an identical floorplan is available as well

PLEASE NOTE all children must be OVER 12 YEARS OLD due to the art and antiques in the apartment

And please NO SMOKING

More Details
Hide Details

Moved here from Key West Florida think both places are amazing!

James Henry purchased this apartment in 2002

Love Mid Century buildings

28 Reviews of Property 380916 in New Orleans, Louisiana

Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 28 reviews
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
Baldwinsville, NY USA
5

Susan and Jerry (Central New York)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We just returned from New Orleans, where we spent a week in this wonderful, conveniently located apartment. The landlord's prompt responses to our first inquiry and follow-up e-mails as well as positive reviews from previous renters made it easy to select Villa Viola as our home away from home in New Orleans. The description and pictures on the website are accurate. There is plenty of room to relax in the comfortable space. Central air conditioning, ceiling fans in the bedrooms, complimentary wi-fi, and washer/dryer were the extras that made this rental an especially good value. The landlord's suggestions for things to do and places to eat were excellent. He was helpful without being intrusive. We rented a car in order to explore areas away from the city; parking was available in front of the apartment or across the street. We walked around the neighborhood, to and from the French Quarter, and to other parts of the city. We ate at Schiro's, Elizabeth's, and Adolfo's - all excellent and within walking distance of the apartment. We also bought fresh seafood and prepared it in the kitchen. Renting an apartment instead of staying in a hotel room elevates the travel experience and makes us feel as though we are part of the community. We would highly recommend Villa Viola to family and friends seeking an authentic New Orleans experience. We'll stay there again if we have the opportunity to return to NOLA. Thank you, James, for a wonderful week in your charming apartment.
Owner's Response: Thank-you so much! The apartment is really in a great location I have lived nearby for over a decade and love the area.You all were fanatstic I think the apartment looked better after you left! Please consider us again for your New Orleans vacation.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
sarasota, fl
5

Our new favorite neighborhood!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were celebrating our 16 wedding anniv in conjunction with a professional meeting for my husband. We loved our cozy love nest and the very fun neighborhood. Highlights were many---great accommodations, wonderful neighborhood, and my husband was able to walk to bus for convention center. Don't miss the Ogden Museum and the Cake Cafe. NOLA, I love you!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
Adelaide, South Australia
5

Villa-Viola is a comfortable apartment.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Comfortable and within a 30 minute stroll to the centre of the French Quarter.
We were recommended this Apartment and we will certainly recommend to any wanting a holiday in New Orleans.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
Grayson, KY
4

St. Roch is nice!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The place was great! Close to Decatur and all the shopping. Really enjoyed it!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
4

Villa Viola Review

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Love the decor of this home which complimented the history. The owner was always quick to respond to emails and phone call questions as well as extremely accommodating! I loved how he stopped in upon dropping bedding off and told us more of the previous owner....very interesting! He supplies all of the required amenities and more....washer/dryer with soap, keurig coffee maker with k-cups, coffee maker should you bring your own (altho...we overlooked the coffee maker for days...ha ha!), bottles of water, LOTS of towels, a flat iron, and much more!!! Very reasonable priced and close to everything...a doggie park on the way to the french market (a short walk), a cafe around the corner, a HUGE market a block from the cafe (also has eat in and all your needs for mardie gras upstairs), a couple of bars featuring live music, an art gallery across the street, a bed and breakfast a block away that is an eat in restaurant (GREAT FOOD!); snack store; and beer/liquor/wine store, a laundromat next to the B&B, a little bit of a walk to Bourbon Street - if you are up to it - if not, a very short drive, a short drive to the convention center, riverwalk, and the aquarium. Thank you sooooo much!! I would stay here again for sure!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You all were great guests so glad you had a good time. Please come and visit us again. If you bribe me with a glass of wine I have some great Viola stories!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
windsor, colorado usa
3

new orleans

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
great location, close to frenchman street. comfortable bed in master, squeaky bed in other. needs to be deep cleaned, floors dirty. could hear snoring next door. the location is the best recommendation, nice to have coffee and bottled water available. also appreciate the info about new orleans provided. owner responded quickly when the pilot light went out due to wind. biggest gripe could be taken care of with a good cleaning, and upkeep on that. need zip up pillow case liners over pillows and under pillow cases.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Sorry you were unhappy with your stay,
I was out of state during your visit and my normal cleaning person was having surgery. The floors need a good coat of wax to look good which they did not do,they are being replaced with hardwood this June.
The beds do have bedbug proff matress covers. The bed is an antique so not much that can be done about it being noisy just part of its charm.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
Montreal. Quebec Canada
4

Vila Viola & around town

Vila Viola & around town
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Once again, nothing but a wonderful experience staying here. If you don't mind walking, then this is the place for you. The neighborhood is quaint, & the locals who live there are friendly & very helpful.
As with last year ( yes, I returned), James was very helpful in answering all my questions. No stone was left un-turned. The pictures that are posted, are 100% accurate! The place is lovely..however, the ONLY reason I did not rate it this time around as "excellent" was that I found the inside to not be as clean as last year, who knows, maybe a new cleaning service. That said, if Very Good was an"experience"option to rate this property, I would have chosen it.
Fenchmen street is a great place to see local bands. Walk in to a bar, sit, enjoy the music, tip the band, wait, have a drink, & before you know it, a different band is up and playing. Everyone should experience Bourbon street at least once...very touristy though. If you prefer laid back, the Frenchem is the street for you, just a few blocks up from Vila Viola. Note that New Orleans is not made for high heals.. saw many a women turn on their ankles while walking. If you're looking for AWESOME po-boys, go to Johnny Po-boys, corner of Decateur & St Louis..get there early though, as they close early (late afternoon). If crawfish is what you want..no need to look too far, go to the French Market (Decateur) & see the men at the "Oyster Bar" you can't go wrong! If you're looking for a great tour, try "Taste Bud"tours, they take you to about 4 different restaurants to try their local food..another HIT!! Don't forget to take in the Calypso Tumblers, at Jackson square, they'll WOW you with their acrobatic moves. Tell them we say HI :)
Never one to return somewhere twice, however, I think I see "third times a charm" and would most definitly return again to Vila Viola!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
Milwaukee, WI
5

Awesome Mardi Gras HQ

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed in Villa Viola over Mardi Gras 2013. It was a great experience. It made for an awesome Mardi Gras headquarters. Within walking distance of everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
Oak Park, IL
5

Best location and well priced

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The location is perfect and steps from all the Marigny spots. The rooms were comfortable and the place included coffee and the essentials you;d expect from a hotel. I will definitely return to this one.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Viola - Elegant Large Furnished Apt Near French Qtr
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380916
New Orleans Louisiana
Alexandria, VA
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The accommodations were comfortable for our foursome but more importantly the location was perfect for what we were interested in. We were within easy walking distance Frenchman St and not too far from the French Quarter. We felt our experience was more local than tourist and enjoyed our time more in this residential area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2