Oakland cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Oakland Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, sleeps up to 12

This lovely log cabin, 2 miles from Wisp Ski, and 1/2 mile from lake, which is great for year-round enjoyment. Be close to all attractions and feel like you're in a secluded hideaway. Year-round Maryland vacation activities abound in Deep Creek Lake Maryland.

In the mountains of Western Maryland in Garrett County, Deep Creek Lake offers recreation and relaxation year-round. Deep Creek Lake Maryland has something for everyone. Activities and things to do include boating, water skiing, hiking, whitewater rafting on the Youghiogheny River, snow skiing at Wisp Resort, hunting, miniature golf, and championship Maryland vacation golf courses. For shoppers, numerous fine gift shops are nearby. Within a few minutes are restaurants of all types. Five state parks including Swallow Falls State Park which features Swallow Falls and Muddy Creek Falls, Maryland's largest waterfall are a short drive away.

Deep Creek Lake State Park : Most of the parks visitor services are located on State Park Road along the waterfront of Deep Creek Lake. The park includes approximately 1 mile of shoreline on this, Maryland's largest man-made lake. Access is available for fishing, swimming, and boat launching. Several picnic areas offer excellent views of the lake with easy access to the beach and other facilities.

Swallow Falls State Park : This mountain park is located nine miles north of Oakland, Maryland and contains some of Maryland's most breathtaking scenery. The Youghiogheny River flows along the park's borders, passing through shaded rocky gorges and creating rippling rapids. Muddy Creek Falls is a crashing 53-foot waterfall – a spectacular sight. Tall hemlocks dominate the silent woods. The meandering trails through Swallow Falls guide hikers to some of the most breath-taking scenery in Western Maryland.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 380713 in Oakland, Maryland

Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the property. It had everything we needed. The area is great, even though we stayed in the cabin the whole time. Definitely planning a return trip.
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
5

Fabulous Deep Creek Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Fabulous, clean, well maintained secluded cabin. Still close to restaurants, stores, lake, etc. Enjoyed quiet walks, fire pit, hot tub (which was cleaned prior to our stay and mid-week), pool table... Our group ranged in age from 6 to 84 and EVERYONE had a good time. Also has a nice sized yard for children and fur babies. Lots of wildlife right outside. Easy booking and highly recommended for a Deep Creek Lake memory. Thank you Sheila, for the hospitality. The Dorsey's..
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I have to say this place is really nice and spacious I plan to stay there again very soon. I recommend this place to anyone and the place is maintain really clean which I liked a lot.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
5

Winter Wonderland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Hideaway was a great cabin at a great price. About 14 inches of snow fell over the five days we stayed there which was incredibly beautiful in the scenic setting. I will say that four wheel drive was essential for getting in and out of the driveway though. The cabin is conviently located very close to the ski resort, lake and other attractions.

The cabin is nicely furnished and well laid out. The kitchen is large and well stocked with pots and pans while the bedrooms are comfortable. The "bunk room" in the basement sleeps 7 comfortably although it is a small room for so many and people have to shower upstairs. There is also a pull out couch in the living room so the cabin could really sleep 15 comfortably. The hot tub was excellent, particularly when it was snowing outside!

My only complaint is that the bed in the master bedroom is king sized and I did not own any king sized sheets to bring so I had to make due with a queen sized flat sheet. The owner clearly said we needed to bring our own sheets but it would be nice if sheets were provided and people just washed them at the end of their stay (or at least the king sized one since they are expensive to buy, especially if you don't have a king sized bed.)

All and all my group had an excellent stay and I would recommend the cabin to any group.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The stay here was great!! Me and my group enjoyed every second in this cabin. The pool table was a huge hit during our stay and we started a whole group competition. We also took morning walks around the wooded neighborhood which was beautiful. The bonfire pit outside was also a great way to end the night with the whole group making smores everynight! The only downside was that the hot tub wasn't working for some reason and the property manager had to call a repair man but he didn't make it in time so we didn't get to use that. Besides that we created tons of great memories in this cabin and our group decided to have an annual trip to Deep Creek every year. I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone and will definitely rent it out in the future!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
1

Avoid unless you want to risk losing your deposit

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cabin was mostly as described here on the website. I would classify it as a "value" rental as a previous reviewer mentioned. It was a good size for my family of 9. Upon arrival, there were a few issues which I did make the owner aware of. These included things like ants in the kitchen, a dirty hot tub, broken glass around the fire pit, a rusted out grill, etc. We literally opened the hot tub once and, due to its condition (a huge dirt ring around the water line), we did not go near it again. The owner claimed this is due to the iron content in the water, but regardless, we were not about to set foot in it. Overall, my family had a nice stay in the cabin despite its condition.

About a week or two after our stay, I contacted the owner about returning my deposit. I was informed that the property manager reported that my family broke the hot tub cover, and the owner claimed it cost $400 to replace. I assured her that my family did not even go near the hot tub due to its dirty condition (which I had already made her aware of) and they must be mistaken. After a few emails back and forth where I insisted that my family did not cause the damage, the owner decided to keep my deposit as a "compromise". If you do decide to try your luck here, I strongly suggest you take before and after pictures of everything in the cabin. Otherwise, plan on losing your deposit.
Helpful votes: 16/18
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
5

Always a Pleasure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This was my second time staying at the cabin and have referred others to stay there as well. Needles to say I love the cabin. Every time we arrive the place is spotless and well maintained. We have always seen deer in the back yard and this visit we actually seen 15 turkeys walking across the street. Me and my fiance enjoyed the hot tub on the deck and the pool table in the basement. I am not sure what the one review says about the refrigerator not being big enough, it was more than big enough for us and we had 7 people with us. We love the privacy it has to offer and it is great location to everything deep creek has to offer including the numerous parks and recreations. The only thing I would change about the cabin is NOTHING at all. I not only plan on staying there again, I am going to!! But maybe we can get a crock pot for the kitchen , there is nothing like smelling a nice slow cooker meal while it is snowing outside! :-)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
5

The Hideaway Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My son rented this getaway for the second time. We stayed there a couple years ago and loved it, so he decided to rent it again. All I can say is it is a wonderful place and very well maintained and we had a very enjoyable stay. My son is looking at getting the cabin again. It is very clean and very roomy. The veiw is wonderful and very quiet and secluded. Taking walks after dinner with the grandchildren was always the highlight of the evening. The children also had a blast and slept very well. You always wonder how a child will sleep when they are not at home in their own beds (3 and 18 months) they did very well. I highly recommend this cabin for anyone who wants to just get away for a quiet week or even just for the weekend. It is also close to all amendities which is a great plus ;')
The pool table in the basement was a great way to spend quality family time also. The only downfall was no tv's in the bedrooms on the main floor. I have to have tv to fall asleep, but solved the problem by going out and buying some movies and watching them on my laptop. So if you need tv to fall asleep I suggest you take your laptop. Other than that I enjoyed myself ;') I hope this review was helpful ;')

Thank You,
Carol Johnson
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Just an FYI Santa brought the cabin an additional 46 inch flat screen TV.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
5

Deep Creek Lake Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I stayed at the cabin for weekend getaway from Washington DC.

The cabin is cozy, clean and well maintained.The kitchen is well stocked.
The view from the Deck is amazing and great for breakfast.

The cabin is really family friendly and located just 6 miles from restaurants and entertainment.

I would recommend this for great getaway weekend with the Family or a Romantic Getaway for two.

I would definitely go again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely Log Cabin close to all amenities yet feel like you're in a Hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380713
+1 304 279-7185
Oakland Deep Creek Lake
3

Large But Not Luxury Cabin

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Note: Only the first 4 pictures of this cabin were posted when we chose to rent this cabin for a week. We asked for updated photos but never received any before we arrived. We have been coming to Deep Creek Lake for the past 4 years and usually we stay at a different cabin but it was booked this year so we found this one.
Upon arrival at Hideaway cabin we immediately noticed the pool table was broken since you have to enter and exit the cabin through the basement door. Somehow the basket for a side pocket was broken off the table it was sitting on top of the pool table. The cabin was clean and the log look is very cozy- especially in the living room. The living room TV is very old and too small for the size of the space it is trying to fill.
When we went to use the older model hot tub (very few jets, 2 bench seats, and 1 lounge seat) the cover was chewed up and shredded around the sides and corners and it weighed probably 200 pounds making it almost impossible to take off and on. This cabin claims it is suitable for the elderly or infirm but it is not. Oh, and the deck furniture was rusted and uncomfortable to use.
Next door to the cabin is a dilapidated and abandoned modular trailer on concrete blocks which mars the view from the back deck and across the street there is a literal shack in even worse shape. The street is peaceful and quiet and makes for nice evening walks.
The add for the cabin says there is a Queen size bed on the main floor- but it is actually a Full size bed which is a lot smaller. None of the bedrooms have nightstands so you can't use an alarm clock, charge your phone, or use a reading light in bed. We slept in the King bed a couple nights but we were woke up by rats chewing and walking inside the bedroom walls. Then we found rat poop on the window sills in the bedroom!
We had brought steaks to cook for dinner one night but unfortunately, the cabin did not have any steak knives or even a knife block. When we went to cook ears of corn, there was no stock pot to boil them in. There were only two of us for a week and the tiny refrigerator barely held our food. The carpet was either cheap indoor/outdoor or Berber and was stained or had "runs" in many places with the cheap gold transition pieces linking it to the linoleum.
The dishes, glasses, and silverware were mismatched and many had chips in them. While the owner was very nice, this cabin should be honestly advertised as a value cabin because there was no luxury to be found.
Owner's Response: The pool table is now fixed; one of the ball baskets had come loose. The cabin has three entrance and exits; one through the walk out basement, one through the garage, and one on the main floor through the large slider. We have purchased a new 46 inch flat screen TV for the family room. We have not done so before due to no complaints and we do not watch it when we visit. The hot tub is only 5 years old as the rest of the house. The hot tub cover was broken due to the pervious renters but we had one on order and is now installed. Deep Creek has much wildlife including deer, turkeys, bears, and of course mice. I am assuming that what you heard was not rats but mice. It took have also been birds rapping on the wood. The fall when you visited is the time that mice may try to come in the house. We have set traps and had a professional come out and we have seen no sign of anymore mice. We have again restocked the kitchen with steak knifes and a stock pot as well as other misc. things that have seem to go missing. The carpets have recently been cleaned after a busy season and look like new. If you would have let me know about these problems when you were at the house our property manager would have taken care of them immediately. I am sorry you did not enjoy our home and if there is anything we can do to make it up to you please let me know. We love the house and especially the peaceful and beautiful surroundings of the cabin as many other families that rent our home every year.
Thank you for your honesty,
The Hideaway
Helpful votes: 3/4