Merida house rental - A colorful Mexican-style kitchen with Talavera tiles is the center of the house.
A colorful Mexican-style kitchen with Talavera tiles is the center of the house.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Merida House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

This totally renovated but very original colonial home is ideally located just blocks from both the Plaza Grande (the center of Merida) and the famous Paseo de Montejo, with its restaurants, shopping and museums. Location is unmatched in Centro !!!!!!!

Casa del Panadero has all the rich architectural details of an original colonial home in Merida, such as the tiled floors, high ceilings and huge wooden doors, but with new amenities like air conditioning, a swimming pool and kitchen appliances. The house is painted in rich, hacienda colors and just being inside the house promotes a sense of well being and relaxation.

There are two bedrooms... one in the front of the house, and one in the back by the garden and the pool. Both have king sized beds and their own bathrooms with showers.

In the interior of the house is a living and media entertainment room, a dining room fit for 6 people, an open-design Mexican tiled kitchen and an interior patio with plants and a central fountain.

Behind the house is a tropical garden with a stone patio and a filtered swimming pool with a beautiful waterfall feature.

Keywords: colonial, townhouse, vacation rental, home, villa, retreat

More Details
Hide Details

Darren and Margie Woodson are both veteranarians from New Mexico. They are parents of three college age children and multiple dogs and cats and other menagerie. This lovely home in Merida is a getaway for them, and they love to share it with others when they cannot be there themselves.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

We chose to buy a home in Merida because the city and surrounding countryside are gentle, gracious and endlessly fascinating. The city of Merida is the safest city in all of Mexico, and safer than most American cities... in violence, it is on a par with Wyoming and Montana... in other words, there is none. We love the Yucatan culture and the relaxed, welcoming and tranquil attitude of the people of Yucatan.

When we are at Casa del Panadero, we love to wake up in the morning and enjoy a breakfast of coffee and local tropical fruit in our patio. We dip in and out of the pool all day when we are home. Or we go out for the day, exploring Mayan ruins or other colonial cities not far away from Merida, like Izamal or Tecoh. At night, Merida comes alive... so if we aren't enjoying our swimming pool again, we go out on the town. We can walk almost anywhere and enjoy free events like dancing, music and theatre.

23 Reviews of Property 380203 in Merida, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
average rating of 4.769231 based on 23 reviews
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Longueuil, QC Canada
5

A great relaxing stay at the Casa del Panadero

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed for 8 nights at the Casa and we were sorry to have to leave it so soon! The time spent at the Casa was simply delightful. We were met by Silvia, the house manager, who showed us around the property and explained everything to us. The house itself is quite large, with two good-sized bedrooms, a large living room, dining room and kitchen as well as a private patio. At the back is the small pool and patio. Every room in the house is well decorated with mostly high-quality Mexican handicrafts. The house is on a quiet street, and because of the thick walls, what little street traffic there may be goes unnoticed. There is AC but we rarely had to use it as the walls retain the cool of the night through the day. We had to remind the manager to come clean the pool as it had not been cleaned on our arrival. The caretaker took care of this on the next day, so we were able to enjoy the pool the rest of the week. The kitchen is well equipped and this allowed us to cook many of our meals.
We appreciated the welcome bottle of wine, the 6-pack of cold beer, the fruit basket and the pastries on our arrival. A very nice touch!
We had no problem parking our car and the old man José took special care of us, keeping a parking place on the street for us. A few pesos a day tip was all it took. Since the Casa is only 5 blocks from the center of town, we were able to walk to most of the restaurants and shops. There is a Walmart store a bit further away which has a good selection of wine and liquor, as well as all the veggies, meat etc. you need.
The listing photos are bang-on.
The refund on the security deposit took about a month to arrive (the owners have to wait to get the electricity estimate before being able to calculate the refund and send it on).
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the Casa del Panadero and will certainly recommend it to our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Newton, MA
5

Great house, great week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Casa Panadero: the great location, the beautiful decor, the many conveniences, and the very helpful property manager just across the street. It seemed as though all our needs were anticipated. Everything was there, so it felt just like home. Thank you for a wonderful week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Virginia
3

A lovely, small home. Pleasant stay.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Care and thought has been given to the lovely decor and finishes of this casa. Suitable for a couple or a couple and child. Clean and well maintained. The splash pool in December and early January receives minimal sunshine, so too cold to use. Parking can be a problem due to the cantina at the end of the block. Although there are no buses on this part of Calle 49, there is steady traffic, so noise coming into the front bedroom could be a problem for light sleepers. Area is quite safe and convenient to walk to Santa Anna neighborhood, the Paseo Montejo boulevard area, and the main square. The property manager is professional, friendly, always available, and knowledgeable. Many thanks to the owners for sharing their vacation home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
St. Charles, MO
5

Merida Working Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Casa Panadero worked out well for my two week stay in November 2013. Key was an ability to work remotely. Internet access was good and upload/download speeds were adequate for my work. The Apple AirPlay connection to the TV enabled access my music and photos stored in iCloud just as I would from home. Domestic US inbound phone calls were routed to a SKYPE mobile telephone app.

The property is well maintained and centrally located. I did not rent a car and walked to most locations. Taxi service to/from the airport was fast and efficient.

Property Manager, Sylvia, was especially helpful and speaks perfect English. She emailed in advance before the cleaning lady and pool guy did their weekly routines.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Tom
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed yourself Tom . Silvia is a gem for sure . Come back anytime Darren and Margie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Walnut Creek, CA
5

Terrific casa in Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful home in the center of Merida. While the home was built in the mid 1800's it has been restored and has all of the modern amenities to make your stay very comfortable. The home's location is perfect for easy exploration of the many museums and other attractions in this Spanish colonial city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kathleen , so happy you enjoyed your stay and best of all on your upcoming wedding. Come back soon. Darren and Margie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Lodi, CA
5

Could have stayed forever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Casa del Panadero April 27, 2013 until May 5, 2013. We enjoyed this home immensely. It is very private and has lots of living space, inside and out. We felt like we had found a piece of paradise. Margie and Darren have done a wonderful job decorating this home.
We stayed in the back bedroom which is adjacent to the patio and pool. We could see the giant bird of paradise from the bedroom door. We left all the back and interior doors open and only used the ceiling fans and a free standing fan to sleep.
Although we did not cook the kitchen was well equipped.
There is a book and file with all kinds of info and maps.
We walked everywhere in Centro and felt completely safe doing so at any time. The location is great. We walked to the bus station when we wanted to take a day trips.
Sylvia, the property manager, met us upon arrival and had flowers throughout the house, wine, chocolate, milk, juice, and cervezas for us. She gave us the tour to show us where everything was and how everything worked. She was available for us, although we only requested that she book a taxi for our departure.
The home is very inviting and would be great for two couples or a family.
We will definitely rent again. We had the best vacation ever thanks to the wonderful city of Merida and the wonderful Casa del Panadero to call home for too short of a time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Montclair, NJ
5

Delighted

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We spent a week in April in Casa del Panadero, and the house lived up to and even exceeded expectations. The online pictures give a very good impression of the house which is architecturally beautiful, conveniently located, and in great shape. We were particularly impressed with the pool, situated in a completely private walled garden and surrounded by glorious vegetation - palms and blossoms everywhere.
We rented a car and easily parked on the street each night.
Silvia the local agent met us at the house on arrival with a welcome package and very helpful explanations of both the house and Merida: her English is excellent, and she was wonderfully helpful to us.
Merida is large enough to have many things to do, and small enough in the center to be walkable. The people were enormously friendly and the food excellent.
We loved it! We spent a week in April in Casa del Panadero, and the house lived up to and even exceeded expectations. The online pictures give a very good impression of the house which is architecturally beautiful, conveniently located, and in great shape. We were particularly impressed with the pool, situated in a completely private walled garden and surrounded by glorious vegetation - palms and blossoms everywhere.
We rented a car and easily parked on the street each night.
Silvia the local agent met us at the house on arrival with a welcome package and very helpful explanations of both the house and Merida: her English is excellent, and she was wonderfully helpful to us.
Merida is large enough to have many things to do, and small enough in the center to be walkable. The people were enormously friendly and the food excellent. It is also a good touring center.
We loved it!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Newport, Rhode Island
5

Magical Casa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our stay at Casa del Panadero was magical from the moment we opened the doors our first night until we reluctantly closed them to leave. We were planning to stay in a hotel, but there was a bit of a problem so we went on VBRO and found Casa del Panadero. It was perfect. We went in May, which is a very hot time, but the house was always cool and we stayed in the pool.
Silvia, the property manager, was always there if we had any questions. She had wine, flowers, coffee, milk and pastries when we arrived. She became a friend five minutes after we met her. We loved Merida so much that Silvia's brother, a real estate, agent found us a house to buy and we are going to spend March through April in Merida.
DO NOT STAY IN A HOTEL, stay here
Thank you Darren and Maggie your Casa was our Casa for two great weeks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Philadelphia, PA, USA
5

Happy visitor!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I recently spent 5 weeks at Casa del Panadero, in the heart of Colonial Merida. The house is accurately and well-described on the website but upon arriving there, my high expectations were exceeded! The place is beautiful, comfortable and extremely well maintained, not only by the owners (who have thoughtfully included many personal touches) but by the property manager Silvia, who was responsive and helpful to every need. Merida is located near many very interesting day visits to Mayan sites, haciendas, cenotes, beaches, old churches and nature preserves. The house is conveniently walkable to everywhere in the central part of the city -- shops, historical spots and great restaurants. Excellent tour groups are very easy to arrange with professional and knowledgeable guides and bus routes are abundant and easy to use for less structured travel, so no car is necessary.

I have traveled extensively all over the world and I would go back to Merida and Casa del Panadero without hesitation. A great spot to spend some relaxing time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Authentic Updated Colonial with Swimming Pool in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380203vbi
Merida Yucatan
Washington, DC
5

Enchanting, Classic, yet Modernly Restored House in Merida Centro

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This is a lovely, restored colonial house in the heart of the historic center in Merida, within a short walking distance to all the sights and restaurants. The owners have clearly painstakingly restored this house and included many contemporary features, as they describe in the listing. This is perfect for 2 couples or a small family. Discerning travelers wishing to live in relative comfort would be very happy in this property. Although Merida is full of nice restaurants, we found it great to cook and eat at home, which you cannot do in a comparably priced hotel. The addition of an oven or barbecue would have expanded our cooking options, but this was not an obstacle to lovely meals, eaten in the charming courtyard with the fountain providing a soothing backdrop.

The property is in great shape, clean, and the property manager is professional, courteous, and genuinely eager to help in any way. The owner communicated promptly, clearly, and in a friendly manner.

The house has all the modern conveniences you come to expect from distinguished properties. Although it was not a problem, access to cable TV would have given us additional entertainment options--especially as the flat panel TV looked so nice and watching Spanish-language TV would have provided me with another way to practice my rusty Spanish! Again, this did not prove to be a problem, as there is so much to do in and around Merida. There is a DVD player and iPod docking station, so we did have some entertainment options.

All in all, this is a wonderful property and I would highly recommend it. I know that if I return to Merida, I am going back to lovely Casa del Panadero.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2