Don Pedro Island bungalow rental - Sundowner - 3/2 Pool Home on Don Pedro Island
Sundowner - 3/2 Pool Home on Don Pedro Island
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Don Pedro Island Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Vacation on a private barrier island with 8 miles of pristine, unspoiled beaches in a custom built beach home on stilts with walk-around covered deck with your own private pool. The home has soft colors that will relax you after a day at the beach. Enjoy our gourmet kitchen with hickory cabinets and tile counter tops, dining area for six plus two bar stools, outdoor dining area off the kitchen, fully equipped kitchen with Palm Island dinnerware, all small appliances, hardwood and tile floors, leather furniture, three bedrooms containing all comfortable pillow top mattresses. Cable TV/DVD in MBR and MR#2 and WiFi in every room. The master suite has a sitting area for your private dining to relax with a cool drink or reading area. It has its own private bath with walk-in tiled shower. You can leave the master suite through its private doors directly onto the covered deck that leads to the pool area.

The second bedroom has a queen bed and cable TV and twin beds in the third bedroom that shares a bath with stained glass window over the shower. The home has 23 windows with custom wood blinds that allows for sunlight throughout the home or closed for privacy. Relax at your private pool and enjoy the island breeze!

Also enjoy Wi-Fi connection in every room.

The Unique Benefits at this House: Enjoy 8 miles of private beaches on a barrier island that boasts the best shelling and boating in Southwest Florida. Relax on the beach with blue/green clear water, read a great book, build sand castles, fish and return home to jump into your pool and enjoy a cool drink, cook your fresh catch of the day or drive a short distance in the golf cart to a great seafood restaurant on the island. Then return home to view the spectacular sunset from your porch! You will not want to leave!

Other Activities:: Enjoy fall in Florida during October through December; wonderful months on the island with cooler tempatures but still very warm. If you vacation during these months on the island, you will want to return each year! My favorite months of the year!

More Details
Hide Details

'Sundowner' is our dream come true! As a licensed builder in the State of Florida, we built our beach home ourselves so that the highest standards of building and design were used. We vacation on the island with grandchildren and friends and spend many weekends there. We hope you will enjoy our home as much as we do.

Cheryl Lonergan purchased this bungalow in 2004

We chose to build on the island several years ago. We have been vacationing on Palm Island/Don Pedro Island for more than 12 yrs and decided to make our dream a reality. Don Pedro island is a family atmosphere and a place that we feel at home. We have made years of wonderful family memories on Don Pedro Island. Our grandchildren grew up enjoying the island experiences and are always eager to return.

Private secluded home with cool colors; 23 windows for extra light and to enjoy the view of the private, sunny tropical, barrier island which is accessible by car ferry only. Eight miles of quiet pristine beaches for beach walking, collecting shells and sharks teeth.

29 Reviews of Property 378074 in Don Pedro Island, Florida

Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 29 reviews
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Somonauk,Illinois
5

Island Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We have found our Island Paradise! This is our 3rd year vacationing at Pat & Cheryl's Wonderful Island Home! And already booked our 4th! Since we have found it we just can't imagine going anywhere else! The house is so clean & comfortable! Has everything anyone could need or want. The pool & gulf cart is like icing on the cake! The beach is amazing! Beautiful & uncrowded! Shells galore & we our addicted to collecting sharks teeth! We love to grill at the house but having RumBay & Johnney Leverocks so close is perfect for a night out!
We can sincerely say once you come to this Island Home you will want to come back again & again like us!
Owner's Response: We love having return guests especially for a great family like yours and consider you our friends. We look forward to your yearly visit to our home. We offer our returning guests discounts on their rentals and hope you will become one of our seasonal guests and friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Christmas at the Beach!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
(Posted from Guest Book in Home) "Thank you for making our Christmas this year very memorable! We all enjoyed our stay at your beautiful and comfortable beach home. It was so kind and thoughtful of you to decorate the cottage with the two Christmas trees, candles, cookies and gifts for our children under the tree. It was all so magical for our family!
Don Pedro Island is so beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed our days at the beach jumping in the waves, collecting shells and shark's teeth, watching the dolphins ad building sand castles. Our girls enjoyed going to the resort for crafts with Redbeard and his Friday night show. It was fun to see the New Year's Day Parade of golf carts. All of this plus sunny warm days in December made this a Christmas we will always remember!
It is so difficult for us to leave--this house feels like home. Thank you for sharing this little piece of paradise with us! God Bless!"
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Boston, MA, USA
5

Picture perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We fell in love with the house by looking at the pictures and had the same feeling when we arrived.
We were looking to relax and this is exactly what we got : trip to the beach, jump in the pool, nap for the all family and nice dinner on the deck.
What you see on the pictures and what you read on the description are exactly what you get. The house is clean, well-equipped and great for a family, we were 3 adults: my husband, my mother-in-law and 2 kids (our son, 5 years old and our daughter almost 4 years old).
The golf kart is a must, just because the kids loved it and very helpful to load all the stuff for a day at the beach. And of course the trip to the restaurant and get an ice cream on the resort (only golf karts are allowed on the resort)!
Cheryl was very helpful and respond quickly to any question we had all the long of the reservation process. When we arrived, Cheryl and her husband were at the house to welcome us and took the time to tell us about the house, the island and answer our questions.
The pool is the perfect size to relax after a day at the beach and all the family had great naps because it is so quiet.
A plus: the firefighters are our closest neighbors and they were very nice. Our daughter hurt herself and guess what? She now loves firefighters.
At this time of the year, we saw some turtle nests on the beach and one of our neighbors in front of the house was a turtle. We were lucky to see 3 dolphins when we were on the ferry; all those little things that make you feel on vacation! No need to leave the island: just relax and enjoy those quite moments.
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

What a Blessing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This vacation was such a blessing. Coming over on the ferry we were in awe at the gorgeous scenery. Pat and Cheryl met us at their beautiful home and gave us a tour. They were so welcoming. We felt at home right away. Their home is lovely and has everything we needed to settle right in for a week of Island Adventure. The house was very clean and well stocked with supplies. The pool was a great bonus, especially for the kids. And us too. The golf cart was such a fun way to explore the island and take trips to the beach and to Coconuts for ice cream. If you love to search for shells and sharks teeth they are everywhere along miles of beach. Fishing was great too. The sky was captivating whether is was completly blue or filled with clouds. We took many pictures of the sky including storm clouds as they rolled in. The sunsets were amazing. I can't say enough of this vacation. Pat and Cheryl have a beautiful home and we are so thankful for the love they have put into their home and opened it to us. We are so blessed to have found such an amazing get away. My husband grew up in Venice, Fl and never new that Don Pedro was an island. Very cool. Thanks Pat and Cheryl and God Bless
Owner's Response: It is guests like your family that make renting our beach second home a blessing and very enjoyable. It is a pleasure meeting our guests and doing everything we can to make their vacation happy and one that they will remember as one of their great vacations. We have been blessed with such nice people that have chosen our home for their vacation. Comments like this make all our efforts worthwhile and we really appreciate all our guests that take the time to comment about their vacation. Thank you! Pat & Cheryl
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Orlando
5

Mr.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our time at the vacation rental was relaxing, very comfortable & enjoyed by each member of our family. The home was well equipped & felt like a home away from home. The sunsets, dolphins & beaches were beautiful. Our location was an easy bike ride to the beach or use the golf cart (for an extra charge - well worth it). We look forward to returning to Don Pedro Island & to The Beach House.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice comments! We are so happy that your vacation was enjoyable and you are planning to return. Pat and I work hard maintaining our home and providing all the comforts of home for our guests. We seem to have such nice people renting our home and we appreciate it. All you need to bring is your food and clothes. We provide the rest in hopes that your vacation will be great!
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
NDL (High Laurentians, Qc) CANADA
5

SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PLACE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our 4-week stay, with our son, his wife and 2 babies (2 yrs old and 7 months old) has given us the opportunity to see Florida in a very different way. Prior to our arrival, Cheryl had provided us with all information concerning the house, the island, all beaches, restaurants, Publix and more. When we arrived, while Pat was answering my husband’s questions, I went upstairs to meet Cheryl to tour the house. What a beautiful house! The house is exactly as described and as in the pictures. Clean, well maintained and spacious. We toasted our stay with the bottle of wine that Pat and Cheryl have offered us upon our arrival. During our stay, Cheryl made sure that we were ok. The pool was still chilly but we waited for the warm sun and went for a swim 3 or 4 times. We enjoyed the house, the beach, the golf cart (don’t even think not to rent it! It is essential!) and explored the beautiful island and it's vicinity. I would say that it is an island that put an automatic smile on your face! Everyone you meet is happy and friendly! My husband and our son went fishing almost every day and caught very interesting kind of fish. They had fun! We saw sting rays and dolphins. Every morning, my daughter-in-law, grandchildren and I went for walks around the island and went on the beach for shark teeth and shells or simply relax. We would definitely recommend this property. It is a home away from home. We were sad to leave such a beautiful place. Hope to be back very soon! Christine, Jean and Family, NDL (Hautes Laurentides,Québec) CANADA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Somonauk,Illinois
5

Back Again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
In 2011 we came for the first time to Cheryl & Pats Don Pedro Island Home & fell in love with it! So this year we had to comeback & fell in love all over again! The home,beach, the island lifestyle is a dream come true for us!
We find comfort, peace, tranquility, & natures true beauty everywhere! Cheryl & Pat are so helpful & make you feel like youve known them for years
The home offers EVERYTHING you could want & more! So clean & comfortable. We feel so at home here! Parking the car & only having to use the golfcart or walking is wonderful. Sun, shells & sharksteeth fill our days Grilling fresh fish from Placida fish market on one of 2 grills Or for a dinnerout take the golfcart to Rum Bay or water taxi to Leverocks !
We feel so blessed to have found such a special piece of paradise! Thankyou Cheryl & Pat for sharing it!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
London Ontario Canada
5

If you're looking for relaxation in a beautiful home on a beautiful secluded island, this is it!

If you're looking for relaxation in a beautiful home on a beautiful secluded island, this is it!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My family stayed in this home for 6 weeks. During this time we had family visit at different times including our four grandchildren ranging in age from 4 months to 7 years. The description of this home is extremely accurate and exceeded our expectations. The home was spotless upon arrival and every amenity you may require is sure to be there. Cheryle greeted us with a tour of the home and a bottle of champagne! She and Pat were available to answer any questions at any time and went so far as to check on us by phone and e-mail to make sure everything was o.k. Our days were spent exploring the island including the beaches, trails and resort. DO (and I can't stress this enough) rent the golf cart! If you have little ones, visit the resort on Friday nights and Sundays where "Red Beard" the pirate puts on a show and does arts and crafts with the kids. My 3 year old grandson was captivated and still talks about him every day. After he left, Red Beard made a short video for him that he listens to every day. The pool was a little chilly for us but our kids and grandchildren enjoyed it while we sat in the sun and enjoyed them. If you enjoy reading, no need to bring books. I'm a fast reader and Cheryle had enough reading material to keep me happy for 6 months.While there we had a problem with our credit card and had to change our card. Cheryle was unable refund our deposit without the original card so she and Pat went out of there way to meet us in a city a couple of hours away on our departure from Florida to give us cash. They are such wonderful people and I guarantee you will not be disappointed if you rent this vacation home. Thank you so much again Cheryle and Pat. Looking forward to the next time. Cathy and Steve.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Every Bit as Good as Jamaica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
WOW! We had to cancel our vacation to Jamaica for financial reasons and thought we'd find someplace closer to home that has a great beach and a relaxing environment. Well, we found it ALL on Don Pedro Island! The home is exactly as pictured, the description is dead on and the island is more beautiful than imagined!

Cheryl provided us with information on grocery stores in the area so we stocked up at Publix, and pre-ordered our wine and beer from Total Wine in Fort Myers. That made getting everything we needed for a week on the island super convenient. I would recommend renting a full-size car or larger to fit everything. We had four adults, four medium sized pieces of luggage, plus groceries and our Total Wine boxes. There was barely room for us!

The house is beautiful, clean and stocked with kitchen utensils for cooking. There are beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and a floatie. The golf cart made getting up to Palm Island Resort quick, easy and fun (lots of laughs on the cart!). One of the guys fished off a near-by bridge and we had fresh snapper one day for lunch!

The beach is beautiful just as Chery said ... shells, sharks teeth and even dolphins about six feet from shore. The water is clear as can be too! Some days we were the only four people out for as far as we could see on either side of us!

Cheryl provided us with all the information we needed to have an amazing vacation and was only a phone call away if we needed something (which we didn't). I would HIGHLY recommend staying in the beautiful home on this beautiful island!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Key West 3/2 Private Pool Home-Summer openings; Book Now! New Furnishings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378074
+1 (813) 404-0418
Don Pedro Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Tampa FL
5

Relaxing in a home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband, brother and his wife and I vacation together each year. This year we chose a beach vacation at the Sundowner. We had everything we needed for relaxation and fixing meals. We rented golf carts and drove over the island many times. We took trips to the beach for looking for shells and shark teeth, to the resort for candy at the gift shop or admiring all the lovely beach houses on the island. Everyone waves and makes you feel welcome. We highly recommend that you choose to vacation here. The owners have done everything possible to provide all your needs for your comfort and then they go the extra mile to be available to assure that everything goes smoothly for your stay. Everything was very clean and well maintained.
Helpful votes: 3/3