Union Pier house rental - Cozy Living Room, great for entertaining!
Cozy Living Room, great for entertaining!
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Union Pier House Rental Photos and Description
House, 8 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

Charming 7-bedroom home + completely renovated Coach House (one bedroom and bathroom) on great wooded lot 0.4 miles from the beach ! This is the perfect get-away! Summer fun abounds- enjoy water activities on the lake, bike riding, Dine at fabulous nearby restaurants, shop in town, visit the local world class casino, parks and wineries. In the fall, visit the pumpkin patches, pick your own apples at the local orchards, watch the sun set over the lake and enjoy the rustle of the vibrant leaves. Winter is amazing as well - cozy up to the fire, ski at several nearby resorts, sled, ice skate or just revel in the winter wonderland. Warm & inviting home with large living room with wood- burning fireplace, separate dining room, eat-in kitchen, 7 spacious bedrooms (5 upstairs and 2 on the main level), 3 full baths and a powder room. Private outdoor space abounds including a great yard space, large deck, screened-in porch and hot tub. Enjoy the new all-purpose sport court (basketball court surface & hoop)! We are going for a cottage experience so there are not a lot of TV channels :) If you are a TV person, bring your ipod because we do have internet! This home + coach house can be rented on a weekly basis for $5,250 between May 15th and October 31st and $600/night for the main home & $200/night for the coach house the remainder of the year with the exception of holidays, which are available to be negotiated. Call for floor floor plan!

www.16384secondstreet.com

Keywords: house, beach, 7 bedrooms, hot tub, screened in porch, yard, coach house

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 379381 in Union Pier, Michigan

Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
mattawan, mi
4

cozy and charming

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It was a great and affordable spot for our family reunion of 22 people!! lots of hang out space, cute walk to the beach (although i wouldn't advertise it as "steps" from the beach...it was about 3 blocks and then down stairs), and the seperate house was great to put all of the kids in at night. Thanks for sharing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am sorry as I know your Grandma had trouble with the stairs going down to the beach and they were not easy for her- I am still so very glad to hear your group had a wonderful time!
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
United States
5

A wonderful week in Union Pier

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great stay at this house. It was close to the beach, very well maintained; came with a sports court, a beautiful coach house and plenty of beds. This year (as always) we went to Capn' Mike's but also added a kayak trip and visits to St Josephs and New Buffalo. The kitchen and backyard deck grill allowed us to save a lot of money on meals out. And all the games provided by the owner kept our kids busy well into the night. I would highly recommend a stay at this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Fishers, Indiana
3

Family Retreat

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house looks very nice from the outside, nicely landscaped with recently updated patio, a fence in front and some new evergreens in back to provide separation from the house that was under construction behind. The construction was still a bit of a disappointment/eyesore while we were there. The photo of the sports court on line is an "example" not an actual photograph. Inside the main house has a nice cottage feel but no really good place for congregating our big group. There were ample sleeping accommodations and the beds were soft. Towels were provided but were to be washed by guests so bring your own towels. The one's provided smelled of mildew even after washing them when we first arrived and after washing them before we left. It was a fairly hot week and the AC at the house couldn't handle the high 80's low 90's outside temperatures - upstairs bedrooms were very hot at night and downstairs areas were warm from early afternoon to early morning the next day no matter how low you set the thermostat. Doors on upstairs bedrooms/bathrooms don't lock so people got "walked in on" while they were trying to dress or use the bathroom. Small details matter and seeing (for example) a cracked handle on the shower in the master bath and a governor on the handle that we had to fix ourselves to get hot water in the shower was a bit disappointing. Likewise, we would have liked to have been able to flip on CNN, ESPN, HGTV, etc. for a few minutes in the evening or early AM but the TV only had three channels that work. The hot tub was cleaned on Wednesday so it turns out that we had "used" spa water from the previous guests for the first part of our stay. The hot tub turns itself on and off with a mind of its own - we spent nearly an hour trying to see how it worked before checking with the owner and being told that "it's just that way."

The walk to the beach was longer than we would have liked but OK if you know what you're getting into.

On the carriage house, it would have been nice if there were a separate small refrigerator and a TV, again, just as small conveniences. There was no place in the carriage house to hang up or put clothes other than to keep them in our suitcases. There was a large table that could accommodate gathering our large group in the carriage house which was nice but we never used it because it felt like we were using someone's bedroom.

I'm guessing a lot of similar rentals in NB/UP have similar issues.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Aurora, Il USA
5

Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful family gathering! We used every bed too! My husband and I hosted our event so we took the coach house. It was wonderful and beautiful. It was nice to retreat at night and have a quiet cup of coffee in the morning by ourselves. We had grandchildren ranging from 10 months old to 17 years old. Everyone loved it! The basketball court, the beautiful beach and the charming home.)
It was very spacious and beautifully decorated. I loved the beach because my smaller grandchildren could wade into the water at least 50 yards and it was only waist high. It was also literally a lovely 4 blocks. We are already thinking of next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Fantastic Weekend in an Amazing Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family and I stayed in this home for a long weekend at the end of summer before school started and it was AMAZING!
The house was truly beautiful with lots of charm, modern ammenities (like all new gorgeous bathrooms and kitchen), super clean and very spacious. All the bedrooms had the most comfortable beds and fabulous linens. We all slept like rock stars. The dining room table fit all of us in one sitting and the hot tub at night was perfect!
The very short walk down to the private beach was lots of fun. Our kids thought the path down to the beach was super cool and ran all the way there. We spent the entire day jumping waves and building sand castles.
I highly recommend anyone looking to rent a house with Lots of bedrooms, the most comfortable beds, walking distance to a Private beach in a very quaint country environment stay here.

We also got a look at the Coach House...OMG! Right out of a Pottery Barn catalogue. So So So cute.
Everything brand new and stunning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago
4

Recommended -- with a few qualifications

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Welcome to nature! the setting of this house is stunning. Though there were homes nearby, we felt secluded and private. You are surrounded by trees.

The drive up to wine country was BEAUTIFUL!

You also have access to a private beach (VERY short walk away) which we didn't really get to use. We went out to the beach at night and looked at the stars. You could see the Milky Way!!!

The pictures accurately representation of the space -- it's not a huge house and there are no hidden areas. What you see in the pictures is what you get. If people want to chit chat late, you will hear them. Hot tub has four bucket seats and two semi-seats. We fit 5 comfortably and 6-7 with squishing. It was not oversized but very comfortable. You can control the temp.

Beds are INCREDIBLY comfortable. they provided a WONDERFUL night's sleep. This might sounds weird but the bathrooms were the best part of the trip. The water pressure was outstanding, they were immaculate, clean, etc.

A few minor caveats to be aware of in advance. Knowing these will make your stay perfect:

1) The house was CRAZY cold when we got there, and the central heat took a LONG time (like, a FULL DAY) to heat up. Heat really needs to be turned a day in advance and you will not have the same problem. I was not imagining this; fourteen people were freezing and half of our trip we all tried to fix the vents. It's just slow to heat.

Another note about going in Fall -- LEAVES are everywhere. Prepare to sweep the porches yourself as it was not done. Basketball court was unusable.

3) 2 OF THE BEDS ARE TRUNDLES!! The beds break down this way -- King Size Bed to the right of the dining room, Double/Trundle to the left of the dining room, the rest upstairs, including a twin with a trundle. As the trip organizer, I had people paying me with the understanding they were getting a bed but when beds weren't there, I figured I must have read the ad wrong. I felt awful. Be aware of the trundle situation and make sure it works for your party.

4) Bathrooms need curtains! You can be seen clear as day from the backyard at night. Fireplace needs handy cleaning tools so it can be swept out.

5) $300 cleaning fee but you must still empty trash cans/wash towels/strip beds... It was really no problem but we were notified of these responsibilities last-minute.

6) THERE IS NO STEREO. just an old boombox. Bring your ipod speaker.

Overall, truly lovely home. Just wish we'd had a little more info in advance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you had problems with the heat- you were our first renters this fall when the weather started to change and we never had any problems with it in the past- sorry! I am so glad you had nice stay though and thank you for your personal email expressing your interest in coming back next season. We'd love to have you!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
5

Great Family Vacation House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My large family (8 adults, 8 kids) had a great time at this very comfortable house. So many things to like about it - the screened porch was a fabulous place to gather, the beds & baths were all so comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped. We loved the sport court, and made smores one night in the portable fire pit. The proximity to the beach was divine - a lovely 3 block walk to the most glorious, clear water, clean sand beach. We went every day. Activities nearby that we recommend - the St. Julian Winery offered juice tasting for our kids while we adults tried the grown-up beverages! We drove up to the beautiful Warren Dunes State Park, we went blueberry picking, and of course after we tucked the kids in, some of the adults went over to the casino. We made most of our meals in the house, but one night we went over to Redamaks, which was a real treat if you'd like a good burger and everything that goes with it...... The owner of this house made the reservation process very easy, and glady answered all of my questions. All in all, this was one of our most memorable vacations.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
chicago
5

winter getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
we stayed at this great house over the winter and thoroughly enjoyed it. We loved the hot tub with snow all around us, it was very nice and the wooded area around the house looked beautiful snow covered. the town is close by and the stores are charming. The house itself is very nice and in great condition. we really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this charming house to anyone who wants to get away into the country while still being close to chicago.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Michigan getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
What a fun, relaxing vacation we had! The home is perfect, plenty of space for large groups. We had the best time hanging out at the beach which is just a short walk away from the house. We rode bikes all around town and visited the U-Pick orchards and just loved it! The spacious yard was great for outdoor activities and we especially enjoyed hanging out on the nice screened-in porch. The house was nice and clean and equipped with everything we could have needed so there was nothing to worry about. We all loved it and will definitely be planning another trip to stay there soon! 
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379381vb
312-264-1100
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This home is everything you could ask for when you get away. It is clean, spacious, close to the beach, and relaxing. There is also a basketball hoop and hot tub out back, perfect for children to play. The large King bed on the first floor definitely helped me recharge my batteries. I would return to this lovely home in heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2