New Hope cottage rental - This is the Gothic Cottage.
This is the Gothic Cottage.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

New Hope Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Most Romantic Getaway:

Situated on one of Bucks County's most fabled properties in the historic hamlet of Phillips' Mill,PA and just 1 1/2 miles from downtown New Hope, PA. sits this private Medieval English village. Renowned architect, painter, wood worker, and iron worker, Morgan Colt built this extraordinary village at the turn of the 20th century to be his residence. (Note: Please don't inquire about one nite stays)

Located in the middle of this medieval village is your romantic one bedroom Gothic cottage. As you walk through the village, you'll feel as though you've stepped back in time and you're now in England 900 years ago. The Gothic Cottage has a Living Room, Bedroom with skylight (all fresh bed linens are provided for you), full Kitchen (small) with Spanish tile (kitchen is stocked with all pots, pans and cooking utensils and coffee for the Kurig coffee maker. Full Bathroom that comes complete with fresh towels... for your stay.

Relax And Enjoy: Step down into the sunken Italian garden and enjoy a glass of wine while you watch the sun set. This area has loads of great restaurants, art galleries, antique stores, live music , theater and cabarets, boat rides, old steam engine train rides... (See about our second cottage) Note: Please don't inquire about one nite stays.)

Relax and enjoy a glass of your favorite wine in the sunken Italian garden: Four large ornate stone pedestals were imported from a palace in Italy by Morgan Colt in the early 1900's and barged up the canal to Colt's residence where they have been standing at each corner of the sunken Italian garden for the last 100 years.

If you don't feel like cooking dinner, just walk out your door, down the cast-stone walkway, through the beautiful garden courtyards and through the large Medieval iron gates, where you will come upon The Inn at Phillip's Mill, also built by Morgan Colt and arguably 'the most romantic restaurant in all of Bucks County' (For weekend dining, you must call ahead for reservations. Note: Once you have booked your stay at The Gothic Cottage, we will provide you with an information packet about your stay that will also contain the restaurant's reservation phone number. (Note: Sorry but we absolutely can't do one night stays)

Secluded Yet So Close To So Much: This is a great location aprox 1 &1/2 miles north of downtown New Hope, and Lambertville which are famous for their numerous fine art galleries, museums, wineries, great shopping destinations, antique stores, polo, great restaurants, boat rides, walking trails, bike trails, live music and live theater at the famous Bucks County Playhouse...

Another high point of staying here is that the village sits on the banks of the beautiful Delaware Canal which gives you instant access to the canal towpath where you can walk, or ride your bikes (1 mile) to historic downtown New Hope, PA, Lambertville or Stockton, NJ. The Gothic Cottage has private off-street parking and is available all year round so you can make this your new home away from home. (Note: Sorry but we absolutely can't do one night stays)

The Gothic Cottage is perfect for weekend getaways, week long vacations or temporary lodging and can comfortably accommodate two people. Extended stays, include weekly house cleaning services. (Note: Sorry but we absolutely can't do one night stays)

Unique Benefits of this Cottage: If you don’t feel like cooking dinner, just walk out your door, down the cast-stone walkway, through the beautiful private garden courtyards and Medieval iron gates, where you will come upon The Inn at Phillip’s Mill, also built by Morgan Colt and arguably “the most romantic' restaurant in all of Bucks County. Friday thru Sunday, you should call ahead for reservations and its BYOB.

Once you have booked your stay at the Gothic Cottage, we will provide you with an information packet about your stay that will also contain the restaurant’s reservation phone number. (Note: Sorry but we absolutely can't do one night stays)

More Details
Hide Details

This property originally belonged to my father's grandfather, Dr. George Morley Marshall who thought it such a beautiful countryside to paint that he called his boyhood friend and artist, William Lathrop and sold a portion of the property to Lathrop, thus began the School of Pennsylavania Impressionists here in the New Hope/ Phillips' Mill area. Soon after, Lathrop sold a few acres to Morgan Colt. who was a well known architect, painter, woodworker, and iron worker. Morgan Colt then began building this extrodinary little English Village to be his residence. We purchased this property in 1995 and in 2010 decided to make two of the cottages available to rent on VRBO (Gothic Cottage) seen here and (Herringbone Cottage) also listed on VRBO. Please ask for our brochure which has photos and discription of both of our rental Cottages here.

18 Reviews of Property 380738 in New Hope, Pennsylvania

Romantic Private English Village
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
5

Most Romantic Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We arrived the day after a pretty big snow storm - the grounds were plowed and shoveled. We had no problem finding it, despite the fact that it is DEFINITELY tucked away (in a very good way).
Property Owner/Manager was awesome in not only explaining everything about our cottage, but about local eateries, places to go and an unbelievable education on the historics of the villlage! We truly enjoyed listening to both him and his Mom - we were lucky enough to meet her too!
Even when just in the planning stages, he recommended "the most romantic restaurant" and supplied the information for contacting them. He was so right! We were celebrating a wedding anniversay and it was just perfect for the occasion.
For those reluctant to drink and drive, the restaurant was about a 3 minute walk (even with snow on the ground!) from our cottage!
I told him (and I meant it), we intend to come back and catch the other 3 seasons there!
It was just wonderful... All the comforts of home in the cottage, even things you wouldn't expect: a Keurig, K-cups, a supply in the bathroom of items you might need (cotton balls and q-tips), shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer! (Who thinks of these things? He does!) I may have packed "my own" things, but it was great to see things like that there in case I forget something in the future.
He also gives you his number and tells you not to hesitate to call for anything you might need.
To answer the "standard" questions:
Yes, I would recommend this to any single or couple look for some peace and quiet, tranquil time.
The description was very accurate yet, still did not tell you about all the little touches that were so special. The description conveys the romance of both the cottage and the village, yet somehow, it's even better than you would expect!
Excellent customer service, could not have been better!
We loved the nearby restaurant for a very romantic dinner (okay, actually 2 because we loved it so much)!
We spent 5 hours walking around the nearby shopping village to burn off the wonderful breakfast at a local restaurant in Stockton.
We enjoyed the Stockton Market (indoors) as well.
We cannot wait to return...
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
Grenloch NJ
5

A Romantic Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were married on October 12th and this was our first weekend away as husband and wife.WOW!!!Your little cottage is amazing and so are you! Thank you so much for sharing your family story with us. Beautiful! We live only about an hour away but felt like we were in Europe. We will be back for more than 2 days next time. Thank you for the recommendation: The Phillips Mill Inn is the most romantic place and the food is outstanding. Thank you again!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
New Jersey
5

Charming & Romantic

Charming & Romantic
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a lovely spot for a tucked away romantic anniversary! Stepping back in time, feeling a bit hidden in the gardens, it really is a wonderful relaxing experience. I bet it is beautiful year round. Lots of places to hike, bike ride and see. Foodie lovers paradise with all the restaurants in Lambertville and New Hope with more quiet for the alone time. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
pennsylvania
5

A perfect stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Thank you to our wonderful hosts for providing such an enchanting place to stay. It was hard to leave the cottage and its beautifully peaceful surroundings to take advantage of the local shops, restaurants, bike trails and other attractions. We loved everything about the weekend and would recommend it to anyone. The pictures didn't do it justice! And they certainly don't convey the incredible sense of local history you get when staying there. Thanks again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Martha. It was lovely meeting you both

Kurt
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
Sacramento
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Had a comfortable, accommodating stay at the cottage. There is so much to see and do in New Hope and the surrounding area...shopping, art, fabulous scenery, history, great restaurants, etc. etc. Our host and hostess were wonderful...personable and full of interesting stories about the area that will make your stay that much better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marsha, we enjoyed meeting you too.

Kurt
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
5

A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our friends stayed in one cottage and my husband and I in the other. They were both very clean and well-appointed. The tiny village had loads of charm. Our hosts, Eleanor and Kurt were extremely friendly and helpful. New Hope was very close by. We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend this rental.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
Philadelphia,PA
5

Great Weekend Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
-cottages were better than expected: clean, tidy, with everything we needed for a relaxed weekend away!
-hosts met us and showed us around and were available for any questions
-property is a hidden gem!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
Teaneck, NJ
5

Fairytale Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were so impressed when we first saw the cottage and the little village that surrounds it. It was well tucked away so no one could find us, as if we had stepped into a storybook. The gardens were beautiful, the area was extremely quiet and afforded us the perfect weekend away from it all. The cottage was well equipped and extremely clean, it was a great value. We were able to ride our bikes along the canal path, which was extremely accessible, and were a stone's throw from the towns of New Hope and Lambertville. The owners were extremely helpful in getting us settled and clued us in on the Friday night fireworks that happen in the summertime (quite a nice display!). This was a perfect romantic getaway, we didn't want to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jannette ;-)

Kurt
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
5

Enchanting 10 day stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
From the moment we rounded the corner and walked into the beautiful cluster of cottages we felt like we had entered a fairytale setting. The cottage was charming, clean and so thoughtfully put together that we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and truly enjoyable. The gardens were beautiful and the evenings with the torches lit were romantic and enchanting.

Eleanor and Kurt are outstanding hosts. Not only did they ensure we had everything we needed, they were a joy to get to know.

Even though we could have prepared our own dinners, the close proximity to Lambertville and New Hope and the great restaurants in these towns provided us the opportunity to experience an outstanding, varied cuisine. In some instances we got take-out to eat in the gardens outside our cottage.

There is so much to do in the area, and yet, we were drawn back to the cottage, the gardens, the birds and a place where relaxation was truly possible.

Thank you, Eleanor and Kurt.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very kind words. That was very thoughtful of you. We so enjoyed having you here and getting to know you also. Please let us know where you finally settle down. In the mean time, have a wonderful Summer.

All the best, Kurt and Eleanor
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Private English Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380738
+1 (908) 244-0567
New Hope Bucks County
Central Pennsylvania
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We arrived on May 25th greeted by Kurt and his beautiful mother Eleanor. A tour of the of grounds and the aroma of blossoming honeysuckle set the tone for our weekend of romance and reconnection. Friday evening was spent in the bustling town of New Hope. We enjoyed microbrews at Triumph, shopping, a band along the river and a fantastic display of fireworks over the Delaware river. Saturday morning we ventured to Lovin from the Oven in Frenchtown. My husband the "anti-organic vegetable meat eater" stated it was the best breakfast ever. He had an open-face egg sandwich with a tomato slice that tasted fresh from the garden. I enjoyed the quiche and fruit salad. The restaurant was quaint, wholesome, and reviving. Next stop was the Old York Cellars winery in Ringoes. Knowledgable and friendly staff enticed us to enjoy several white wines and of course purchases. Shopping at the Stockton Farmers Market proved to be a treasure...fresh asparagus, kale, radishes, breads and cheese! Lambertville Station provided a lunch that could not be surpassed. As the storms rolled in, we enjoyed a blissful nap under the skylights in the cottage. A trip to Buck's County can not be complete without a shopping excursion at the Peddlers Village. We enjoyed a classy dinner at Earl's. History abounds in the area shared by Pennsylvania and New Jersey! We enjoyed sitting in the gardens at Gothic Cottage taking in the sights and sounds. You will not be disappointed by renting this delighttful historic cottage!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We love to hear about your stay. Now in July, the honeysuckle is still blooming! Hope to see you again soon. Have a great Summer, Kurt
Helpful votes: 2/2