Kailua Kona cottage rental - Extra Large Cottage located in a private mountain setting
Extra Large Cottage located in a private mountain setting
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kailua Kona Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Large Open Floor Plan Cottage - Sleeps 4

Kaloko Mauka Guest Cottage.

Located above Kailua Kona, on the slopes of Hualalai, this unique 1200 sq foot cottage

is just the place to enjoy your Big Island adventure.

Conveniently located just minutes from Kona Airport, Costco, and Kailua Kona Town, you won't miss a beat. Great activities, beaches and dining located just 5 - 6 miles away.

Cool elevation and lush foliage surround you in this peaceful

3 acre property. It is not unusual that the temperature is 15 degrees cooler than Kailua Kona. During the cooler season , enjoy the warmth of your own electric fireplace with a simple click of the remote.

Nature lovers will enjoy the abundant variety of plants and birds that surround the area. Mornings greet you with clean crisp air that is not affected by the VOG that sometimes is seen in town.

The property is currently being planted with coffee and we look forward to sharing a cup of Kona's Best with you.

Kona has a great open market that offers a variety of exotic fresh fruits and vegetables, and traditional ones as well, that are grown locally, and at a fraction of the price found in the grocery stores.

Cook your meals and dine outdoors under the sky littered with stars.

Or simply enjoy your cocktails over looking the Ohia forest.

For our friends with limited mobility, the single level cottage is perfect. Park in front of your front door and enter the cottage. No parking lots or parking fees.

The cottage design is simple and open. A king sized bed and a queen sized bed will provide lots of room for a couple or a family. Sports fans...you won't miss a game, as your private DIRECT TV dish will ensure that you can keep up with all for favorite teams.

.

Keywords: Guest Cottage, 1200 sq feet

More Details
Hide Details

Recently retired and enjoying the Kona Coast .

Libby Gillis purchased this cottage in 2011

We had been planning on moving to the Big Island for years. We looked to purchase a home in various locations and we are so happy to be in Kaloko. It seems like a world away, yet we are so close to everything. A short drive and we can be dining on the beach. Its like being on another island...so cool!

20 Reviews of Property 379898 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 20 reviews
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Wonderful Kona Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed at the cabin for 6 night and had a wonderful time. Peter was an excellent host and the cabin is spacious. We've stayed at many other vacation rentals before and have never found a place so well equipped with essentials such as toiletries. There was coffee waiting for us and some bottles of water in the fridge. The cabin is so private and your view of the night sky is incredible. We found the bed to be firmer than we prefer, but the bedding was fabulous. Overall, our best stay in Kona yet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Heidi and John

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A lovely, extremely comfortable and well appointed haven awaited us on our arrival; easy to get to from the airport - about 10 - 15 minutes away. Quiet, with elements of a tropical paradise in the lush foliage on the property and the starry nights when we walked along the road. We appreciated the relative coolness there, above the town of Kailua Kona but just a short drive up the hill. Peter and Libby let us know about a few local hikes, and we enjoyed a great one starting just a 5 minute drive from the property in a preserve. We highly recommend this restful, beautiful haven.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our stay with Peter and Libby was great. There place is away from the city and is a great place to escape to. It is also nice because you escape the heat a bit, it is about 5 to 10 C cooler. If we needed anything Peter and Libby were there to help us out. A bonus was the equipment that was available to use - saved us renting. Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
-
4

Axel from Berlin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Very nice house . 70 m2 . Big cupboards for closing and belongings.
Good kitchen and a place in the garden for lunch.
Very quide.
electric fire-place for heating
In january the air -homunity is high in the house.
Pete and his wife are very friendly.
We enjoy our stay for 23 days.
Axel
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

A+++++++

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed four nights in January 2014 at Pete and LIbby’s lovely cottage near Kona. The cottage is very large, recently finished and immaculate. We could not have been more comfortable and our only regret is not having the opportunity to meet Libby. Pete was most enjoyable and accommodating and clearly enjoys hosting people to this piece of Paradise. Much thought has been put into providing every convenience and you will find everything and much more than you need for a memorable and pleasant stay: boogie boards, beach mats, cooler, complete kitchen, very large television with reasonable channel selection, an electric fireplace, laundry facilities, etc.... The kitchen is large and well equipped and the knives are even reasonably sharp:) Privacy is extreme and you drive right up to the front door. This was the first stop in our two week visit to Hawaii and we wanted to stay there the whole two weeks. Our experience with this VRBO could not have been improved upon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Sacramento, CA, USA
5

Excellent escape in a gorgeous setting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I rented this cottage for some rest and relaxation. It perfectly matched the description - we were delighted that the cottage was quite bigger than we expected after seeing the photos and very, very clean. The owners, Pete and Libby, were excellent, generous hosts and offered much appreciated advice about sightseeing and agriculture (they have an impressive array of edible plants, including coffee, growing on their property). Our favorite aspects of the cottage included:
-A fully stocked kitchen with tons of cooking equipment and spices
-A recently installed pebble shower
-Beach gear, like chairs, snorkel gear, and boogie boards
-Surrounded by lush, green plants that provided privacy

If you want to visit a gorgeous part of Hawaii and have your own private escape, I would highly recommend this cottage!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Cool and quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was our first time to Hawaii and were looking for a private location away from the crowds. This cottage was perfect. We really enjoyed meeting Peter and Libby, who were both very hospitable and friendly. We'd love to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Baltimore, md
5

Amazing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was the first time that we did not stay in a hotel, and decided to do something different. We didn't want to stay with the tourist. This place is amazing, it is much bigger than the pictures show, and very comfortable. Peter and Libby were very nice. They made us feel right at home. We are already talking about coming back
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Great place for a contrast to the hot coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is a really great place that can accommodate around 6 people. I stayed by myself and had run of the mill! Well equipped kitchen, TV, and outdoor table, lounging chairs. The owners were very helpful and nice, providing use of helpful items like beach towels and snorkel gear and tote bags. Really awesome and relaxing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kaloko Cottage - Upcountry Kona,Minutes from Kailua Kona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379898vbi
(808) 284-5575 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Arizona
5

Kaloko Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I stayed two and a half weeks here in April. Pete was so friendly and the property is exactly as shown in the pictures. Very clean, comfortable and private. The spectacular show in the evenings of millions of stars was so amazing. We sat outside and listened to silence, something we never get where we live and work. The cooler elevation is perfect for returning to after a day in the sun. The kitchen is fully stocked and everything we needed was provided in this cottage. Even with the owners home on the same large property, they have the garden and landscaping well designed to provide plenty of privacy. We will recommend this cottage to all of our friends. Mahalo Pete and Libby
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1