Vashon Island house rental - Bamboo Gateway to McCormick Pl and walk to beach
Bamboo Gateway to McCormick Pl and walk to beach
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Vashon Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Wolf Glen is a wonderfully cozy 2 bedroom home with a large covered deck for outdoor grilling and dining on a natural glen that slopes toward the water. One property up from the water, it's a short walk down a single lane road that follows McCormick Creek to the waterfront of Puget Sound.

Start by stepping out the front door to walk across the yard, through the bamboo gateway and, if you want, even walk through the wolf and eagle tree carving (see photos). I'll write more about the fir tree (the source of most of the siding on the house) and the carving of the statue later.

The home is fully equipped for cooking and dining with comfortable seating for 6 at the dining table. There's a couple stools at the cooking peninsula for friends or family to sit and chat while someone whips up something yummy in the kitchen.

For tea drinkers there's a convenient Instahot hot water maker (dispenses filtered cold and hot water). For Coffee drinkers you will find a bag of Wolf Blend coffee from The Vashon Island Coffee Roasterie, the birthplace of Stewart's Brothers Coffee which later became Seattle's Best Coffee. If you want a fabulous latte, in my book, there's no better place to go. Just a short drive down the middle of the island.

If you don't want to cook there are many fabulous restaurants and coffee shops. Fine dining at the Hardware Store (sounds like an oxymoron doesn't it). Great hash brown and eggs at Sporty's. Delicious Mexican and marguritas at Casa Bonita's and many other wonderful places to choose from.

There are several stores in town for those that like to shop. A drug store and 2 grocery stores.

A washer and dryer and laundry soap are included for your convenience.

You can heat with the modern Convectaire wall heaters or use the wood stove for the ambience of the fire.

You can't find a more relaxing place to hang out with friends or family and be this close to Seattle and all of the big city activities it offers.

Keywords: country home, country cabin, family fun, relaxing hot tub

More Details
Hide Details

I'm a remodeling contractor of many years. Started out as a carpenter and a painter and now have a small but successful design/build remodeling business with 8 wonderful employees. I enjoy my work and I have an interest in interfaith studies with the hope of helping people of differing faiths find the common ground we all stand upon.

Denny purchased this house in 2007

I have always wanted to have a place where people could come and relax and enjoy the quiet or hang out with friends and family. Originally I bought this place to be my home but have since decided to bring my dream alive of a vacation place for others.

Sitting in the hot tub and looking up at the stars. Watching deer wander into the yard. Walking the beach and seeing seals or otters swimming through the water or eagles and opsrey flying overhead.

16 Reviews of Property 378829 in Vashon Island, Washington

Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Peaceful and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
A great place to kick back and relax, especially in the hot tub! The rental is cosy and comfortable and always feels welcoming. If you have a car, it's only a few minutes drive to the shops one way and the ferry in another direction.

We love using this wonderful place as a base from which to explore the island and all of it's local treasures. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Seattle, Washington
5

Canning weekend success!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I have a group of gal pals that have a seasonal tradition of canning. We usually rotate between our houses, but once a year we like to make a weekend of it. This past winter/spring we spent our weekend at Wolf Glen. Such an idyllic setting, and cozy interior. We didn't want to leave. The large deck is begging for beautiful dinner parties and living room is perfect with a roaring fire. Plus...the hot tub. I can't say enough praises, wish I could call it home. Hope to rent it again this spring.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Perfect home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I have enjoyed many vacation rentals, but Wolf Glen takes the cake! This was by far the best vacation rental we have ever experienced. This very cozy, well-appointed home was everything we'd hoped for and more. The quiet location with an ocean view was perfect. No expense was spared on the appliances including the wood stove, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, oven, grills, and amazing hot tub. As many guests have commented - the radiant floor heat in the bathrooms was luxurious! The mattresses were more comfortable than my home mattress, the expansive living room couch was perfect for lounging. The house was spic and span, fully equipped for cooking, and was even stocked with spices, tea, coffee, condiments, etc! I really can't say enough nice things about this rental. It's a perfect home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Beth. It really is rewarding to hear such wonderful feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Best Regards,
Denny
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Very Relaxing!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We enjoyed a much needed relaxing weekend away. The cottage met our needs and more! The attention to detail that the owner has put into this place is amazing!! We enjoyed the beautiful scenery and the view of the water...took walks on the beach and collected shells. We built a fire in the wood stove, very toasty and cozy. My husband especially enjoyed the hot tub, said it was just what the Dr. ordered!! The heated floors in the bathroom.....a nice feature as well. A fun little town to explore. I would highly recommend if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Sooo satisfied

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This place is fantastic, way beyond what we have ever found in the numerous locations my friend and I have scouted out for 'girl's weekend away'. The attention to detail and the quality of the workmanship on this "cabin" is amazing. Nothing is missing from the fireplace, to the heated floor in the bathroom, to the hot tub, TWO grills, and on and on. Beautiful location, easy accessibility beach and quiet roads to roam.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Wolf Glen a Good Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Very nice place to stay; easy walk to the water; quiet; interior is very pleasant; very well kept up property. I would recommend this. Hot tub an added bonus!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
United States
5

Great Homecoming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We are former Vashon residents who came back to our old stomping grounds for a much needed visit. We absolutely loved Wolf Glen! The deck, hot tub and view were tops on our list. The kids loved the big yard in which they expended lots of energy. The weather was amazing so much time was spent just relaxing on the deck, catching up with dear friends.

Property was clean and well appointed. Owner is responsive to your communication. Location is great, not too far from ferry, Palouse Winery and town center.

We will definitely be back for our next visit.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Issaquah, Washington
5

Sooooooooooooo relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Wolf Glen was even better than described...the house was very cozy and comfortable with many thoughtful touches throughout....heated bathroom floors, great BBQ, fell asleep in the hammock on the deck and I've never seen a wood stove the likes of that one...so toasty warm! Love Love Loved sitting in the hot tub in the morning watching and listening to the birds soar over head and the seeing the boats on the water. Love Love Loved enjoying the hot tub at night listening to the creek and watching the stars! Slept like babies in the comfy beds and it's so quiet at night. The kitchen is efficient and we whipped up some great meals with some local fresh produce from the Saturday Farmer's Market. The beach is lovely and serene. Such a relaxing time. Looking forward to our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Berkeley California
5

Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Wolf Glen was perfect for our family thanksgiving get together. We are a couple with three semi-adult sons and a dog, who all gathered and relaxed together in this peaceful setting. We found being in this thoughtfully designed and tastefully furnished house helped us slow down, relax and enjoy each others company. While soaking in the hot tub, we enjoyed the view of the water in the distance and deer grazing in the meadow. Between rain showers, we took a couple of hikes on the island. Lots of information on local hikes was provided. The kitchen worked out fine for cooking large meals (appreciated the dishwasher). There's no big screen tv to distract. But there are some fun board games to play by the wood burning stove. This home has many wonderful "green" features. I think our favorite was the radiant floor heat in the bathrooms. Ah, there's nothing like getting your feet warmed while in the bathroom. We hope to come again to Wolf Glen in the summer to enjoy the outdoor deck and to use the outdoor grill and smoker.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Wolf Glen Vashon Island Getaway Relax in Nature Walk the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378829vb
206-409-5579
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Seattle
5

A perfect weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I booked Wolf Glen for my bff's 30th birthday and we couldn't have been happier. The place was very clean and fully stocked on firewood, which was great because it rained all weekend. The kitchen is rather small for cooking but we managed. All in all, the house cozily accommodated four adults and two dogs. It was heaven waking up each morning and throwing the ball from the sprawling deck.

The beach is a quick walk down a dirt road. Even better, the hot tub is big and actually hot (instead of lukewarm).

If you're looking for a cozy weekend getaway that's close to both the ferry terminal and town, I highly recommend Wolf Glen.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3