Joshua Tree cabin rental - Rock Haven Cabin
Rock Haven Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Joshua Tree Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

WELCOME!

Spectacular views, privacy, and luxury define Rock Haven Cabin, which sits on 5 acres adjacent to Joshua Tree National Park. This eco friendly guest house has been newly renovated to create an atmosphere of exceptional comfort, beauty and serenity. In an effort to live more sustainably in the desert we have installed solar power, and a rain water catchment system for landscaping purposes.

This is a perfect place to unplug. You can soak in the private spa while stargazing, curl up with a good book on the patio with a sweeping view of the Park, or cook a gourmet meal in the fully equipped kitchen.

For the adventuresome, you can hike into the park from the cabin, or if you want to explore it more fully, drive to the West Entrance, a half mile away. The park is renowned for its world class rock climbing. It also offers excellent hiking with hundreds of trails ranging from easy nature walks to strenuous mountain hikes. You can also expect to see local wildlife right from the front porch, and our Joshua Tree night skies are famous for their extraordinary star gazing.

The local area has plenty for you to discover in addition to the beauty of the national park. The village of Joshua Tree is a short drive from the cabin, where you can check out the Park Visitor Center, explore a variety of gift shops and art galleries or hunt for treasures at local thrift stores. There are several good restaurants, a gourmet food store, two health food stores, and a Saturday Farmers' Market. Joshua Tree also has an excellent yoga studio with a full schedule of classes.

The Joshua Tree art scene is vital and eclectic with regular gallery openings and nearly 200 artists living in the area. There is an Open Studio Tour each fall, and many artists welcome visitors at other times by appointment. Live music can be heard almost any day of the week at Pappy and Harriets in Pioneertown, and Joshua Tree holds annual music festivals in the spring and fall. There are also three live theater venues with a variety of interesting offerings.

There is something very special about the peace and spaciousness of the desert, and regardless of the time of year, Rock Haven Cabin offers a wonderful opportunity to relax and unwind in comfort.

Keywords: Luxurious desert cabin with spa hot tub. Private peaceful setting in the rocks.

More Details
Hide Details

We had been coming to Joshua Tree for years, with the thought of eventually moving to this part of the High Desert we had fallen in love with. We were most interested in living in a particular area adjacent to the National Park, however properties in this location hardly ever go on the market. It took some time, but we eventually found what we were dreaming of. We had only been here 4 years when our neighbors mentioned that they were thinking of selling their weekend cabin retreat. We jumped on it, thus reuniting the original 5 acre homestead parcel on which our house sits. Part of our enjoyment is in sharing our love of the desert with family and friends, and by turning Rock Haven Cabin into a vacation rental we are able to share with many others the beauty and serenity of this unique spot.

Eva Montville purchased this cabin in 2009

We had been coming to Joshua Tree for years, with the thought of eventually moving to this part of the High Desert we had fallen in love with. We were most interested in living in a particular area adjacent to the National Park, however properties in this location hardly ever go on the market. It took some time, but we eventually found what we were dreaming of. We had only been here 4 years when our neighbors mentioned that they were thinking of selling their weekend cabin retreat. We jumped on it, thus reuniting the original 5 acre homestead parcel on which our house sits. Part of our enjoyment is in sharing our love of the desert with family and friends, and by turning Rock Haven Cabin into a vacation rental we are able to share with many others the beauty and serenity of this unique spot.

39 Reviews of Property 308422 in Joshua Tree, California

Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
average rating of 4.974359 based on 39 reviews
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Kingston, Ontario
5

Rock Haven Rocks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and 2 girls (aged 19 and 22), spent 5 days at Rock Haven for a get-away from the long, cold winter in Ontario. You couldn't find a quieter, more private location than this. The owners live very close by and are there to help you at any time should you need it. The cabin is extremely well stocked and the amenities are exactly what you will need for a comfortable stay. From the cleanliness to the amazing view right out the window this cabin fits the bill for a perfect holiday. The Joshua Park West entrance can be seen from the front window making this ideal for going on day hikes into the park. You will find yourself relaxing as soon as you get there, and Eva, the owner, will let make sure you know everything you need to know about the cabin and make you feel at ease right away. The village of Joshua Tree is only 10 minutes away where you will find the park outfitters and quaint café`s for shopping and finding your grocery needs. Without a doubt this is the ideal cabin for your desert holiday! Try it for yourself and you won`t be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
St. Louis, MO
5

Fantastic Secluded Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our family booked this cabin to be close to Joshua Tree National Park and have a nice cozy place to settle down after long days of hiking and exploring. This place fit the bill perfectly!

Eva met us on the first day to give us a quick rundown of the amenities and general tips about the area and the property. We had no issues during our 5 night stay and didn't talk to her again until I dropped the keys off at her house right down the road on our way out of town.

Our family consists of my wife, my 11 year old daughter and myself. We used the pull out sofa for my daughter and my wife and I were in the separate bedroom with the king sized bed. My daughter was very comfortable on the sofa, and it was very easy to pull out and put back in. The king sized bed was very comfortable, much more so than most hotels. The full kitchen was handy to have and all the utensils and cooking pots pans, etc. were all available in the cupboards. There was even Ziploc baggies and lots of little extras that you find yourself needing, but most places do not have. They even had a brita filtered water jug, which we used to keep refilling a few water bottles we had multiple times a day.

The amenities are many at this cabin! It was nice and cool when the sun went down and boy did that hot tub feel great! We made a nightly habit of starting a fire in the chimenea (fire pit)(with the wood, kindling, matches all there and ready for us!) and then grabbing our robes and slippers (which Eva thoughtfully provided for all three of us!) and heading for the hot tub. We relaxed in the very nice, very modern hot tub with all natural salts and looked up at the amazing star filled sky. Then we would hop out and put our robes on and walk over to the bench in front of the chimenea which was now burning nice and hot. We roasted marshmallows, made smores and enjoyed more of the amazing sky while we dried off sitting by the fire. There was even a fire place inside the cabin that we tried out a few nights. Every morning consisted of my daughter getting up early and putting bird seeds in the feeder in the back yard and as we ate breakfast and prepared for the day we'd watch the adorable quails, bunnies, hummingbirds and other birds come eat from it and around it. The beauty of the view from the backyard and all the wildlife was fantastic!

Location is perfect: secluded, yet town close by with amazing restaurants, cafes, grocery stores, less than 1 mile to Joshua Tree Park!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Montreal Canada
5

Very Special Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I were visiting San Diego and wanted a taste of the desert. This cabin was perfect! Very private, well equipped with attention to detail, fantastic views and minutes from Joshua Tree park entrance. Eva & Kathy welcomed us, made sure we knew how things worked, and then left us alone to enjoy the solitude. Only wish we had stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed here for a week in February 2014. The cabin was very comfortable, clean and private. The cabin location borders the west entrance to the park so day trips were followed by relaxing evenings at the cabin. We preferred this park entrance location as it has the shortest access to the best hikes and bike rides. Cabin owners Eva and Kathy have set up this cabin with little details that meant a lot -a well stocked kitchen, bbq, comfortable seating indoors and outdoors, wifi, park info, etc. the town of Joshua a Tree has a health foods store (produce, veggies, bulk staples etc) and there are great places to eat here and in nearby (larger) towns in either direction. We would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles
5

Highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My girlfriend and I were hoping for an extremely relaxing and quiet getaway near Joshua Tree to ring in the New Year, and Rock Haven cabin did not disappoint. We unplugged, slept, read, cooked, watched the sunrise, fed the local rabbits and birds, drank champagne in the hot tub, and made several terrific excursions into the national park. The cabin and its beautifully landscaped surrounds are very well maintained and we wanted for nought. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and I suspect I will be booking a return trip sometime, hopefully soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Summerfield, NC
5

Great time at Rock Haven Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Celebrated our 20th anniversary with a stay in the desert - and Rock Haven was the perfect place! Close to the park, great view of sunrise and wildlife, great accomodations -- perfect!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Remarkable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I have never stayed in a cabin before, only hotels. It has truly opened my eyes to a new way of thinking. Saying that, I might off found the best cabin EVER. It was an a gem of a place. If you want to come to Joshua tree for a romantic getaway, then this is it. No hotel I have ever stayed can provide such a view , and a beautiful cabin for this kind of money.
Spa, view, beautiful cabin, wine , stars.
Sums up the best place to relax for a weekend away in the amazing Joshua tree
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
London, United Kingdom
5

A delightful gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed at the cabin for four days and we loved it. The location was perfect, basically IN Joshua Tree and within sight of the National Park entrance. The cabin holds true to its roots with its furnishings in comfortable and welcoming mid-century modern. The spa under the stars is fabulous. The kitchen is super well equipped and everything is spotlessly clean. The bedroom is very nice and the bed is super comfortable. The owners are lovely even though we didn't meet them. Their emails were prompt, full of good info and just super friendly. We wished we could have stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
NYC
5

Planning a return visit....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We LOVED Joshua Tree and our stay at Rock Haven Cabin was an absolute delight. You gave us a very nice welcome. The cabin is so well appointed and so comfortable - you have thought of everything. It's such a relaxing spot. And what an amazing view at you step out onto the patio. The rabbits, the quail, the hot tub. That view! I only wish we could have stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Haven in the Rocks - Quiet, Beautiful, Private, Walk Into Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308422vb
(760) 366-7890 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Philadelphia suburbs
5

Exactly What We Were Looking For

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
For 7 nights Rock Haven was our home away from home while we spent the week exploring JTNP in April 2013.

A clean cabin with warm, comfortable decor. Special touches inside and out illustrate how the friendly and available hosts really have put a lot of care into creating a peaceful and inviting atmosphere. It was this attention to detail that we really appreciated and that put Rock Haven on our short list of places worthy of return.

To see pictures and read more about our stay at Rock Haven and JTNP:
chrisandcarrieseetheworld.blogspot
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1