Roatan condo rental - roof garden sun deck and ankle pool...the views are spectacular!!!
roof garden sun deck and ankle pool...the views are spectacular!!!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Roatan Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This luxury 3600 sq ft Penthouse unit at Mangrove Dock is a unique water front property located on the quiet end of the tourist area. Being just a three minute walk (no hills) from the Half Moon bay beach, Mangrove Dock is perfectly placed for those wishing for a quite relaxing vacation as well as those wishing to have access to all the tourist amenities available at the heart of the West End and West Bay; which is a short water taxi ride away.

Mangrove Dock has assigned car parking for each unit, so having a rental car is no problem. The Penthouse also has an assigned boat slip should you wish to have a boat while you are here. If you do not have a boat the resort has its own 36 motor cruiser for fishing, diving, day and overnight trips around Roatan and to the neighboring islands.

The Penthouse has been designed with a modern loft design while ensuring that it still has a homely rather than show feel about it. The main condo has 1800 sq ft with three bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The private roof garden is also 1800 sq ft and is set out as an outside condo with a full bathroom, kitchen and storage area, dining area, garden and sun deck.

Keywords: water front, luxury, 3 bedroom, roof garden, Roatan, West End, high end, Bay islands, Caribbean, Exclusive, modern

More Details
Hide Details

We are an English family who decided to leave the dreary English weather and start somewhere new for a challenge and a different lifestyle. The development is totally family run and goes at our own pace. We are close to finishing all three buildings and are excited at this prospect. Then it will be a little time out to enjoy the results of our work....it is such a wonderful site.

JACQUELINE SAMPSON purchased this condo in 2006

We are the developers of this resort and have so many people asking for rental accommodation from us that we decided to start to rent units due to the fact that there are no other units like ours. They have comfort, luxury, waterfront and so very close to the hubbub of West End....just perfect for holidays.

Mangrove Dock is wonderfully positioned so very close to everything in West End but in a peaceful location just 3 mins stroll from the restaurants. The views are spectacular and the breeze hits us full on to keep us cool and our electricity bills down. A wonderful spot to enjoy the benefits of West End without the noise or lots of people ... quiet and residential. Everyone knows everyone else here which is like a big family.

15 Reviews of Property 378250 in Roatan, Bay Islands Honduras

Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Our week at Mangrove Dock March 31 to April 7, 2014

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
For a complete review visit the Roatan forums page on Trip Advisor or Mangrove Dock Facebook page as VRBO doesn't allow enough space. We were met at the airport by Peter & Susie (their spanish water dog, very friendly), loaded up our suitcases, a quick stop for groceries, a 20 minute informative drive to the condo, Peter ran through everything in the condo with us and within 2 hours of landing we were at the beach enjoying the sunshine with drink in hand.
While we didn’t need all the space or the 3 bedrooms in the condo this quick trip it was great to be able to get a handle on what to expect for next year as we had already rented for the month of Feb 2015. There is loads of room in the condo (just like the pictures) so you won’t be one on top of the other & the kitchen really does have everything you think you’ll need plus more. There are bath towels / beach towels, hand soap & body wash already supplied so don’t waste packing space on these items. We did purchased some miscellaneous items like paper towels & toilet paper on our grocery stop but never needed them as from previous renters there was some already there, so they were left for the next people. We found many different spices in the pantry (left from previous renters) that came in handy and made sure we left a few things for the next person also. The grounds, pool & sundeck were quite in fact only once in our week was there another couple in the pool or on the sundeck with us. We loved sitting on our private balcony for morning coffee and watching the sunrise.
We switched to island time right from the start of our vacation so for us the slow walk to the beach was 7 minutes. Usually we went out in the am came back mid/late afternoon had a swim, relaxed and then went back out for dinner or just to sit at a local bar for a few hours. Book it we're sure you'll love it like we did. Glenn & Mary Jane Sudbury On
PS - remember to check out the full review.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Perfect Condo For Roatan Visit!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Mangrove was the perfect place to stay in Roatan for our group of 5.
First off, the condo is amazing, It had a lot of space for our group of 5. Fully equipped kitchen, spacious bedrooms and living room. It had an incredible balcony and private rooftop with incredible views. Also found the rooftop convenient for playing cards and use of gas bbq. It was a perfect location with only a 3 minute walk to West End and a $3 water taxi from there, with many great restaurant and bars to choose from.
Peter and Jackie were the perfect hosts. They responded to any minor issues we had immediately and were incredibly friendly to deal with. They arranged airport pickup for us and Peter was even nice enough to take us out fishing a couple times on his boat and even a day trip out to the island Caios Cosinos.
In short, this is the perfect place to rent in Roatan!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Rain or Shine - this Condo is fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We are caribbean travelers and this was our first time to Roatan. We did not know what to expect on this little tropical island in Central America and we were more than overjoyed upon our arrival. Jackie answered all of our questions before we arrived in Roatan with no hestiation or judgement. She was always prompt and professional and responded within a very short time frame. Transportation from the airport was all arranged as Peter picked all of us up. Peter took us to go grocery shopping at Eldon's before we made it to the condo and made some local recommendations of hot sauce and cheeses! Once we arrived at the condo (about 15-20 mins) from Coxen hole we were more that satisfied! We rented the top floor condo and were so impressed with the modernization and cleaniness of the spacious area. We had 3 bedrooms and 2 baths as well as a terrific view of Mangrove Bight. Once we settled in we enjoyed cards and cocktails on the upper deck and watched the beautiful sunset. The property was exactly what we had hoped for - close to all amentities including fresh fruit and veggie stands, restaurants and bars galore, and taxi's at anytime of the day. Jackie & Peter were always available when we needed something. The condo without question is great for adults only, families with children and friends! Away from the busy bustle of westend and our home away from home. Peter took us fishing for a great price and a bit of a tour out on the ocean in Suzie Q and we caught some Tuna! I can not say enough about Peter & Jackie, we ran into some personal medical difficulties when we were there and without Jackie, Peter & Family with their generous and caring dispositions I dont know what we wouldve done.....we will never forget all that you did for us! I can not say enough about this place but terrific and dont pass it up! I would also recommend renting a vehicle, but if not we had a great young man named Elvis as a Taxi driver for over a week - Ask Jackie she has all his contact info. Also, Frangipani at the Mayoka Lodge Boutique hotel is a romantic place for a great 5 star dining experience and the view is second to none! Try it you wont be disappointed.......Thanks again Jackie & Peter - forever in our hearts!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
London, Ontario
5

Far Exceeded My Already High Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We were a group of 4 from Canada looking for a nice vacation away from the cold. Originally we were just hoping for some sunshine when we found this place. The photographs raised my hopes for the vacation, but the actual experience blew me away. Jackie and Peter were extremely friendly, helpful and generous. Just very nice, genuine people who truly care for their guests.

From the moment we arrived on Roatan, every single experience was unbeatable. The condo is absolutely stunning. There is a rooftop patio with panaramic views of the bay, lagoon and ocean, while the inside is decorated in a very classy and modern fashion. The photos on this site, while stunning, do not even do the place justice.

West End itself has every ammenity you could desire. The restaurants are excellent and the people are extremely friendly and helpful.

If I am ever fortunate enough to return, this is the only place I would want to stay. Looking out the window now at 2 feet of snow, all I can say is "TAKE ME BACK!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are just so lucky to have met such wonderful young people. Considering the weather was so terrible for the first couple of days, we were so delighted to see these youngsters make the most of everything West End had to offer, nothing was going to deter them from their Roatan Experience. The weather has now changed and we have once again the sunshine, blue skies and seas we all crave for our vacation break. The rooftop garden area is such a great place to sunbathe and star gaze and of course bbq. The pool also being a great place to relax after a busy day diving. Our kayak has been out these last couple of days and the pelicans are back in force.

We now have guests for Christmas and have Christmas trees in all our condos....I hope father Christmas remembers Roatan!
I am sure it will be fun welcoming in 2014 for another year of meeting and enjoying such a wonderful variety of guests here at Mangrove Dock.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Jefferson City
5

Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What an awesome place to stay! The condo looked exactly like the pictures. It's a very nice condo with great views of the bight and ocean. Having access to the upstairs patio was a bonus! We loved going up there in the evenings to play games while star gazing and relaxing in the hammock. Peter and Jackie are the ultimate in hosts! Not only do they make sure everything is in working order with the condo, they help arrange activities on the island if you so desire. Since West End is not very big, they know just about everyone. They made sure the restaurant owners knew we were their guest and we were treated "special." Peter also does fishing charters with his own boat which is docked at the condo's own pier. My husband enjoyed his "private" charter with Peter and Captain Clay. And we enjoyed the fresh tuna he caught that day for dinner! The condo is only about a 5 to 7 minute walk to most restaurants, shops, and groceries. Or, if you don't want to shop for groceries, give Jackie your list and she'll do it for you for a small fee. We had given her a list prior to our arrival, and our groceries and adult beverages were there, put away, and our beverages were cold! How nice was that?! This was our first trip to Roatan and we'll definitely be back! Everyone is so nice! The island is very laid back and the scenery is awesome. May we suggest Little French Key, Tranquil Seas, Monkey Island, The Sundowner, Argentinian Grill, Earth Mommas, and for those who want to dive, Scuba Roatan is the place! (See trip advisor for review on Scuba Roatan). For a unique shopping experience, you must go to the Rusty Fish. Everything is 100% locally made from recyclables and the proceeds are for a good cause. I could go on and on! These are just some of the cool places to go. It was a great relaxing vacation with great accommodations and absolutely awesome hosts! Thanks Peter and Jackie! You rock! Oh, and give Suzy an extra hug and pet from us! (Their Spanish Waterdog that we wished we could bring home! LOL)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We are always here to help our guests, and are delighted when their experience of Roatan is one of 'wanting to return'.....we are the lucky ones to meet such amazing people. Dog Susie also loves greeting our new guests and is often asked if she would like to travel home with them in their suitcase....but she is very much Peter's dog and a boat dog as well, making sure she gets a first sniff at any fish caught.

The rainy season this year has been very wet and we have been concerned that guests are not disappointed if the weather has been 'different' . There are still plenty of things to do in West End with lots of live music, great restaurants, bars and sports bars on a windy day. Many still dive if the wind is ok but just wet....I suppose wet on top or under the water is not a problem (lol)!

We have another condo coming on stream shortly which will be offered, in Iguana House to add to this one and the one in Pelican House.

Thank you all for such kind comments, we really appreciate them and will do our best to offer the most comfortable and luxurious accommodation in West End to those wanting something 'special'.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
New Orleans/Houston
4

First Trip to Roatan

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were a party of 5 and had a wonderful time. Jackie, Peter and Suzy are wonderful hosts and are very helpful with what to do and where to go without being the least bit over-bearing. We used the AC more than most (at night for about 12 hours) as it was a very hot week and not many breezes but it was affordable. Suzy is a great swim partner and fisher-dog and likes snacks...we will definitely be back and highly recommend this property..thanks for everything Jackie!!! The only downfall was being on the third floor and having to carry luggage up but Jackie assured me they are working on a solution for this...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is always our pleasure to welcome our guests to mangrove Dock and Peter, myself (Jackie) and Susie dog do our best to help and make everyone's stay here as happy and comfortable as possible. We have just finished our painting upgrade on the buildings and as a consequence our man Salvador, who has been with us for years, and is basically part of the family, was unavoidably not available for this week. However things are now back to normal and he is here to help guests with their cases and belongings. We are very lucky in that the taxi drivers we use are brilliant and help as much as guests require.

It has been unusually hot over the last two weeks, so we have all wilted a little, BUT as a special bonus this has been one of those years when we are treated to the magnificent spectacle of clouds of black and iridescent green butterflies...this really is quite a rare phenomenon and truly magnificent. The breezes wafting off the ocean and across Mangrove Bight brought these beautiful creatures floating past us whilst sitting by the pool or on our balconies....just incredible!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
United States
5

Beautiful Condo with everything you need for a great stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Just got back from 10 days in Rotan at Mangrove Dock with a party of 6 adults. Can't add much more to the other reviews but say this place defiantly deserves 5 stars from me. Jackie and Peter are the greatest hosts and went out of their way to make our stay that much more enjoyable. From the complementary airport pickup to delivery of the freshest filleted Tuna for dinner, Jackie and Peter were there to cater for our needs but never overbearing. We loved the fact that they thought about the small details and provided a set of beach towels, straw hats and suntan lotion on each bed when we arrived.

We go to Rotan to dive and the condo is ideally located within a 5 minute walk to the West End dive shops and restaurants. There is even a dive operator right next door to Mangrove Dock if you don’t want the 5 minute walk.

The condo is on the 3rd floor and is ideally positioned to make the most of the cool breeze that consistently blows through the condo. We slept with all the doors and windows open and it maintained a comfortable temperature without have to switch on the air conditioning. Security and safety was never an issue. The rooftop deck has the most spectacular 360 degree view and has a great wet bar and BBQ for evening sun-downers and dinner.

Mangrove Dock was everything we wanted and more. We will defiantly be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Spruce Grove Alberat Canada
5

Good Grief

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
You can NOT ask for a more enjoyable condo with the friendliest owners anywhere.We have just enjoyed our second trip to Roatan; March 2012 and this time Jan.24-Feb 07 2013. Not only did Peter pick us up and return us to the airport he also took the time too take us to the major grocery store in Coxin Hole to shop for supplies free of charge.The breeze is the absolute best part of the vacation as we never had to use the AC; and we like it cool. The condo has all of the latest appliances ( except for the charcoal BBQ, gas would have been more efficient). The views are out of this world and the on property swimming pool was utilized frequently,we were the only ones in it.We also took advantage of the four minute walk to West End beach for swimming and to enjoy the islands numerous restraunts. Jackie had the four minor concerns, we notified her about, fixed before I could hang-up the phone ( almost). Peter should write a book about the island and his experiences. The main reason for our visit to Roatan was the diving as the kids had just been "Open Water"scuba diving certified last year and wanted to get in a number of more dives. Only complaint, my 69 year old wife found the last set of stairs, to the third floor some what tiring. If there is an opening at Mangrove Dock on our return visit we will definitely be staying here again. Thanks Jackie and Peter.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so lucky with the wonderful guests we attract and love welcoming them here at Mangrove Dock. we have just acquired a gas BBQ so that will now be installed in the next couple of days.
the fact that the condo is so well placed makes up, we think, for the stairs....the views are just breathtaking
It is wonderful that many of our guests are ready to book for next year before their holiday has finished.
These guests were a joy to have to share our flowers, butterflies, the breeding pair of big black iguanas on the iron shore and to share our personal experiences over the years here on Roatan.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Boston
5

Beautiful Dream House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
There isn't much I can add to the prior reviews other than it was great experience staying in the penthouse. The pictures really don't do it justice. The serene views from both the rooftop garden and the rear patio are amazing and make for the perfect place to relax during the day or night. The kitchen is top-notch and well-equipped, there is more than enough room for hospitality (I had 30 people one night), the bedrooms are all very well-detailed and the beds are top of the line. Having a washer and dryer in the unit was key. My only regret was not putting the wine chiller to good use.

The property boasts all of the amenities that one would expect in a luxury resort, without the stale and antiseptic feel of large development and with the added bonus of having the owners on site and looking out for all of your needs. They really do make it a great place to stay and I'm hoping to be back there soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are delighted once again our visitor had a wonderful experience here and enjoyed the benefit of being able to sit and watch shooting stars in the hammock on the roof. It is just so beautiful here and yet so close to all amenities....it is great when our visitors plan a return before they have left! We just enjoy welcoming everyone here at Mangrove...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Luxury 3600 Sq Ft Water Front Penthouse in West End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378250vb
50424454371
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
4

Great Place to Stay in the West End

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
A group of friends (there were five of us in total) stayed here in late November 2012. The property was very nice and spacious and only a quick walk to the bars, restaurants and dive shops in the West End (about 5 minutes). There were 3 good size bedrooms and two bathrooms and two large patio areas and it was as nice as the photos displayed. We all recommed this as a place to stay and it is very affordable. The only downside is that we did lose power (and water) a few times but that is just a hazard of staying in the West End and usually the outages were short (1 to 1 1/2 hours). The owners were very helpful and picked us up from the airport and took us to get groceries before dropping us off. The West End is great for divers as there is an abundance of dive shops nearby. As for restaurants, we would highly recommend the Thai restaurant (I can't recall the name) and the Chicken restaurant (just ask around).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3