Maunaloa house rental - View of the house from on of the many great spots on Dixie Maru beach
View of the house from on of the many great spots on Dixie Maru beach
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
Minimum Stay nights
 

Maunaloa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This spacious BEACHFRONT home is located on a private, gated 5-acre estate sized parcel on the island’s remote West End, ideally situated DIRECTLY ON DIXIE MARU BEACH, the ONLY SAFE SWIMMING BEACH on the island all year long. On Molokai you will find unspoiled beaches up and down the coastline, but this is everyone's favorite because of the ideal swimming conditions in this small secluded beach cove. While others advertise beach front, no one can boast of having ocean front that is swimmable all year long. Why settle for just a beach when you can be the ONLY ONE to have your own spot in the sun where you can swim too. Molokai is friendly locals with true “aloha spirit,” and a relaxed lifestyle unique to the island of Molokai. Unobstructed by development, you are invited to explore the “friendly isle” and create your own dream vacation in a true Hawaiian paradise.

This 4-bedroom house is beautifully furnished, offers all the comforts of home, and is ideally suited for large families and for entertaining. The large living room with its high ceilings provides a wonderful family gathering area, which leads to a 650 square foot open air deck that is perfect for sunbathing, whale watching, spectacular sunsets, BBQ's and eating under the stars. There are two plantation teak dining sets to accommodate a private dinner party. Enjoy expansive views of the Pacific Ocean and of Diamond Head and the Honolulu city lights across the Kaiwi Channel. Off the deck is a 1-acre lawn which is ideal for kids’ games and other outdoor sports and activities. The smartly configured kitchen with updated appliances makes mealtimes a breeze. Directly off the living room is a 775 square foot enclosed lanai which provides a comfortable area for dining, reading, puzzles/board games or simply relaxing on the comfortable teak patio furniture. Spacious bedrooms, all of which offer incredible ocean views, enable you to unwind and recharge following the day’s activities as you fall asleep to the soothing sounds of the ocean just outside your windows.

During the day, Molokai offers something for everyone: miles of unpaved trails provide endless challenges for avid mountain bikers. Ocean-lovers will find spectacular swimming, body surfing, snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, scuba diving and standup paddle boarding. And if you enjoy surfing, the waves here can reach world class conditions during certain times of the year. For hikers, there are hikes to deserted beaches, hikes into the lush, tropical Halawa valley and waterfalls on the East side of the island, hikes inland around the Nature Conservancy’s Kamakou Preserve, hikes overlooking the dramatic North Shore (featuring the world’s tallest sea cliffs), and hikes overlooking (or down to) the Kalaupapa National Historical Park (historical leper colony), to name a few!

Grocery stores, restaurants, bakeries, etc. are all located in the town of Kaunakakai – approximately 30 minutes away by car – which is the center of activity on the island. On Saturday mornings you can browse the Kaunakakai outdoor marketplace for local crafts and delicious locally-grown foods. Molokai's newest addition is Kumu Farms, where you can buy locally grown organic fruits and vegetables, along with Molokai grass fed beef, and the best pesto you have ever tasted. A touch of Tuscany awaits you. Along the south shore you can still find ancient coastal fishponds, originally built for Hawaiian chiefs and kings. Maunaloa Town is located 10 minutes away, where you will find a General Store, Post Office, the Big Wind Kite Factory and a neighborhood of plantation-style homes, reminiscent of “old Hawaii,” surrounded by the undeveloped ranchlands owned by the Molokai Ranch. It is just a short plane ride from Honolulu, Maui or the island of Hawaii to Molokai’s Ho’olehua Airport.

After a day or two of exploring, you will come to agree that you have the BEST SPOT ON THE ISLAND.

You can swim, bike (bike rental available in town), sunbathe, and watch some of the most fabulous sunsets over Waikiki from your lanai. It can't get any better! This is 'No Ka Oi' as the Hawaiians say..'the best'!

After visiting the island I’m sure you will agree that Molokai is the world’s best kept secret! No crowds, no traffic, no stress. Molokai – an island suspended in time. Molokai is as the locals say:

'Mo-Bettah'!

State of Hawaii Business Registration # W 30474174-01

Keywords: Beachfront, Dixie Maru Beach, Oceanfront, Private

More Details
Hide Details

The location directly on famous Dixie Maru Beach is unique to only two houses. This is the only one of the two that is situated to see the entire bay and beach from the house and lanai. This beach is the only real safe swimming beach all year long on Molokai. Popahaku Beach is beautiful but dangerous for swimming much of the year. Most people find their way to this secluded cove for swimming, snorkeling, and watching the sunsets.

21 Reviews of Property 244244 in Maunaloa, Hawaii

Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
5

Aloha -Slow Down This is Molokai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
You see this sign on the way out of the airport,but you FEEL it when you get to this house. We have been so blessed to have been able to return to Molokai and this awesome home on Dixie Maru Beach! This home will accomodate a very large group, but my husband (of 33 years) and I like it all to ourselves. The Master Suite is so comfortable,sleeping to the sound of the ocean..priceless! We walked down the short private path to watch the sunset EVERY night. We would bar-b-q on the deck, have dinner and wait till the beach was empty to go down. The most fabulous sunsets ever, and gentle waves, great for swimming. In the mornings our only decision would be, are we going for a swim before or after breakfast?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
San Francisco
5

Peaceful paradise found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This house is truly paradise and is located on a beautiful, secluded beach with calm waters perfect for swimming. We were looking to get away from it all and this was the spot in which to do just that. The beach was totally deserted most of the time. If there were others there it was mid-day and just a few people. In the mornings and afternoons/evenings we had the place entirely to ourselves. Except for swimming with a couple sea turtles who were welcome company! They are so curious they swim right up near you and check you out. Very cool.

The yard in front of the house is a great spot to lounge as well and we sat there eachh night watching the most amazing sunsets across the channel with Oahu in the distance. Each night's sunset was different than the others and this part of the island is the best place to watch the sun set. Follow tthat up with more stanrs than you can possibly imagine and some shooting stars to boot and this place is a great place to sit back and let nature wow you.

But if you want to be more active or have kids just go open the garage door and you will see a ton of nice equipment with enough for a large extended family. There were bikes, boogie boards, snorkeling gear, coolers, beach chairs, helmets, pads. You name it and there were multiple versions of it there for enjoyment.

You really have to do everything yourself as there is not much happening on Molokai, but that is precisely what we were looking for. The town is stocked with a decent grocery store (Friendly market) and most importantly a fairly well stocked liquor store with a good wine selection.

The owner was great too providing lots of links and helpful recommendations. GREAT communication and really reasonable and easy to do business with.

Thais place totally rocks and is on the best beach on Molokai in my opinion.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
Kalama, WA
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house was the best rental experience we've ever had. Scott made all communication smooth and every step was clear. As some of the other reviewers state, this may be the best rental house in all of Hawaii. The kitchen was well equipped, including seasonings etc (not a bare refrigerator as so many rentals are). The bedrooms are spacious and there really isn't a bad spot in the whole house. The huge dining room/sun room has a large bed which we thought was a bit odd at first. However that room gets the best light all day and is the perfect spot for a nap or some reading when you want a break from direct sun. The barbecue worked fine and was in use every night. There is a TV and other electronics, but honestly with the prime location and easy stroll to the cove, who wants to watch the news? The sports gear in the garage met all of our needs (bikes, kayaks, snorkel gear). My only complaint was that we eventually had to leave the Dixie Maru house and return to reality. Mahalo, Scott. It was everything we hoped for. We will be back for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
PA
5

Best property on the island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you're looking for privacy, seclusion and an authentic Hawaiian experience, this Molokai property is the place for you. The location is outstanding. I agree with other reviewers - this is the BEST HOUSE on the island! We were very happy with our decision to stay on the West end, and without a doubt - Dixie Maru Beach House was a perfect choice. Views are non-stop gorgeous from every window. It's quiet, and very private. The beach is right outside your door - just a short trail down to a very protected and gentle cove. The home is clean and well maintained, I appreciate that all of the switches were labeled! Nice touch. Beds are comfortable, tons of space to stretch out. If you're there to cook - and let's face it -- in Molokai, you'll need to fend for yourself when it comes to dining -- you'll find a surprisingly well- stocked pantry. I was thrilled to find all kinds of oils, vinegars, condiments, spices, etc. - all I needed to buy was fresh fish and veggies, which were pretty easy to find at the market. Travel tip - tuck a small sharpening stone in your bag, as the kitchen knives are pretty dull, which is typical with a rental. I also let the owner know upon leaving that the skillets were shot - he wrote back and said he is getting new ones, so that will make things easier. Bottom line - this is THE PLACE to stay in Molokai!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
San Diego, CA
5

Amazing house in an unbeatable location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Amazing house in an unbeatable location. Perfect place to stay for families, couples or friends. Very charming 2 floor home with 4 bedrooms, expansive sunroom with wrap around windows, fully equipped kitchen, bbq grill, and a great deck to watch the sunset over Dixie Maru Bay. The house sits directly above Dixie Maru Bay so you can just walk to the beach from your backyard! We found Dixie Maru to be the best spot for swimming, sunbathing, surfing, whale watching, and lava rock tide pooling on the island (and we traveled around the entire island). The Dixie Maru home met all of our needs and exceeded our expectations. Our perfect days consisted of hanging out at our backyard beach cove, bbqing fresh, local beef & veggies we picked up at Kumu Farms (Molokai's best organic farm!), watching the humpback whales swim past, and enjoying sunset from the deck with a Hawaiian beer in hand! We look forward to returning to Molokai & the Dixie Maru home, and we highly recommend this place for your vacation stay on Molokai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
Montréal, Canada
5

Molokai's best !!

Molokai's best !!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The minute you lay a foot into this house, you get hooked!! The view of the ocean from every room, balcony and deck is stunning!!! This house is simply perfect for a FULL Molokai experience. It does't miss a thing, and, every apparel works fine, and, it is very clean.
Since my familly and I spent two beautiful weeks there, we can surely testefy to the description of the house that it is trully THE BEST SPOT ON MOLOKAI, no question!!
Also, it is clear that the property is very well managed, we had booklets, infos, guides, everything to make our stay comfortable and easy. Many thanks to Scott.
Mahalo nui.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
Glendale, Arizona
5

Total Relaxation on the beautiful island of Molokai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Wow! It's been two weeks since my family has returned from our wonderful vacation at Dixie Maru. We are still talking about it and dreaming of our next vist. The house has everything you need for your stay and the location is fabulous- a quick walk down the path to the beach and a 30 minute drive to town to gather groceries. We saw deer, seals, turkey, and our very own rooster during our stay. The deck is perfect for relaxing in the morning and evenings, staring into the sea and listening to the waves. We'll be back to beautiful Molokai and Dixie Maru house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

La Vie est belle a Dixie Maru!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Life is good in Molokai. We will be back 4 more!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Amazing trip!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
What an amazing trip with great people. I enjoyed the lazy days on the beach with a beer. Went
on a couple of adventures and explored the island. Definitely go to to the Farmer's Market downtown on Saturday morning. Than you for a great visit and holiday. I will return.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach House on Dixie Maru Beach...5 Acres Protected Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p244244vb
+1 808-639-9530
Maunaloa Molokai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Seven days in Paradise is not enough!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Second time to Molokai, but first time to Dixie Maru and this beach house, and it did not disappoint. We felt very at home in the gorgeous accommodations, and the stunning views didn't hurt either!
Went fishing, explored the island with drives all over, and spent lots of time on the beach and lanai lounging and relaxing. Ahhhhhh!
There was lots of whale watching right off the lanai.
Can't wait to come back....the guys are already petitioning for summer and winter trips.
Mahalo
Helpful votes: 3/3