Esterillos villa rental - Casa de Sophie was featured on HGTV's House Hunter's International in 2008.
Casa de Sophie was featured on HGTV's House Hunter's International in 2008.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Esterillos Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Vacation in a luxurious 2,000 square foot private villa in Esterillos Este, Costa Rica.

Casa de Sophie is located in Condominio Costa del Sol; a private community with mountain views and just a short 1 kilometer (.3 mile) stroll to one of the most desirable beaches in Costa Rica. Enjoy all Esterillos has to offer from this tranquil, modern, conveniently located home, surrounded by lush, exotic foliage.

The spacious master bedroom has a king size bed, large closet and a full private bath. The master bedroom also has glass sliding doors leading to the pool at the back of the house. The 2 bedrooms have a connecting full bathroom.

The house has central air conditioning throughout and all of the bedrooms also have individual air conditioners and ceiling fans. The full kitchen has all the modern appliances, dining room seats 6 comfortably, a very roomy living room has glass sliders leading to the patio. All rooms are tastefully furnished and ceramic tiled.

The home is decorated with beautiful artwork all from Costa Rica and each room has its own theme.

Outside the pool is kidney shaped with a sit down area to enjoy that cold Pina Colada after a long day of beach walking. The rooftop deck is huge and has a sink and a BBQ grill to cook and relax out of the hot sun.

The community area has two large pools, a rancho for large parties and a tennis court.

Casa de Sophie is ideally located only 20 minutes south of Jaco, the main vacation destination in the Central Pacific for tourists and locals. Jaco has everything from surfboards and surfing lessons, to massages and manicures. From restaurants, liquor stores and supermarkets, to boutiques and Internet cafes. Almost all tours and activities originate out of Jaco or nearby Los Suenos in Herradura. Everything you could need or desire. The property is located 40 minutes north of world famous Manuel Antonio National Park where you can spend an entire day hiking, scuba diving, shopping, or just relaxing.

Call or email for more details.

Keywords: House, villa, casita, pool, beach house, rooftop deck, casa, bungalow, single family

More Details
Hide Details

I picked Esterillos for our retirement home. I needed an escape and Esterillos really was the spot to be. I still have 3 more years before I can retire so I just visit until that time comes. Please contact me via email with questions or to reserve your stay.

Michael purchased this villa in 2006

I really love the area, the people, the culture and the proximity to everything. Far enough away to be away yet not too far.

We love the fact that there is so much wild life close by. In the mornings you can see monkeys behind the property and from time to time you can see parrots, Scarlet Macaws and several iguanas.

19 Reviews of Property 379154 in Esterillos, Costa Rica

Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
Nova Scotia
5

Beautiful family vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed at Casa De Sophie for a month last winter and enjoyed it so much we returned this winter for another month. The home is very clean and well maintained; in fact there have been several major renovations over the past year. We had our young grandchildren with us this year and they loved the seats in the pool. The new outdoor bathroom with shower was great after a swim in the ocean.

The owner is very helpful and does care about the people who stay in his home. I would recommend this lovely home to anyone who wants to experience Costa Rica away from all the tourists.

It is not far from the local attractions such as zip-lining, Rainmaker Rainforest walk and Monkey and Crocodile tours. Only a 5 minute walk to the ocean.

The staff at Casa del Sol are very helpful and we were very impressed with their support for the local school.

Pura Vida!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
5

Absolutely wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed in Casa de Sophie for a full month and plan on doing it again next year. The house is wonderful, the pool is perfect and we enjoyed the area. Nice and relaxing place to be! The iguanas on the rooftops are a treasure, the landscaping is gorgeous and the house was absolutely spotless. The gardners and the pool maintenance people take care of everything and Michael is always thinking of extra things to have there. One thought that we had that would make it better would be a gas BBQ. Shhh, don't tell everyone about this treasure though. Several of us already love it and appreciate Michael sharing it with us. Michael was always available to answer questions. There are many restaurants within driving distance of the house but I would not recommend staying here without a car.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
5

Beautiful villa! Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Beautiful villa! Absolutely love the open floor plan and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the yard and pool. And what a perfect location! With only a 25 minute drive, we were able to travel to Jaco numerous times for shopping, night life, and transportation to and from our excursions. And, although Jaco has a beautiful beach, I enjoyed the more private setting offered by the beach neighboring Casa De Sophie. Being a 5 minute walk from the villa, I spent a lot of time sun bathing, shelling, and watching some of the most beautiful sunsets there. Casa De Sophie is also within driving distance of Manuel Antonio and several other must sees. My friends and I enjoyed waterfall rappelling, zip lining, and snorkeling at Tortuga Island ... all of which I highly recommend. And if you are worried about food, don't be! There is a small pantry with everything you'll need to make your own meal at the villa as well as several restaurants within walking distance from Casa De Sophie. I will definitely be back in the near future!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
Chicago, IL
5

AMAZING vacation in this beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This home is gorgeous and so well maintained! It's perfectly situated about a block from a very quiet beach, and it's an easy drive to the nearby town of Jaco or Manuel Antonio National Park. The property manager, Shannon, was extremely helpful in helping us with all of our needs, including tour reservations. You've got everything you need at your fingertips here and it's SO much nicer than staying in any resort. Thanks Michael!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Your quite welcome Stephanie! See you next year at Casa de Sophie.
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
Chicago
5

This place rocks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This place is large and luxurious - I could not have asked for better accommodations. The place has cable tv, internet, in-unit laundry, a roof top deck and a great swimming pool

In addition, it is situated near Jaco and Quepo and driving to either place was convenient.

My wife and I and another couple stayed here. This place was large enough for everyone.

I highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
Ontario, Canada
5

Casa De Spohie..does not get any better than this!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was our first vacation in Costa Rica and we couldn't have found a better place. Not only is the place in excellent condition, but there are so many interesting things to do in the local area. We are avid bird watchers, so each morning we were up at 6 am to watch the birds and monkeys from the rooftop deck. The weather was perfect for the whole month and we certainly appreciated the pool. The home is well equipped and the new dining table is beautiful. The owner (Michael) and all the staff were very helpful. We highly recommend Casa De Sophie and look forward to returning next winter. Pura Vita!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
Chicago
5

All of that---and much more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I have never been to Central America....and let me tell you, THIS was a fabulous way to break me in! The pictures of this home don't do it justice! It is in stellar condition. Mike (the owner) was even going to have a brand new living room table delivered while we were there. He is so dedicated to making your stay comfortable. It's hard for me to detach from work while away, but the wifi and local land line made me feel like I didn't miss a beat...while i lay in the hammock, sunbathed on the rooftop terrace, or longed by the pool. It was heaven! If you venture out nearby, go to Hotel Del Fin. Good times, awesome owner, they even exchange cash to Colones there at the best rate and they can schedule activities (zip lining, tours, etc) for you too. Good food also. We spent 2 days in Manuel Antonio, great beach and National Park tour! You can parasail there too, at a decent rate. Eat at the Avion for fantastic seafood and sunset views. Jaco, reminded me of Venice Beach in California, if you have ever been. Characters from all walks of life and a cool, calm way of life. We barhopped there...bars don't stay open too late. You can get a good tour guide there also for Canopy Tours, ATV, and Bungee jumping, etc.
The Tikos (Costa Rican's) are AMAZING, warm and hospitable people. They go the extra mile to make sure you are taken care of. I will be back!!! I'm already counting the days.
Thanks, Mike!
Your place is Heaven on Earth!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am glad you had a good time and the table came the same day you left. I will post new pictures after my trip in March. We made lots of improvements to the place since my last trip and have more improvements planned as we go.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
Calgary, AB CANADA
5

Can't Wait to Go Back!!

Can't Wait to Go Back!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Great rental property that I will recommend time and again to friends and family and cannot wait to go back to. This place exceeded our expectations and was in a perfect location; close to all the Costa Rica tourist attractions when you're looking for adventure, on one of the nicest beaches I've visited in CR (and I've scoped out a couple), and just enough out of town to enjoy a very relaxed vacation. Thank you Mike for the use of your place - one of the best setups within this gated community - and very much looking forward to next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments and your stellar review. I am glad you had a good time. You and your family are welcomed back anytime. Stay warm up there in Canada!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
Costa Rica
5

COMFY BEACH HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My closer relatives and I spent the long weekend at Sophiep´s house, it was a really nice time there. The house has everything you need to have a nice and comfy stay in a beach house, the most beautiful is the back yard where we enjoy most of our time, the pool is spectacular and the rooftop deck is really nice. Also you can go to any of the beaches that are pretty close to the community, Playa Bandera, Manuel Antonio just to mention some of the nicer beaches that are less than an hour drive. Or if you prefer Playa Bejuco right next to the community.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Casa de Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379154vbi
Esterillos Puntarenas
WillowSprings, IL
5

Amazing House to Rent!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I recently stayed at this rental property with my family. We had an amazing time. The house is very clean and has everything to offer. We loved the in-ground pool in the back yard and the privacy that it offered. We were able to walk to the private beach as well. We spent most of our time relaxing which is just what we needed!! I would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a great get-a-way that is quiet and peaceful.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Joni thanks for your stay. Next time stay longer!!! Life is too short. Pina Coladas are on me next time.
Helpful votes: 4/4