Manuel Antonio villa rental - Rooftop Terrace
Rooftop Terrace
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Manuel Antonio Villa Rental Photos and Description
Rent the right space for your group. 3-5 Bedrooms, 6-12 People, 2 Kitchens, Pool

This villa blends nature and luxury to give you a true tropical life-style vacation. Enjoy spectacular views from the great room with floor to ceiling windows opening to the Park and Ocean, and the pool in the foreground. The many terraces and suites flow to create options for comfortable outdoor living or air-conditioned indoor living, sustainably.

Enjoy the great room and rooftop terrace for gathering as a family or group, along with the privacy of several master-style suites for sleeping, each with views and unique tropical decor. Rent just the right-sized space for your family or group by letting us quote just the rooms you need.

Choose cooking and dining indoors in the great room or alfresco on the rooftop terrace with our covered outdoor kitchen, fully equipped. Or, a chef can prepare a gourmet meal for you in either space. You always have a table with a view.

Our location offers a short walk to the park, beaches, stores and restaurants. Wildlife is abundant here.

A multi-level design affords ocean and rain forest views from all rooms and spaces. The Bird of Paradise Suite with its terrace is on the first level. Up from there, the main level includes the great room, kitchen, the Surf Suite and Monkey Room. The Hibiscus Suite, with balcony, is above the great room. The uppermost level has the rooftop terrace, outdoor kitchen, and Canopy Suite. There is access between the great room area and the upper level, by both interior and exterior stairs, so all the areas flow together.

This villa is unique in the Manuel Antonio area in its sustainable features. We make use of natural resources by using the sun to heat the water, dry the clothes, and even cool the house by evaporation. When electricity is used, it comes first from our solar panels, then the local utilities. You'll still have the luxury of all the usual comforts while feeling good about having a minimal carbon footprint vacation.

A car is not necessary for guests who enjoy walking. The walk up our street is about 300 yards to the main road. From there, the National Park and its beaches are to the right, downhill, about a mile. Or go left and select from our great surfing beach or another calm white sand snorkeling beach and kayaking bay, each about a half mile. Our home is about 360 feet above sea level. Ask us to email our PDF local map and walking guide!

A grocery store and many restaurant options are nearby on the walkable, level main road. Select from local, North American, Asian fusion, and Caribbean cuisine, some with live music and big screen sports bars. Enjoy great steaks and seafood, or opt for pizza and hot dogs or vegetarian dishes, soups and sandwiches. Choices range from romantic and pricey to family style—or hire a local chef to prepare a meal to remember right in the villa!

Wildlife is abundant on our property and surrounding our property. While we cannot guarantee what wildlife you may see during your stay, this is a list of the kinds of species which have been observed on our property, and which you might encounter. Capuchin Monkeys, Titi Monkeys, Howler Monkeys, Sloths, Cotamundi, Jaguarundi, Raccoons, Porcupines, Mot Mot Birds, Toucans, Hummingbirds, Kiskadees, Wild Parrots, Wild Canaries, Iguanas, Jesus Christ Lizards, Frogs of various types and colors including chameleon frogs, Blue Morpho Butterlies, Geckos, a variety of “glow in the dark” insects, including fireflies.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a semi-retired U.S. couple, living in Costa Rica for over 7 years.

Cindy Lindelien purchased this villa in 2003

The attractions of the Manuel Antonio area combine almost everything a tourist comes to Costa Rica for. There are gorgeous beaches, lots of wildlife varieties, and all water sports and activities. Inland are mountains, waterfalls, and rivers. A wide variety of activities is available to take these in such as whitewater rafting, horseback riding, ATV tours, Canopy Tours, hiking and more. It's all here in this one location.

We love the beaches for walking, swimming, surfing, and having bonfires or cookouts at sunset. We love hiking in the National Park. We enjoy ocean kayaking and snorkeling. We hike and ride horses on our nearby ranch (also for sale), sometimes swimming in waterfall pools.

We love being able to walk to a choice of several first class restaurants, or to the store or the bank. Many days a car is not needed.

31 Reviews of Property 378067 in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 31 reviews
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Highly Recommend

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a wonderful time at El Mirador Magnifico. The house was perfect as was the weather and all the sites and sounds. The monkeys, both squirrel and Capuchin (white-faced) visited daily. Last night a 3-toed sloth slept or ate(?) in the mango tree next to the pool. Alberto was an excellent concierge and helped to familiarize us where to go on a number of occasions--beach, Quepos, market, bank, etc, etc. Monica cleaned up after us with great efficiency. We were most appreciative of both Alberto and Monica. We have had a wonderful time in Costa Rica and here in Manuel Antonio area.

We highly recommend staying at the house to anyone who wishes to visit this area!
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beyond Expectations

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our first trip to Costa Rica, and it was beyond expectations. We loved seeing our monkey neighbors each afternoon, and we even had a visit from a male Howler, who put on a show in the tree across the street.

Great excursions:
Parasailing (with Melanie, not the other outfit)
Zipline with MidWorld
Santa Juana Mountain Tour
Manuel Antonio Park Tour

We celebrated a birthday, what a special place for such a special day.

Sunrise from the upper terrace should not be skipped, even though 5:30 am may feel a bit early to rise on vacation!

Thank you Cindy, Jim, Monica & especially Alberto for making this a dream vacation.

Pura Vida :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

El paraíso

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Estuve hospedado durante 5 días en casa el mirador magnífico junto con 10 amigos para celebrar principio de año y el cumpleaños de mi novia...
La atención p parte de Alberto y las señoritas que le ayudan con la casa es impecable... La limpieza de la casa perfecta, toallas limpias todos los días, el equipamiento de la casa (asador, sillas p la playa, juegos de mesa, etc) y una piscina súper relajante hacen que uno pase un rato súper agradable...
La vista hace alusión a su nombre... No se puede pedir una mejor vista...
Volvería muchas veces más...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I traveled to Costa Rica with my girlfriend (first time to Costa Rica for both of us) and I cannot say on any level it fell short of any expectations. El Mirador Magnifico is absolutely as it's shown to be, and we laughed about how our view looked like we were staring at the picture on this website. Alberto is wonderful and there for you for any situation. I would definitely suggest doing some site-seeing, and Alberto is able to help book any adventure you'd like, which he helped us with because some places did not speak English. Monica cleaned up as many times as promised, and in no way were either intrusive at all! Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Staying at Mirador Magnifico will be as promised, and we already cannot wait for our next visit! The monkeys show up like everyone says and the location and view are wonderful! Our only regret is that we rented a car, as nearly everything is within walking distance, a short cab ride, or you can even take the bus. All of the adventures to plan arrange transportation as well!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Lubbock, Texas
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
El Mirador Magnifico was everything we imagined as the perfect place to celebrate my sixtieth birthday with the entire family. Each of our adult children had their own private bedroom and bath, most of which also had private porch. We gathered in the kitchen, den, around the pool, and on the upper deck, but could retreat to privacy as desired. As written in so many reviews, Alberto was a huge factor in our experience of this house, Quepos, the activities and surrounding area. He made all our wishes come true and gave superb advise on how we should spend time and meals (then arranged for it to happen!) Adult favorites include Agua Azul at the top of the driveway, and Cafe Milagro to begin the day with superb breakfast and coffee. Our nine-year-old grandson enjoyed Manuel Antonio park, monkeys, snorkeling/whale sighting/sliding while on the catamaran, zip-lining (along with all seven adults), surf lessons x 3, and parasailing with his uncle. And swimming in the patio pool every minute he was at the house! The birthday dinner at the house with Chef Guy and his son was a memorable evening, topped off with tres leches cake to perfection. Even though our time here was during the green season, we followed advise and did all activities before 3:00 p.m., then welcomed the rain as a siesta! The memories we share of this special week are priceless. And it all began with contacting Cindy (the owner), her attentiveness to the occasion we were celebrating, answering countless questions about travel to Costa Rica, and sharing her history and love of this place. We highly recommend El Mirador Magnifico to anyone looking for memories made in paradise! Ann Krier
P.S. Monica came every day and put the kitchen back in order, washed towels and clothes as requested. . . wha lah!!
Owner's Response: We're so glad you and your family had such a wonderful time here. You've described some of the things we love about this house, too.

Happy Birthday!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
4

Family times at Magnifico

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Amazing views, multifunctional villa and gracious and wonderful staff contributed to a memorable stay at the Mirador Magnifico in Manual Antonio. Even with our three generations ranging from ages 47 to 90, we conquered the elevated walks, somewhat humid conditions and an expanded cuisine.

The owner (Cindy) was very helpful through out the booking and arrival process. The villa’s manager, Alberto, was most helpful in assisting with all our special requests and event bookings and was always not more than a phone call away.

Dad and the ladies look forward to the frequent visits of the local monkey visitors racking up gigabytes of pics until the monkey’s agent (we thought he was a little ‘squirrelly’) showed up one day and demanded pictorial royalties.

Overall, a great place to vacation…we’ll keep this in our special vacation spectacular memory banks.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Wow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My parents, son, husband and I had a wonderful time in Manuel Antonio, made much more special by staying in this lovely home. The layout was perfect for us, with great family space, and also plenty of room for privacy. Alberto and Monica are the two people on site who helped and took wonderful care of us. Monica was so sweet with our 16 month old and he absolutely adored her! Alberto could not have been more kind in answering all of our questions and being a resource for every small detail. I thought having 8 days there, we would have plenty of time to do everything, including a ziplining tour. We were so happy being around the house, the time flew, and we'll now need to go back and explore further! We also wanted to ensure we didn't disappoint the monkeys by not being there when they came for bananas. Every day around 6am and 4pm. If you are traveling to Manuel Antonio, you won't regret staying here!
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you were able to get the monkeys on a regular schedule that worked for you! It doesn't always go like that, as they sometimes have their own plan...

We're so glad you all enjoyed it and hope you can return.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
North Springfield, Virginia
5

Right Choice!! Gorgeous House!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The photos don't do this place justice!! Here are some tips:
The Paradise Room is sort of separated from the rest of the house with its own entrance below, so perfect for noisier guests or guests with children who require complete quiet for naps. Bonus: it is on the lower level for less stairs, too.
The Canopy Room was also very quiet with an outdoor kitchen and separate entrance -- if I was to rent only one room, this would be my choice.
The Surf Room has a big tub and fanciest bathroom -- probably the Master Bedroom of the house. It's on the main level.
The Hibiscus Room is glorious with a gorgeous wood beam ceiling that I loved waking up to every morning. If you go during the rainy season, be forewarned that a pounding rain is amplified in this room -- we had to go downstairs to the Monkey Room to sleep one night.
The Monkey Room is also great -- on the main level -- right in the center of the house with a lovely bathroom and as I mentioned, very quiet at night.
Monkeys came around morning and evening, making their rounds -- we saw many Chapuchins and my daughter was lucky enough to see a troop of Squirrel Monkeys. We also saw Jesus lizards and a Basilisk lizard. The view is flippin gorgeous. You are up high enough to see the beach -- maybe only one or two rooftops.

Alberto manages the house and will take care of all your needs. Excellent English, very patient and accommodating. We wanted some speakers for our iPod and he brought some over. He also helped my daughter rent a car and get the best deal. (Alamo)

We hired Chef Guy, a French Canadian second generation chef who prepared the most marvelous meal for my birthday celebration (12/12/12) -- I strongly advise hiring him for at least one meal. He is an artist in the kitchen. Be sure to order a cake even if it's no one's birthday. It was huge and OMG -- I got the passionfruit mousse cake -- to die for!! We ate it all week.

At the top of the hill is a restaurant called "Agua Azure" -- a great view of the sunset and the food was excellent. Be sure to check that out.

If you are missing your Starbucks fix, there's a place just up from the main road called Café Milagro. Excellent breakfast and great frappes.

The bus was the best way to get around. 50¢ The people of Costa Rica were gracious and friendly. I never once felt uncomfortable about being a foreigner who speaks un poquito espanole. :-)

El Mirador Magnifico was the place to be. I highly recommend it!!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great description of our various bedrooms. I'll refer future guests to this when deciding where to sleep.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

50th anniversary celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Prior to celebrating my husband and my 50th wedding anniversary my daughters and I reviewed every house that we could find online that would accomodate the 10 of us. We finally settled on El Mirador Magnifico and what a great decision we made. The house was truly magnificant. We found everything to be just as it was described and even better. It was immaculately clean and perfectly equipped for our needs. The views of the ocean and jungle were beautiful and the playful monkeys put on quite a show on several occasions. The howlers could be heard in the evening and early morning but we only saw one of them. The location of the house was just right. It was our first visit to the country so we didn't want to be in a remote location. Manuel Antionio and Quepos were only minutes away. Often we took the bus which ran every 15 minutes at the foot of our street, but a taxi was easily gotten when we desired. Alberto, the property manager was wonderfully hospitable. He arranged all of our activities, secured drivers whenever we wanted to venture out on a road trip, and even bought groceries prior to our arrival. He was a tremendous resource prior to our arrival as well as during our stay. We enjoyed a deep sea fishing trip, Zip line, and ATV. We had a chef come one of the nights but probably would not do that again. The chef was excellent but we enjoyed the fish that we caught and the local cusine so much that we didn't want to stay at home to have dinner. None of the 10 of us ranging in years from 13 to 73 , could have asked for any more. The entire trip was wonderful and the house and Alberto were the keys to its success. If given the opportunity to return we would certainly stay there again and I recommend that property over all that I saw while in that area.

Thanks to Cindy and to Alberto for making our 50th celebration one that we and our family members will cheerish for years to come. BW
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for all your nice comments here. We congratulate you on 50 years! That is awesome.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sustainable Luxury with Park & Ocean Views from Every Room and Terrace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378067
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

relaxing in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The view and the pool were amazing. Everyday after hiking at the beach or Manuel Antonio or zip lining we returned to the villa to cool down in the pool with the entertaining monkeys. We used the entire house for a family retreat. Alberto was available daily and was kind and patient with all our questions.We came back refreshed and planning to return to Costa Rica at a future date. All 9 of us loved the country and the people. What a gracious and welcoming country. Thanks Cindy for sharing your home. Vicki
Owner's Response: We hope to see you back again sometime!
Helpful votes: 1/2