New Orleans bungalow rental - entering the courtyard
entering the courtyard
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

New Orleans Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Bungalow, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Rate $600/night except when noted otherwise. We have a 3 night minimum year round except for event dates requiring a 4 night minimum. Cleaning fee of $125 added to total nights spent. We invoice through Paypal only for accepting credit cards, no personal checks accepted.

Slave quarter bungalow with private courtyard in ideal French Quarter location. The house is on Chartres St. between Ursuline and Governor Nichols in a portion of the FQ you could describe as quieter and more residential in feeling. (1)Queen, (1)Full,(1) King size, living room Queen sofabed, and (2) baths. Bose “Sound Dock” for use with your ipod. Flat screen tv's/dvd's in bedrooms. Flat screen tv in LR.

This is a no smoking property.

Enter from Chartres street through secured iron gate leading you down a short walkway which opens onto your private courtyard. The main house at front of property is occupied by full time tenants but presents no intrusion on your privacy. Your two story slave quarter bungalow awaits you for a magical French Quarter living experience. Tropical landscape and wrought iron patio furniture create a restful, romantic atmosphere.

Downstairs has French doors in each room opening onto the courtyard. Here you will find a queen bedroom and en-suite bath with door connecting to living room with queen sofa bed, old brick wall and high ceilings culminating with a small open kitchen. With slate floors, oriental carpet, and comfortable furnishings, this is a charming spot for an indoor dinner or entertaining area that can be extended by opening French doors onto the courtyard.

UPSTAIRS connects to the lower level by exterior staircase which takes you to full length balcony along the full length of upstairs living areas. Again, French doors are at every room and open onto the balcony overlooking the courtyard below. A kitchen, breakfast area and bathroom are at one end of this “shotgun” style floor plan, connected by doorway to a full size bed bedroom which then connects by doorway to a king-size bedroom. Old brick walls in each room enhance the French quarter style and charm.

Begin your mornings with a short walk to Café Du Monde for beignets and coffee. Stroll along the French Market just one block from your Chartres St. address, enjoying the sites, smells, and sounds of life along the banks of the Mississippi River. Many of French Quarter’s finest restaurants, neighborhood deli’s and locals restaurants are all but a few steps from where you call home during your New Orleans adventure.

Keywords: private, FQ ,bungalow, courtyard, location

More Details
Hide Details

Louisiana natives, we moved west and chose the French Quarter for our second home so that we could retain our Louisiana roots in a place our family would always enjoy returning to.

The Owner purchased this bungalow in 1995

Choosing the French Quarter for our second home is a no brainer!

Located on Chartres Street in this quiet corner of the Quarter, you have the best of all worlds where you are steps away from the fun and entertainment of Bourbon Street, or turn the corner in another direction and you're enjoying the sites, smells, and sounds of life along the Mississippi River banks as you stroll through the French Market.

32 Reviews of Property 380711 in New Orleans, Louisiana

French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
average rating of 4.75 based on 32 reviews
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
Calgary, Alberta Canada
4

Great Location, lots of room

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Property well looked after but remember it is old. Kitchen well stocked and photos show what is there. A great central location to Bourbon street, Jackson Square and Frenchman Street. Try a Segway tour your first morning. It will show you where everything is you want to go see. You will not need a car and parking is hard to find. Have fun.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
Calgary, Alberta Canada
4

Great Hide Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Nice and quiet at night being in the back. Great location to see all the sight the French Quarter has to offer. From Bourbon street to Jackson Square to Frenchman Street easy walking. No car necessary. The photos are accurate of the well maintained place. Would suggest a Segway Tour first morning to get comfortable with the French Quarter area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Charming, Pristine and Perfectly Located Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This home was beautifully kept and clean, in the best possible location and full of charm. We walked everywhere! We had three young children with us and they enjoyed the outdoor enclosed courtyard to run around. We felt safe and secure. There was no evidence that there had ever been smoking or pets inside (which was important to us). We LOVED this home and would highly recommend it. Thank you for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
5

50th Birthday couples retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Amazing property, quiet, comfortable and extremely comfortable. We visit NOLA several times a year and generally stay in luxury hotels. After our stay here, whenever possible this will be our first choice!

This is a rental that has all the "little touches" I adore, beautiful decor, flashlights, lots of hangers, lots of extra bedding and high-end pillows,nice stemware and the courtyard was more than perfect for pre-dinner drinks and early morning coffee. LOVED THIS PLACE!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
Washington, DC
5

Lived Like a Local

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The property was delightful. Excellent location and wonderful courtyard were real plusses. Separate up and down living spaces suited our group well. I would definitely rent this property again. Wish I could rent just the lower area for a solo stay. Resident tenants were very nice and helpful as were the Soniat House staff next door.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
Washington, DC
5

Lived Like a Local

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The property was delightful. Excellent location and wonderful courtyard were real plusses. Separate up and down living spaces suited our group well. I would definitely rent this property again. Wish I could rent just the lower area for a solo stay. Resident tenants were very nice and helpful as were the Soniat house staff next door.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
New York, NY
5

JRCIII

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Very clean. A good location and responsive owners. Doors can be a bit hard to unlock but jiggle a bit and they open. Close enough to Bourbon and Frenchman streets to be easy walk but not noisy at all.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: well we do appreciate hearing from our guest about any detail not to their liking. we'll do our best on those darn 200+ year old doors. Nature is pretty hard on things in Louisiana but again we do appreciate hearing from yall.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
Austin, TX
5

Lovely and Private Bungalow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay in the bungalow was excellent! We were provided very thorough detail for easy entry to the property and navigation of the unit. Everything was as promised - the bungalow is just as beautiful as in all the photos. It is in a private area, within a little enclave of 2 or 3 other units. It's very hidden and quiet. The rooms were all very comfortable and the amenities are just right for a getaway to the French Quarter. This is an annual trip for us and we hope to return to the bungalow next year! Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: we'll be looking forward to your return!
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
Norwalk, CT
5

Great Rental in Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Stayed for a long weekend. There were 8 of us in the house and it was perfect. It is exactly like the pictures. The house was clean and well maintained. We especially loved the court yard. The location is ideal. One block from the French Market. Owner was great to work with. We would highly recommend this rental and will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
French Quarter Slave Quarters Bungalow
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380711vbi
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Bachelorette Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I stayed here with my sister and her bridesmaids for her bachelorette weekend. We had 7 people go and we had a blast. There was plenty of room for us and all if our stuff. The courtyard is really nice and we enjoyed having drinks out there before heading to bourbon street. Everything was within walking distance but if we needed a cab they were easy to get as well. I would definitely go back and stay here.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing