Manistee cabin rental - Private deck on Lake Michigan's sandy shoreline
Private deck on Lake Michigan's sandy shoreline
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Manistee Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 8

This privately situated cabin on a 20 acre estate and wildlife sanctuary, offers one of the best vacation locations available in Michigan if you are looking for a more rustic setting. Dine while looking out a large picture window, over a beautiful section of an inland lake only 25 feet from the front door, and just behind that a view of Lake Michigan.

This spacious, fully furnished, beautiful knotty pine cabin with cathedral ceiling and loft, is decorated with antiques from the logging industry and a historic sawmill, that operated on this site up to 20 years ago.

A dock with a rowboat and canoe are located out the front door for your use to explore or fish our inland lake. Great bass and pike fishing available, or enjoy salmon fishing in Lake Michigan by charter. A deck and private beach on the Lake Michigan shoreline are yours to enjoy.

Walk, cycle or run along scenic Lakeshore Rd. bike path that winds along Lake Michigan, or visit the Audubon Society Center and Nature Trails, both within a couple minutes walk. White Tail Deer frequently move around on the property in the early morning and the evening hours. A bird watcher's paradise!

The Cabin is located only 5 minutes north of downtown Manistee, allowing for easy access to shopping and activities sponsored by our Victorian City. If you feel lucky, try the 'Little River Casino' just north of Manistee on US 31 & M 22.

One lower bedroom and an upper loft sleeps 6, with room for 2 more on a queen-size sofa/sleeper. Just bring personal belongings, beach towels & food, as everything else is provided; linens, bath towels, front deck, & back patio w/table & chairs, picnic table, gas grill, microwave, gas fireplace, cable TV/VCR and stereo.

It is a terrific place for kids to occupy themselves, explore by boat or canoe and learn about our natural environment. Our private lake is nearly a mile long and offers much to see in waterfowl and other wildlife. While those who would take a more casual approach can be reading and sunbathing on our spacious Lake Michigan beach. There is easy access to our Lake Michigan beach, as we are on low bank relative to the lake. The beach is spacious with a lot of privacy to the south along the Audubon property. Although the lake bottom topography changes continually, quite often you can find sandy bottom to swim fairly close to our lake access and deck.

The yard is very spacious. There is plenty of room to park your travel trailer, RV, boats or other. We welcome well-behaved pets.

WE are members of the MANISTEE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE.

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 378797 in Manistee, Michigan

Comfort in Natural Surroundings
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Comfort in Natural Surroundings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378797
+1 231 887-4019
Manistee Northern Michigan
Michigan
4

A little slice of heaven

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The property is as listed and it is very clean. The owner, Charlie, is very easy to work with. When I say: "Little slice of heaven"...what I referred to is the fact that just across the street, Charlie has a semi-private beach on Lake Michigan. So, on one hand, you get a "rustic" place for your trip...camp fire...row boat to a decent fishing lake, kayak...on the other, Lake Michigan Beach within walking distance. Could not be more perfect. There is a very nice outdoor shower too as well as cable TV. There is a window air conditioner in the bedroom. We visited on the hottest week of the summer, the cabin got warm, however, there is also a nice ceiling fan and an exit window fan so had it not been 90-95 degrees, we would have been fine without central air. There are also various chickens, turkeys, black squirrels and birds to watch. Very fun vacation spot close to everything in Manistee as well. Good for you, Charlie, for creating this down to earth spot for enjoyment and thanks!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Comfort in Natural Surroundings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378797
+1 231 887-4019
Manistee Northern Michigan
5

great place for people and the dogs!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I stayed here with my 2 dogs in May 2013 for a little beach and hiking get away. The place is very nice with a great location. It is well equipped, everything in working order, clean and steps away from the beach and hiking trails. A few minute drive to town where there are several restaurants and stores. The owners are very nice and very accomodating as well. Our favorite part though was the beach and the hiking. The property was great, the dogs enjyed having the run of the place. If you are looking for a pet friendly place, this is it. You are minutes away from Nordhouse Dunes which is one of the top pet friendly beaches in Michigan, but with your own beach just steps from your cabin with miles of beach we had to ourselves at the time, we spent most of our time there. Our only regret was we couldn't stay longer
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Comfort in Natural Surroundings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378797
+1 231 887-4019
Manistee Northern Michigan
South Bend, In
5

Wonderful, relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Loved, loved, loved this place. Perfect location, isolated, yet close to downtown shops, casino, walking trails. Fishing was awesome out on Bar lake, caught enough blue gills/perch/bass to take some home. There was lots of wood cut for the fire pit. Plenty of pots and pans/dishes. Charlie was the perfect host, available to answer any questions if needed. Already planning for 2 weeks next fall. 1 week went by way too quickly.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Comfort in Natural Surroundings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378797
+1 231 887-4019
Manistee Northern Michigan
Fennville, Mi
5

Idyllically Rustic, Great Lake Michigan Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Spent three nights in the Old Mill Cabin in the middle of May, 2012. The occasion was my Mother’s interment service at Old Orchard Cemetery which is nearby. The cabin was a peaceful, idyllic location for myself and four siblings to attend and unwind from the emotional experience of such a service. The Lake Michigan beach access was quite spectacular.
The cabin is rustic, as the pictures reveal, but it more than met our needs. Last year I had a vacation stay at another beachfront home a few miles north. That house was bigger, more modern with more amenities, but we paid a hefty price for it. Considering that the beachfront was the main attraction for us, I’d stay at the Old Mill Cabin again. The price was very reasonable and Charlie was friendly and helpful.
To top it off, we were able to have two dogs stay with us! Everyone had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Comfort in Natural Surroundings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378797
+1 231 887-4019
Manistee Northern Michigan
lambertville,mi
5

RUSTIC HEAVEN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
FIRST OF ALL,THE CABIN IS EVERYTHING THAT WAS DESCRIBED.IT LOOKS JUST LIKE THE PICTURES.(The pines surrounding the cabin smell great)THE PROPERTY WAS CLEAN AND HAS EVERYTHING YOU NEED..CHARLIE,(the owner) IS LIKE A FRIEND,HE GIVES YOU THE LOW-DOWN ON THE AREA AND ALL THERE IS TO SEE AND DO HERE..WE BROUGHT OUR OWN BOAT AND WENT TO PORTAGE LAKE,MANISTEE LAKE,AND THE RIVER AND WENT FISHING..WE DIDN'T GET LUCKY,BUT HAD A BLAST JUST THE SAME..MY HUSBAND LIKES A PIZZA PLACE CALLED BIG AL'S--There's alot of good eats in the area,though.CHARLIE WILL TELL YOU WHERE TO GO IF YOU'RE NOT FAMILIAR WITH THE AREA.....YOU WON'T BELIEVE HOW BEAUTIFUL THE SUNSETS ARE FROM THE PRIVATE DECK ON LAKE MICHIGAN...BREATHTAKING..WE HAD FUN JUST DRIVING ALONG M-22 (you have to inquire about the whole M-22 thing),STOPPING AT THE LITTLE SHOPS..GOING TO THE DUNES..LAYING ON THE BEACH.AND JUST PLAIN RELAXING..WE WOULD LIKE TO VACATION HERE AGAIN SOMETIME...SEE you then, CHARLIE..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Comfort in Natural Surroundings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378797
+1 231 887-4019
Manistee Northern Michigan
Warren, MI
4

July 2010

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My children, grandchildren, and I (8 in all) just spent a delightful week at the Old Mill Cottage. Being just a summer cabin, it felt much like camping , but with all the modern conveniences and Charlie made sure we have everything we needed. I picked it as an affordable access to one of my favorite beaches on Lake Michigan…deep sandy shoreline and amazingly private. The beautiful private area around the cabin turned out to be a wonderful bonus! The kids were kept busy looking for frogs and turtles, building fairy houses, and they LOVED going out in the boat. On a rainy day we went to Ludington and visited the Sandcastle Children’s Museum where the kids had a great time (good place for kids up to probably 8 or 9). A visit to the Sundae and Candy Shoppe on Washington St. in Manistee where you build you own sundae was a special treat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5