Castro District apartment rental - Bedroom with queen size bed
Bedroom with queen size bed
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Castro District Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

This newly remodeled vacation rental is in a fabulous location in the heart of the Castro district of San Francisco. With high end furnishings, linens and amenities, this charming and cozy flat has new hardwood floors, updated bathroom and granite countertop and stainless steel appliances. Yes still retains some of it's original Victorian era details such as built in cabinets.

Walk to the best the Castro or Mission District has to offer Just a 5 min walk to Castro St, Dolores Park, or public transportation to much of SF's sightseeing. Many trendy, fantastic restaurants, bars and shops in the neighborhood. Being nestled on top of a hill makes for great city views from either end of the street. The house's entrance is landscaped with jasmine and flowers and there is easy street parking in front of the house, which is an anomaly in San Francisco.

You get all modern conveniences while retaining typical San Francisco Victorian charm.

Sleeps 2 adults in Queen bed and has a reading chair plus a desk in the bedroom. (A portacrib available upon request). The living room has a loveseat and ottoman and is equipped with high def flat panel TV with premium cable and HBO, wireless and dsl broadband internet. Kitchen is equipped with cooking items as well as coffee maker, toaster, and microwave and modern amenities including high end linens/towels, bathrobes, etc.

Perfect for business travelers, couples with or without small children, short-term corporate housing, and vacationers.

Visitors looking for traditional San Francisco charm as well as a desire for privacy should look no further.

- Living room with comfortable modern furnishings

- Jr. Bedroom with queen sized bed

- Kitchen finished in granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, gas range, microwave, fridge and eat in area

- Large walk in closet for your suitcases and clothes

- Brand new Hardwood floors in living room and bedroom and central heat

- Shared side garden with bench

- Fully stocked with high end kitchen items and linens

- Vacation or corporate rental ready

- Quiet (urban) neighborhood with easy access to restaurants and nightlife

- Easy street parking

- On-site laundry pick up available for fee and access to washer and dryer can be arranged for longer stays

- No toxic cleaning products used

- Pet friendly

- 32' Flat panel HD LCD TV with HBO and premium cable

- iPhone/iPod docking clock radio

- Public transportation or a short taxi ride to tourist locations including Haight/Asbury, Pier 39, Fisherman?s Wharf, Golden Gate Park, Giants Baseball Stadium, Downtown Theater District and Union Square

Please contact us for additional information about this wonderful San Francisco getaway, and any other questions you may have about the neighborhood or house.

More Details
Hide Details

Amy & Jeff, San Francisco dwellers for the last 13 years, love to explore the city with their young children and chocolate lab. The property is maintained to a very high standard. They are happy to offer advice on all SF has to offer and hope you enjoy your stay.

Amy Bonforte purchased this apartment in 2006

Location! Many people consider this flat to be on one of the best blocks in the city. Quiet, tree-lined street with gorgeous homes, yet only 3 blocks from the heart of the Castro or a few minutes walk to the best of the hipster Mission district and the fantastic Dolores Park. Up on a hill, the street has gorgeous SF views of downtown and the Bay Bridge.

Access to the great sights, restaurants, and bars SF has to offer yet has a neighborhood feel. Easy car access to 101 or 280 fwys; Public transportation is a short walk away.

18 Reviews of Property 379432 in Castro District, California

Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
average rating of 4.611111 based on 18 reviews
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
5

Wonderful stay in an amazing neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Perched on a hill in an amazing neighborhood. We had a lovely stay in this very clean, well-appointed apartment. Great amenities including cozy bedding and towels, kitchen with ample supplies and even an ipad for guests' use! Responsive managers/great customer service. The neighborhood is super central to shops, great restaurants and nightlife. Also extremely convenient for using public transit (including BART to get across the Bay). Bring your walking shoes to get up the hills in SF...the spectacular views make it well worth every step. Thanks for the great stay!
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
5

Wonderful Place to stay - Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This location is wonderful and a very cool place to stay. There is enough space for two people. Amy and Jeff are great hosts. At our arrival the apartment was very clean and looked good - exactly like the pictures. There is a very well equipped kitchen and comfortable bathroom. The location is perfect to visit SFO and the park nearby is one of SFO best.
Thanks Amy and Jeff for hosting us!!
And sorry for our delayed voting!
Best regards
Fabian
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Dealing with Amy and Jeff was fantastic. The space was well laid out and the book of recommendations was a wonderful touch. Very easy to come and go at our leisure, and substantial views right out the front door. Would definitely stay here again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
5

What a nice street & apartment

What a nice street & apartment
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We enjoyed staying here very much. The unit was just right for two people. By taking BART from the airport and transferring to MUNI we got off at the top of Dolores Park and walked two blocks up the hill to get there. When we rented a car there was plenty of street parking nearby.

The apartment was clean and had everything you need for a quick meal. The mission restaurants are also close by. The wi-fi was awesome at over 100 mb/s which was a real treat. We never spoke to the owners the four days we were there but could easily get in touch if necessary. I emailed a parking question and got a quick response.

Being at the top of Dolores Heights you just walk down one side to get to the Castro and Noe Valley or the other side to get to the Mission. A very interesting part of the city to explore away from the regular attractions but 5 minutes away by MUNI to the city if you want. Apartments are a good alternative to a hotel room.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
5

Best Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was the best vacation rental we have ever stayed in for many reasons; starting off with location, cleanliness, layout, amenities, and finishing off with professional and courteous customer service. FIVE STAR on all of the above.

The location, sublime.
The views of San Francisco from the street as you pull in for the very first time were incredible, talk about first impressions! The apartment is conveniently located on top of a hill on a quite residential street, but just down the hill easy public transport to any where in the city your heart desires. Centrally located you have several great neighborhoods within walking distance like the Mission and Castro Dolores Park is just one block away, with gorgeous views of the city and a brand new well equipped playground from sand pit to an instrumental section with drums and wind-shims. Our daughter loved it.

There are many great restaurants near by, the owners recommended a pizza place down the hill called Delphina, which was amazing. But wait don't forget dessert! Across the street, the Bi-Rite Creamery is the best ice cream shop ever, try the salted caramel. The Mission was the best deal if you are on a budget, seriously authentic mexican burritos abound.


Design and Layout, impeccable.
The house which is comprised of two studio apartments and one large house in the back, where the owners live, is very well maintained and seems to have been recently renovated. The place was spotlessly clean, kitchen well appointed, the decor modern with neutral high end furnishings. The space was well laid out, with attention to all the small details. There was even an ipad connected to the tv with OnDemand shows for free! We stayed in the downstairs apartment, and although there were three people staying in the upstairs apartment, we slept soundly through the night.

Already booked our next visit.
I would definitely stay there again, in fact, we have already booked the apartment for our upcoming trip to San Francisco this December.
Big thank you to the owners, your hospitality is unmatched.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
Maarssen/ The Netherlands
4

Cosy place in good neighberhood

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We enjoyed our stay in the apartment. It's cosy, fresh en well equiped. The best thing is the neighberhood, with a great park. Our daughter loved the playground, it's the best we have ever seen! The location is perfect, half hour drive from the airport and downtown.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
Paris, France
3

It was good but...

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
it could have been even better.

We stayed in the lower apartment during 2 weeks. 
Amy is a very good guesthouse owner: she has always been very kind and flexible with us. 

Although the sheets aren't planned to be changed after one week of stay, she anyway brought us new ones.  
She also proposed me to do my laundry in her wash machine and returned it to me well dried and folded at the end of the same day. 
(Actually, in the amenities, it was stated that there was a washing machine). 

For all this I am really thankful! 

Moreover, in the apartment there was already almost everything people usually need to buy: oil, vinegar, salt, liquid and bar soaps, shower gel, shampoo, toilet paper, napkins, cotton buds, Kleenex tissues, ...

Unfortunately there was no vacuum cleaner, but Amy said I could use hers. 
I didn't, because I felt I had already taken too much advantage of her availability. 
Nevertheless I should have used it, because the carpets were full of hair. 

The lower apartment has nonetheless two huge structural problems, which are unfortunately beyond immediate control of the friendly owners: 

1/ it is NOT soundproofed at all. If unluckily there are people above you, on the apartment upstairs, you will ear their slightest movement, even if they try to remain respectful of the neighbourhood... 
But you won't oblige them to keep still.. 
So, even though everyone deserves to spend relaxing and pleasant holidays, we had some very bad and short nights, especially at the end of our stay; 

2/ there is a radiator for the whole apartment, so practically the bathroom is NOT heated, even if you keep its door permanently open.  
Be prepared to have a shower in a fresh room!  
Because of the temperature, after a warm shower there will always be full of steam, which can be evacuated only by a small ventilation (there is no window); 

3/ on the apartment description (windu.com), among the amenities, there is "gym". 
We didn't seen any piece of equipment.  
The tiny table was very wobbly, due to the irregular floor and to the table's structure itself.  We had to find out how to fix it, in order to have a "stable" meal. 

In spite of the material comfort and the nice service we had, I must leave a tepid review, because point 1/ is critical. 

I think that the positive reviews have been left by people who didn't have any neighbours upstairs. 
The point is that you could stay in the most beautiful place in the world, but, if you cannot have a decent rest and you m
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
corona/california
5

Can't wait to come back

Can't wait to come back
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This is the second time we have stayed at this property but the first time in this unit and we loved it! The location of the apartment is perfect. There is so much to do and see within walking distance and also access to public transportation right down the hill. The apartment itself is beautifully appointed with amenities you don't get in a hotel room for the same price. As a mom I love the kitchens because you can have snacks and drinks at the room or the ability to have full blown meals. We love visiting San Francisco and will definitely be staying at this property next time!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
5

Pleasant Stay, Cute Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My husband and I had a great visit at this cute, comfortable, quiet apartment close to the Castro
district. The apartment was spotless and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. I would
definitely recommend this apartment and plan to stay here again on our next trip to San Francisco. The
owners do a great job and are helpful in answering our questions about the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Remodeled Gem in the Heart of the Castro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379432
+1 14156994081
Castro District San Francisco
Truckee
5

Great Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Top level apartment. Everything one would need and done in high quality. The neighborhood is a great place to go for a walk. The apartment is located at a high elevation and the neighborhood is very quite, pretty, and just plain fun. And, due to the location, only residents use the area. This makes parking a snap! Also, Dolores park is close, and it's a great place to walk with the dog.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway