East End condo rental - View St.John and British Virgin Islands over Sapphire Blue Water from Balcony
View St.John and British Virgin Islands over Sapphire Blue Water from Balcony
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 6 nights
 

East End Condo Rental Photos and Description
Oceanfront on Sapphire Beach; Building E; Unit 308; Sleeps 6

Directly On Sapphire Beach, Villa E308 offers Spectacular Views overlooking St.John and the British Virgin Islands. This spacious condo on two floors, both with balconies, provides comfort for a maximum of 6 guests. Both levels have comfortable sleeping space and full bathrooms. This Condo offers numerous Upgrades and Amenities including a Remodeled Kitchen, high quality King Mattress Set, foam Queen Sofa bed mattresses, two LCD, Flat-Screen TVs, Cable with Premium Channels, DVD Players with Movies, Play Stations 2 and 3 with Games, a Computer with windows 7, DSL Internet, Dedicated Router for Unlimited Wireless Internet, Cordless Telephones, iPod/ iPhone Dock, new Sliding Patio Doors, remodeled Bathrooms, Porcelain Tile, etc. The property has a Marina, White Sand Beach, 2 Coral Reefs, and an Oceanfront Pool. This Ideal East End Location is less than a mile from Red Hook with Shopping, Restaurants, Harbor and Ferry Service. This is a non-smoking unit. Minimum age of responsible guest is 25.

Our Condo is on the third and fourth floors in E building at the quiet end of the Beach convenient to the Marina. From this location, so close to the water, you have an unobstructed, panoramic View of the Sapphire blue Ocean and Colorful, ever-changing Skies. St. John and the British Virgin Islands form the backdrop and provide dots of sparkling lights at night. The boats coming in and out of the marina are beautiful and calming.

With its two floors, our condo offers comfort and flexibility for couples or families. Both levels have Cable TV with DVD Movies and Play Station Games, full bathrooms, ample sleeping and living space plus balconies with tables and seating. The Remodeled Kitchen is fully equipped with stainless steel Appliances, Cookware and Dinnerware. Food and Drinks can be enjoyed at the indoor table, at the breakfast bar, on the balcony, or poolside. For your Rest and Relaxation are a King size bed upstairs (featuring a Therapedic Memory Foam Pillow Top Mattress) under a cathedral ceiling, and Queen size sofa beds with foam mattresses, memory foam toppers and hypo-allergenic covers. Quality linens add to their high comfort level. Communication is made easy with a Computer, Wireless Internet with a dedicated Router, DSL line and cordless Telephones for local calls. A strong Security System is in place with personnel available 24 hours a day.

You will appreciate this Beautiful Beach and Convenient Location. Snorkeling is great fun at the Coral Reef in crystal clear water right out in front of E Building. Snorkel Gear is provided. Sapphire Beach has two active Reefs, a large Swimming area and a cascading, bi-level Pool. A Poolside Bar and Grill is being constructed with plans to open in November, 2014. A food service on the beach offers Grilled Sandwiches for breakfast, lunch and early dinner plus a variety of frosty drinks. The Sapphire Bar & Grill, a full service restaurant and bar at Sapphire Village, is easily walkable from E Building. Adjacent Sapphire Beach Marina offers boating, diving, sailing and fishing trips to meet all purposes of visitors. A token operated Laundry facility is conveniently located beside the marina. Less than a mile away is the village of Red Hook where you will find most anything you may want or need including the Ferry service (pedestrian and auto) to St. John and the British Virgin Islands. Colorful downtown Charlotte Amalie, the capital city, is a 25-minute drive and offers duty-free shopping. From Charlotte Amalie, a 30-minute Seaplane ride will take you to historic St. Croix.

St. Thomas’ temperatures hover around a pleasant 80 degrees all year. You can adjust your indoor temperature with thermostats on both levels and Central Air Conditioning/ Heat. Ceiling fans and ocean breezes add to the comfort of island living. The island topography is hilly and absolutely gorgeous with lush tropical foliage and ocean views from almost everywhere. St. Thomas has numerous attractions and activities including Mahogany Run Golf Course, Zip Lining, Hiking, Sky Ride, Snorkeling, Diving, and Coral World, with an open ocean Aquarium, Snuba Diving, Sea Trekking, Atlantis Submarine, Butterfly Garden, and Swimming with Sea Lions or Sea Turtles. No passport is needed by American citizens to visit the US Virgin Islands of St.Thomas, St.John or St.Croix. Bring one if you want to make side trips to the British Virgin Islands of Tortola, Jost van Dyke or Virgin Gorda.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I fell in love with the ocean when we moved from Minnesota to Miami upon graduating from University. We now enjoy our life in North Carolina between the mountains and the beach. We first vacationed as a family in St. Thomas at the suggestion of our son, who is certified in deep sea diving, in the spring of 1999. It was so incredibly beautiful and enjoyable that we purchased a villa at the lovely Sapphire Beach Resort & Marina. I have since retired from teaching art and my husband has retired to Professor Emeritus status at Duke Medical Center here in Durham, NC. This son is a Regional VP with Catholic Health Initiatives and lives in Atlanta, GA. His brother, a manager at IBM, has joined in this wonderful experience. We all make regular trips to Sapphire Beach together and with friends. Last year, we celebrated the holiday season and our anniversary there and watched the fireworks being set off at St. John on New Year's Eve. It remains the best get-away ever!

Mary Logue purchased this condo in 1999

St.Thomas is that rare place that we enjoy returning to again and again without ever running out of interesting and enjoyable things to do and see. Sapphire Beach is conveniently located for access to shopping, restaurants and other Islands. We have explored St. Thomas, St. John, St. Croix, Tortola, Virgin Gorda plus the caves of Norman Island and love all of the Virgin Islands. We always are happy to return to the incredibly beautiful Sapphire Beach. It's a wonderful place to begin and end each day.

We love our penthouse condo in E building for its spectacular view, ocean breezes, and quiet, calming environment. This spacious, well-designed, two-story condo affords us flexibility and comfort. There is no one else above or below the bedroom. One can sleep or work upstairs while another watches TV or makes an early morning pot of coffee. Building E is convenient to the marina, laundry facility, pool and restaurant.

33 Reviews of Property 379454 on East End, Virgin Islands

'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
average rating of 4.848485 based on 33 reviews
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Perfect beach Location, lovely condo, close to marina, best view ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This condo is absolutely lovely and has such a wonderful location! We took advantage of the marina next door and it was so nice to walk one minute away to go on a sunset dinner cruise with New Horizons and another day to do the BVI day trip with Breakaway. We had everything we needed at the condo!
I'm glad that we rented a jeep (we used Dependable Car Rental and were happy with them) so we could drive right into Red Hook (only 5 minutes away) to the car barge to go to St. John for a day. If you go to St. John eat at Chateau Bordeau--fantastic view up on a hill and food was great, get the Dirty Monkey drink! We ate in the evenings in Red Hook (Loved Fish Tales Restaurant) and even one day bought fantastic barbeque right up the hill (Off the Grid--go for lunch or an early dinner, they sell until they run out. I recommend the Beef Brisket) and brought it back to the condo, because honestly, nowhere could beat the view we had looking out over the water towards St. John and the BVI islands. It was the closest I've ever stayed to the water except when I was actually on a cruise ship balcony! I took advantage of the snorkeling equipment provided in the condo and went snorkeling right there at Sapphire Beach.
The condo itself is lovely. It has free wifi--which we used all the time we were there on our iphones, a laptop which I used to look up maps and restaurants, two TV's (one up and one downstairs, although we never turned them on!), a really lovely upgraded kitchen with everything we needed, a very comfortable king size bed upstairs and two full bathrooms with great towels! We had a lovely few days in paradise! When friends ask me what was my favorite thing about our trip I tell them our location and condo! Heidi Sack
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm impressed that this couple packed so many great experiences into a relatively short stay. I appreciate getting recommendations for activities from my guests that I can add to my list for future guests. Most of all, I love having guests, like this couple, who arrive with enthusiasm and are ready to take advantage of what our condo, Sapphire Beach and the Virgin Islands have to offer. It's a pleasure for me to connect with such lovely people.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Terrific!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
First impressions? Large, modern kitchen with a bar, and very effective black-out drapes that, when opened, reveal that five-star view everyone is looking for.

The location of the condo is up high, but that gives the great view. Our second night there we were out on the balcony watching the sunset and noticed a fishing boat heading into the harbor (right beside the condo building). We ran down there and, sure enough, they had a fresh Mahi Mahi fish that they had just caught. They cleaned and dressed it for us, and we made blackened Mahi in the well-appointed kitchen all week. It was fabulous! The only thing we had to buy other than the fish was some blackening spice at the local supermarket, which wasn't hard because they had aisle after aisle filled with every spice I've ever heard of, and several I hadn't.

The beds were large, even the pull-out sofa one downstairs, and the curtains kept the place pitch black until we got up and opened them. Just right for sleeping. The air conditioning was very effective too, which was good because the week we went it happened to be a bit hotter outside than usual. It was nice to be able to escape the outdoors and take breaks in the condo.

The two floors that this one had provided plenty of privacy. Someone could always get dressed upstairs or in the large bathroom downstairs if they were staying with friends. The balconies are up high, so they provide plenty of privacy from the outside. I think a lower unit would be a little too exposed to the beach for me. I also liked that the view is of the water and the nearby British Virgin Islands. It made me feel a bit like a castaway. Except with food, AC, and a comfortable bed, of course!

Highly recommended!
Owner's Response: We chose to purchase this condo for some of the very reasons listed here. Over time, we have made improvements with an eye toward comfort and livability. I continually update my list of information and recommendations (such as watching for fishing boats from the balcony) that I send to my guests at booking. Satisfied responses from guests like this one are my primary goal. Mary
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Mary's condo, Cheeseburger in Paradise, was fantastic! Everything was just as we viewed in the pictures - even better! The location was awesome with the most beautiful sunrises, plus we felt like we were on a private beach. Snorkeled right in front of the condo everyday. We were on the island to renew our vows and we did so right on the gorgeous Sapphire beach - the week couldn't have been more memorable - thanks Mary and we hope to return again soon. Sam & Judy
Owner's Response: I was pleased to have my condo used for such a significant event in this lovely couple's lives. They shared information about their vow renewal and even sent a photograph. The joy is shining through and makes me happy.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Plymouth Ma.
5

The complete package

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We have been enjoying Sapphire Beach for nine years, the last seven at this villa. It has one of the best views on the beach, along with the local attractions and activities available it is the best vacation location we have experienced. There has been excellent customer service and up grades too the villa,it has everything we need to enjoy our stay. We would recommend this property to families or singles.
Owner's Response: I am fortunate to have had Paul and Corinne as guests in our condo for seven consecutive years. I have been doing direct rentals for only two years but this lovely couple was referred to me by another owner who was selling his condo. They began as month long guests and increased to six weeks. I never worry while they are staying in our vacation home because I know they treat it as their own. I enjoy my interactions with them and am happy that they have reserved another six weeks in 2014. Mary
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Definitely Paradise !!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The pictures that Mary posted of her rental unit were absolutely true to form. We couldn't have asked for more in the amenities that she offers. The furniture is new and the remodeled kitchen was a pleasure to move around in to cook. Having access to TWO balconies was a wonderful option. We enjoyed the 1st floor in the morning and the upper level balcony at night when the ocean breeze was blowing and St. John's lights twinkled across the way.
It was also lovely to sleep on a very comfortable bed for our 9 day stay. We have stayed at other HomeAway rentals and Mary's "Cheeseburger in Paradise" is by far our favorite. When any issues or questions arose, Mary took care of everything with an immediate phone call or a text to answer all inquiries. It was a comfort to know that we could actually speak with her at any time.
Also, we heard from other people around the pool (which was clean and well maintained) that the units they were renting were not very comfortable or clean....we felt sorry for them because when you stay at Mary's she includes amenities such as mid week housekeeping, fresh towel service(both bathroom and beach towels) all week long. The view is indescribable. The pictures really don't do it justice. You have to see it for yourself !!!
We must also mention our wonderful taxi driver named Israel. He became our private driver all the days we were there. Never late, always courteous and his van was clean and in great shape. Mary has his business card in her binder that she supplies with many leads on attractions, restaurants, and activities available for all interests.
We totally recommend this rental unit. We are hoping to return as soon as possible and we thank Mary and her husband for graciously allowing us into their beautiful home.
Owner's Response: This sweet lady was wonderful to work with. I appreciate guests who contact me with questions or concerns as they arise. I have a gem of a local manager who is available on the premises as well. My reward is when my guests enjoy a great vacation while staying in our condo. Even better is when they return as I am hopeful Marie will do. Mary
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Grand Caribbean Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Sapphire Beach is absolutely gorgeous and Mary's villa style condo is the icing on the cake. It is tastefully and comfortably furnished and has a gourmet kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless appliances. The king bed and queen sofa beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. The double balconies offer amazing views of Sapphire Beach, St. John and multiple islands beyond. You could not ask for a better location or accommodations.

Mary is a pleasure to rent from and made the entire process totally seamless. Thank you, Mary. We highly recommend your condo and look forward to returning to "Cheeseburger in Paradise" on Sapphire Beach!
Owner's Response: Thoughtful assessments, such as this one by an experienced traveler, are helpful to potential guests. They also help me with my goal of keeping my condo and services at a desirable level. Mostly, I'm pleased that this woman, who was wonderful to work with, and her family enjoyed their vacation. I, too, look forward to their return. Mary
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Shillington, PA
5

Just What The Doctor Ordered

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This beautiful condo exceeded every expectation and provided a retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, while being close enough to enjoy all the activities that St. Thomas has to offer. We were fortunate to spend nine days celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary here and are looking forward to returning. The amenities in the condo left nothing to be desired. The resort itself is undergoing renovations, but had no impact on our stay. Being adjacent to the marina gave us the opportunity to purchase fish tuna fresh off the boat one evening to prepare for a meal. Consider a charter to visit some of the other islands. The many restaurants in Red Hook offer an array of choices and are a convenient taxi ride away. We did not have a car rental which posed no problem as transportation is available at all times at the front of the resort. It is without hesitation that we would recommend this vacation rental. The owners responded quickly and courteously to all of our inquiries prior to our arrival and the local property manager addressed our requests immediately. Thank you for sharing your property with us.
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that this lovely couple chose to celebrate such an important occasion at my condo in this romantic setting. They appreciate and enjoy Sapphire Beach and St. Thomas just as I, and my family, do. I look forward to their return - perhaps for their 26th anniversary. (Love the clever headline of this review written by a doctor!) Mary
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Durham, NC
5

Return Visit To Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our second year staying in this condo. Again we were so very happy with the accommodations. Love the views and have a great time watching all the boats coming and going during the day. Planning our return visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm always happy to have returning guests like this lovely family. It makes me feel like we're sharing our vacation home with friends. I'm so glad they enjoyed their stay so much that they are already planning to return.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Fantastic views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is likely the best condo and deal on the island. The location is perfect, on the east end of the island away from the cruise ships of Charlotte Amalie but close to good food at Red Hook and docks for excursions off the island.

The kitchen is updated with granite counters, stainless steel appliances and fully stocked with spices & utensils for cooking. The condo is bilevel with a bedroom on the top floor and foldout sofabed on the first level. Beds were comfortable, linens high-quality and bathrooms were updated and spotless. The balconies are large with tables for morning breakfast and unbeatable views of the bay and St. John. Mary is a great host, keeping the condo stocked with beach towels, snorkel gear, wifi and getting access to the condo was seamless. She even pleasantly surprised us with a bottle of champagne outside the door to celebrate a birthday! Her personal touches to our vacation were appreciated and made us feel like home.

Having spoken to several others who rented in the area, we were convinced that Mary's condo is the best deal on the island! Our stay couldn't have been better and we will be recommending her to our friends and family who visit St. Thomas!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I do what I can to facilitate an enjoyable stay for our guests in our condo at Sapphire Beach. This guest's assessment is very gratifying. They were a pleasure to work with and I hope I have the opportunity to play host to them again in the future. Mary
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
'Cheeseburger in Paradise' Beachfront, High-Tech, Low-Key Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379454
+01 (919) 225-7996 (North Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Augusta, GA
5

Absolute Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I used to be a travelling nurse in St Thomas and this is my second year renting from Sapphire East End. I have to say that this place is a perfect gathering place. The kitchen is gourmet and has all the spices you need especially when you can get fresh fish from double header. We bought a slab of tuna for $30 and it was absolutely delicious. There are two floors that outlook directly to the ocean and you feel like your on a cruise ship or better yet your own ship. The breezes feel awesome!!!!
Very accessible to Redhook, British Virgin Islands and St John. Mary made sure evey detail was complete such a linen, beach towels and even snorkel gear which you can take to other beaches and use for your entire stay. Of course, we took the car ferry to St John and snorkeled maho bay, francis bay, hawk's nest, and cinnamon bay.......The best about this paradise place is I felt very comfortable, safe and secure but felt like I was home!! I hope to be able to enjoy this place every year.......
Thank you again Mary, for making my stay so enjoyable.....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Laura is one of my favorite guests so I am pleased that she returned to my condo for her annual, well-earned vacation. (Nurses work hard.) When my family was at Sapphire in January, we watched from our balcony for the Double Header to come back into the marina. At the dock, we purchased Mahi for the incredible price of $6 a pound, filleted at no charge. It was delicious - even better than the fish we had at some nice restaurants. This is the best tip I've gotten from a guest. So, thanks, Laura.
Helpful votes: 9/9