Killarney cottage rental - View of Sitting Room and Kitchen
View of Sitting Room and Kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
Minimum Stay nights
 

Killarney Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Cozy & Comfortable - Relax in the great room of vaulted ceilings and exposed beams ceilings. Teach Mor is a two-level, 3 bedroom with 2 queen-sized beds 2 bathrooms, and upstairs has 2 single beds, an open plan cottage with a large sitting room/kitchen. Built brand new in 2007. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is also a washer/dryer. Sleeps 6 (we can add a single bed to a bedroom if needed).

Set on the door step of Killarney National Park we have four Courtyard Stone Cottages all of various design and layout. The cottages are tucked into a very beautiful and quite walled courtyard setting.

We are just off the Muckross Road. A 12 minute stroll into the Killarney Town Centre. A bike path to Muckross House and Gardens is across the Flesk Bridge.

Just a 5 minute walk to the INEC - Gleneagle Hotel.

Please contact us by email or telephone and we will answer all your questions that you have.

Keywords: Vacation Home, Cottage, House, Self Catering, Vacation Rental, Bungalow, Ranch

More Details
Hide Details

Bernadette and Tim O’Donoghue met in The Windy City of Chicago a few years back. We acquired the property in 2002. We then returned from Chicago in 2004.

Bernadette was a paralegal secretary and is now a stay at home Mom and an excellent baker, I am an electrician by trade but got into construction during my 14 years in Chicago. I restored several old houses and classic vintage apartment buildings during my time there. I coupled this experience with Bernadette’s keen eye and interior design savvy to create some wonderful finishes and unusual touches. We began the colossal rehab project in 2004 to restore the Priory to its former glory , it was basically completed it in 2007 or is it ever complete I like to ask myself ?

We pride ourselves in welcoming you into our place.

Tim O'Donoghue purchased this cottage in 2002

I grew up in Killarney, where my parents owned a camping site and I truly loved meeting visitors on a daily basis. We have 4 children and we wanted to raise them here in Ireland, so we said we would give it a shot and here we are.When this property became available we realized how unique it was and what a fantastic opportunity it would be to own The Priory.

We are in a key location, a ten minute walk from town but it feels like we are in the heart of the countryside where you cannot hear a sound by night.

You will get a quiet private house to yourself where you can come and go as you please. You can cook when you want and have the full use of the 1.5 acre property on private grounds. You can sit back and relax in the front of the open hearth fire sipping a nice Irish whiskey or reading a good book with the sweet smell of turf burning away. You will get the real feel of Irish living and live like we live ourselves while visiting in your home away from home.

We are on site owners who are here to help you in any way you require and assure a wonderful stay. We have invaluable knowledge about the local area from cultural information to hikes, local food joints to off the beaten track drives. We can organize in-house chef, or poetry recital or to a music session.

We like to tell our guests ''We are as near or as far as you wish.'

17 Reviews of Property 379146 in Killarney, Ireland

1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Murrieta, California USA
5

Family vacation in Ireland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved our visit to Ireland and staying at the Priory was just perfect. We stayed at the Loft, which was very well maintained. It is quite spacious with 3 bedroom and 2 baths. We enjoyed the vaulted celiing and a great kitchen with everything you could possibly need. After a day of site seeing, coming back to the house and enjoying a nice warm fire in the family room was a great endhing to the day. Tim and Bernadette were very helpful in guiding us around the countryside and her scones are delicious! The courtyard is so charming and very well maintained. I would highly reccommend this as the place to stay. It is very convenient to many wonderful sites in Ireland, several in the immediate area. Can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
5

Perfect Irish Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our family's first trip to Ireland and we decided to use Killarney as our home base for the week. The Priory was the perfect home! It is exactly what we needed, space for all kids to play, lounge, explore! The gardens are lovely, there is a soccer field, basketball hoop, and playground. Something for everyone. There are plenty of places to eat nearby so we walked everywhere. The walk into town is quite easy and our five year old was able to manage it daily. The owners couldn't have been any sweeter to our family. They genuinely wanted us to have whatever we needed, gave excellent advice as to where to eat and what adventures to add to my list of activities. The Loft is clean and has every amenity you would have in your own home. The charm of The Priory is something you can not get from a hotel. My children are already asking when we can go back to The Priory, the perfect Irish cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
The Hill Country of Texas
5

Another wonderful visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We've stayed in The Loft at The Priory for two consecutive years. It's a wonderful place--warm, inviting and very attractive. We plan on visiting again very soon.

First of all, the website gives a true and accurate description. There are no exaggerations or misleading facts.

We have visited Ireland and stayed with Tim and Bernadette twice in the last two years. Our first trip in 2012 was a scouting trip to see if The Priory was as good as it appeared on the website. We had a great time, and this past June we brought our adult family with us to introduce them to Ireland. Without exception, everyone felt that the visit could not be better, and Tim and Bernadette were instrumental in making it that way.

Tim and Bernadette have made the grounds and the buildings warm and inviting. We stayed at the Loft, the three-bedroom unit. It is very comfortable, and we felt that we truly belonged there. Tim and Bernadette were always available and helped us plan our activities. While many of their suggestions were the types that could be found in travel books such as the Ring of Kerry, they also gave us ideas of other, unique places to visit such as Mizen Head. These were really great places to visit, and we would have never known about them without their guidance.

They also know Killarney very well and helped us with entertainment and restaurants. The Priory is only a fifteen-minute walk to downtown and we found that walking was a great way to see the city and not have to worry about parking. They introduced us to White Gates Pub. We enjoyed several evenings there with the Three Sisters singing group, plus a night of traditional Irish dancing. Fabulous!

In summary, Tim and Bernadette really care about their guests and strive to make the visits fun, comfortable and interesting. They will go out of their way to assist and do not mind offering several choices for things to do in the area. Their website gives all the details and you can trust their honesty. The Priory is a special place and you will undoubtedly feel like you are in a second home.

We feel like they are now friends, and we highly recommend them to others seeking a wonderful place that is operated by wonderful people.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
5

Perfect vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I fell in love with this rental looking at the pictures online and decided I must stay here. It turned out to be perfect and I am so glad that we did!!! Tim and Bernadette are super friendly and helpful giving very useful touring tips. Staying at the cottage for a week was just what we needed after driving around for a week, just having a place to crash, to hang up all of our clothes, do laundry, hang out and play games. It was a great base for day trips. We spent a day in dingle, ring of kerry, cobh, kinsale, cork, Jameson and just spent some time in Killarney. Killarney is a great town that is easily within walking distance from the cottage but far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. The house was very spacious and clean. It was stocked with practical items which made it helpful to at least bide us some time to get to the grocery store. There is a bike event around the ring of kerry in July that was going on while we were there, if I would have known about it I might have joined in but hope to come back and be part of the festivites! When I do, I will be staying here at the priory again! Book early because they sure fill up quickly! Can't wait to be back there again and maybe stay longer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
West Chester, Pa USA
5

Perfect!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thank you, thank you for sharing your home with us. You provided us with a wonderful, charming home to spend two weeks in. The location was perfect for exploring the south west corner of Ireland. We appreciated all of your recommendations from where to eat, to taking scenic drives. It was wonderful to return in the evening and be able to heat up the grill for dinner, put a fire in the wood stove and just relax. You have created a life time of memories for us to share with our friends. Again, thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
plymouth, massachusetts, usa
5

home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Booked Teach Mor cottage with Tim and Bernadette O'Donahue to finish a two week visit to Ireland back in May of this year. All I can say is WOW! Perfect location right outside of downtown Killarney, walking distance for the more athletic. In a private residential neighborhood. Cottage has recently been updated and has a third bedroom accessible by a new spiral staircase. Can now sleep 7. Wood/peat burning stove with plenty of peat and wood available on site. Two big bathrooms, one with a tub. State of the art kitchen with all the appliances, cookware, plates, glasses, cups silverware etc. Tim and Bernadette are absolutely wonderful hosts. Available anytime you needed anything and brought scones by every morning! Bernadette is originally from Chicago and has adjusted quite nicely to the Irish lifestyle, even acquiring a bit of a brogue. Tim let me borrow his gas grill one night as I prepared dinner at home one night. Plenty of parking available onsite for larger vehicles. I could go on and on raving about The Priory but I'll simply state that if you are planning a visit to Ireland in the future consider The Priory cottages instead of a hotel, especially if you have a larger group. Its already become our home away from home as we will be returning next year, and many years to come! VERY reasonable rates. Give them a try, you won't regret it! Teach Mor is only one of 5 cottages available, each with their own style and layout.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Sydney Australia
5

Magical Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a sensational stay at the Priory. Tim and Bernadette were the perfect hots. Nothing was too much trouble and the fresh scones for breakfast were brilliant. We would highly recommend the Priory if you were looking for a home away from home style accommodation with full cooking facilities, a laundry, incredibly comfortable living and bedrooms.

And Killarney is a stunning location to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
New Hampshire, USA
5

Wonderful Cottage In Killarney

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Spent a week at Teach Mor with our Daughter, Son-In-Law and 2 year old Granddaughter. The cottage was perfect for all of us with plenty of room to relax . It was very clean and comfortable. It was great to be able to cook our own meals and come and go as we pleased. Our Granddaughter had lots of room to run around and play - both inside the cottage and outside in the yard.

Killarney is our favorite destination spot in Ireland. We enjoyed our stay at Tim and Bernadette's beautiful Priory Cottages. Having met them on a previous trip to Killarney, we felt at right at home while staying there.

Great family vacation spot!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Northern California Sierra's USA
5

Fantastic Time in Killarney!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife and I rented this home with another couple for seven nights. This truly became our home away from home while in Killarney. A 100+ year old home with modern renovations made this a very comfortbale place to rest our tired bones in the evening. Terrific ambiance and the owners, Tim and Bernadette, were so gracious. They make you feel like instant friends. This location is central to so much that you can take in all Killarney has to offer without relocating over and over. We can't recommend highly enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1st Class Cottage Ideal Location - Teach Mor at The Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p379146vbi
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Folsom, CA
5

a memorable vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Tim and Bernadette are wonderful hosts, making a lovely home and helping out with maps and suggestions. The home itself is perfect. Beautifully decorated. Great kitchen with full appliances. A large living area with a terrific peat and wood burning fireplace that we used a lot! Large and comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. Very quiet and yet close to town. An easy walk to a nice pub at the end of the drive with nice traditional music. All in all an A plus five star experience. We will return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway