Great Exuma cottage rental - Beach House and Boat House. The Dock Master is waiting for you to come ashore.
Beach House and Boat House. The Dock Master is waiting for you to come ashore.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Great Exuma Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms each with ensuite bthrm, accommodates 4 in luxury, 6 using sofa bed

BREAKING NEWS: Sterling is hitting a high again, US$1.68 (on 16th. February, 2014) to GBP 1, now is the time to book your summer holiday rental in the Bahamas from your European account. Also, whilst flights may not be any cheaper our Holiday Homes are on a very low offer from 16th. July to 15th. November 2014

1 Book in advance now in order to get the 2013 rates. There will be modest changes to rental rates from 16th. July, 2014.

The new 'seasonal' Beach House rates for the period 16th. July to 15th. November, 2014 will be $120/day, $800/week, $3000/month+$1000 security to cover any damages and heavy use of electricity (this is repayable depending on conditions)+$100 for change over fee.

For the period 16th. November 2014 to 15th. July 2015 the rate will be $165/day, $1100/week, $4000/month+$500 security to cover damages and heavy use of electricity+$100 change over fee.

There will be no changes to the Boat House rates.

2 ECONOMIC FLIGHTS FROM the UK: Try Virgin Atlantic out of Manchester to Orlando (MCO). Then Bahamas Air to Nassau (NAS) but you have to over night in Nassau. Suggest Orange Hill Hotel. Then Bahamas Air or Sky Bahamas to George Town (GGT) or American Airlines MCO/MIA/GGT. About $1000 round trip for travel only.

Another lower price option: Air Canada on Sundays only, C$231 Toronto Pearson YYZ to George Town GGT direct for round trip. Note, you have to request the Tango fare. LHR/YYZ C$380 round trip with British Airways and Sky Bahamas NAS to GGT $ 165 . $775 ish total.

Check with www.yyzdeals.com for up to date cheap flights.

airberlin.com is offering direct round trip flights to Miami from Germany for less than $800. From Miami take the AA Eagle to GGT. Norwegian is offering flights London to New York GBP 149 from 3 July 2014. - maybe that is only one way??

3 We have access to a private deserted island with a sand beach, within a cute bay on the South side, only 2 NM from the cottage. Aerial picture included with our photos. Ask Sharon for details, no landing charges. The only regular inhabitant is the Osprey who had 3 young this year. You can ferry yourself to the island in our 15'0' Boston Whaler, paddle the kayaks across or walk at low tide. On 28th July, 2013 a Haitian sail boat was washed up on the northern beach. This has been cleaned up and will be preserved for posterity.

4 Holiday Rent Payment on line : Most of our guests use this method of payment, to book with a credit card. Click on the 'book it now' button. Dont forget to add 2.4% to your payment to cover Banking Charges. Unfortunately it is listed in GBP . Watch the exchange rate.The US$ rates quoted in this text are the default.

5 Visitors from the WESTERN HEMISPHERE like to use the Pay Pal method of payment. Enter paypal.com in your browser, log on, go to payment to 'family or friends', in favour of wrightasharon@hotmail.com then follow the on line instructions and please be sure to pay all charges yourself. When you have made payment email us to this effect. When we acknowledge you are booked.

6 If you prefer Wired instructions, we can supply them on request but all charges are to be by sender.

The Cottage: has two Bedrooms each with en-suite bathrooms, (the definition of en suite is accessible from the bedroom) sleeps four in luxury. More space for two children elsewhere at an additional cost of $10/head/night. All habitable rooms have a view of the sea. The bed configuration can be two single beds or King size. Please let us know your requirement ahead of time.

There will be no gritty sand in the house as we have a smooth rock bathing area with access ladder and freshwater shower as you exit the sea.

We now have three Kayaks, a Sunfish sailing dinghy and a Bicycle for your use, all included in the rent. Further there is a 15'0' Boston Whaler and a choice of two cars. All subject to their availability.

Quiet location away from the noise of Town, airport race tracks and the like.

Telephone and internet: is installed and is operated by the Bahamas Telecommunications Company via the Wymax satellite, this installation was made in 2012. However, it is provided at the behest of the server. We are on an island in the Atlantic Ocean and although we have the facility, paid all the fees etc. sometimes it may be temporarily, beyond our control, inoperative. Under these circumstances we request your cooperation. This service is inclusive with the rental.

Bone fishing: the accommodation is opposite 3 x 8 miles of, the best in the world, Bone-fishing flats...so we are told. It's a Bone-fisherman's delight. All facilities for DIY fishing but bring your own gear.

The Boat House: we also have a separate and stand alone small and somewhat rustic waterfront unit, located on the same site, 3m from the waters edge, usually used by sailors for an overnight after a session of cruising. It can also be good for Fishermen, couples or single visitors, refer to pictures 15 - 22. It may be that this unit, on some peak occasions, has occupants at the same time as your booking at the Beach House. In order to guarantee that this unit is vacant whilst you are visiting it may be that an increased rental will be required, please ask Sharon before you book, for more detail. Boat House rental is $100/night $600/week or $2000/month in each case plus $100 for changeover fee plus $250 for security. For more detail see www.homeaway.com ID 3684530

Bone Fishermen: DIY Bone-fishing is practiced here, though professional Guides are available, we will be pleased to introduce you to reliable people. Bone-fishing is a sport/pass-time enjoyed right on our doorstep. Fishermen who have stayed with us (see YouTube below) claim that at our location Bone-fishing here is the best of its kind in the world. They get up early, Kayak out to the shallow banks no more than 50 yards (meters) from our dock. As with most fishermen they put them back into the water after a catch and photograph but it has been known for one or two to be brought home for lunch. Very tasty too I'm told.

Kayaks and Bicycle: We now have 3 Kayaks and a bicycle that you can borrow. There are others of each nearby that could be made available for your use. They can be used to better explore the water ways and land routes of the island. A scooter can be rented in town.

Sailing Sunfish: Sailing on the clear blue warm waters of the Bahamas is exhilarating and yet relaxing for those coming from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is good to be competitive with neighbours and their Sunfish. We now have six Sunfish owners on our strip and are in the process of forming a sailing club. Watch this space for more detail. We even offer to learners free instruction to sail.

Boston Whaler: The 15'0' Boston Whaler, has been improved, it is old and is for use on the south side of the island by our visitors. Please ask Sharon on arrival for details. The cost to use is low.

Transportation: We have available the use of a car which we loan to visitors on a you bend it you mend it basis. We have two, they are old but with TLC they serve their purpose and the cost to use is low.

Precautions: Visitors must be mindful that anywhere in the tropics there will be nasty insects around. On Exuma the most prolific are the mosquito and the no-see-ums. Both of these can give you, nice fresh meat, a nasty bite, that is all BUT there is no need for this to happen if you take precautions.

First, they usually come out an hour before and after sunrise and sunset. Then, they cannot withstand a strong breeze and all the windows and external doors have fly screens. During the day, especially with children in the family in and out all the time these insects will get inside the house. You will be well advised to have a fly spray available in order to spray the interior of the house before you retire. Not much is needed just a quick squirt in each corner of the room should be sufficient. Let us know if you are inconvenienced more than this.

Finally, when you arrive at the Immigration counter at the airport: Say to the Officer, you are staying with 'Sharon Wright', most of them know me, at 007 Sea Breeze Drive Bahama Sound 11 West, telephone # 336 3461

More Details
Hide Details

We are a Bahamian/British management organisation and trade under the heading of The Wright Partnership, the principals originate, one from here in the Bahamas and the other from England. He was a 'left over' from a Government contract 25 years ago. We both live on Gt. Exuma not more than a 1/4 mile from the cottage and either of us are readily available to service you at short notice.

Sharon Wright purchased this cottage in 2007

The cottage, '007 Beach House' was built in 2007 on lot # C12007, to a design we evolved where the main theme was to provide sea views from all habitable rooms. It was built to a Budget and the final cost was within a few $'s of the Budget figure. It is designed and built to withstand hurricane force winds and has been tested by Hurricane Irene 2011 and Hurricane Isaac 2012.

If you like to holiday here regularly, we will be please to design and construct your second home to a budget to suit you and yes look after it for you while you are away. Ask John about this service when you arrive.

Great Exuma is the most naturally protected island, by surrounding islands, in the Bahamas, the waters are the most colourful and ideal for sailing/cruising/fishing/swimming/diving.

There is a protective sea wall on the water front and around the landscaped garden. It is upon this wall that one side of the cottage is founded.

There are fascinating reasons why this site was selected. The original site was at a very low level and the Spring High Water mark came well up into the site. By trimming the, sea facing rock front, it was possible to create a sheltered swimming area and the spoil was used to fill behind the sea defense wall. It is upon this rock fill, that the landscaping has been established.

Initially a rock garden was formed., Later, between the rocks Sedge grass was planted, stone paths were laid down, Natural beach plants and succulents came along including Mangrove.

Now you will find established plants and trees producing fruit and vegetables within 50'0' (15m) of the Ocean. Trees and bushes include: Tamarind, Pomegranate, Sugar Apple, Guava, Paw Paw or Papaya, Coco Nut, both black and white Coco Plumbs, Sea Grapes and Darling Plumbs Grapefruit and Limes.

Vegetables and herbs include: Bird peppers, Basil, Mint, Rosemary, Pea Nuts, Asparagus, Grannies Fingers or Okra, Pride of Barbados is a thorny pretty flowering tree yet the seeds are a good substitute for garden peas.

Flowers include: Aloe Vera, Spider Lillies, Day Lillies, Amaryllis Agapanthus, Periwinkle, Frangapanni, White and Red Hibiscus, 7 day Apple.

Because of this interesting mix we have flying and crawling visitors: Humming bird visits daily for food (nested in a 7 day apple tree last year), Banana quit (nested on a Guava branch this year), the King Fisher picks up frogs, Osprey will take a fish from the sea whilst in flight, Heron stalk around in the shallows, any amount of fly catchers, yes we have lizards too.

No doubt there is more flora and fauna I have not mentioned.

Above everything else, it is the view in the morning either from the Bedrooms or the Living Area/Kitchen.........absolutely majestic!

11 Reviews of Property 380206 in Great Exuma, Bahamas

Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
5

much better than the photos let on!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
this was a most fantastic find. although john and Sharon had not advertised at the time the boat house separately, we were able to make this happen, it was the most fantastic vacation deal. from the private island that can be camped on, the included kayaks, the power boat rental and the service and attention from John and Sharon, this was a fantastic time.

also the ability to fly there air Canada, direct from Toronto for $231 made the overall cost a great bargain.

I loved the boat house, it has the perfect vacation find, had a great view and made me feel so at home. it is a cute but highly functional house, with full laundry, gas stove, bbq, fan to cool down and a large tv, although I was not able to get that to work. but I did much better with out the tv as the weather was perfect. but such a cute perfect house! It really made my vacation!
the private island they have is a HUGE bonus too!

although we did not rent the main beach house, I did check it out, and for a group of say 4, maybe 1 or 2 more, its a great deal. beautiful house, and a great price for the island. if you require A/C, than this house is a must for you as well. a beautiful place, and a great bargain...

The only thing that could be changed here, is the quality of the photos showing this property on this site. they really do not do it justice. esp the boat house!

John and Sharon were perfect hosts, they picked us up at the airport, dropped us off, took us out, showed us the island and to some of the cultural festivals ect on the island. It was like guided tours included! I really miss the 2 of them, and look forward to next time...
Owner's Response: Well well Who could top this one . Many thanks, Mikel.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
5

Splendid holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a wonderful place to spend our holiday!. The location of the house, the view and Exuma in itself was something to experience! We experienced also one night a ball of a “thunder&lightning show”, It was great just sitting in the house and looking out on the night turning into daylight when all the lightning was going on. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. Thanks a lot to both John and Sharon for your hospitality and for a great week. We really hope to be back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
5

First Rate

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Last week my wife, teenage daughter and I had the pleasure of renting this beautiful property. The property is very clean and well maintained.The location is fantastic with spectacular water views. The pictures on the website don't do the property justice. It is rare to travel somewhere and find that it is 100 times more beautiful than you ever imagined.

Although the house is well stocked with amenities,too many to list here, the best part of our trip was meeting our wonderful host and hostess Sharon and john.They made us feel at home and provided us with everything we needed to make for one first rate vacation. They were only a phone call away. Great Exuma as fairly large so a car is recommended. We used sharon's car at a rate of $60.

I can't describe the beauty and tranquility of this place. It was hard to get back to all the hustle and bustle of our life but we will have lifelong fond memories of this place.We hope to return very soon.

As far as activities fishing and diving are at the top of the list but there are many other things to do and see like lazing on a secluded indescribably beautiful pristine white sand beaches, blue holes Stratomites (sp) on stocking island, Kayaking, sailing or just relaxing on the dock at the house.

The water is clean and safe to drink. Electric power seemed to be reliable. Phone and internet all great. when you arrive and procure provisions we can highly a new butcher shop run by a family from PA . I don't recall the name but high quality a reasonable rates. Exuma market has everything you would need.

Thanks again John and Sharon
Owner's Response: Oddvar,

How can we imagine that it was so good. As long as you enjoyed yourselves that is all that matters . Yes of course you can come again and tell all in Norway too. Many thanks Sharon.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
5

Awesome house and vacation stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Awesome bone fishing and wonderful cabin. Girlfriend and I couldn't leave the place with good conscience. Have to find another way to get back!! snorkeling gear and sea kayak. lots of beautiful garden plants. I want to go back :(
Owner's Response: Hey! come any time you want . Second time visitors get a discount. We have 3 so far that qualify - Sharon
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
Kingwood, Texas/USA
5

DIY Bonefishing Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I just spent a great 5 days in Exuma and we loved the house and the graciousness of our hosts, John and Sharon. John picked us up at the airport and gave us the tour of Georgetown on our way to the house to familiarize us where everything is located. We arrived on a Sunday, when most everything is shut down for the day. With this being the case, Sharon had a wonderful Bahamian meal prepared for us upon our arrival at the house that consisted of fish, Bahamina land crab rice and potato salad. I would also like to add that this was one of the tastiest meals we had while on the island. Thanks Sharon! John and Sharon were very responsive to any need or question we had and were always just a phone call away.

The house was very clean and comfortable and was accurately depicted on the website. It was well stocked with anything one might need. Landscaping was nice and we were able to even help ourselves to some of the outstanding tropical fruit growing on the property. There is a kayak for guests to use and is great for reaching the tremendous bonefish flat right across the channel.

The flat is a short 5 minute paddle from the house and we experienced some awesome fishing in plain view of the house. Highly recommend this house for the DIY bonefishermen out there as you couldn't ask for much better fishing action right out the backdoor! John also has a neighbor that offered to rent us his 16' Mako flats boat for a very reasonable price, we just never had the opportunity to take advantage of his offer.

Thanks John and Sharon! We look forward to returning some time in the near future! Take care.
Owner's Response: Thanks , Steve and Jackie, You were wonderful guests, we need more like you.

Regards

Sharon
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
Lexington, Kentucky
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My wife and I recently returned from a wonderful week at this beautiful house on Great Exuma. We found the house to be clean and very well stocked. Anything that we might need was availalbe for us to use. An ice-cold beer in the fridge is always a nice touch after a long day of travelling. The house is on a nice sized lot and offers alot of privacy. The grounds are beautifully kept and are surrounded by a number of rare tropical plants.

The owners John and Sharon were very gracious to us during our stay. If we needed anything or had any questions, they always provided us with some valuable advice. John has a sailboat and kayak docked at the house. The kayak is free for guests to use to explore the area. This is a flats fishermans paridise. The house sits just a few yard from some of the best flats fishing in the world. John even has contacts nearby who will rent you a boat for a minimal fee.

If you are looking for a great meal be sure to visit Sharon's restaurant (I believe the name is "Castaway #2)", which is located about 15 minutes north of the house.

I would highly recommend this house for fishermen, families looking for a relaxing vacation, and couples looking for a romantic getaway.
Owner's Response: Byron, what can I say! You must have had a good time. Thank you

Sharon.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
Michigan
5

Great House for Adventure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family of three spent Christmas 2011 at this wonderful home. It’s in a beautiful, remote location on the island. This is the perfect place for either an adventurous vacation or a lazy one. The home is very clean and the grounds are beautiful. It's much more interesting to stay on this side of the island with the dramatic tide changes. Sharon, the owner, was so helpful and took such good care of us; she even prepared for us a traditional and fabulous Bahamian meal.

We loved using the kayak and Sunfish sailboat and there’s nice snorkeling by the house. There’s so much to explore on this island, but leave a few days to just stay at the house, play in the water, and read by the ever-changing sea. The colors of the Bahamas waters are amazing. We recommend renting the owner's car and eating at Santana's often.
Owner's Response: Hello Sarah, thank you. Next time we will take you for a party on another island with a sand beach and we will grille out.

Sharon.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
5

1st time ever @ the Exumas (and @ the Bahamas)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We stayed there for a week in early January 2012 and have only great memories from the trip. The house is nice and clean with superb views on the water and sunrise! It has everything one would need: starting from all the kitchen appliances and out-door gas grill, all the linens and towels to kayak at the dock! We didn't spend too much time at the house though - the Exumas offer too much to do and to see ;)! We would certainly recommend renting a car from the hosts - it gives one a lot more freedom and time to explore the beautiful beaches of the Exumas and other local sights! We also spent couple of days kayaking and exploring nearby cays! Unfortunately didn't get to bonefish this time!
John and Sharon were welcoming and helpful: picked us up at the airport and dropped us off early in the morning and gave advice on what to do and see on the islands!

Thank you, John and Sharon for the wonderful memories! This certainlt wasn't our last trip to the Exumas!
Tanel & Maret
Owner's Response: Tanel & Maret Thank you for coming to visit us and your splendid review. We hope you liked Exuma enough to come again and enjoy all those things you didnt get round to doing this time. We are aware that it is your choice as to which home to visit and appreciate that you chose ours. Many thanks Sharon
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
4

1st Folks to Return!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This was our second visit at John and Sharon's and it was even better than the first back in July. The weather was awesome! We even had a Christmas tree up in the living room. We love this house and will be back for yet another visit!
Katy and Shane
Owner's Response: Thank you Katy.

You and your friends are always welcome to visit anytime.

Sharon
Helpful votes: 1/4
business
Water-front Bahamian Island Home (See also Boat House - Property ID 3684530)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380206
+1242 3363006
Great Exuma Exuma
5

:-)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
I'd recommend this little gem on the water to others.
My flight was last minute, looong, & delayed a day, but the owners were more then helpful w/ the changes & waiting @ the airport when i landed.
Arriving @ the impeccably clean "007" w/ a fully stocked bar/cold Kaliks in the fridge put a smile on my face. Looking out over the vast indescribable azure coloured water put a smile in my soul.
I appreciated the simple eco friendliness of the house & enjoyed kayaking the surrounding area immensely. Asparagus, peanuts, avocado, grapefruit, limes, basil, pride of Barbados, hibiscus, etc, ect, are planted on the grounds.
I would recommend using their car and snorkeling equipment, and heading Santanas for lobster.
I'll be back in a few months and will def. stay here again.
-Hope
Owner's Response: Thank you Hope, for your kind words. Look forward to your return - Sharon.
Helpful votes: 1/3