Duncans villa rental - TRANQUILITY at 'ONE RHYTHM' Villa
TRANQUILITY at 'ONE RHYTHM' Villa
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Duncans Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

'One Rhythm', vacation villa on the Caribbean Sea comes with housekeeper, Ms. Annette OR Ms. Sandra. Andrew, (driver & personal guide), and Ali the gardener. They await your arrival and will enhance your stay in Jamaica. Driver and personal guide, Andrew, is available for airport transfers and any other transportation needs you desire.

Just imagine waking to the sound of the sea outside your bedroom, and you realize that your day is about to unfold with a sense of ease and pleasure that only an Island can offer.

'One Rhythm' villa holds a sense of ease and privacy about itself, surrounded with tropical trees and flower gardens.

Live music, dance, and local artists are all available for your delight, if you so desire.

Next door, from the fishermans' village, fresh fish and lobster can be delivered to you daily, upon request.

Allow yourself to Relax, and Open Up and ENJOY the Passion of...'ONE RHYTHM'....

Keywords: Home

I live in Siesta Key, Florida and spend months at a time at 'One Rhythm Villa' in Jamaica. Doing this, I feel good and at home...I am grateful..I always Love it when family and friends find their way for a visit...

I especially favor this location because it is private, quiet and on the seaside.I Love the Sea. When I first came upon this area, it was an instant knowing for me that I would one day be at home here in Jamaica. That was almost 15 years ago. When I first saw the Sea, it was full of so many different shades of turquoise that I could not look away.... so I just sat in gratitude of the beauty surrounding me & took it all in.

One Rhythm Villa opens up to the outside gardens and sitting areas, it is like having a flower garden inside. There is a gentle sea breeze that flows through the villa most all day. Jamaica gives me the feeling that I am always in Love.....I am blessed!

43 Reviews of Property 137806 in Duncans, Jamaica

Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
average rating of 4.861111 based on 43 reviews
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
North Carolina, USA
5

The most peaceful, restful place in the world.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Karen, just wanted you to know how much we enjoyed our 2nd stay at One Rhythm, and our 3rd year in Duncan’s Bay!!!
Your villa is so beautiful and peaceful... a perfect vacation for us.... the relaxation we needed!!!!
Ms Annette made our time there like the pictures in a storybook. She took care of us 24 hours a day. She anticipated our needs. Her meals were so awesome that we took pictures of every one! Even when the seas were rough she managed to find fish and lobster for us to enjoy. She played and taught us Jamaican Dominoes and strategies at night... Fun!!! Even when she was off, she always went into town and procured what we would need for the day. She swept the beach every morning. She wanted to make sure her guests had a clean beach. Of course we cried when we had to leave her!
Ralston, a local fisherman, took my husband out fishing and to check his traps....what an awesome experience!!! He also caught fish, which Ms Annette cooked for us.
Andrew was also great! He was very dependable and took us from the airport and back, and also treated us to an excursion into the hills so that we could see the real Jamaica, and then to the Bend Down Market…. A must see!
We went snorkeling twice with Mashtoq, and experienced the local reggae music at Leroy’s on both Saturday nights. Ms Annette went with us to Leroy's on our last night, which was especially nice.
The people there really respect you, Karen, and are appreciative all you have done for their community.
We felt very special to have stayed in your villa..... the BEST in Duncan’s Bay!
Thank you again for allowing us to rent your beautiful, peaceful villa, the most restful place in the world......
I am sure we will return again... it is our special place in Jamaica.
One love.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
Durango,CO
5

Wonderful Experience in Jamaica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We wanted a different kind of vacation where we were a part of the local culture. Our experience at One Rhythm and with Ms. Annette provided just what we had hoped for. To experience the fine Jamaican cuisine provided by Ms. Annette was the highlight of our vacation. We ate fresh food everyday and she created such beautiful meals--blending unique flavors while making them so colorful. She is an amazing cook and such a delightful woman to know. One Rhythm is a lovely villa within a few feet from a gorgeous white sand beach. We felt very safe with our two children throughout our vacation. Our kids loved the hammocks that allowed pure relaxation amongst the beautiful gardens of One Rhythm. If you are looking for an authentic Jamaican experience, you should consider One Rhythm because it will give you a better respect and understanding of the wonderful Jamaican people. Thank you Karen for sharing your vacation home with us. We have memories to last a lifetime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
Bloomington, IN
5

We Love One Rhythm!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
February 1-8, 2014 was our second year in a row staying at this beautiful villa. We plan on returning in February 2015 as well! What we most love about this location is it is away from the resorts and we experience genuine Jamaican cuisine and culture.

Ms. Annette has become like family to us. Plus we've met all her family members over the past two years. Her mother, sister, children, grandchildren etc. We have an abundant amount of respect for her and all she provides us when we visit.

We also like to adventure out when we come to the island so we rent a car and do side trips. This year we attempted several drives to the interior of the island and what a great adventure we had! It took longer then anticipated but we were able to see so many beautiful vistas, and amazing countryside. We also golf two or three times a week. I would note that our car also was used to pick up ice in town. And to town you must go. Never will you experience the day to day life on this beautiful island without going to Duncan's. I would add that my husband became quite fond of the beautiful woman that sells ice in town. We also shopped for lumber in town so we could fix the beach foot rest. It seemed like something we could easily do to help!

We find no strangers in this area. Everyone is friendly, we always felt safe and well cared for. We have met all the other staff but feel most closely connected to Annette.

Thank you Karen for providing a great home away from home for us!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
Traverse City, MI, USA
5

Simply the BEST vacation I have ever had!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Usually when I write reviews it is to say something terrible, I expect things to be well above par! Karen what you and your staff provide at The One Rhythm Villa is truly amazing! I want to thank you for the best vacation any of us have ever been on. From snorkeling and sight seeing to the freshest seafood and kindest people Karen and the gang do it right! Thanks again to everyone at One Rhythm! Simply the best vacation we can't wait to come back and make new friends.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
Sarasota, Florida
5

Ultimate Relaxation Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This villa is the epitome of relaxation! Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with sunshine and beautiful views of the ocean. The villa had everything that you need. The staff was more than accommodating and the food was overwhelmingly delicious! My one regret: I didn't book my trip for a longer amount of time! I can't wait for another chance to return. I highly recommend that you take an opportunity to enjoy this moment in paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
Detroit, MI
5

Serene, Peaceful, Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was my second stay at One Rhythm. It is clean and beautiful. The sea side is gorgeous and private. The locals are welcoming, warm and gentle. The service at the villa is superb. Ms. Annette is very attentive and is a wonderful cook. She took care of our every need. The sunshine, the breeze, the lush and pristine gardens around the villa feel like absolute paradise. I would recommend One Rhythm for everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
1

No privacy, high crime area, felt we were taken advantage of

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Read all the reviews and were really looking forward to a private, peaceful vacation. We were 2 couples and we found out on dY one that the housekeeper lived in the house, and ran it like a fortress. Bars and locks on all the doors and windows and she had the keys - she warned us to only ask her for anything we needed as not safe anywhere outside the property. She took us for groceries, picking out all sorts of items we stupidly paid for and a lot of it never saw on our plates. We paid over $500 for groceries, popcorn for instance, which she popped every morning and put in boxes to take elsewhere, cake mixes we never saw, foil wrap, plastic wrap, all sorts of things I won't get into listing. Then we also had to pay the vegetable/fish man over $200 and we only had fish twice. We would come back from the beach in the afternoon and the housekeeper would be watching tv with her daughter in the living room, with her daughter's wares spread out for us to buy, or another day they were in the kitchen cooking up a meal to take out somewhere else that might for a birthday party, for which I am sure we paid the bill. On the last day, the housekeeper asked us for $150 US tip...we gave her $70 and she was very upset. She got on the phone and was yelling at someone, we felt very nervous and decided to forego our last swim and went to the airport four hours early. Also, there was an armed robbery at a house down the road, and a stabbing the week before in the neighbourhood. The housekeeper did warn us, and I would recommend staying in a resort or boutique hotel instead -even with the gates and heavy bars everywhere. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this to anyone, as no privacy, and we felt we were taken advantAge of. The housekeeper wanted us to mail her the rest of the money she says we were supposed to pay her...I wonder if she actually gets paid or lives there for board only. The food she cooked was good, but I had asked if she made soup, and she said she doesn't spend all day cooking...she likes to get it all done in an hour or so. I helped dry dished every night, and we brought gifts for her and it just didn't seem to be enough. Not an experience we wish to have again.
Owner's Response: To My Future Guests: I have almost 40 excellent 5 star (highest) reviews.This is the only one of this nature. I would like to address these concerns for you:
>The crime (stabbing) referred to happened last year between 2 local men. No tourist or guests were involved in this in any way. This incident was unrelated to my property.
>All of the established rental villas have a staff member on the property, this is for your convenience. If any of my guests are not wanting this I am willing to accommodate them. This service is so appreciated by my guests. The housekeeper has her own private entrance and sleeping quarters, this is so Privacy of my guests stays Priority. Upon arrival all guests are given their own keys.
>The food you purchase is up to you, The cook is there only to make suggestions. She is a fabulous cook and wants to please you with her culinary skills.
>The housekeeper/cook is paid a salary and tipping her is a kind gesture. Not Required. Most guests ask me what amount to tip , I suggest $20 per day is average. She is there to serve you well and her tip will reflect that.
> Many of my guests ask to meet family members of my staff. Sometimes guests go on outings with the housekeeper and enjoy going to her family home to meet her children and mother. They feel they are getting to know more of the Jamaican culture by meeting some of the locals. I have recently made it a policy that family members of my staff are not to come to the villa unless requested so by guests. Guests Privacy is Priority.
>I appreciate all feedback as it only helps me take my service to the next best level. My intention is that my guests are happy and enjoying their time in Jamaica.
<Many guests return again for more connection with my Staff, the local culture, the warm Jamaican Sun, The Sea, the Lushness and the easy that Jamaica offers.....One Love
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
5

Best Area in Jamaica!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
For the record, we have traveled pretty extensively through the Caribbean.
We prefer the 'local flavor' in our own home over a 5 star all inclusive resort.
We are just concluding our stay at 'One Rhythm' Villa. This may well have been
our overall most enjoyable experience ever. Duncan's Bay Beach and Community may be the best in all Jamaica!
Karen's seaside villa was just perfect for our family. She thought of everything.
It is comfortable and beautifully done. There is love in every detail. Karen supports
the local artists who work around the bend. Their art adorns her home. Ms. Annette is
a stellar cook---fresh fish, lobster, curry goat, home made banana bread, fresh
juices and vegetables. The weather has been perfect every day. There is
always a breeze. In front and back of the house, there are two lovely areas where we sat and ate breakfast and dinner. The beach is a short walk from the house and it is one of the most beautiful beaches I have seen. The turquoise waters are clear and inviting. We swam and snorkeled every day. We lived in our bathing suits.
This is Jamaica away from it all. It is quiet and relaxed. From what I am told this is the old Jamaica, hard to come by these days. We have met wonderful people in the adjoining villas. Andrew can drive you for local excursions. Be sure to visit Glistening Bay and take a bamboo raft down the Martha Brae River. Go to Duncan's Falls
when the cruise ships are not in Falmouth or Montego Bay, as there will be less people.
We thank Karen and her wonderful staff for taking such wonderful care of our family.
You have given us treasured memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
5

A blessed retreat! A beautiful respite! A place of harmony, beauty and joy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Karen's home is just beautiful, filled with beautiful local artwork and sayings that lift the spirit. It is open, bright and airy. Be sure to spend time gazing at the magic tree---where the roots are carved gorgeously by a local artist. There are hammocks for lounging and reading in various areas around the house as you feel the island breeze blow, watch the trees sway and admire the colorful flowers and shrubbery. It is just a one-two minute walk to the most pristine beach. The water is perfect--shades of turquoise, green and blue. Every morning, before I have my coffee, I put on my swimsuit and sarong and head directly to the beach and swim. It is my favorite way to start the day! Ms. Annette or Ms. Sandra will then have breakfast ready. Everything is homemade and delicious, including homemade juices. Late afternoon, as the sun is about to set, we walk the length of the beach taking in the beauty of the colors of the sun, water and sky which change daily. We collect shells. We watch the sun set over the hills. The evening meal is always a treat---jerk chicken, lobster, crab or fish bought from the local fishermen just down the road. The fruit and vegetable man stops by 3 times a week. We are getting so spoiled by their cooking! There is good internet service to keep in touch, and cable television where we have watched some wonderful classic movies. We read. When you feel like venturing out, Andrew can take you to Dunn's River Falls, Glistening Waters or rafting down the Martha Brae River. All magical. All beautiful. It is all very laid back and relaxing. This is a place to unwind, fill up and be nourished. If you want a more action packed vacation, you can rent a car and head to Mobay or Negril. Thank you Karen, Ms. Annette, Ms. Sandra and Andrew for unforgettable memories. Bless you! Bless you! We are filled up and ready to take on the world once again. You are in our hearts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Seaside Villa, Duncans Bay, Welcomes You to Jamaica!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137806vb
(239) 682-3309 (Florida, USA)
Duncans Jamaica North Coast
fort Lauderdale
5

Ahhhh Serenity... Rejuvenate...Recharge..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
One Rhythm was just what we needed after a rough emotionally draining 10 days. So glad I listened to my heaven-sent Angels and booked this wonderful spot. It was everything the Dr ordered and more this little white, pristine villa steps away from the sea. We loved the openness, the quite garden with its shady almond trees and hammocks where one lazed for hours enjoying the breeze and the sound of the sea.
Having Ms Annette around was a treat.. She provided her own special touch and completed our rejuvenation prescription. (We still talk about that wonderful pumpkin punch).
We most definately will be back! Simply FABULOUS!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1