Large But Not Luxury Cabin
Note: Only the first 4 pictures of this cabin were posted when we chose to rent this cabin for a week. We asked for updated photos but never received any before we arrived. We have been coming to Deep Creek Lake for the past 4 years and usually we stay at a different cabin but it was booked this year so we found this one.
Upon arrival at Hideaway cabin we immediately noticed the pool table was broken since you have to enter and exit the cabin through the basement door. Somehow the basket for a side pocket was broken off the table it was sitting on top of the pool table. The cabin was clean and the log look is very cozy- especially in the living room. The living room TV is very old and too small for the size of the space it is trying to fill.
When we went to use the older model hot tub (very few jets, 2 bench seats, and 1 lounge seat) the cover was chewed up and shredded around the sides and corners and it weighed probably 200 pounds making it almost impossible to take off and on. This cabin claims it is suitable for the elderly or infirm but it is not. Oh, and the deck furniture was rusted and uncomfortable to use.
Next door to the cabin is a dilapidated and abandoned modular trailer on concrete blocks which mars the view from the back deck and across the street there is a literal shack in even worse shape. The street is peaceful and quiet and makes for nice evening walks.
The add for the cabin says there is a Queen size bed on the main floor- but it is actually a Full size bed which is a lot smaller. None of the bedrooms have nightstands so you can't use an alarm clock, charge your phone, or use a reading light in bed. We slept in the King bed a couple nights but we were woke up by rats chewing and walking inside the bedroom walls. Then we found rat poop on the window sills in the bedroom!
We had brought steaks to cook for dinner one night but unfortunately, the cabin did not have any steak knives or even a knife block. When we went to cook ears of corn, there was no stock pot to boil them in. There were only two of us for a week and the tiny refrigerator barely held our food. The carpet was either cheap indoor/outdoor or Berber and was stained or had "runs" in many places with the cheap gold transition pieces linking it to the linoleum.
The dishes, glasses, and silverware were mismatched and many had chips in them. While the owner was very nice, this cabin should be honestly advertised as a value cabin because there was no luxury to be found.
Owner's Response: The pool table is now fixed; one of the ball baskets had come loose. The cabin has three entrance and exits; one through the walk out basement, one through the garage, and one on the main floor through the large slider. We have purchased a new 46 inch flat screen TV for the family room. We have not done so before due to no complaints and we do not watch it when we visit. The hot tub is only 5 years old as the rest of the house. The hot tub cover was broken due to the pervious renters but we had one on order and is now installed. Deep Creek has much wildlife including deer, turkeys, bears, and of course mice. I am assuming that what you heard was not rats but mice. It took have also been birds rapping on the wood. The fall when you visited is the time that mice may try to come in the house. We have set traps and had a professional come out and we have seen no sign of anymore mice. We have again restocked the kitchen with steak knifes and a stock pot as well as other misc. things that have seem to go missing. The carpets have recently been cleaned after a busy season and look like new. If you would have let me know about these problems when you were at the house our property manager would have taken care of them immediately. I am sorry you did not enjoy our home and if there is anything we can do to make it up to you please let me know. We love the house and especially the peaceful and beautiful surroundings of the cabin as many other families that rent our home every year.
Thank you for your honesty,
Helpful votes: 3/4
Did you find this review helpful?